DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-8, 12-18, 21, and 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Holub et al. (US Pat. 3,763,273).
Considering Claims 1-5, 8, 12, 21, and 22: Holub et al. teaches a imido substituted polyamide having the structure
, M’ is a maleimide group, R’ is a divalent organic radical, including aliphatic and aromatic moieties (2:42-55) and n is 1 to 10 (4:15-66). Holub et al. teaches examples of the formula
where n has a value of 4. This reads on the claimed invention where A is a an aromatic group with 13 carbon atoms, X is an amide group, and Ra is an aromatic group with six carbon atoms.
Considering Claim 6: Holub et al. teaches that the amine can be m-phenylenediamine (4:67-73), which reads on claimed formula (5a).
Considering Claim 7: Group B is optional in claim 1, and thus the further limiting of the optional component does not provide patentability.
Considering Claim 13: Holub et al. teaches providing the formulation comprising the compound and curing the composition (5:73-12).
Considering Claim 14: Holub et al. teaches a mixture comprising the bismaleimide oligomer and a further monomer (5:52-74).
Considering Claim 15: Holub et al. teaches the mixture as comprising an inorganic filler (8:39-46).
Considering Claims 16-18: Holub et al. teaches the crosslinked polymer as being a dielectric material (7:1-32).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 9-11, 19, and 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Holub et al. (US Pat. 3,763,273) as applied to claims 1 and 16 above, and further in view of Ma et al. (US 2001/0056162) as evidenced by Mizori et al. (US 2004/0225059).
Considering Claims 9-11: Holub et al. teaches the compound of claim 1 as shown above.
Holub et al. does not teach the claimed structures for Ra or Rb. However, Ma teaches using Versamine 552 as the diamine for forming a bismaleimide compound (¶0082). Mizori et al. teaches Versamine 552 as having the structure
(¶0014). Holub et al. and Ma are analogous art as they are concerned with the same field of endeavor, namely dielectric bismaleimde compounds. It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to have used the dimer diamine of Ma as the diamine of the compound of Holub et al., and the motivation to do so would have been, it is bio-based rather than petroleum based.
Considering Claims 19 and 20: Holub et al. teaches the polymer of claim 16 as shown above. Holub et al. teaches the polymer as being a dielectric and insulating material.
Holub et al. does not teach an electronic device. However, Ma et al. teaches a layer comprising the polymer in a microelectronic device (¶0003). The term repassivation material in a redistribution layer is a statement of intended use. If the body of a claim fully and intrinsically sets forth all of the limitations of the claimed invention, and the preamble merely states, for example, the purpose or intended use of the invention, rather than any distinct definition of any of the claimed invention’s limitations, then the preamble is not considered a limitation and is of no significance to claim construction. Shoes by Firebug LLC v. Stride Rite Children’s Grp., LLC, 962 F.3d 1362, 2020 USPQ2d 10701 (Fed. Cir. 2020) (The court found that the preamble in one patent’s claim is limiting but is not in a related patent); Pitney Bowes, Inc. v. Hewlett-Packard Co., 182 F.3d 1298, 1305, 51 USPQ2d 1161, 1165 (Fed. Cir. 1999). See MPEP § 2111.02.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to have used the compound of Holub et al. in an electronic device, as in Ma, and the motivation to do so would have been, as Ma suggests, it a suitable use for the bismaleimide compounds.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-22 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Correspondence
/LIAM J HEINCER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1767