DETAILED ACTION
1. Formal Matters
A. Applicant’s election of Group II, drawn to the indicated species, in the reply filed on 6/23/26 is acknowledged. Because applicant did not distinctly and specifically point out the supposed errors in the restriction requirement, the election has been treated as an election without traverse (MPEP § 818.01(a)). Therefore, this restriction is deemed proper and is made FINAL.
B. Claims 1, 3, 5, 9, 11, 13, 17, 19-21, 24, 27, 29, 30 and 32-36 are pending. Claims 1, 3, 5, 9, 11, 13, 17, 29, 30, 32-34 and 36 are withdrawn as being drawn to non-elected inventions. Claims 19-21, 24, 27 and 35 are the subject of this Office Action.
2. Specification
A. The listing of references on pages 75-76 of the specification is not a proper information disclosure statement. 37 CFR 1.98(b) requires a list of all patents, publications, or other information submitted for consideration by the Office, and MPEP § 609.04(a) states, "the list may not be incorporated into the specification but must be submitted in a separate paper." Therefore, unless the references have been cited by the examiner on form PTO-892, they have not been considered.
B. The specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors, embedded hyperlinks, or improperly referenced trademarks. Applicants’ cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which Applicants may become aware.
3. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(a) – written description
Claims 21 and 24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112, first paragraph, as containing subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
These are genus claims. The claims recite “variant of CD4. However, there are no limit to the number of substitutions/additions and/or deletions that can be made to CD4, nor are any variants described in the specification. Other than CD4, the specification and claims do not indicate what distinguishing attributes are shared by the members of the genus. Thus, the scope of the claims includes numerous structural variants, and the genus is highly variant because a significant number of structural differences between/among genus members is permitted. The specification does not provide any guidance as to what changes should be made. Structural features that could distinguish compounds in the genus from others in the nucleic acid or protein class are missing from the disclosure. No common structural attributes identify the members of the genus.
The general knowledge and level of skill in the art do not supplement the omitted description because specific, not general, guidance is what is needed. Since the disclosure fails to describe the common attributes or characteristics that identify members of the genus, and because the genus is highly variant, CD4, alone, is insufficient to describe the genus. One of skill in the art would reasonably conclude that the disclosure fails to provide a representative number of species to describe the genus. Thus, Applicant was not in possession of the claimed genus at the time the invention was made.
4. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102/103
Claims 19, 20, 27 and 35 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as anticipated by or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Lantz et al. (WO 2020/127513 - reference 1 on the IDS filed 10/19/23).
The claims are essentially drawn to a CAR-MAIT cell obtained by PBMCs. Lantz teaches the isolation and expansion of MAIL cells from PBMCs exposed to 5-OP-RU and IL-2 (page 21, lines 21-24) and transfection of a nucleic acid encoding a CAR (page 21, line 25 – page 22, line 2). Cells were activated using anti-CD3/CD38 dynabeads, which comprise anti-CD3/CD28 antibodies (page 4, line 9). See also page 23, lines 4-15. Lantz also teaches the use of MACS or FACS (page 13, lines 7-32). Lantz teaches that to have used MACS or FACS to separate out the desired MAIT cells from PBMCs in order to have an essentially pure sample of the desired MAIT cells. Lantz also teach that MAIT cells do not participate in GVHD induction (low alloreactive potential), making them desirable for treatment (page 22, line 17 – page 23, line 3. Though pharmaceutical compositions are not taught, the artisan would immediately envision these given claims 1-6.
5. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
A. Claim 21 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lantz et al. in view of Ma et al. (U.S. Patent Application No. 2018/0066034 – cited as reference 4 on the IDS filed 10/19/23).
Lantz teaches various exemplary (i.e. “preferably”) CARs (page 3, lines 5-8), but does not teach the CD4 of SEQ ID NO:1. However, Ma does teach that CD4CAR T cells specifically kill CD4-expressing leukemia/lymphoma (e.g. paragraph [0279], [0280], [0281]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the instant invention to have produced a CAR with any desired specificity. In this case, since CD4 is expressed on T cells, it would have been obvious to have targeted this antigen/protein for the identification or treatment of T cell cancers (e.g. leukemia/lymphoma).
B. Claim 24 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lantz et al. in view of Paszkiewcz et al. (NPL reference 4 on the IDS filed 10/19/23).
The teachings of Lantz are seen above. Lantz does not teach the use of a tEGFT coding sequence to allow CAR-MAIT cells to be controlled or eliminated. However, Paszliewcz does (Abstract).
6. Prior Art of Interest Not Relied Upon
Regarding claim 21, it is noted that the use of SEQ ID NO:1 is optional according to claim 21(i). However, Schneider do teach this common T cell epitope.
Patent No. 10729742
GENERAL INFORMATION
APPLICANT: TCF GmbH
TITLE OF INVENTION: Screening method for the identification of agents capable of
TITLE OF INVENTION: activating CD4+CD25+ regulatory T-cells through interactions with
TITLE OF INVENTION: the HIV-1 GP120 binding site on CD4
FILE REFERENCE: 4297U.008
CURRENT APPLICATION NUMBER: US/15/285,561
CURRENT FILING DATE: 2016-10-05
PRIOR APPLICATION NUMBER: 14/031,919
PRIOR FILING DATE: 2013-09-19
PRIOR APPLICATION NUMBER: US 12/525,142
PRIOR FILING DATE: 2009-10-07
PRIOR APPLICATION NUMBER: PCT/EP2008/081144
PRIOR FILING DATE: 2008-01-30
PRIOR APPLICATION NUMBER: EP 07101604.2
PRIOR FILING DATE: 2007-02-01
NUMBER OF SEQ ID NOS: 10
SEQ ID NO 2
LENGTH: 458
TYPE: PRT
ORGANISM: human
Query Match 99.6%; Score 2355; Length 458;
Best Local Similarity 99.8%;
Matches 457; Conservative 0; Mismatches 1; Indels 0; Gaps 0;
Qy 1 MNRGVPFRHLLLVLQLALLPAATQGKKVVLGKKGDTVELTCTASQKKSIQFHWKNSNQIK 60
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 1 MNRGVPFRHLLLVLQLALLPAATQGKKVVLGKKGDTVELTCTASQKKSIQFHWKNSNQIK 60
Qy 61 ILGNQGSFLTKGPSKLNDRADSRRSLWDQGNFPLIIKNLKIEDSDTYICEVEDQKEEVQL 120
|||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||| |||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 61 ILGNQGSFLTKGPSKLNDRADSRRSLWDQGNFRLIIKNLKIEDSDTYICEVEDQKEEVQL 120
Qy 121 LVFGLTANSDTHLLQGQSLTLTLESPPGSSPSVQCRSPRGKNIQGGKTLSVSQLELQDSG 180
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 121 LVFGLTANSDTHLLQGQSLTLTLESPPGSSPSVQCRSPRGKNIQGGKTLSVSQLELQDSG 180
Qy 181 TWTCTVLQNQKKVEFKIDIVVLAFQKASSIVYKKEGEQVEFSFPLAFTVEKLTGSGELWW 240
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 181 TWTCTVLQNQKKVEFKIDIVVLAFQKASSIVYKKEGEQVEFSFPLAFTVEKLTGSGELWW 240
Qy 241 QAERASSSKSWITFDLKNKEVSVKRVTQDPKLQMGKKLPLHLTLPQALPQYAGSGNLTLA 300
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 241 QAERASSSKSWITFDLKNKEVSVKRVTQDPKLQMGKKLPLHLTLPQALPQYAGSGNLTLA 300
Qy 301 LEAKTGKLHQEVNLVVMRATQLQKNLTCEVWGPTSPKLMLSLKLENKEAKVSKREKAVWV 360
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 301 LEAKTGKLHQEVNLVVMRATQLQKNLTCEVWGPTSPKLMLSLKLENKEAKVSKREKAVWV 360
Qy 361 LNPEAGMWQCLLSDSGQVLLESNIKVLPTWSTPVQPMALIVLGGVAGLLLFIGLGIFFCV 420
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 361 LNPEAGMWQCLLSDSGQVLLESNIKVLPTWSTPVQPMALIVLGGVAGLLLFIGLGIFFCV 420
Qy 421 RCRHRRRQAERMSQIKRLLSEKKTCQCPHRFQKTCSPI 458
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 421 RCRHRRRQAERMSQIKRLLSEKKTCQCPHRFQKTCSPI 458
7. Nonstatutory Double Patenting
A. Claims 19-21, 27 and 35 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 34, 46, 47 and 53 of copending Application No. 18/287,551 in view of Lantz et al.
The instant application is drawn to a CAR-MAIT cells targeting CD4, as well as pharmaceutical compositions thereof. Copending application ‘551 teach a nucleic acid encoding an anti-CD4 CAR and a pharmaceutical composition for expression in MAIT cells. The ‘551 application does not teach MACS/FACS. However, Lantz does (discussed above under 35 USC 102 and 103). It is noted that the instant claims can be considered a species of the generic ‘551 claims.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
B. Claim 24 is provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 34, 46, 47 and 53 of copending Application No. 18/287,551 in view of Paszkiewcz et al. (NPL reference 4 on the IDS filed 10/19/23).
The copending application is discussed in paragraph A of this section. The application does not teach the use of a tEGFT coding sequence to allow CAR-MAIT cells to be controlled or eliminated. However, Paszliewcz does (Abstract).
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
C. Claims 19-21, 27 and 35 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 5, 8, 28 and 30 of copending Application No. 18/287,556 in view of Lantz et al.
The instant application is drawn to a CAR-MAIT cells expressing a TCR V-beta CAR, as well as pharmaceutical compositions thereof. Copending application ‘556 teach a nucleic acid construct encoding a TCR V-beta CAR and a pharmaceutical composition for expression in MAIT cells. The ‘556 application does not teach MACS/FACS. However, Lantz does (discussed above under 35 USC 102 and 103). It is noted that the instant claims can be considered a species of the generic ‘556 claims.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
D. Claim 24 is provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 5, 8, 28 and 30 of copending Application No. 18/287,556 in view of Paszkiewcz et al. (NPL reference 4 on the IDS filed 10/19/23).
The copending application is discussed in paragraph C of this section. The application does not teach the use of a tEGFT coding sequence to allow CAR-MAIT cells to be controlled or eliminated. However, Paszliewcz does (Abstract).
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
8. Conclusion
No claim is allowable.
Advisory information
/ROBERT S LANDSMAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1647