DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 01/29/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive because of the following reason:
Applicant argues that amended independent claim 1 (and corresponding dependent claim 8 language) requires that the reselection parameters indicated by the network include a “location parameter of a serving cell,” where the location parameter comprises at least one of a distance between the serving cell and the terminal and a geographical location where the serving cell is located, and further requires that performing reselection includes measuring a neighboring cell based on a signal quality of the serving cell and at least one of terminal location information and the serving-cell location parameter, and performing reselection based on a measurement result Applicant asserts Jung “merely” discloses initiating reselection based on channel quality/S-criteria and does not disclose location parameters of the serving cell or terminal location information, and therefore does not teach the amended limitation.
The Examiner respectfully disagrees because Jung expressly teaches that cell reselection may begin when one or more measurement-based conditions are satisfied, including that “the measured cell and channel quality value of a serving cell decreases to be less than or equal to a predetermined threshold value (below a threshold, not satisfying S-criteria)” and/or that “the measured cell and channel quality value of a neighboring cell increases to be greater than or equal to a threshold value,” and/or that the serving-cell measured quality “relatively decreases” by at least a predetermined amount/ratio compared to the neighboring cell (e.g., conditions comparing “the channel quality value of a target cell” and “the channel quality value of a serving cell”). See Jung [0097], [0100], [0111], and [0137]. Thus, contrary to Applicant's characterization, Jung is not silent regarding criterion S; Jung explicitly references “not satisfying S-criteria” as part of the reselection triggering conditions, and Jung's reselection is expressly driven by measured values of the serving cell and neighboring cell and threshold/comparison evaluations of those measured values. Accordingly, Jung teaches “parameter information about the cell reselection performed by applying a criterion S” and further teaches that reselection is performed based on a measurement result, because the described reselection initiation depends on whether measured serving and neighboring cell/channel quality values meet threshold and comparison criteria. See Jung [0097], [0100], [0111], and [0137].
Applicant's assertion that Jung fails to teach “measuring a neighboring cell based on a signal quality of the serving cell” is also not persuasive. Under a broad and reasonable interpretation, a process in which a terminal begins the reselection procedure when the serving-cell measured quality falls below a threshold (S-criteria not satisfied) and/or when the neighboring-cell measured quality rises above a threshold and/or when a relative comparison between neighbor and serving satisfies a criterion constitutes measuring/evaluating neighboring cells based on the serving cell's signal/channel quality and the resulting neighbor measurements. Jung repeatedly ties the initiation of reselection to serving-cell measured quality conditions and uses measured neighboring-cell quality and relative comparisons to determine when to begin reselection. See Jung [0097], [0100], [0111], and [0137]. In plain terms, Jung uses the serving-cell measured quality as a triggering input to the neighbor measurement/evaluation and reselection decision, and the reselection outcome depends on the measured neighbor results in relation to the serving-cell quality state.
Applicant further argues Jung does not explicitly disclose “a location parameter of a serving cell”, including “distance” and/or “geographical location” and does not take “terminal location information” into account. The Examiner notes that the claim does not require any particular format of “distance” (e.g., GPS derived meters) nor does it require that the prior art use the literal terms “distance”, “geographical location”, or “location parameter”. Rather, the claim recites that the reselection parameters “comprise” a location parameter and that neighbor measurement is based on serving-cell signal quality and at least one of terminal location information and the serving-cell location parameter. In cellular systems, the measured serving-cell signal/channel quality used for S-criteria decisions is inherently dependent on the terminal's position relative to the serving cell, including distance/pathloss-related effects. Jung's reselection triggers repeatedly rely on serving-cell measured channel quality falling below a threshold (not satisfying S-criteria) and on comparisons between serving and neighboring measured channel quality values. See Jung [0097], [0100], [0111], and (Ol37]. Under a broad and reasonable interpretation, such measured serving-cell quality values used to determine whether the terminal should remain on the serving cell or reselect to another cell represent and operationalize the terminal's relative location condition with respect to the serving cell, including distance-dependent conditions, in the context of cell reselection. Additionally, a “serving cell” is a deployed network entity associated with a fixed site/sector in a geographic area, and Jung's discussion of a serving cell and neighboring cells necessarily pertains to deployed cells that correspond to geographic locations, even if coordinates are not expressly listed in the cited paragraphs. Therefore, Applicant's position that Jung must explicitly recite GPS coordinates or the word “distance” to satisfy “location parameter” and “terminal location information” is not persuasive under the broadest reasonable interpretation, particularly where Jung expressly bases reselection on measured serving-cell and neighboring-cell quality values tied to S-criteria thresholding and comparisons. For at least the foregoing reasons, Applicant's arguments do not overcome the rejection, and the rejection is maintained.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, 7, 9-11, 14, 17, 18 and 22-25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Geng et al. (US 20220322176, hereinafter “Geng”) and further in view of Jung et al. (US 20190313303, hereinafter “Jung”).
Regarding claim 1, Geng discloses,
A method for cell reselection, performed by a terminal (As shown in FIG. 3, an embodiment of this application provides a cell reselection method), comprising:
receiving cell reselection parameter indication information (reselection configuration parameter) transmitted by a network device (Step 301: The network device sends reselection configuration information to the UE. Accordingly, the UE may receive the reselection configuration information, [0099]-[0100]), wherein the cell reselection parameter indication information indicates one or more cell reselection parameters (The reselection configuration information includes configuration information used for reselection. The reselection configuration information may include at least one of reselection trigger information or reselection target information. Optionally, the reselection configuration information may further include reselection time range information, [0101]-[0108]); and
performing the cell reselection based on the one or more cell reselection parameters (Step 302: The UE performs measurement for cell reselection based on the reselection configuration information, [0109]).
However, Geng does not disclose, wherein the one or more cell reselection parameters indicated by the cell reselection parameter indication information comprise a location parameter of a serving cell, and parameter information about the cell reselection performed by applying a criterion S, wherein the location parameter of the serving cell comprises at least one of a distance between the serving cell and the terminal, and a geographical location where the serving cell is located; performing the cell reselection based on the one or more cell reselection parameters comprises: measuring a neighboring cell based on a signal quality of the serving cell, and at least one of location information of the terminal and the location parameter of the serving cell, and performing the cell reselection based on a measurement result.
In the same field of endeavor, Jung discloses, wherein the one or more cell reselection parameters indicated by the cell reselection parameter indication information comprise a location parameter of a serving cell, and parameter information about the cell reselection performed by applying a criterion S, wherein the location parameter of the serving cell comprises at least one of a distance between the serving cell and the terminal, and a geographical location where the serving cell is located; performing the cell reselection based on the one or more cell reselection parameters comprises: measuring a neighboring cell based on a signal quality of the serving cell, and at least one of location information of the terminal and the location parameter of the serving cell, and performing the cell reselection based on a measurement result.
([0097] a cell reselection may begin when at least one of the following conditions is satisfied. The conditions include: cell reselection is always performed; cell reselection is performed periodically; the measured cell and channel quality value of a serving cell decreases to be less than or equal to a predetermined threshold value (below a threshold, not satisfying S-criteria); the measured cell and channel quality value of a neighboring cell increases to be greater than or equal to a threshold value (above a threshold), [0100] In operation 703, a cell reselection may begin when at least one the following conditions is satisfied. The conditions include: a cell reselection is always performed; a cell reselection is performed periodically; the measured cell and channel quality value of a serving cell decreases to be less than or equal to a predetermined threshold value (below a threshold, not satisfying S-criteria);
[0111] In operation 803, a cell reselection may begin when at least one of the following conditions is satisfied. The conditions include: a cell reselection is always performed; a cell reselection is performed periodically; the measured cell and channel quality value of a serving cell decreases to be less than or equal to a predetermined threshold value (below a threshold, not satisfying S-criteria); [0137] In operation 903, the cell reselection may begin when at least one of the following conditions is satisfied. The conditions include: the cell reselection is always performed; the cell reselection is performed periodically; the measured cell and channel quality value of a serving cell decreases to be less than or equal to a predetermined threshold value (below a threshold, not satisfying S-criteria);).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Geng by specifically providing wherein the one or more cell reselection parameters indicated by the cell reselection parameter indication information comprise a location parameter of a serving cell, and parameter information about the cell reselection performed by applying a criterion S, wherein the location parameter of the serving cell comprises at least one of a distance between the serving cell and the terminal, and a geographical location where the serving cell is located; performing the cell reselection based on the one or more cell reselection parameters comprises: measuring a neighboring cell based on a signal quality of the serving cell, and at least one of location information of the terminal and the location parameter of the serving cell, and performing the cell reselection based on a measurement result, as taught by Jung for the purpose of providing a method and apparatus for effectively performing a cell reselection in a wireless communication system [0008].
Regarding claim 2, the combination of Geng and Jung discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 1), further Geng discloses,
wherein the one or more cell reselection parameters comprise time information about providing a service by a serving cell, and wherein performing the cell reselection based on the one or more cell reselection parameters (The UE may start a timer based on the reselection time range information. For example, if the reselection time range information includes the time length, the UE may start the timer after receiving the reselection configuration information, or start the timer after the reselection trigger time arrives. Therefore, an effective time range of the timer is from a start moment of the timer to the start moment of the timer+the time length. For another example, if the reselection time range information includes the start time information and the end time information, the UE starts the timer at a moment indicated by the start time information, and stops the timer at a moment indicated by the end time information. Therefore, an effective time range of the timer is from the start moment to the end moment, [0108]-[0117]) comprises: measuring a neighboring cell based on the time information about providing the service by the serving cell, and performing the cell reselection based on a measurement result (The reselection time range information is used to indicate that the UE may perform measurement for cell reselection based on the reselection trigger information and/or the reselection target information within a time range. The reselection time range information may include a time length, or start time information and a time length, or start time information and end time information, or end time information. The UE may ignore the reselection trigger information and/or the reselection target information beyond the time range indicated by the reselection time range information. For example, the UE may perform measurement for cell reselection based on the reselection priority configuration information described above. To be specific, the reselection time range information limits effective time of the reselection trigger information and/or the reselection target information, [0108]-[0117]).
Regarding claim 3, the combination of Geng and Jung discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 1), however Geng does not disclose, wherein the one or more cell reselection parameters comprise time information about providing a service by a serving cell, and parameter information about the cell reselection performed by applying a criterion S, wherein the parameter information about the cell reselection performed by applying the criterion S comprises a threshold value of a signal quality of the serving cell, and parameters for calculating a cell selection level and a cell selection quality; performing the cell reselection based on the one or more cell reselection parameters comprises: measuring a neighboring cell based on at least one item selected from the group consisting of the time information about providing the service by the serving cell and the signal quality of the serving cell, and performing the cell reselection based on a measurement result; wherein measuring the neighboring cell based on the signal quality of the serving cell comprises: triggering measurement on the neighboring cell in a case that the signal quality of the serving cell is greater than the threshold value of the signal quality of the serving cell.
In the same field of endeavor, Jung discloses, wherein the one or more cell reselection parameters comprise time information about providing a service by a serving cell, and parameter information about the cell reselection performed by applying a criterion S, wherein the parameter information about the cell reselection performed by applying the criterion S comprises a threshold value of a signal quality of the serving cell, and parameters for calculating a cell selection level and a cell selection quality
([0097] a cell reselection may begin when at least one of the following conditions is satisfied. The conditions include: cell reselection is always performed; cell reselection is performed periodically; the measured cell and channel quality value of a serving cell decreases to be less than or equal to a predetermined threshold value (below a threshold, not satisfying S-criteria); the measured cell and channel quality value of a neighboring cell increases to be greater than or equal to a threshold value (above a threshold), [0100] In operation 703, a cell reselection may begin when at least one the following conditions is satisfied. The conditions include: a cell reselection is always performed; a cell reselection is performed periodically; the measured cell and channel quality value of a serving cell decreases to be less than or equal to a predetermined threshold value (below a threshold, not satisfying S-criteria);
[0111] In operation 803, a cell reselection may begin when at least one of the following conditions is satisfied. The conditions include: a cell reselection is always performed; a cell reselection is performed periodically; the measured cell and channel quality value of a serving cell decreases to be less than or equal to a predetermined threshold value (below a threshold, not satisfying S-criteria); [0137] In operation 903, the cell reselection may begin when at least one of the following conditions is satisfied. The conditions include: the cell reselection is always performed; the cell reselection is performed periodically; the measured cell and channel quality value of a serving cell decreases to be less than or equal to a predetermined threshold value (below a threshold, not satisfying S-criteria);); performing the cell reselection based on the one or more cell reselection parameters comprises: measuring a neighboring cell based on at least one item selected from the group consisting of the time information about providing the service by the serving cell and the signal quality of the serving cell, and performing the cell reselection based on a measurement result; wherein measuring the neighboring cell based on the signal quality of the serving cell comprises: triggering measurement on the neighboring cell in a case that the signal quality of the serving cell is greater than the threshold value of the signal quality of the serving cell ([0097] a cell reselection may begin when at least one of the following conditions is satisfied. The conditions include: cell reselection is always performed; cell reselection is performed periodically; the measured cell and channel quality value of a serving cell decreases to be less than or equal to a predetermined threshold value (below a threshold, not satisfying S-criteria); the measured cell and channel quality value of a neighboring cell increases to be greater than or equal to a threshold value (above a threshold), [0100] In operation 703, a cell reselection may begin when at least one the following conditions is satisfied. The conditions include: a cell reselection is always performed; a cell reselection is performed periodically; the measured cell and channel quality value of a serving cell decreases to be less than or equal to a predetermined threshold value (below a threshold, not satisfying S-criteria);
[0111] In operation 803, a cell reselection may begin when at least one of the following conditions is satisfied. The conditions include: a cell reselection is always performed; a cell reselection is performed periodically; the measured cell and channel quality value of a serving cell decreases to be less than or equal to a predetermined threshold value (below a threshold, not satisfying S-criteria); [0137] In operation 903, the cell reselection may begin when at least one of the following conditions is satisfied. The conditions include: the cell reselection is always performed; the cell reselection is performed periodically; the measured cell and channel quality value of a serving cell decreases to be less than or equal to a predetermined threshold value (below a threshold, not satisfying S-criteria);).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Geng by specifically providing wherein the one or more cell reselection parameters comprise time information about providing a service by a serving cell, and parameter information about the cell reselection performed by applying a criterion S, wherein the parameter information about the cell reselection performed by applying the criterion S comprises a threshold value of a signal quality of the serving cell, and parameters for calculating a cell selection level and a cell selection quality; performing the cell reselection based on the one or more cell reselection parameters comprises: measuring a neighboring cell based on at least one item selected from the group consisting of the time information about providing the service by the serving cell and the signal quality of the serving cell, and performing the cell reselection based on a measurement result; wherein measuring the neighboring cell based on the signal quality of the serving cell comprises: triggering measurement on the neighboring cell in a case that the signal quality of the serving cell is greater than the threshold value of the signal quality of the serving cell, as taught by Jung for the purpose of providing a method and apparatus for effectively performing a cell reselection in a wireless communication system [0008].
Regarding claim 4, the combination of Geng and Jung discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 1), further Geng discloses,
wherein the one or more cell reselection parameters comprise time information about providing a service by a neighboring cell, and wherein performing the cell reselection based on the one or more cell reselection parameters comprises determining a target cell based on the time information about providing the service by the neighboring cell, and performing the cell reselection based on the target cell determined (The reselection time range information is used to indicate that the UE may perform measurement for cell reselection based on the reselection trigger information and/or the reselection target information within a time range. The reselection time range information may include a time length, or start time information and a time length, or start time information and end time information, or end time information. The UE may ignore the reselection trigger information and/or the reselection target information beyond the time range indicated by the reselection time range information. For example, the UE may perform measurement for cell reselection based on the reselection priority configuration information described above. To be specific, the reselection time range information limits effective time of the reselection trigger information and/or the reselection target information, [0108]-[0117]).
Regarding claim 7, the combination of Geng and Jung discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 1), further Geng discloses,
wherein the one or more cell reselection parameters indicated by the cell reselection parameter indication information comprise a location parameter of a serving cell, wherein the location parameter of the serving cell comprises at least one of a distance between the serving cell and the terminal, and a geographical location where the serving cell is located; performing the cell reselection based on the one or more cell reselection parameters comprises: measuring a neighboring cell based on location information of the terminal and the location parameter of the serving cell, and performing the cell reselection based on a measurement result (the network device on the satellite 2 or the base station 2 sends the reselection configuration information to UE at any moment before the moment T2. For example, when the moment T2 arrives, if the UE 1 and the UE 2 obtain quality of the cell 3 through measurement based only on the reselection target information within a time range from T2 to T3, and the quality of the cell 3 satisfies a first criterion, the UE 1 and the UE 2 perform reselection to the cell 3.
[0126] For another example, due to signal blockage or other reasons, the UE 1 does not obtain quality of the cell 3 through measurement within a time range from T2 to T3. In this case, the UE 1 may perform measurement based on reselection priority configuration information within the time range from T2 to T3, and also perform measurement based on the reselection priority configuration information beyond the time range from T2 to T3, [0117]-[0127]).
Regarding claim 9, the combination of Geng and Jung discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 1), However, Geng does not disclose, wherein the one or more cell reselection parameters indicated by the cell reselection parameter indication information comprise a location parameter of a serving cell, and parameter information about the cell reselection performed by applying a criterion S, wherein the location parameter of the serving cell comprises at least one of a distance between the serving cell and the terminal, and a geographical location where the serving cell is located; performing the cell reselection based on the one or more cell reselection parameters comprises: measuring a neighboring cell based on a signal quality of the serving cell, and performing the cell reselection based on a measurement result.
In the same field of endeavor, Jung discloses, wherein the one or more cell reselection parameters indicated by the cell reselection parameter indication information comprise a location parameter of a serving cell, and parameter information about the cell reselection performed by applying a criterion S, wherein the location parameter of the serving cell comprises at least one of a distance between the serving cell and the terminal, and a geographical location where the serving cell is located; performing the cell reselection based on the one or more cell reselection parameters comprises: measuring a neighboring cell based on a signal quality of the serving cell, and performing the cell reselection based on a measurement result.
([0097] a cell reselection may begin when at least one of the following conditions is satisfied. The conditions include: cell reselection is always performed; cell reselection is performed periodically; the measured cell and channel quality value of a serving cell decreases to be less than or equal to a predetermined threshold value (below a threshold, not satisfying S-criteria); the measured cell and channel quality value of a neighboring cell increases to be greater than or equal to a threshold value (above a threshold), [0100] In operation 703, a cell reselection may begin when at least one the following conditions is satisfied. The conditions include: a cell reselection is always performed; a cell reselection is performed periodically; the measured cell and channel quality value of a serving cell decreases to be less than or equal to a predetermined threshold value (below a threshold, not satisfying S-criteria);
[0111] In operation 803, a cell reselection may begin when at least one of the following conditions is satisfied. The conditions include: a cell reselection is always performed; a cell reselection is performed periodically; the measured cell and channel quality value of a serving cell decreases to be less than or equal to a predetermined threshold value (below a threshold, not satisfying S-criteria); [0137] In operation 903, the cell reselection may begin when at least one of the following conditions is satisfied. The conditions include: the cell reselection is always performed; the cell reselection is performed periodically; the measured cell and channel quality value of a serving cell decreases to be less than or equal to a predetermined threshold value (below a threshold, not satisfying S-criteria);).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Geng by specifically providing wherein the one or more cell reselection parameters indicated by the cell reselection parameter indication information comprise a location parameter of a serving cell, and parameter information about the cell reselection performed by applying a criterion S, wherein the location parameter of the serving cell comprises at least one of a distance between the serving cell and the terminal, and a geographical location where the serving cell is located; performing the cell reselection based on the one or more cell reselection parameters comprises: measuring a neighboring cell based on a signal quality of the serving cell, and performing the cell reselection based on a measurement result, as taught by Jung for the purpose of providing a method and apparatus for effectively performing a cell reselection in a wireless communication system [0008].
Regarding claim 10, the combination of Geng and Jung discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 1), However, Geng does not disclose,
wherein the cell reselection parameter indication information is configured to indicate one cell reselection parameter, wherein the one cell reselection parameter is parameter information about the cell reselection performed by applying a criterion S; and wherein performing the cell reselection based on the one or more cell reselection parameters comprises: measuring a neighboring cell based on a signal quality of a serving cell, and performing the cell reselection based on a measurement result.
In the same field of endeavor, Jung discloses, wherein the cell reselection parameter indication information is configured to indicate one cell reselection parameter, wherein the one cell reselection parameter is parameter information about the cell reselection performed by applying a criterion S; and wherein performing the cell reselection based on the one or more cell reselection parameters comprises: measuring a neighboring cell based on a signal quality of a serving cell, and performing the cell reselection based on a measurement result.
([0097] a cell reselection may begin when at least one of the following conditions is satisfied. The conditions include: cell reselection is always performed; cell reselection is performed periodically; the measured cell and channel quality value of a serving cell decreases to be less than or equal to a predetermined threshold value (below a threshold, not satisfying S-criteria); the measured cell and channel quality value of a neighboring cell increases to be greater than or equal to a threshold value (above a threshold), [0100] In operation 703, a cell reselection may begin when at least one the following conditions is satisfied. The conditions include: a cell reselection is always performed; a cell reselection is performed periodically; the measured cell and channel quality value of a serving cell decreases to be less than or equal to a predetermined threshold value (below a threshold, not satisfying S-criteria);
[0111] In operation 803, a cell reselection may begin when at least one of the following conditions is satisfied. The conditions include: a cell reselection is always performed; a cell reselection is performed periodically; the measured cell and channel quality value of a serving cell decreases to be less than or equal to a predetermined threshold value (below a threshold, not satisfying S-criteria); [0137] In operation 903, the cell reselection may begin when at least one of the following conditions is satisfied. The conditions include: the cell reselection is always performed; the cell reselection is performed periodically; the measured cell and channel quality value of a serving cell decreases to be less than or equal to a predetermined threshold value (below a threshold, not satisfying S-criteria);).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Geng by specifically providing wherein the cell reselection parameter indication information is configured to indicate one cell reselection parameter, wherein the one cell reselection parameter is parameter information about the cell reselection performed by applying a criterion S; and wherein performing the cell reselection based on the one or more cell reselection parameters comprises: measuring a neighboring cell based on a signal quality of a serving cell, and performing the cell reselection based on a measurement result, as taught by Jung for the purpose of providing a method and apparatus for effectively performing a cell reselection in a wireless communication system [0008].
Regarding claim 11, the combination of Geng and Jung discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 1), further Geng discloses,
wherein the one or more cell reselection parameters indicated by the cell reselection parameter indication information comprise a location parameter of a neighboring cell, wherein the location parameter of the neighboring cell comprises at least one of a distance between the neighboring cell and the terminal, and a geographical location where the neighboring cell is located; performing the cell reselection based on the one or more cell reselection parameters comprises: determining a target cell based on location information of the terminal and the location parameter of the neighboring cell, and performing the cell reselection based on the target cell determined (the network device on the satellite 2 or the base station 2 sends the reselection configuration information to UE at any moment before the moment T2. For example, when the moment T2 arrives, if the UE 1 and the UE 2 obtain quality of the cell 3 through measurement based only on the reselection target information within a time range from T2 to T3, and the quality of the cell 3 satisfies a first criterion, the UE 1 and the UE 2 perform reselection to the cell 3. [0126] For another example, due to signal blockage or other reasons, the UE 1 does not obtain quality of the cell 3 through measurement within a time range from T2 to T3. In this case, the UE 1 may perform measurement based on reselection priority configuration information within the time range from T2 to T3, and also perform measurement based on the reselection priority configuration information beyond the time range from T2 to T3, [0117]-[0127]).
Regarding claim 14, the combination of Geng and Jung discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 1), further Geng discloses,
receiving a signaling indication, wherein the signaling indication is configured to indicate one or more cell reselection parameters among the one or more cell reselection parameters indicated by the cell reselection parameter indication information; wherein performing the cell reselection based on the one or more cell reselection parameters comprises: measuring a neighboring cell, or determining a target cell, or measuring the neighboring cell and determining the target cell, based on the one or more cell reselection parameters indicated by the signaling indication, and performing the cell reselection based on the target cell determined (the network device on the satellite 2 or the base station 2 sends the reselection configuration information to UE at any moment before the moment T2. For example, when the moment T2 arrives, if the UE 1 and the UE 2 obtain quality of the cell 3 through measurement based only on the reselection target information within a time range from T2 to T3, and the quality of the cell 3 satisfies a first criterion, the UE 1 and the UE 2 perform reselection to the cell 3. [0126] For another example, due to signal blockage or other reasons, the UE 1 does not obtain quality of the cell 3 through measurement within a time range from T2 to T3. In this case, the UE 1 may perform measurement based on reselection priority configuration information within the time range from T2 to T3, and also perform measurement based on the reselection priority configuration information beyond the time range from T2 to T3, [0117]-[0127]).
Regarding claim 17, Geng discloses,
A method for cell reselection, performed by a network device (As shown in FIG. 3, an embodiment of this application provides a cell reselection method), comprising:
transmitting cell reselection parameter indication information (Step 301: The network device sends reselection configuration information to the UE. Accordingly, the UE may receive the reselection configuration information, [0099]-[0100]), wherein the cell reselection parameter indication information indicates one or more cell reselection parameters (The reselection configuration information includes configuration information used for reselection. The reselection configuration information may include at least one of reselection trigger information or reselection target information. Optionally, the reselection configuration information may further include reselection time range information, [0101]-[0108]).
However, Geng does not disclose, wherein the one or more cell reselection parameters indicated by the cell reselection parameter indication information comprise a location parameter of a serving cell, and parameter information about the cell reselection performed by applying a criterion S, wherein the location parameter of the serving cell comprises at least one of a distance between the serving cell and the terminal, and a geographical location where the serving cell is located; the one or more cell reselection parameters is used to enable the terminal to measure a neighboring cell based on a signal quality of the serving cell, and at least one of location information of the terminal and the location parameter of the serving cell, and perform the cell reselection based on a measurement result.
In the same field of endeavor, Jung discloses, wherein the one or more cell reselection parameters indicated by the cell reselection parameter indication information comprise a location parameter of a serving cell, and parameter information about the cell reselection performed by applying a criterion S, wherein the location parameter of the serving cell comprises at least one of a distance between the serving cell and the terminal, and a geographical location where the serving cell is located; the one or more cell reselection parameters is used to enable the terminal to measure a neighboring cell based on a signal quality of the serving cell, and at least one of location information of the terminal and the location parameter of the serving cell, and perform the cell reselection based on a measurement result.
([0097] a cell reselection may begin when at least one of the following conditions is satisfied. The conditions include: cell reselection is always performed; cell reselection is performed periodically; the measured cell and channel quality value of a serving cell decreases to be less than or equal to a predetermined threshold value (below a threshold, not satisfying S-criteria); the measured cell and channel quality value of a neighboring cell increases to be greater than or equal to a threshold value (above a threshold), [0100] In operation 703, a cell reselection may begin when at least one the following conditions is satisfied. The conditions include: a cell reselection is always performed; a cell reselection is performed periodically; the measured cell and channel quality value of a serving cell decreases to be less than or equal to a predetermined threshold value (below a threshold, not satisfying S-criteria);
[0111] In operation 803, a cell reselection may begin when at least one of the following conditions is satisfied. The conditions include: a cell reselection is always performed; a cell reselection is performed periodically; the measured cell and channel quality value of a serving cell decreases to be less than or equal to a predetermined threshold value (below a threshold, not satisfying S-criteria); [0137] In operation 903, the cell reselection may begin when at least one of the following conditions is satisfied. The conditions include: the cell reselection is always performed; the cell reselection is performed periodically; the measured cell and channel quality value of a serving cell decreases to be less than or equal to a predetermined threshold value (below a threshold, not satisfying S-criteria);).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Geng by specifically providing wherein the one or more cell reselection parameters indicated by the cell reselection parameter indication information comprise a location parameter of a serving cell, and parameter information about the cell reselection performed by applying a criterion S, wherein the location parameter of the serving cell comprises at least one of a distance between the serving cell and the terminal, and a geographical location where the serving cell is located; the one or more cell reselection parameters is used to enable the terminal to measure a neighboring cell based on a signal quality of the serving cell, and at least one of location information of the terminal and the location parameter of the serving cell, and perform the cell reselection based on a measurement result, as taught by Jung for the purpose of providing a method and apparatus for effectively performing a cell reselection in a wireless communication system [0008].
Regarding claim 18, the combination of Geng and Jung discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 17), further Geng discloses,
wherein the one or more cell reselection parameters comprise at least one of: time information about providing a service by a serving cell, a location parameter of the serving cell, time information about providing a service by a neighboring cell, a location parameter of the neighboring cell, parameter information about the cell reselection performed by applying a criterion S, wherein the parameter information about the cell reselection performed by applying the criterion S comprises a threshold value of a signal quality of the serving cell, and parameters for calculating a cell selection level and a cell selection quality, and parameter information about the cell reselection performed by applying a criterion R, wherein the parameter information about the cell reselection performed by applying the criterion R comprises a cell signal quality value, a cell reselection hysteresis value, and a value determined by a temporary offset value. (The UE may start a timer based on the reselection time range information. For example, if the reselection time range information includes the time length, the UE may start the timer after receiving the reselection configuration information, or start the timer after the reselection trigger time arrives. Therefore, an effective time range of the timer is from a start moment of the timer to the start moment of the timer+the time length. For another example, if the reselection time range information includes the start time information and the end time information, the UE starts the timer at a moment indicated by the start time information, and stops the timer at a moment indicated by the end time information. Therefore, an effective time range of the timer is from the start moment to the end moment, [0108]-[0117]).
Regarding claim 22, Geng discloses,
A terminal (As shown in FIG. 3, an embodiment of this application provides a cell reselection method), comprising:
a processor; and a memory for storing processor-executable instructions; wherein the processor is configured to perform a method for cell reselection (The signal processing part 930 may include one or more processing elements 931, for example, include a main control CPU and another integrated circuit, and include an interface circuit 933. In addition, the signal processing part 930 may further include a storage element 932. The storage element 932 is configured to store data and a program, [0252]), comprising:
receiving cell reselection parameter indication information (reselection configuration parameter) transmitted by a network device (Step 301: The network device sends reselection configuration information to the UE. Accordingly, the UE may receive the reselection configuration information, [0099]-[0100]), wherein the cell reselection parameter indication information indicates one or more cell reselection parameters (The reselection configuration information includes configuration information used for reselection. The reselection configuration information may include at least one of reselection trigger information or reselection target information. Optionally, the reselection configuration information may further include reselection time range information, [0101]-[0108]); and
performing the cell reselection based on the one or more cell reselection parameters (Step 302: The UE performs measurement for cell reselection based on the reselection configuration information, [0109]).
However, Geng does not disclose, wherein the one or more cell reselection parameters indicated by the cell reselection parameter indication information comprise a location parameter of a serving cell, and parameter information about the cell reselection performed by applying a criterion S, wherein the location parameter of the serving cell comprises at least one of a distance between the serving cell and the terminal, and a geographical location where the serving cell is located; performing the cell reselection based on the one or more cell reselection parameters comprises: measuring a neighboring cell based on a signal quality of the serving cell, and at least one of location information of the terminal and the location parameter of the serving cell, and performing the cell reselection based on a measurement result.
In the same field of endeavor, Jung discloses, wherein the one or more cell reselection parameters indicated by the cell reselection parameter indication information comprise a location parameter of a serving cell, and parameter information about the cell reselection performed by applying a criterion S, wherein the location parameter of the serving cell comprises at least one of a distance between the serving cell and the terminal, and a geographical location where the serving cell is located; performing the cell reselection based on the one or more cell reselection parameters comprises: measuring a neighboring cell based on a signal quality of the serving cell, and at least one of location information of the terminal and the location parameter of the serving cell, and performing the cell reselection based on a measurement result.
([0097] a cell reselection may begin when at least one of the following conditions is satisfied. The conditions include: cell reselection is always performed; cell reselection is performed periodically; the measured cell and channel quality value of a serving cell decreases to be less than or equal to a predetermined threshold value (below a threshold, not satisfying S-criteria); the measured cell and channel quality value of a neighboring cell increases to be greater than or equal to a threshold value (above a threshold), [0100] In operation 703, a cell reselection may begin when at least one the following conditions is satisfied. The conditions include: a cell reselection is always performed; a cell reselection is performed periodically; the measured cell and channel quality value of a serving cell decreases to be less than or equal to a predetermined threshold value (below a threshold, not satisfying S-criteria);
[0111] In operation 803, a cell reselection may begin when at least one of the following conditions is satisfied. The conditions include: a cell reselection is always performed; a cell reselection is performed periodically; the measured cell and channel quality value of a serving cell decreases to be less than or equal to a predetermined threshold value (below a threshold, not satisfying S-criteria); [0137] In operation 903, the cell reselection may begin when at least one of the following conditions is satisfied. The conditions include: the cell reselection is always performed; the cell reselection is performed periodically; the measured cell and channel quality value of a serving cell decreases to be less than or equal to a predetermined threshold value (below a threshold, not satisfying S-criteria);).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Geng by specifically providing wherein the one or more cell reselection parameters indicated by the cell reselection parameter indication information comprise a location parameter of a serving cell, and parameter information about the cell reselection performed by applying a criterion S, wherein the location parameter of the serving cell comprises at least one of a distance between the serving cell and the terminal, and a geographical location where the serving cell is located; performing the cell reselection based on the one or more cell reselection parameters comprises: measuring a neighboring cell based on a signal quality of the serving cell, and at least one of location information of the terminal and the location parameter of the serving cell, and performing the cell reselection based on a measurement result, as taught by Jung for the purpose of providing a method and apparatus for effectively performing a cell reselection in a wireless communication system [0008].
Regarding claim 23,
A computer-readable storage medium having stored therein instructions that, when executed, cause the method of claim 1 to be performed (claim 23 corresponds to the claim 1. Therefore, claim 23 is interpreted and rejected for the reason set forth in claim 1).
Regarding claim 24,
A network device, comprising: a processor; and a memory for storing processor-executable instructions; wherein the processor is configured to perform the method according to claim 17 (claim 24 corresponds to the claim 17. Therefore, claim 24 is interpreted and rejected for the reason set forth in claim 17).
Regarding claim 25, Geng discloses,
A computer-readable storage medium having stored therein instructions that, when executed, cause the method of claim 17 to be performed (claim 25 corresponds to the claim 17. Therefore, claim 25 is interpreted and rejected for the reason set forth in claim 17).
Claims 6, 12 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Geng, in view of Juang and further in view of Tseng et al. (US 20190349825, hereinafter “Tseng”).
Regarding claim 6, the combination of Geng and Jung discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 1), however the combination of Geng and Jung does not explicitly disclose, wherein the cell reselection parameter indication information is configured to indicate one cell reselection parameter, wherein the one cell reselection parameter is parameter information about the cell reselection performed by applying a criterion R; performing the cell reselection based on the one or more cell reselection parameters comprises: determining a target cell based on the criterion R, and performing the cell reselection based on the target cell determined.
In the same field of endeavor, Tseng discloses wherein the cell reselection parameter indication information is configured to indicate one cell reselection parameter, wherein the one cell reselection parameter is parameter information about the cell reselection performed by applying a criterion R; performing the cell reselection based on the one or more cell reselection parameters comprises: determining a target cell based on the criterion R, and performing the cell reselection based on the target cell determined (a cell reselection procedure for switching to a target cell of a higher priority frequency may be triggered if the target cell fulfils Squal>Thresh.sub.X, HighQ or Srxlev>Thresh.sub.X, HighP during a predefined time interval, where the {Thresh.sub.X, HighQ, Thresh.sub.X, HighP} are predefined thresholds. Similarly, a cell reselection procedure for switching to a cell of a lower priority frequency may be triggered if the cell fulfils Squal>Thresh.sub.X, LowQ or Srxlev>Thresh.sub.X, LowP during a predefined time interval, where the {Thresh.sub.X, LowQ, Thresh.sub.X, LowP} are predefined thresholds. A cell reselection procedure for switching to an intra-frequency cell or cells operating on equal-priority frequencies may follow the ranking of the R-criteria, [0090]-[0100]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Geng and Jung by specifically providing wherein the cell reselection parameter indication information is configured to indicate one cell reselection parameter, wherein the one cell reselection parameter is parameter information about the cell reselection performed by applying a criterion R; performing the cell reselection based on the one or more cell reselection parameters comprises: determining a target cell based on the criterion R, and performing the cell reselection based on the target cell determined, as taught by Tseng for the purpose of providing a technique for cell prioritization for cell (re)selection in the next generation networks [0002].
Regarding claim 12, the combination of Geng and Jung discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 1), however the combination of Geng and Jung does not explicitly disclose, wherein the one or more cell reselection parameters indicated by the cell reselection parameter indication information comprise a location parameter of a neighboring cell, and parameter information about the cell reselection performed by applying a criterion R; performing the cell reselection based on the one or more cell reselection parameters comprises: determining a target cell based on the criterion R, and at least one of location information of the terminal and the location parameter of the neighboring cell, and performing the cell reselection based on the target cell determined.
In the same field of endeavor, Tseng discloses wherein the one or more cell reselection parameters indicated by the cell reselection parameter indication information comprise a location parameter of a neighboring cell, and parameter information about the cell reselection performed by applying a criterion R; performing the cell reselection based on the one or more cell reselection parameters comprises: determining a target cell based on the criterion R, and at least one of location information of the terminal and the location parameter of the neighboring cell, and performing the cell reselection based on the target cell determined (a cell reselection procedure for switching to a target cell of a higher priority frequency may be triggered if the target cell fulfils Squal>Thresh.sub.X, HighQ or Srxlev>Thresh.sub.X, HighP during a predefined time interval, where the {Thresh.sub.X, HighQ, Thresh.sub.X, HighP} are predefined thresholds. Similarly, a cell reselection procedure for switching to a cell of a lower priority frequency may be triggered if the cell fulfils Squal>Thresh.sub.X, LowQ or Srxlev>Thresh.sub.X, LowP during a predefined time interval, where the {Thresh.sub.X, LowQ, Thresh.sub.X, LowP} are predefined thresholds. A cell reselection procedure for switching to an intra-frequency cell or cells operating on equal-priority frequencies may follow the ranking of the R-criteria, [0090]-[0100]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Geng and Jung by specifically providing wherein the one or more cell reselection parameters indicated by the cell reselection parameter indication information comprise a location parameter of a neighboring cell, and parameter information about the cell reselection performed by applying a criterion R; performing the cell reselection based on the one or more cell reselection parameters comprises: determining a target cell based on the criterion R, and at least one of location information of the terminal and the location parameter of the neighboring cell, and performing the cell reselection based on the target cell determined, as taught by Jung for the purpose of providing Tseng for the purpose of providing a technique for cell prioritization for cell (re)selection in the next generation networks [0002].
Regarding claim 13, the combination of Geng and Jung discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 1), however the combination of Geng and Jung does not explicitly disclose, wherein the one or more cell reselection parameters indicated by the cell reselection parameter indication information comprise a location parameter of a neighboring cell, and parameter information about the cell reselection performed by applying a criterion R; performing the cell reselection based on the one or more cell reselection parameters comprises: determining a target cell based on the criterion R, and performing the cell reselection based on the target cell determined.
In the same field of endeavor, Tseng discloses wherein the one or more cell reselection parameters indicated by the cell reselection parameter indication information comprise a location parameter of a neighboring cell, and parameter information about the cell reselection performed by applying a criterion R; performing the cell reselection based on the one or more cell reselection parameters comprises: determining a target cell based on the criterion R, and performing the cell reselection based on the target cell determined (a cell reselection procedure for switching to a target cell of a higher priority frequency may be triggered if the target cell fulfils Squal>Thresh.sub.X, HighQ or Srxlev>Thresh.sub.X, HighP during a predefined time interval, where the {Thresh.sub.X, HighQ, Thresh.sub.X, HighP} are predefined thresholds. Similarly, a cell reselection procedure for switching to a cell of a lower priority frequency may be triggered if the cell fulfils Squal>Thresh.sub.X, LowQ or Srxlev>Thresh.sub.X, LowP during a predefined time interval, where the {Thresh.sub.X, LowQ, Thresh.sub.X, LowP} are predefined thresholds. A cell reselection procedure for switching to an intra-frequency cell or cells operating on equal-priority frequencies may follow the ranking of the R-criteria, [0090]-[0100]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Geng and Jung by specifically providing wherein the one or more cell reselection parameters indicated by the cell reselection parameter indication information comprise a location parameter of a neighboring cell, and parameter information about the cell reselection performed by applying a criterion R; performing the cell reselection based on the one or more cell reselection parameters comprises: determining a target cell based on the criterion R, and performing the cell reselection based on the target cell determined, as taught by Tseng for the purpose of providing a technique for cell prioritization for cell (re)selection in the next generation networks [0002].
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Regarding claim 5, The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: the closest prior arts, Geng and Jung, do not teach nor fairly suggest the following novel feature:
“the method comprising wherein the one or more cell reselection parameters comprise time information about providing a service by a neighboring cell, and parameter information about the cell reselection performed by applying a criterion R, wherein the parameter information about the cell reselection performed by applying the criterion R comprises a cell signal quality value, a cell reselection hysteresis value and a value determined by a temporary offset value; performing the cell reselection based on the one or more cell reselection parameters comprises: determining a target cell based on at least one item selected from the group consisting of the time information about providing the service by the neighboring cell and the criterion R, and performing the cell reselection based on the target cell determined”, in combination with the other limitations in claim 1.
Prior Art of the Record:
The prior art made of record not relied upon and considered pertinent to
Applicant’s disclosure:
US 20220167221: A method and apparatus for conditional handover based on the service time of candidate cells in a wireless communication system is provided. A wireless device receives, from a network, handover configuration including information related to candidate cells to be measured and service time of each of the candidate cells. A wireless device performs measurement on the candidate cells. A wireless device selects a cell among the candidate cells based on the service time of each of the candidate cells. A wireless device performs handover to the selected cell.
US 20180167856: Embodiments of the present application disclose an access network device that includes at least one processor configured to generate requirement indication information. The requirement indication information is used to indicate a radio resource management (RRM) requirement to be satisfied by a user equipment (UE). The RRM requirement is suitable for a high-speed mobile communication environment. The access network device also includes a transmitter configured to send the requirement indication information to the UE.
US 20220070751: The present disclosure relates to cell reselection in wireless communications. According to an embodiment of the present disclosure, a method performed by a wireless device in a wireless communication system comprises: performing a cell reselection to a cell; receiving information for a signal quality range, information for a scaling factor for the signal quality range and information for a time period for determining a number of cell reselections; based on a determination that a signal quality measured for the cell is within the signal quality range.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/GOLAM SOROWAR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2641