DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-10 are presented for examination on the merits.
Note on claim interpretation: For purposes of examination the claims are given their broadest reasonable interpretation. The recitation of an intended use of a composition does not effectively limit the composition per se, as the claims are not directed to a method of use of a composition, but rather the composition itself. Intended uses are functional properties that are inherent to the composition.
With respect to the prior art, a recitation of the intended use of the claimed invention must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim.
Thus the claims 1-8 are all directed to the same composition. That is, any composition that includes, inter alia, kumis-derived exosomes. Consequently, the claims are very broadly claimed and indeed kumis itself could be considered a composition comprising exosomes.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 10 is rendered vague and indefinite by the phrase “an exosome-enriched fraction obtained from kumis and enriched with exosomes derived from the kumis”. The language seems at the very least redundant. Is not any “exosome-enriched fraction obtained from kumis” necessarily “enriched with exosomes derived from kumis”? Is there meant to be a difference between “obtained from” and “enriched with”?
Appropriate clarification is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-8 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to a judicial exception (i.e., a law of nature, a natural phenomenon, or an abstract idea) without significantly more. Claims 1-8 and 10 are directed to a composition comprising natural products. The claim(s) does/do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception.
Effective January 7, 2019, subject matter eligibility determinations under 35 U.S.C. § 101 follow the procedure explained in the Federal Register notice titled 2019 Revised Patent Subject Matter Eligibility Guidance (Federal Register, Vol. 84, No.4, 50-57), which is found at: https://www.govinfo.gov/content/pkg/FR-2019-01-07/pdf/2018-28282.pdf. Applicants are kindly asked to review this guidance as well as MPEP 2106.
The statutory categories of invention under 35 U.S.C. 101 are processes, machines, manufactures, and compositions of matter. However, certain members of these categories constitute judicial exceptions, i.e., the courts have determined that these entities are not patentable subject matter. These judicial exceptions include abstract ideas, laws of nature, and natural phenomena. The Office released guidance on December 16, 2014 for the examination of claims reciting natural products under 35 U.S.C. 101 in light of the recent Supreme Court decisions in Association for Molecular Pathology v. Myriad Genetics, Inc. (569 U.S. ___, 133 S. Ct. 2107, 2116, 106 USPQ2d 1972 (2013)) and Mayo Collaborative Services v. Prometheus Laboratories (566 U.S. ___, 132 S. Ct. 1289, 101 USPQ2d 1961 (2012)), Diamond v. Chakrabarty, 447 U.S. 303 (1980)) and Funk Brothers Seed Co. v. Kalo Inoculant Co. - 333 U.S. 127 (1948)). (inter alia). See eg. MPEP 2106.04(b)
The Supreme Court has explained that the judicial exceptions reflect the Court’s view that abstract ideas, laws of nature, and natural phenomena are "the basic tools of scientific and technological work", and are thus excluded from patentability because "monopolization of those tools through the grant of a patent might tend to impede innovation more than it would tend to promote it." Alice Corp., 134 S. Ct. at 2354, 110 USPQ2d at 1980 (quoting Myriad, 133 S. Ct. at 2116, 106 USPQ2d at 1978 and Mayo Collaborative Servs. v. Prometheus Labs. Inc., 566 U.S. 66, 71, 101 USPQ2d 1961, 1965 (2012)). The Supreme Court’s concern that drives this "exclusionary principle" is pre-emption. Alice Corp., 134 S. Ct. at 2354, 110 USPQ2d at 1980. The Court has held that a claim may not preempt abstract ideas, laws of nature, or natural phenomena; i.e., one may not patent every "substantial practical application" of an abstract idea, law of nature, or natural phenomenon, even if the judicial exception is narrow.
While preemption is the concern underlying the judicial exceptions, it is not a standalone test for determining eligibility. Rapid Litig. Mgmt. v. CellzDirect, Inc., 827 F.3d 1042, 1052, 119 USPQ2d 1370, 1376 (Fed. Cir. 2016). Instead, questions of preemption are inherent in and resolved by the two-part framework from Alice Corp. and Mayo (the Alice/Mayo test referred to by the Office as Steps 2A and 2B). It is necessary to evaluate eligibility using the Alice/Mayo test, because while a preemptive claim may be ineligible, the absence of complete preemption does not demonstrate that a claim is eligible.
Products of Nature: When a law of nature or natural phenomenon is claimed as a physical product, the courts have often referred to the exception as a "product of nature". Products of nature are considered to be an exception because they tie up the use of naturally occurring things, but they have been labeled as both laws of nature and natural phenomena. See Myriad 133 S. Ct. at 2116-17, 106 USPQ2d at 1979 (claims to isolated DNA held ineligible because they "claim naturally occurring phenomena" and are "squarely within the law of nature exception"); Funk Bros. Seed Co. v. Kalo Inoculant Co., 333 U.S. 127, 130, 76 USPQ 280, 281 (1948) (claims to bacterial mixtures held ineligible as "manifestations of laws of nature" and "phenomena of nature"). Step 2A of the Office’s eligibility analysis uses the terms "law of nature" and "natural phenomenon" as inclusive of "products of nature".
It is important to keep in mind that product of nature exceptions include both naturally occurring products and non-naturally occurring products that lack markedly different characteristics from any naturally occurring counterpart. Instead, the key to the eligibility of all non-naturally occurring products is whether they possess markedly different characteristics from its closest naturally occurring counterpart.
When a claim recites a nature-based product limitation, examiners use the markedly different characteristics analysis discussed in MPEP § 2106.04(c) to evaluate the nature-based product limitation and determine the answer to Step 2A. Nature-based products, as used herein, include both eligible and ineligible products and merely refer to the types of products subject to the markedly different characteristics analysis used to identify product of nature exceptions.
The Markedly Different Characteristics Analysis
The markedly different characteristics analysis is part of Step 2A, because the courts use this analysis to identify product of nature exceptions. If the claim includes a nature-based product that has markedly different characteristics, then the claim does not recite a product of nature exception and is eligible. If the claim includes a nature-based product that does not exhibit markedly different characteristics from its closest naturally occurring counterpart in its natural state, then the claim is directed to a "product of nature" exception (Step 2A: YES), and requires further analysis in Step 2B to determine whether any additional elements in the claim add significantly more to the exception.
Nature-based Product Claim Analysis
Where the claim is to a nature-based product by itself, the markedly different characteristics analysis should be applied to the entire product.
Where the claim is to a nature-based product produced by combining multiple components, the markedly different characteristics analysis should be applied to the resultant nature-based combination, rather than its component parts. Where the claim is to a nature-based product in combination with non-nature based elements, the markedly different characteristics analysis should be applied only to the nature-based product limitation. For a product-by-process claims, the analysis turns on whether the nature-based product in the claim has markedly different characteristics from its naturally occurring counterpart.
The markedly different characteristics analysis compares the nature-based product limitation to its naturally occurring counterpart in its natural state. Markedly different characteristics can be expressed as the product’s structure, function, and/or other properties, and are evaluated based on what is recited in the claim on a case-by-case basis. If the analysis indicates that a nature-based product limitation does not exhibit markedly different characteristics, then that limitation is a product of nature exception. If the analysis indicates that a nature-based product limitation does have markedly different characteristics, then that limitation is not a product of nature exception.
Because the markedly different characteristics analysis compares the nature-based product limitation to its naturally occurring counterpart in its natural state, the first step in the analysis is to select the appropriate counterpart(s) to the nature-based product.
When there are multiple counterparts to the nature-based product, the comparison should be made to the closest naturally occurring counterpart. When the nature-based product is a combination produced from multiple components, the closest counterpart may be the individual nature-based components of the combination. Because there is no counterpart mixture in nature, the closest counterparts to the claimed mixture are the individual components of the mixture, i.e., each naturally occurring species by itself. See, e.g., Funk Bros., 333 U.S. at 130, 76 USPQ at 281 (comparing claimed mixture of bacterial species to each species as it occurs in nature).
Markedly changed characteristics can include structural, functional, chemical changes. In order to show a marked difference, a characteristic must be changed as compared to nature, and cannot be an inherent or innate characteristic of the naturally occurring counterpart or an incidental change in a characteristic of the naturally occurring counterpart. Myriad, 133 S. Ct. at 2111, 106 USPQ2d at 1974-75. Thus, in order to be markedly different, applicant must have caused the claimed product to possess at least one characteristic that is different from that of the counterpart.
If there is no change in any characteristic, the claimed product lacks markedly different characteristics, and is a product of nature exception.
The claims are directed to a composition comprising nature-based products (i.e. exosomes from kumis), which is not markedly different from its closest naturally-occurring counterpart because there is no indication that their combination or preparation has caused the nature-based product to have any characteristics that are markedly different from the closest naturally-occurring product and the claims do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. The rationale for this determination is explained below:
Step 1: Determine if the claims are directed to one of the four statutory categories of patentable subject matter identified by 35 U.S.C. 101: a process, machine, manufacture or composition of matter. YES, the claims are directed to a composition of matter, which is a statutory category within at least one of the four categories of patent eligible subject matter.
Step 2A: PRONG ONE: Evaluate whether the claim recites a Judicial Exception
(e.g., law of nature, natural phenomenon, or an abstract idea). YES, the claims are product claims reciting something that appears to be a nature-based product (i.e., exosomes from kumis) which is not markedly different from the closest naturally-occurring counterpart (i.e., the individual nature-based products, that is exosomes as they exist in kumis).
Note: with respect to extracts of natural products such as plants, the closest naturally-occurring counterpart is always the same compounds found in the extract, present in the non-isolated form in the source plant material. Extracts that are made simply by separating the extracted components from the non-extracted components, is a partitioning process that absent any specific chemical modification, merely separates the compounds leaving their activities unchanged.
Ingredients recited in the claims are natural products that would occur naturally; thus, the claims involve the use of judicial exceptions. There is no indication in the record of any markedly different characteristics (either structural or functional) of the composition as broadly claimed. For example, there is no evidence of record of a structural difference between the extract(s) in the claimed composition and that of their nature-based counterparts. Consequently, the claimed compositions are structurally the same as their closest naturally- occurring counterparts.
Nor is there any difference in functional characteristics. To show a marked difference, the characteristic(s) must be changed as compared it closest natural-occurring counterpart. For example, and assertion of changed functionality must be accompanied with evidence of a comparison of the claimed composition with its closest naturally-occurring counterpart and should apply to the full scope of the claim. Furthermore, inherent or innate characteristics of the naturally occurring counterpart cannot show a marked difference. Likewise, differences in the characteristics that came about or were produced independently of any effort or influence by Applicant cannot show a marked difference.
The recitation of specific amounts of the ingredients does not affect this analysis because it is well known and routine in the art to mix specific amounts of active ingredients with additional ingredients. Therefore, the claim is not meaningfully limited and does not amount to significantly more than each product of nature by itself. Finally, the claimed mixture is like the novel bacterial mixture of Funk Brothers, which was held ineligible because each species of bacteria in the mixture (like each component in the instantly claimed mixture) continued to have “the same effect it always had”, i.e., it lacked markedly different characteristics. Funk Brothers Seed Co. v. Kalo Inoculant Co., 333 U.S. 127, 131 (1948), discussed in Myriad Genetics, 133 S. Ct. at 2117. While not discussed in the opinion, it is noted that several of the claims held ineligible in Funk Brothers recited specific amounts of the bacterial species in the mixture, e.g., claims 6, 7 and 13. Funk Brothers, 333 U.S. at 128 n.1.
Thus, there is no evidence of record to indicate that the claimed product is markedly different, structurally, chemically, functionally, than its closest naturally occurring counterpart.
PRONG TWO: Evaluate whether the judicial exception is integrated into a practical application. The claims are directed to a composition, not its practical use such as a particular treatment or prophylaxis for a disease or medical condition.
Thus the cited claims are directed to a judicial exception to patentable subject matter.
Step 2b: Determine whether the claim directed to a judicial exception provides an inventive concept. For example, the claims may recite additional elements that amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. In the instant case, NO, the claims are directed to an extract composition without any other components that could add significantly more to the exception. No other specific limitations other than what is well-understood, routine and conventional in the field at a high level of generality have been added to the claimed nature-based product (e.g., addition of well-known ingredients).
Thus, the claimed product is not eligible subject matter under current 35 USC 101 standards.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kuklinski et al. (US2011/0305764) and Reed et al. (WO2020/018926) in view of Sedykh et al. (2017) and Yu et al. (2017).
Kuklinski et al. beneficially teach the use of mare’s milk concentrate dried on a highly-dispersed, biologically inert matrix, for producing a preparation for the treatment of skin diseases, especially dry skin diseases, such as neurodermatitis or psoriasis.
Reed et al. beneficially teach compositions comprising milk-derived exosomes loaded with a single skin peptide or a combination of skin peptides and methods for use in skin treatment.
Sedykh et al. beneficially the preparation of exosomes from horse milk by fractionating by centrifugation into a lipid top layer and the cells and proteins precipitates which were removed and the supernatants were subjected for three sequential ultracentrifugations the resulting pellet corresponded
to crude preparation of horse milk exosomes.
Yu et al. disclose the isolation of exosomes from fermented milk
based on the ultracentrifugation (UC) of the sample before clearing through a series
of lower-speed spins. Fermented milk samples were centrifuged remove cells, large debris, and fat, samples were subjected to ultracentrifugation at 120000g for 60 min, followed by resuspension in 1 mL of PBS and filtering through 0.22 μm filters to obtain exosome solutions for further analysis.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the instant Application to obtain exosomes from fermented horse milk (i.e., kumis), since the use of horse milk is known for skin care treatment (Kuklinski) and exosomes from milk for skin treatment (Elliott) as well as exosomes from horse milk (Sedykh) and fermented horse milk (Yu). The claims of the instant Application are directed to a commonly-employed method of extraction of exosomes from milk, employing centrifugation to separate cell, lipids and debris followed by ultracentrifugation of the supernatant to isolate the exosomes.
WO2016/039356A1 beneficially discloses an anti-inflammatory agent can be prepared using, as an active ingredient, milk-derived exosomes. That is, the exosome used in the present invention is an exosome obtained from milk. The milk is not particularly limited as long as it is obtained from mammals.
In KSR Int'l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398 (2007), the Supreme Court emphasized a flexible approach to the obviousness question, stating that the analysis under 35 U.S.C. § 103 "need not seek out precise teachings directed to the specific subject matter of the challenged claim, for a court can take account of the inferences and creative steps that a person of ordinary skill in the art would employ." Id. at 418; see also id. at 421 ("A person of ordinary skill is... a person of ordinary creativity, not an automaton.").
Accordingly, the instant claims, where no unexpected results are observed, would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill having the above cited references before him/her.
Note: Applicant cites the Office Action of corresponding application JP-2021-070665, which states the following (but filed English translation does not include the citation of Documents 1-5).
It is described in Cited Document 1 that exosomes derived from fermented milk have a
cell-proliferating function like that of the milk derived exosome (Figure 2). Cited document 2 discloses that exosome is included in the horse milk (Abstract). Cited Documents 3 to 5 describe that the Kumis is fermented milk (Cited Document 3 : Summary, Cited Document 4 : page 56, right column, line 3 to page 57, left column, line 1 ; cited document 5 : left column, line 1 in the left column, page 153). Here, as described in cited document 1, the exosomes derived from fermented milk are known to have cell-proliferating activity, and it is publicly known that the equine milk contains exosomes as described in cited document 2. In addition, it is a usual practice by a person skilled in the art to use an active ingredient having bioactivity isolated from a material whose safety has been confirmed as a food, as an active ingredient. Moreover, as described in the cited documents 3 to 5, it is well known that the Kumis is fermented milk. If that is the case, it could have been easily made by a person skilled in the art to isolate exosomes from Kumis, which is a fermented milk using horse bed-milk, which is known to contain the milk exosome described in Cited Document 2, as an exosomes from fermented milk having a cell-growth function described in Cited Document 1, and to make it a composition for the treatment of diseases. They are things. Moreover, a person skilled in the art could have easily determined to fractionate Kumis into an amount suitable for centrifugation to prepare a fraction enriched with exosomes which has been precipitated by centrifuging each fraction, thereby obtaining an exosome containing composition derived from Kumis. Even considering the statements in the Examples in the specification of the present application, it is indicated as the bioactivity of exosomes derived from Kumis. Although the manifestation of TARC, TSLP, and MDC as which a rise is regarded by an atopic dermatitis patient by processing normal Homo sapiens keratinocyte by IL-10 / TNF-alpha/IFN-gamma is derived, The expression of these TARC,TSLP,MDC is suppressed significantly by addition of exosomes derived from Kumis, and the composition containing exosomes derived from Kumis does not have effects in all diseases or in any usage, and thus, the composition comprising exosomes derived from is not effective in all diseases or uses. It is not found that a person skilled in the art can predict the inventions claimed in Claims 6,9 and 10, which covers a composition in which the use of the disease is not specified, and an invention relating to a composition in which the usage is not specified, over the whole scope of the scope of claims.
Conclusion
No claims are allowed.
/RUSSELL G FIEBIG/Examiner, Art Unit 1655