DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of Group I in the reply filed on 6/29/2026 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that the lack of unity argument is in error. Applicant argues that Claims 24 and 41 require that the double pipe that exchanger is connected to the gas atomizer. This is not found persuasive because in Claim 41, the double pipe heat exchanger is not recited as being connected to the gas atomizer. Therefore, this requirement is not a shared technical special feature.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the following must be shown or the features canceled from the claims:
Claim 31: “inner pipe [9] is connected to an exit of the grading station [14]”
Claim 35: “the particles bed”
Claim 39: “the gas extractor [38] is connected to the gas sprayer [6]”
No new matter should be entered.
Specification
The abstract of the disclosure is objected to because the abstract should only be one paragraph. A corrected abstract of the disclosure is required and must be presented on a separate sheet, apart from any other text. See MPEP § 608.01(b).
Status of Claims
Claims 1-23 are cancelled, Claims 24-40 are as previously presented and Claims 41-46 are withdrawn.
Claim Interpretation
The claim limitation uses the term “means” or “step” or a term used as a substitute for “means” that is a generic placeholder (also called a nonce term or a non-structural term having no specific structural meaning) for performing the claimed function.
The term “means” or “step” or the generic placeholder is modified by functional language, typically, but not always linked by the transition word “for” (e.g., “means for”) or another linking word or phrase, such as “configured to” or “so that.”
The term “means” or “step” or the generic placeholder is not modified by sufficient structure, material, or acts for performing the claimed function.
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation is in claim as follows:
Claim
Means for or Step for
Functional Language
Structure or Material
Disclosure Support
35
n/a
“for purging”
“the particles bed”
“a purge”; (page 8)
Because this claim limitation is being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, it is being interpreted to cover the corresponding structure described in the specification as performing the claimed function, and equivalents thereof.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 29 and 35-37 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 29 recites the limitation “the first end” in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 35 recites the limitation “the particles bed” in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claims dependent on any of the rejected claims are likewise rejected under this statute.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 24-27, 29, 30, and 38 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by CN 1923414 A, based on the machine translation, and as evidenced by Sampson in TLEP International Journal of Chemical Engineering Research.
CN 1923414 A (CN ‘414) teaches a manufacturing facility for atomization preparation of orbicular magnesium powder as represented below in annotated Figs 1 and 2:
With respect to the installation in Claim 24, CN ‘414 teaches a gas atomizer chamber 7 (page 2) with a top and bottom as represented above. The atomization nozzle is represented above in the second figure and is near crucible 5 and is on top of the atomizer chamber 7. Liquid metal flows through channel 27. The gas “sprayer” is represented by the air inlet and air passage 29 and 30, respectively. An opening at the bottom of the chamber is connected to the conveying pipeline 72. The double pipe heat exchanger 8 has inner and outer pipes that are concentric, as evidenced by in Fig. 1. The inner pipe in CN ‘414 conveys Mg powder from the atomizer chamber 7 and the outer pipe conveys water from the water cooling system 33. The outer pipe is serially connected to the air inlet 29 and air passage 30 via the water cooling compressor 1 and buffer tank 2. The examiner notes that the limitation “being connected to” is a serial connection and does not exclude other parts between the claimed atomization chamber and outer pipe. CN ‘414 anticipates the claimed invention.
Regarding Claim 25, the classifier and collection tanks read on the claimed grading station.
Regarding Claim 26, the inner pipe sends Mg powder to the first heat exchanger 11 and classifier 10. An air pressure balance tank 21 relates to the classifier 10, through line 211, compressor 1, and to the crucible 5, which reads on pneumatic line.
Regarding Claim 27, the inner pipe includes gas from atomization chamber 7 as represented above by the oval.
Regarding Claim 29, the inner pipe of the double heat exchanger 11 is connected to a first end as represented above.
Regarding Claim 30, the inner pipe of the double heat exchanger 11 is connected to the classifier by a second end.
Regarding Claim 38, the sidewall of the atomizing chamber 7 is installed with a circular rupture disk (page 5), which reads on a gas extractor.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 35-37 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claims 28, 31-34, 39, and 40 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding Claim 28, CN ‘414 does not suggest a transport gas inlet adjacent to the bottom of the atomization chamber. CN ‘414 teaches the transport gas inlet is at the top of the chamber as represented by 71.
Regarding Claim 31, CN ‘414 does not suggest that the inner pipe is connected to an exit of the grading station by the first end of the double pipe heat exchanger 8 as claimed. CN ‘414 teaches the second end of the double pipe heat exchanger 8 is connected to the grading station or classifier 10.
Regarding Claim 32, CN ‘414 does not suggest the outer pipe of the double heat exchanger 8 is connected to the gas sprayer represented by 29 and 30. CN ‘414 teaches the outer pipe of the double heat exchanger 8 is connected to the water cooling system 33.
Regarding Claim 33, CN ‘414 does not suggest the outer pipe of the double heat exchanger 8 is connected to an exit of the grading station as claimed. CN ‘414 teaches the outer pipe of the double heat exchanger 8 is connected to the water cooling system 33.
Regarding Claim 34, CN ‘414 does not suggest the outer pipe is connected to a gas regulator. CN ‘414 teaches the outer pipe of the double heat exchanger 8 is connected to the water cooling system 33.
Regarding Claims 35-37, CN ‘414 does not suggest a purge in the atomization chamber as claimed.
Regarding Claim 39, CN ‘414 does not suggest a gas extractor is connected to the gas sprayer as claimed.
Regarding Claim 40, CN ‘414 does not suggest a gas extractor is connected to the outer pipe as claimed.
Conclusion
Tima M. McGuthry-Banks
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1733
/Tima M. McGuthry-Banks/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1733