DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of claims 1-11 in the reply filed on 06/11/2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 12-20 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to nonelected claims, there being no allowable generic or linking claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C.102 (a)(1) as being anticipated by Carsaro US 2018/0215968 A1 (present on IDS).
Regarding claims 1-6, Carsaro discloses an adhesion promoter composition comprising an aminosilane, an acid and an amine hardener (reference claim 1). The presence of an acid along with aminosilane, assures the presence of an ammonium salt of the aminosilane. Carsaro notes that the amine hardener is preferably a polyamidoamine, particularly a condensation product of a fatty acid or a polycarboxylic acid with a polyalkyleneamine (paragraph [0064]). Carsaro highlights N-(2-aminoethyl)-3-aminopropyltrimethoxysilane as one of preferred aminosilanes (end of paragraph [0052]), with structure as shown below, which meets Formula (I), with R1 having an -NH2, and R3, R4 and R5 as methoxy.
Therefore, the invention as claimed is fully anticipated by Carsaro as disclosing each limitation of the rejected claims as per discussion above.
Claims 1, 3-6 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C.102 (a)(1) as being anticipated by Melzer et al. US 2004/0020565 A1.
Regarding claims 1, 3-6 and 11, Melzer teaches a latex composition comprising a polyamidoamine/epichlorohydrin, a fluoacid and a phosphoric acid (reference claims 1-3, and 15-16). The composition further comprises an aminosilane. In the presence of an acid, the aminosilane will inherently form an ammonium salt. Melzer discloses gamma-aminopropylsilane as the preferred silane, the formula of which is recognized to be H2N(CH2)3Si(OC2H5)3 (paragraph [0021]).
Melzer cites (para [0013]) reference US 2,926,116 to teach the required polyamidoamine/epichlorohydrin, which is derived from triethylenetetramine, adipic acid and epichlorohydrin (US 2,926,116, Example 2, col 4), which meets the requirements of instant claims 4-6. Melzer further notes that the latex composition comprises a vinyl chloride, which corresponds to applicant’s organic chloride.
Therefore, the invention as claimed is fully anticipated by Melzer as disclosing each limitation of the rejected claims as per discussion above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 7-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Carsaro as applied to claim 1-6 above, and further in view of Van De Berg et al. US 6,040,385 (present on IDS).
Regarding claims 7-10, Carsaro is silent on the utilization of copolymer of an alpha-olefin and an unsaturated carboxylic anhydride for the creation of polyamidoamine amine hardener. Analogous reference Van De Berg who also teaches adhesion promoters discloses polyamidoamines derived from copolymers of monounsaturated carboxylic acids and alpha-olefins, and polyamines (abstract). Van De Berg discloses Example 1 (Col 4) polymeric imidoamine (corresponding to applicant’s amidoamine) synthesized by reacting N-aminoethylpiperazine with C14/C16 alpha-olefin-maleic acid copolymer, meeting the requirements of instant claims 7-10. Advantageously, Van De Berg provides the motivation to create the desired polyamidoamines, since they offer good adhesion even when used in small quantities, can be produced reproducibly and they can be tailored as adhesion promoters for wide variety of applications (col 5, lines 13-21).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have modified Carsaro’s amine hardener with polyamidoamine as taught by Van De Berg for the same application of creating adhesion promoters which offer good adhesion even when used in small quantities.
Conclusion
/S.M.D./
Examiner
Art Unit 1765
/JOHN M COONEY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1765