DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers submitted under 35 U.S.C. 119(a)-(d), which papers have been placed of record in the file.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Miyamoto et al (US 2022/0291506 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Miyamoto discloses a mirror for a head-up display [e.g., Fig. 1: 10], comprising:
a base body [e.g., Figs. 2-6: 16]
with a planar region [e.g., Figs. 2, 4-6: 20; Paragraph 33: center portion of first surface 17 of base 16] which extends within an area formed on a surface [e.g., Figs. 2, 4-6: 17] of the base body, and
with a rib [e.g., Figs. 3, 4, 6: 22] arranged at a periphery [e.g., Figs. 2: R, W, 21; Fig. 4: 21; Fig. 5: D, 21; Fig. 6: R, 30] of the area,
the periphery encircling (e.g., see Figs. 2, 3, 5) the planar region and being formed on the surface of the base body with an outer [e.g., Paragraph 36, Fig. 2: outer perimeter of end portion 21] and inner edge [e.g., Paragraph 36, Fig. 2: inner perimeter of end portion 21] disposed apart [e.g., Figs. 2: W] from each other; and
a mirror layer [e.g., Figs. 2, 4-6: 20; Paragraph 33: reflection surface 20 of first mirror 14] arranged on the planar region;
wherein the rib has an anti-reflective structure [e.g., Paragraph 53: base 16 of first mirror 14 is black in color. A black coating may be applied to base 16 or base 16 may be formed using a black material. Forming such a black base 16 can reduce reflection of visible light, and thus this reduces reflection of display light off end portion 21. This further reduces effects of a sink mark. Note that the color of base 16 is not limited to black. A color having a low reflectivity to visible light is still effective but the reflection of visible light is greatly reduced with a black base 16] (e.g., see Paragraphs 26-65).
Regarding claim 2, Miyamoto discloses the rib is formed as a circumferential rib [e.g., Fig. 3: 22; Fig. 5: D; Paragraph 52: rib 22 is also provided along the entire perimeter of second surface 18].
Regarding claim 3, Miyamoto discloses the rib is inclined (e.g., see Figs. 4, 6) relative to a mirror axis [e.g., Paragraph 62: off-center inclination direction of reflection surface 20] of the mirror.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 3 is alternatively rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Miyamoto et al (US 2022/0291506 A1) in view of Hirata et al (JP 2020-046625 A).
Please note: Hirata et al (US 2021/0349312 A1) is relied upon as a translation of the Hirata et al (JP 2020-046625 A) document.
Regarding claim 3, should it be shown Miyamoto discloses the rib is inclined relative to a mirror axis of the mirror, as instantly claimed, with insufficient specificity:
Hirata discloses the rib [e.g., Figs. 4, 8: end surface, inclined surface, protective film forming surface] is inclined relative to a mirror axis [e.g., Paragraph 39: optical axis of the concave mirror] of the mirror [e.g., Figs. 4, 5, 8: 40; Paragraph 14: reflective film] (e.g., see Fig. 8; Paragraphs 14-15, 73-75, 81-82).
Miyamoto and Hirata are analogous art because they are from the shared inventive field of mirrors for head-up displays.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to combine Hirata’s rib inclination with Miyamoto’s rib so as to reduce deterioration in image quality of a virtual image due to multiple reflections [Hirata: Paragraph: 81] and/or block intrusion of moisture [Hirata: Paragraph: 81].
Moreover, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing because all the claimed elements were known in the prior art and one skilled in the art could have combined Hirata’s rib inclination with Miyamoto’s rib as claimed by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination would have yielded predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing. See KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., et al., Docket No. 04-1350 (U.S. 30 April 2007).
Claim 3 is alternatively rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Miyamoto et al (US 2022/0291506 A1) in view of Hori et al (US 2023/0350198 A1).
Regarding claim 3, should it be shown Miyamoto discloses the rib is inclined relative to a mirror axis of the mirror, as instantly claimed, with insufficient specificity:
Hori discloses the rib [e.g., Fig. 13: 33, 34; Figs. 20, 21: 338] is inclined [e.g., Fig. 13: angle θ1] relative to a mirror axis [e.g., Fig. 13: C] of the mirror [e.g., Fig. 13: 32; Figs. 20, 21: 333] (e.g., see Fig. 8; Paragraphs 181-193, 207-210, 217-225).
Miyamoto and Hori are analogous art because they are from the shared inventive field of mirrors for head-up displays.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to combine Hori’s rib inclination with Miyamoto’s rib so that a mirror having a large size can be molded in one piece by using a mold, the moldability of the mirror can be improved [Hori: Paragraph: 207], and/or to increase the strength(s) of the base body and/or rib [Hori: Paragraph: 210, 221].
Moreover, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing because all the claimed elements were known in the prior art and one skilled in the art could have combined Hori’s rib inclination with Miyamoto’s rib as claimed by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination would have yielded predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing. See KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., et al., Docket No. 04-1350 (U.S. 30 April 2007).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed on 12 March 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant's arguments with respect to claims 1-3 have been considered but are moot in view of any new ground(s) of rejection.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated any new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Jeff Piziali/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2628
29 May 2026