DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1, 17 and 22 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 6, 9, 10-14, 17, 18 and 22-25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Jung et al. (US 20230209413, hereinafter “Jung”).
Regarding claim 1, Jung discloses,
A method for cell reselection, performed by a terminal (FIG. 7 illustrates a process of releasing a connection of a terminal and switching a mode of the terminal from an RRC-connected mode (RRC_CONNECTED) to an RRC inactive mode (RRC_INACTIVE) or an RRC idle mode (RRC_IDLE) by a base station, and then performing a satellite cell reselection procedure by the terminal [0163)-[0164]), comprising:
receiving cell reselection parameter indication information transmitted by a network device (The terminal receives system information broadcast by an NTN gNB or satellite cell for the reselection procedure [0172]), wherein the cell reselection parameter indication information indicates one or more cell reselection parameters (the broadcast information includes reselection parameters, including serving-cell ephemeris information and a serving-cell distance threshold, [0167], [0172]-[01761]).
determining a target cell based on the one or more cell reselection parameters (The terminal uses the serving-cell distance threshold when calculating cell rankings, then selects the highest-ranked cell for reselection, [0192], [0194], [0197]);
wherein the one or more cell reselection parameters indicated by the cell reselection parameter indication information comprises a location parameter of a serving cell (The information broadcast for reselection includes a distance threshold associated with the serving cell (paras. [0172], [0176]), wherein the location parameter of the serving cell comprises at least one of a distance threshold between the serving cell and the terminal, or a location where the serving cell is located (The disclosed Dserving value is a distance threshold between the terminal and the serving cell. This maps to the distance-threshold alternative, [0176]-[0178]);
determining the target cell based on the one or more cell reselection parameters comprises: measuring a neighboring cell based on location information of the terminal and the location parameter of the serving cell (the terminal identifies its location using GNSS. Whether it measures a neighboring cell can depend on its distance from the serving cell and the network-provided serving-cell distance threshold, [0165]-[0167], [0191]);
determining the target cell based on a measurement result (the neighboring-cell measurement result contributes to the cell ranking, and the terminal selects the highest-ranked cell for reselection (paras. [0140]-[0142], [0192], [0197]).
Regarding claim 6, Jung discloses,
wherein the cell reselection parameter indication information is configured to indicate one cell reselection parameter, wherein the one cell reselection parameter is parameter information about the cell reselection performed by applying a criterion R; determining the target cell based on the one or more cell reselection parameters comprises: determining the target cell based on the criterion R to perform the cell reselection based on the target cell determined (If rangeToBestCell is configured in SIB2, the terminal may perform cell reselection by selecting a cell having the highest number of beams having values greater than absThreshSS-BlocksConsolidation, among cells having R values belonging to rangeToBestCell of the R value of the highest ranked cell (perform cell reselection to the cell with the highest number of beams above the threshold (i.e., absThreshSS-BlocksConsolidation) among the cells whose R value is within rangeToBestCell of the R value of the highest ranked cell). Here, absThreshSS-BlocksConsolidation may be signaled for each NR frequency, and may denote a threshold value for RS index-specific L1 measurement consolidation, [0142]-[0145]).
Regarding claim 9, Jung discloses,
wherein the cell reselection parameter indication information is configured to indicate one cell reselection parameter, wherein the one cell reselection parameter is parameter information about the cell reselection performed by applying a criterion S; and wherein determining the target cell based on the one or more cell reselection parameters comprises: measuring a neighboring cell based on a signal quality of a serving cell, and determining the target cell based on a measurement result (the terminal may select a cell through cell selection criteria (referred to as S criteria or Equation 1). For example, a cell satisfying Equation 1 below may be selected.
Srxlev>0 AND Squal>0 where: Srxlev=Q.sub.rxlevmeas−(Q.sub.rxlevmin+Q.sub.rxlevminoffset)−P.sub.compensation−Qoffset.sub.temp Squal=Q.sub.qualmeas−(Q.sub.qualmin+Q.sub.qualminoffset)−Qoffset.sub.temp, [0110]-[0113).
Regarding claim 10, Jung discloses,
wherein the cell reselection parameter indication information is configured to indicate one cell reselection parameter, wherein the one cell reselection parameter is parameter information about the cell reselection performed by applying a criterion S; and wherein determining the target cell based on the one or more cell reselection parameters comprises: measuring a neighboring cell based on a signal quality of a serving cell, and determining the target cell based on a measurement result (the terminal may select a cell through cell selection criteria (referred to as S criteria or Equation 1). For example, a cell satisfying Equation 1 below may be selected.
Srxlev>0 AND Squal>0 where: Srxlev=Q.sub.rxlevmeas−(Q.sub.rxlevmin+Q.sub.rxlevminoffset)−P.sub.compensation−Qoffset.sub.temp Squal=Q.sub.qualmeas−(Q.sub.qualmin+Q.sub.qualminoffset)−Qoffset.sub.temp, [0110]-[0113).
Regarding claim 11, Jung discloses,
wherein the one or more cell reselection parameters indicated by the cell reselection parameter indication information comprise a location parameter of a neighboring cell, wherein the location parameter of the neighboring cell comprises at least one of a distance threshold between the neighboring cell and the terminal, and a geographical location where the neighboring cell is located; determining the target cell based on the one or more cell reselection parameters comprises: determining the target cell based on location information of the terminal and the location parameter of the neighboring cell to perform the cell reselection based on the target cell determined ( an information element, etc. which can enable (or active) or disable (or deactivate) determination on whether to perform measurement according to a distance between the terminal and the serving satellite in consideration of at least one of S.sub.intrasearchP, S.sub.IntraSearchQ, S.sub.nonIntraSearchP, and S.sub.nonIntraSearchQ may be included [0184]-[0185]; measurement for a neighbor cell may be performed only when a distance between the terminal and the serving (satellite cell) is equal to or less than a predetermined distance or is less than a predetermined distance, without determining whether to perform measurement for neighbor cells according to a measurement value of the serving (satellite) cell like in the existing rule. A distance threshold value for a predetermined distance reference may be provided to the terminal by the base station through system information or an RRC release message. The distance threshold value may mean the above-described Dserving, or may mean a separate predetermined distance threshold value [0191]; the terminal 7-01 according to an embodiment of the disclosure may perform reselection by selecting the highest ranked cell. Alternatively, the terminal may also perform reselection by selecting the highest ranked cell from among cells satisfying the distance condition. If there is no cell satisfying the distance condition, the terminal may perform cell reselection by selecting a cell having the shortest distance between the terminal and the cell from among cells satisfying S criteria [0197]).
Regarding claim 12, Jung discloses,
wherein the one or more cell reselection parameters indicated by the cell reselection parameter indication information comprise a location parameter of a neighboring cell, and parameter information about the cell reselection performed by applying a criterion R; determining the target cell based on the one or more cell reselection parameters comprises: determining the target cell based on the criterion R, and at least one of location information of the terminal and the location parameter of the neighboring cell, to perform the cell reselection based on the target cell determined (If rangeToBestCell is configured in SIB2, the terminal may perform cell reselection by selecting a cell having the highest number of beams having values greater than absThreshSS-BlocksConsolidation, among cells having R values belonging to rangeToBestCell of the R value of the highest ranked cell (perform cell reselection to the cell with the highest number of beams above the threshold (i.e., absThreshSS-BlocksConsolidation) among the cells whose R value is within rangeToBestCell of the R value of the highest ranked cell). Here, absThreshSS-BlocksConsolidation may be signaled for each NR frequency, and may denote a threshold value for RS index-specific L1 measurement consolidation, [0142]-[0145], [0184], [0189]-[0191]).
Regarding claim 13, Jung discloses,
wherein the one or more cell reselection parameters indicated by the cell reselection parameter indication information comprise a location parameter of a neighboring cell, and parameter information about the cell reselection performed by applying a criterion R; determining the target cell based on the one or more cell reselection parameters comprises: determining the target cell based on the criterion R to perform the cell reselection based on the target cell determined (If rangeToBestCell is configured in SIB2, the terminal may perform cell reselection by selecting a cell having the highest number of beams having values greater than absThreshSS-BlocksConsolidation, among cells having R values belonging to rangeToBestCell of the R value of the highest ranked cell (perform cell reselection to the cell with the highest number of beams above the threshold (i.e., absThreshSS-BlocksConsolidation) among the cells whose R value is within rangeToBestCell of the R value of the highest ranked cell). Here, absThreshSS-BlocksConsolidation may be signaled for each NR frequency, and may denote a threshold value for RS index-specific L1 measurement consolidation, [0142]-[0145], [0184], [0189]-[0191]).
Regarding claim 14, Jung discloses,
receiving a signaling indication, wherein the signaling indication is configured to indicate one or more cell reselection parameters among the one or more cell reselection parameters indicated by the cell reselection parameter indication information (an information element, etc. which can enable (or active) or disable (or deactivate) determination on whether to perform measurement according to a distance between the terminal and the serving satellite in consideration of at least one of S.sub.intrasearchP, S.sub.IntraSearchQ, S.sub.nonIntraSearchP, and S.sub.nonIntraSearchQ may be included [0184]-[0187]).
Regarding claim 17, Jung discloses,
A method for cell reselection, performed by a network device (FIG. 7 illustrates a process of releasing a connection of a terminal and switching a mode of the terminal from an RRC-connected mode (RRC_CONNECTED) to an RRC inactive mode (RRC_INACTIVE) or an RRC idle mode (RRC_IDLE) by a base station, and then performing a satellite cell reselection procedure by the terminal [0163)-[0164]), comprising:
transmitting cell reselection parameter indication information (The terminal receives system information broadcast by an NTN gNB or satellite cell for the reselection procedure [0172]), wherein the cell reselection parameter indication information indicates one or more cell reselection parameters (the broadcast information includes reselection parameters, including serving-cell ephemeris information and a serving-cell distance threshold, [0167], [0172]-[01761]).
determining a target cell based on the one or more cell reselection parameters (The terminal uses the serving-cell distance threshold when calculating cell rankings, then selects the highest-ranked cell for reselection, [0192], [0194], [0197]);
wherein the one or more cell reselection parameters indicated by the cell reselection parameter indication information comprises a location parameter of a serving cell (The information broadcast for reselection includes a distance threshold associated with the serving cell (paras. [0172], [0176]), wherein the location parameter of the serving cell comprises at least one of a distance threshold between the serving cell and the terminal, or a location where the serving cell is located (The disclosed Dserving value is a distance threshold between the terminal and the serving cell. This maps to the distance-threshold alternative, [0176]-[0178]);
the one or more reselection parameters is used to enable the terminal to measure a neighboring cell based on location information of the terminal and the location parameter of the serving cell (the terminal identifies its location using GNSS. Whether it measures a neighboring cell can depend on its distance from the serving cell and the network-provided serving-cell distance threshold, [0165]-[0167], [0191]) and determining the target cell based on a measurement result (the neighboring-cell measurement result contributes to the cell ranking, and the terminal selects the highest-ranked cell for reselection (paras. [0140]-[0142], [0192], [0197]).
Regarding claim 18, Jung discloses,
wherein the one or more cell reselection parameters further comprise at least one of: time information about stopping a service by a serving cell, time information about stopping service by a neighboring cell, a location parameter of the neighboring cell (The information broadcast for reselection includes a distance threshold associated with the serving cell (paras. [0172], [0176]), parameter information about the cell reselection performed by applying a criterion S, wherein the parameter information about the cell reselection performed by applying the criterion S comprises a threshold value of a signal quality of the serving cell ((the terminal may select a cell through cell selection criteria (referred to as S criteria or Equation 1). For example, a cell satisfying Equation 1 below may be selected.
Srxlev>0 AND Squal>0 where: Srxlev=Q.sub.rxlevmeas−(Q.sub.rxlevmin+Q.sub.rxlevminoffset)−
P.sub.compensation−Qoffset.sub.temp Squal=Q.sub.qualmeas− (Q.sub.qualmin+Q.sub.qualminoffset)−Qoffset.sub.temp, [0110]-[0113).), and parameters for calculating a cell selection level and a cell selection quality, and parameter information about the cell reselection performed by applying a criterion R, wherein the parameter information about the cell reselection performed by applying the criterion R comprises a cell signal quality value, a cell reselection hysteresis value, and a value determined by a temporary offset value (If rangeToBestCell is configured in SIB2, the terminal may perform cell reselection by selecting a cell having the highest number of beams having values greater than absThreshSS-BlocksConsolidation, among cells having R values belonging to rangeToBestCell of the R value of the highest ranked cell (perform cell reselection to the cell with the highest number of beams above the threshold (i.e., absThreshSS-BlocksConsolidation) among the cells whose R value is within rangeToBestCell of the R value of the highest ranked cell). Here, absThreshSS-BlocksConsolidation may be signaled for each NR frequency, and may denote a threshold value for RS index-specific L1 measurement consolidation, [0142]-[0145]).
Regarding claim 22, Jung discloses,
A terminal (FIG. 7 illustrates a process of releasing a connection of a terminal and switching a mode of the terminal from an RRC-connected mode (RRC_CONNECTED) to an RRC inactive mode (RRC_INACTIVE) or an RRC idle mode (RRC_IDLE) by a base station, and then performing a satellite cell reselection procedure by the terminal [0163)-[0164]), comprising:
a processor; and a memory for storing processor-executable instruction (a processor and memory are inherent features for a mobile terminal):
wherein the processor is configured to perform a method for cell reselection, comprising
receiving cell reselection parameter indication information transmitted by a network device (The terminal receives system information broadcast by an NTN gNB or satellite cell for the reselection procedure [0172]), wherein the cell reselection parameter indication information indicates one or more cell reselection parameters (the broadcast information includes reselection parameters, including serving-cell ephemeris information and a serving-cell distance threshold, [0167], [0172]-[01761]).
determining a target cell based on the one or more cell reselection parameters (The terminal uses the serving-cell distance threshold when calculating cell rankings, then selects the highest-ranked cell for reselection, [0192], [0194], [0197]);
wherein the one or more cell reselection parameters indicated by the cell reselection parameter indication information comprises a location parameter of a serving cell (The information broadcast for reselection includes a distance threshold associated with the serving cell (paras. [0172], [0176]), wherein the location parameter of the serving cell comprises at least one of a distance threshold between the serving cell and the terminal, or a location where the serving cell is located (The disclosed Dserving value is a distance threshold between the terminal and the serving cell. This maps to the distance-threshold alternative, [0176]-[0178]);
determining the target cell based on the one or more cell reselection parameters comprises: measuring a neighboring cell based on location information of the terminal and the location parameter of the serving cell (the terminal identifies its location using GNSS. Whether it measures a neighboring cell can depend on its distance from the serving cell and the network-provided serving-cell distance threshold, [0165]-[0167], [0191]);
determining the target cell based on a measurement result (the neighboring-cell measurement result contributes to the cell ranking, and the terminal selects the highest-ranked cell for reselection (paras. [0140]-[0142], [0192], [0197]).
Regarding claim 23,
A computer-readable storage medium having stored therein instructions that, when executed, cause the method of claim 1 to be performed (claim 23 corresponds to the claim 1. Therefore, claim 23 is interpreted and rejected for the reason set forth in claim 1).
Regarding claim 24,
A network device, comprising: a processor; and a memory for storing processor-executable instructions; wherein the processor is configured to perform the method according to claim 17 (claim 24 corresponds to the claim 17. Therefore, claim 24 is interpreted and rejected for the reason set forth in claim 17).
Regarding claim 25,
A computer-readable storage medium having stored therein instructions that, when executed, cause the method of claim 17 to be performed (claim 25 corresponds to the claim 17. Therefore, claim 25 is interpreted and rejected for the reason set forth in claim 17).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jung, and further in view of Määttänen et al. (US 20230308168, hereinafter “Maatta”).
Regarding claim 2, Jung discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 1), however Jung does not disclose, wherein the one or more cell reselection parameters comprise time information about stopping a service by a serving cell, and wherein determining the target cell based on the one or more cell reselection parameters comprises: measuring a neighboring cell based on the time information about stopping the service by the serving cell, and determining the target cell based on a measurement result.
In the same field of endeavor, Maatta discloses, wherein the one or more cell reselection parameters comprise time information about stopping a service by a serving cell (One proposed solution adds an expected duration of time the UE is to be served (or will be served) by a NTN serving cell, referred to as T.sub.service, to the rules of channel quality measurements (e.g., Reference Signal Received Power (RSRP)/Reference Signal Received Quality (RSRQ) measurements). In fact, the duration of time T.sub.service (T_service) may be interpreted as a time duration remaining until the concerned cell will or would cease to provide service to the UE, [0052]-[0053]; [0105]), and wherein determining the target cell based on the one or more cell reselection parameters comprises: measuring a neighboring cell based on the time information about stopping the service by the serving cell ( neighbor cell measurements may be omitted until T.sub.service<T.sub.threshold, where T.sub.threshold is a configurable or specified threshold value. The UE 412 can determine whether the serving cell quality is sufficiently good through one or more initial serving cell quality measurements and if this/these consistently result in a serving cell quality above a configured or specified threshold value, then the UE 412 may omit neighbor cell measurements until T.sub.service<T.sub.threshold, [0106]; [0110]), and determining the target cell based on a measurement result (neighbor cell measurements may be omitted until T.sub.service<T.sub.threshold, where T.sub.threshold is a configurable or specified threshold value. The UE 412 can determine whether the serving cell quality is sufficiently good through one or more initial serving cell quality measurements and if this/these consistently result in a serving cell quality above a configured or specified threshold value, then the UE 412 may omit neighbor cell measurements until T.sub.service<T.sub.threshold. Optionally, the serving cell channel quality measurements can also be relaxed while sufficient time remains until the UE 412 has to change cell [0105]-[0106]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Jung by specifically providing wherein the one or more cell reselection parameters comprise time information about stopping a service by a serving cell, and wherein determining the target cell based on the one or more cell reselection parameters comprises: measuring a neighboring cell based on the time information about stopping the service by the serving cell, and determining the target cell based on a measurement result, as taught by Maatta for the purpose of controlling channel quality measurements in Non-Terrestrial Networks (NTNs) by adding an expected duration of time the UE is to be served (or will be served) by a NTN serving cell [0052].
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jung, and further in view of Wang et al. (US 20220225208, hereinafter “Wang”).
Regarding claim 4, Jung discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 1), however Jung does not disclose, wherein the one or more cell reselection parameters comprise time information about stopping a service by a neighboring cell, and wherein determining the target cell based on the one or more cell reselection parameters comprises determining the target cell based on the time information about stopping providing the service by the neighboring cell to perform the cell reselection based on the target cell determined.
In the same field of endeavor, Wang discloses, wherein the one or more cell reselection parameters comprise time information about stopping a service by a neighboring cell, and wherein determining the target cell based on the one or more cell reselection parameters comprises determining the target cell based on the time information about stopping providing the service by the neighboring cell to perform the cell reselection based on the target cell determined (during configuration of a neighboring cell relationship table, an inactive (Inactive) state field corresponding to the neighboring cell corresponds to duration (a time interval) of the inactive state. Specifically, the inactive (Inactive) state field may indicate a start time point and an end time point of the inactive state of the neighboring cell; or the field may indicate a start time point of the inactive state of the neighboring cell and duration (an offset) of the inactive state of the neighboring cell based on the start time point; or the field may indicate a plurality of start time points of the inactive state of the neighboring cell and duration (an offset) of the inactive state of the neighboring cell based on the plurality of start time point, [0073]-[0074]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Jung by specifically providing wherein the one or more cell reselection parameters comprise time information about stopping a service by a neighboring cell, and wherein determining the target cell based on the one or more cell reselection parameters comprises determining the target cell based on the time information about stopping providing the service by the neighboring cell to perform the cell reselection based on the target cell determined, as taught by Wang for the purpose of providing a neighboring cell relationship configuration technique that are applicable to a satellite network, to efficiently maintain a large amount of terrestrial neighboring cell relationship information.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3 and 5 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Regarding claim 3, the following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: the closest prior art, Jung, does not disclose, “the method comprising wherein the one or more cell reselection parameters comprise time information about stopping a service by a serving cell, and parameter information about the cell reselection performed by applying a criterion S, wherein the parameter information about the cell reselection performed by applying the criterion S comprises a threshold value of a signal quality of the serving cell, and parameters for calculating a cell selection level and a cell selection quality; determining the target cell based on the one or more cell reselection parameters comprises: measuring a neighboring cell based on at least one item selected from the group consisting of the time information about stopping providing the service by the serving cell and the signal quality of the serving cell, and determining the target cell based on a measurement result; wherein measuring the neighboring cell based on the signal quality of the serving cell comprises: triggering measurement on the neighboring cell in a case that the signal quality of the serving cell is greater than the threshold value of the signal quality of the serving cell”, in combination with the other limitations in claim 1.
Regarding claim 5, The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: the closest prior arts, Jung, do not teach nor fairly suggest the following novel feature:
“the method comprising wherein the one or more cell reselection parameters comprise time information about stopping a service by a neighboring cell, and parameter information about the cell reselection performed by applying a criterion R, wherein the parameter information about the cell reselection performed by applying the criterion R comprises a cell signal quality value, a cell reselection hysteresis value and a value determined by a temporary offset value; determining the target cell based on the one or more cell reselection parameters comprises: determining the target cell based on at least one item selected from the group consisting of the time information about stopping the service by the neighboring cell and the criterion R, to perform the cell reselection based on the target cell determined”, in combination with the other limitations in claim 1.
Prior Art of the Record:
The prior art made of record not relied upon and considered pertinent to
Applicant’s disclosure:
US 20220167221: A method and apparatus for conditional handover based on the service time of candidate cells in a wireless communication system is provided. A wireless device receives, from a network, handover configuration including information related to candidate cells to be measured and service time of each of the candidate cells. A wireless device performs measurement on the candidate cells. A wireless device selects a cell among the candidate cells based on the service time of each of the candidate cells. A wireless device performs handover to the selected cell.
US 20180167856: Embodiments of the present application disclose an access network device that includes at least one processor configured to generate requirement indication information. The requirement indication information is used to indicate a radio resource management (RRM) requirement to be satisfied by a user equipment (UE). The RRM requirement is suitable for a high-speed mobile communication environment. The access network device also includes a transmitter configured to send the requirement indication information to the UE.
US 20220070751: The present disclosure relates to cell reselection in wireless communications. According to an embodiment of the present disclosure, a method performed by a wireless device in a wireless communication system comprises: performing a cell reselection to a cell; receiving information for a signal quality range, information for a scaling factor for the signal quality range and information for a time period for determining a number of cell reselections; based on a determination that a signal quality measured for the cell is within the signal quality range.
Conclusion
/GOLAM SOROWAR/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2641