DETAILED ACTION
1. Formal Matters
A. Applicant’s election of Group I, drawn to the indicated species, in the reply filed on 6/23/26 is acknowledged. Because applicant did not distinctly and specifically point out the supposed errors in the restriction requirement, the election has been treated as an election without traverse (MPEP § 818.01(a)). Therefore, this restriction is deemed proper and is made FINAL.
B. Claims 1, 2, 5, 8, 11, 13, 16, 19, 20, 24, 26-28, 30, 32, 33 and 35-38 are pending. Claims 32, 33 and 35-37 are withdrawn as being drawn to a non-elected invention. Claims 1, 2, 5, 8, 11, 13, 16, 19, 20, 24, 26-28, 30 and 38 are the subject of this Office Action.
2. Specification
A. The listing of references on pages 75-76 of the specification is not a proper information disclosure statement. 37 CFR 1.98(b) requires a list of all patents, publications, or other information submitted for consideration by the Office, and MPEP § 609.04(a) states, "the list may not be incorporated into the specification but must be submitted in a separate paper." Therefore, unless the references have been cited by the examiner on form PTO-892, they have not been considered.
B. The specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors, embedded hyperlinks, or improperly referenced trademarks. Applicants’ cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which Applicants may become aware
3. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(a) – written description
Claims 11, 13, 16, 20, 24 and 27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112, first paragraph, as containing subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
These are genus claims. They recite nucleic acids and CARs in terms of “variant” and those “substantially as set out in” a recited sequence. Therefore, these nucleic acids would have one or more nucleic acid substitutions, deletions, insertions and/or additions to said polynucleotides and would encode for a protein with one or more amino acid substitutions, deletions, insertions and/or additions to the protein encoded for by the claimed SEQ ID NOs.
Other than encoding a CAR, or the CAR, itself, the specification and claims do not indicate what distinguishing attributes are shared by the members of the genus. Thus, the scope of the claims includes numerous structural variants, and the genus is highly variant because a significant number of structural differences between/among genus members is permitted. The specification and claims do not provide any guidance as to what changes should be made in order to retain the desired function. Structural features that could distinguish compounds in the genus from others in the nucleic acid or protein class are missing from the disclosure. No common structural attributes identify the members of the genus.
The general knowledge and level of skill in the art do not supplement the omitted description because specific, not general, guidance is what is needed. Since the disclosure fails to describe the common attributes or characteristics that identify members of the genus, and because the genus is highly variant, the wild-type SEQ ID NOs, alone, are insufficient to describe the genus. One of skill in the art would reasonably conclude that the disclosure fails to provide a representative number of species to describe the genus. Thus, Applicant was not in possession of the claimed genus at the time the invention was made.
4. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2, 5, 8, 11, 13, 16, 24, 26, 27, 28, 30 and 38 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and (a)(2) as being anticipated by Yang et al. (WO 2020/156335 – cited on the IDS filed 10/19/23; machine translation references below). Claim 1 is drawn to a nucleic acid construct comprising a promoter linked to a nucleotide encoding a TCR V-beta CAR.
Yang teaches nucleic acids (paragraph [0146] of the machine translation) encoding a CAR which binds to a TCR Vb region (Abstract; paragraph [0006] of the machine translation), meeting claims 1 and 28. Promoters are generally taught ([0116]), as is the T7RNA polymerase promoter ([0147]). It is noted that, in addition to meeting part (i) of claim 2, that this promoter would meet the limitation of part (iii) since it is a “variant” of SEQ ID NO:3.
Regarding claim 5, the Vbeta regions recited in Table 1 are optional.
Regarding claim 8, Vbeta 8 is taught in Example 2.
Regarding claim 11, Yang meets this limitation due to the recitation of “variant thereof”
Regarding claim 13, Yang teaches a CD8a hinge and transmembrane region (paragraph [0023]), a CD3z intracellular region ([0022]). Though optional, Yang meets a “variant” of SEQ ID NO:14 and 15.
Claim 16 is also met by Yang in view of “variant thereof”.
Claim 24 is also met by Yang in view of “variant thereof”. See also paragraph [0116]).
Claim 26 is met by paragraph [0116].
Claim 27 is also met by Yang in view of “variant thereof”.
Claims 30 and 38 are met by paragraph [0121].
5. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
A. Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yang et al. in view of Rosenberg et al. (U.S. Patent No. 8,465,743). The teachings of Yang are seen above under 35 USC 102. Yang teaches CD8a hinge and TM domains, but does not teach SEQ ID NO:14. However, Rosenberg does teach the use of SEQ ID NO:14 in the production of a CAR (column 6, lines 53-55).
SEQ ID NO:14
Sequence 3, US/13499349
Patent No. 8465743
GENERAL INFORMATION
APPLICANT: ROSENBERG, Steven A.
APPLICANT: CHINNASAMY, Dhanalakshmi
TITLE OF INVENTION: ANTI-VASCULAR ENDOTHELIAL GROWTH FACTOR RECEPTOR-2 CHIMERIC
TITLE OF INVENTION: ANTIGEN RECEPTORS AND USE OF SAME FOR THE TREATMENT OF CANCER
FILE REFERENCE: 709935
CURRENT APPLICATION NUMBER: US/13/499,349
CURRENT FILING DATE: 2012-03-30
PRIOR APPLICATION NUMBER: PCT/US10/48701
PRIOR FILING DATE: 2010-09-14
PRIOR APPLICATION NUMBER: US 61/247,625
PRIOR FILING DATE: 2009-10-01
SEQ ID NO 3
LENGTH: 83
TYPE: PRT
ORGANISM: Homo sapiens
Query Match 100.0%; Score 452; Length 83;
Best Local Similarity 100.0%;
Matches 83; Conservative 0; Mismatches 0; Indels 0; Gaps 0;
Qy 1 FVPVFLPAKPTTTPAPRPPTPAPTIASQPLSLRPEACRPAAGGAVHTRGLDFACDIYIWA 60
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 1 FVPVFLPAKPTTTPAPRPPTPAPTIASQPLSLRPEACRPAAGGAVHTRGLDFACDIYIWA 60
Qy 61 PLAGTCGVLLLSLVITLYCNHRN 83
|||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 61 PLAGTCGVLLLSLVITLYCNHRN 83
B. Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yang et al. in view of Sadelain et al. (U.S. Patent No. 7,446,190) in view of Orentas et al. (U.S. Patent No. 9,868,774). The teachings of Yang are seen above under 35 USC 102. Yang teaches a CD28 signaling domain, 4-1BB and CD3z, but does not teach SEQ ID NO:16, 18 or 20, respectively. However, Sadelain does teach the use of the CD28 of SEQ ID NO:16 and the CD3z of 20 in the production of a TCRs (e.g. Abstract, Examples 7-9). Neither Yang nor Orentas teach SEQ ID NO:18. However, Orentas does teach the use of SEQ ID NO:18 (4-1BB) in the production of CARs.
SEQ ID NO:16
Patent No. 7446190
GENERAL INFORMATION
APPLICANT: Sadelain, Michel
APPLICANT: Brentjens, Renier
APPLICANT: Maher, John
TITLE OF INVENTION: Chimeric T Cell Receptors
FILE REFERENCE: MSK.P-058
CURRENT APPLICATION NUMBER: US/10/448,256C
CURRENT FILING DATE: 2003-05-28
PRIOR APPLICATION NUMBER: 60/383,872
PRIOR FILING DATE: 2002-05-28
SEQ ID NO 9
LENGTH: 41
TYPE: PRT
ORGANISM: homo sapiens
Query Match 100.0%; Score 227; Length 41;
Best Local Similarity 100.0%;
Matches 41; Conservative 0; Mismatches 0; Indels 0; Gaps 0;
Qy 1 RSKRSRLLHSDYMNMTPRRPGPTRKHYQPYAPPRDFAAYRS 41
|||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 1 RSKRSRLLHSDYMNMTPRRPGPTRKHYQPYAPPRDFAAYRS 41
SEQ ID NO:18
Patent No. 9868774
GENERAL INFORMATION
APPLICANT: THE UNITED STATES OF AMERICA, AS REPRESENTED BY THE
APPLICANT: SECRETARY, DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH AND HUMAN SERVICES
TITLE OF INVENTION: ANTI-CD22 CHIMERIC ANTIGEN RECEPTORS
FILE REFERENCE: 716166
CURRENT APPLICATION NUMBER: US/14/352,530
CURRENT FILING DATE: 2014-04-17
PRIOR APPLICATION NUMBER: US 61/549,516
PRIOR FILING DATE: 2011-10-20
PRIOR APPLICATION NUMBER: PCT/US2012/061025
PRIOR FILING DATE: 2012-10-19
SEQ ID NO 13
LENGTH: 47
TYPE: PRT
ORGANISM: Artificial Sequence
FEATURE:
OTHER INFORMATION: Synthetic
Query Match 100.0%; Score 255; Length 47;
Best Local Similarity 100.0%;
Matches 47; Conservative 0; Mismatches 0; Indels 0; Gaps 0;
Qy 1 RFSVVKRGRKKLLYIFKQPFMRPVQTTQEEDGCSCRFPEEEEGGCEL 47
|||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 1 RFSVVKRGRKKLLYIFKQPFMRPVQTTQEEDGCSCRFPEEEEGGCEL 47
SEQ ID NO:20
Patent No. 7446190
GENERAL INFORMATION
APPLICANT: Sadelain, Michel, et al.
SEQ ID NO 14
LENGTH: 112
TYPE: PRT
ORGANISM: homo sapiens
Query Match 100.0%; Score 593; Length 112;
Best Local Similarity 100.0%;
Matches 112; Conservative 0; Mismatches 0; Indels 0; Gaps 0;
Qy 1 RVKFSRSADAPAYQQGQNQLYNELNLGRREEYDVLDKRRGRDPEMGGKPRRKNPQEGLYN 60
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 1 RVKFSRSADAPAYQQGQNQLYNELNLGRREEYDVLDKRRGRDPEMGGKPRRKNPQEGLYN 60
Qy 61 ELQKDKMAEAYSEIGMKGERRRGKGHDGLYQGLSTATKDTYDALHMQALPPR 112
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 61 ELQKDKMAEAYSEIGMKGERRRGKGHDGLYQGLSTATKDTYDALHMQALPPR 112
C. Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yang et al. in view of either Sadelain et al. or Orentas et al. The teachings of all are seen in the above rejection. Since claim 16 is written in the alternative (i.e. (i) or (ii) or (iii)), the rejection can be made over either secondary reference.
D. Claims 19 and 20 in view of Ma et al. (US2019/0345217 - cited on the IDS filed 10/19/23). The teachings of Yang are seen above regarding 35 USC 102. Yang does not teach suicide genes. However, Ma teach CARs comprising suicide genes including, but not limited to, caspase 9 gene (paragraph [0040]).
6. Prior Art of Interest Not Relied Upon
A. Pule et al. (US 2019/0209612; cited on the PCT/ISA/210 and IDS filed 10/19/23) teaches CARs, but does not teach any more than Yang et al. (WO 2020/156335).
B. EP 3 919 515 A1 is provided herewith as the English equivalent to WO 2020/156335.
C. Oh teaches “single variable domains from the T cell receptor β chain function as mono- and bifunctional CARs and TCRs”, but does not teach more than the prior art of record.
7. Conclusion
A. No claim is allowable.
B. SEQ ID NO:12, 13, 31, 32, 34, 35 and 36 are free of the prior art.
Advisory information
/ROBERT S LANDSMAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1647