DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I, claims 1-6 in the reply filed on 12/03/2025 is acknowledged.
Claims 7-11 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 12/03/2025.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4 and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Shimizu et al. (US 2014/0061955).
Regarding claims 1, 3, and 4, Shimizu et al. teaches a thermosetting resin sheet, wherein after the resin sheet is bonded onto a copper plate and then set, the resin sheet has a shear adhesive strength of 10 MPa or more (paragraphs [0009] and [0044]-[0045]).
Regarding claim 2, Shimizu et al. teaches direct adhesion (paragraph [0009], Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 6, Shimizu et al. teaches one or more resin sheets may be used (paragraph [0041]), wherein additional resin sheets would correspond to a different layer as presently claimed.
Claim(s) 1-4 and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kadowaki (US 2010/0126796).
Regarding claims 1, 3, and 4, Kadowaki teaches a vibration-deadening composite material comprising a multilayer structure which includes a viscoelastic resin composition sandwiched between metal sheets, wherein the viscoelastic resin composition can be a thermosetting resin (paragraph [0017]), and metal sheets include copper (paragraph [0091]). The shear bonding strength after curing may be approximately 50 MPa (about 500 N/cm.sup.2 or more, paragraph [0070]).
Regarding claims 2 and 6, Kadowaki teaches a chromate-free bonding undercoat may be used on the metal plates (paragraphs [0016] and [0072]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 5 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/CHENG YUAN HUANG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1787