DETAILED ACTION
In Response to Applicant’s Remarks Filed 12/19/25
Claims 1-14, 16, 18, 20 and 21 are pending.
Claims 1-14, 16, 18, 20 and 21 have been examined.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4, 8-14, 16, 18, 20 and 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zimmerman et al. (US 8393680) (“Zimmerman”) in view of Wong et al. (US 11040775) (“Wong”). Zimmerman teaches a leg assembly for a passenger seat, the leg assembly comprising: a forward leg (fig. 1: 5) comprising a forward connecting feature (shown in fig. 4a), wherein the forward leg is adapted to receive a first base frame tube of the passenger seat (fig. 2: 14); an aft leg (fig. 1: 6) comprising an aft connecting feature (shown in fig. 3), wherein the aft leg is adapted to receive a second base frame tube of the passenger seat (fig. 3: 15), and; and a central link (fig. 3: 9) connecting the forward leg and the aft leg, wherein the central link is pivotably connected to the forward connecting feature and pivotably connected to the aft connecting feature (as shown by the pin connections in fig. 2), wherein the central link is arranged to rotate about a pivot axis defined by the forward connecting feature, from a first point on the forward leg along a line to a second point on the forward leg along the line, wherein the first point is on a first side of the forward connecting feature, and the second point is on an opposite side of the forward connecting feature (fig. 4a: shows a bracket on the aft side of the forward connecting feature the same as the present application which includes a pin connection creating a line acting as the pivot axis from a first side of the bracket/first side of the forward connecting feature to the second side), wherein the central link is arranged to rotate about a pivot axis defined by the forward connecting feature (fig. 2 shows pin connection).
Zimmerman does not teach wherein the aft connecting feature comprises a cavity defined in the aft leg and wherein the central link extends at least partially into the cavity in the aft leg. However, Wong teaches a similar rear leg which connects to a central link (Fig. 2A: 231b) wherein the aft connecting feature comprises a cavity which receives the central link (As shown in fig. 2A). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to provide a cavity in the aft leg for attachment in order to provide the desired stability for the connection.
As concerns claim 2, Zimmerman, as modified, teaches wherein the forward leg having an aft side and wherein the forward connecting feature extends outward extending from the aft leg (fig. 4a).
As concerns claim 3, Zimmerman, as modified, teaches wherein the forward connecting feature comprises a slot (shown in fig. 4a where link 9 is inserted) and wherein the central link extends at least partially into the slot of the forward leg (as shown in fig. 2)
As concerns claim 4, Zimmerman, as modified, teaches wherein the central link extends along a 16 g load path of the leg assembly (the load path of Zimmerman is the same as that of the present invention).
As concerns claim 8, Zimmerman, as modified, teaches wherein the aft leg comprises a forward side and an aft side opposite from the forward side, and wherein the cavity is defined in the forward side of the aft leg (as shown in fig. 2A of Wong).
As concerns claim 9, Zimmerman, as modified, teaches wherein the aft side comprises an arcuate profile such that a top end of the aft leg is offset from a bottom end of the aft leg in a vertical and horizontal direction (Zimmerman, fig. 3: 6 as shown).
As concerns claim 10, Zimmerman, as modified, teaches a first connector pivotably connecting the central link with the forward connecting feature and a second connector pivotably connecting the central link with the aft connecting feature (a pin connects the central link with each of the forward and aft legs).
As concerns claim 11, Zimmerman, as modified, teaches wherein the forward leg comprises a forward base frame tube aperture adapted to receive the first base frame tube of the passenger seat (fig. 2: 14), and wherein the aft leg comprises an aft base frame tube aperture (fig. 2: 15) adapted to receive the second base frame tube of the passenger seat.
As concerns claim 12, Zimmerman, as modified, teaches wherein the forward connecting feature is at a vertical position above a vertical position of the aft connecting feature such that the central link is angled downwards from the forward leg to the aft leg (as shown in fig. 2).
As concerns claim 13, Zimmerman, as modified, teaches wherein a cross section of the central link is different from a cross section of the forward leg (as shown in fig. 2).
As concerns claim 14, Zimmerman, as modified, teaches a first base frame tube (fig. 1: 7) supported by the forward leg, and a second base frame tube supported by the aft leg (fig. 2: 8).
As concerns claim 15, Zimmerman, as modified, teaches manufacturing the forward leg; manufacturing the central link; manufacturing the aft leg; and pivotably connecting the central link with the forward leg and the aft leg. Gross, as modified, does not expressly teach wherein the central link may be manufactured by machining in only two directions, however, this limitation is given little patentable weight and is considered old and well known in the art as a means to form a metal rod. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to machine the central link in only two directions in order to provide the desired shape and strength to the link.
As concerns claim 16, Zimmerman teaches a leg assembly for a passenger seat, the leg assembly comprising: a forward leg (fig. 1: 5) comprising a forward connecting feature (fig. 4: bracket connecting to central link), wherein the forward leg is adapted to receive a first base frame tube of the passenger seat (fig. 2: 14); an aft leg (fig. 1: 6) comprising an aft connecting feature (bracket connecting to central link), wherein the aft leg is adapted to receive a second base frame tube of the passenger seat (fig. 2: 15); a central link (fig. 3: 9) connecting the forward leg and the aft leg, wherein the central link is pivotably connected to the forward connecting feature and pivotably connected to the aft connecting feature (as shown by the pin connections), wherein the central link is arranged to rotate about a pivot axis defined by the forward connecting feature, from a first point on the forward leg along a line to a second point on the forward leg along the line, wherein the first point is on a first side of the forward connecting feature, and the second point is on an opposite side of the forward connecting feature (fig. 4a: shows a bracket on the aft side of the forward connecting feature the same as the present application which includes a pin connection creating a line acting as the pivot axis from a first side of the bracket/first side of the forward connecting feature to the second side) and wherein the central link extends along a 16 g load path of the leg assembly (the load path of Zimmerman is the same as that of the present invention).
Zimmerman does not teach wherein the aft connecting feature comprises a cavity defined in the aft leg and wherein the central link extends at least partially into the cavity in the aft leg. However, Wong teaches a similar rear leg which connects to a central link (Fig. 2A: 231b) wherein the aft connecting feature comprises a cavity which receives the central link (As shown in fig. 2A). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to provide a cavity in the aft leg for attachment in order to provide the desired stability for the connection.
As concerns claim 18, Zimmerman teaches a leg assembly for a passenger seat, the leg assembly comprising: a forward leg (fig. 1: 5) comprising a forward connecting feature (fig. 4a: bracket connecting to central link), wherein the forward leg is adapted to receive a first base frame tube of the passenger seat (fig. 2: 14); an aft leg (fig. 1: 6) comprising an aft connecting feature (bracket connecting to central link), wherein the aft leg is adapted to receive a second base frame tube of the passenger seat (fig. 2: 15); a central link (fig. 3: 9) connecting the forward leg and the aft leg, wherein the central link is pivotably connected to the forward connecting feature and pivotably connected to the aft connecting feature (as shown by the pin connections), wherein the first point is on a first side of the forward connecting feature, and the second point is on an opposite side of the forward connecting feature (fig. 4a: shows a bracket on the aft side of the forward connecting feature the same as the present application which includes a pin connection creating a line acting as the pivot axis from a first side of the bracket/first side of the forward connecting feature to the second side) and wherein the central link is angled downwards from the forward leg to the aft leg (as shown in fig. 1b).
Zimmerman does not teach wherein the aft connecting feature comprises a cavity defined in the aft leg and wherein the central link extends at least partially into the cavity in the aft leg. However, Wong teaches a similar rear leg which connects to a central link (fig. 2A: 231b) wherein the aft connecting feature comprises a cavity which receives the central link (as shown in fig. 2A). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to provide a cavity in the aft leg for attachment in order to provide the desired stability for the connection.
As concerns claim 20, Zimmerman, as modified, teaches wherein the forward leg comprises a forward side and an aft side opposite the forward side, wherein the forward connecting feature extends outwards from the aft side of the forward and comprises a slot (Zimmerman, fig. 4a: bracket shown is the same as the present invention), and wherein the central link extends at least partially into the slot of the forward leg.
As concerns claim 21, Zimmerman, as modified, teaches wherein the central link is joined to the forward and the aft leg by a pin connection, each connection securing the central link against axial or translational displacement relative to the corresponding leg, and wherein each connection is configured to permit rotational movement of the central link relative to the corresponding leg about a pivot axis. Zimmerman does not expressly teach wherein the pin connections are locking bolts. However, bolts are considered old and well known in the art for use in the type of pin connection shown by fig. 4a in Zimmerman and would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to try in order to provide the desired strength and stability of the connection.
Claim(s) 5-7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zimmerman in view of Wong and further in view of Boruta et al. (CZ 2018387) (“Boruta”) (machine translation provided). As concerns claims 5-7, Zimmerman, as modified, does not teach wherein the forward and aft legs are formed from aluminum alloy and the central link is formed from magnesium alloy. However, as discussed by Boruta, use of magnesium or aluminum alloys are considered typical and/or old and well known in the art (paragraph 0082, 0118). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to try using different known materials, such as aluminum for the legs and magnesium alloy for the central link, based on their different shapes and functions within the load bearing system in order to provide the desired weight and structural stability desired.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the claim(s) have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection uses Zimmerman as a primary reference, as necessitated by amendment. As discussed above, Zimmerman, fig. 4a, shows the forward connecting feature/bracket on the aft side of the forward leg, as claimed.
Conclusion
/TIMOTHY J BRINDLEY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3636