DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The Amendment filed December 9th, 2025 has been entered. Claims 1-20 are pending. Claims 1-16 have been amended and claims 17-20 have been added by the Applicant. Applicant’s amendments have overcome claim objections.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 4, 8, 11-12 16-17 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1) as being anticipated by Burmeister, US 2089050.
Regarding claim 1, Burmeister discloses a switching device comprising:
an electrode housing (1) having an opening (at end of housing tube 1);
a first electrode (4) provided inside the electrode housing (1); and
a second electrode (3) to fit in the opening of the electrode housing (1) in an insertable and detachable manner such that the second electrode (3) comes into and out of contact with the first electrode (4) inside the electrode housing (1) where
the electrode housing (1) includes an arc extinguisher (2) to generate an ablation gas [col.2, lines 45-49] through an arc generated between the first electrode (4) and the second electrode (3),
until the first electrode (4) and the second electrode (3) become separated by a certain distance out of contact with each other, a gas including the ablation gas is retained in an enclosed space (formed between 4 and 3 within tube, 1) defined by the first electrode (4), the second electrode (3), and the electrode housing (1),
when a distance by which the first electrode (4) and the second electrode (3) are separated from each other exceeds the certain distance, the gas in the enclosed space is discharged through a gap defined between the opening and the second electrode (3) moving away from the opening located outside the second electrode (3), such that the gas is blown onto the arc, and the gas in the enclosed space is discharged through the gap between the opening and the second electrode (3) in a direction intersecting the arc generated between the first electrode (4) and the second electrode (3).
Regarding claim 2, Burmeister further discloses where the electrode housing (1) includes the arc extinguisher (2) defining a surface thereof exposed to the enclosed space.
Regarding claim 4, Burmeister further discloses where one end of one of the first electrode (4) and the second electrode (3) protrudes in a direction toward a space between another electrode of the first electrode (4) and the second electrode (3) and the electrode housing (1) and has an inside diameter greater than an outside diameter of the other electrode (3).
Regarding claim 8, Burmeister further discloses where the electrode housing (1) has an inclined inside-diameter surface on a side of the opening.
Regarding claim 11, Burmeister further discloses where the second electrode (3) has an outside-diameter surface conformed in shape to an inside-diameter surface of the electrode housing (1) on a side of the opening.
Regarding claim 12, Burmeister further discloses where at least one of the first electrode (4) and the second electrode includes a recessed portion (see curve surface at end of electrode) which is a gas reservoir on a surface thereof, and the gas reservoir is a part of the enclosed space when the distance by which the first electrode (4) and the second electrode (3) are separated from each other is less than or equal to the certain distance.
Regarding claim 16, Burmeister further discloses where the electrode housing (1) is defined by the arc extinguisher (2) to generate the ablation gas [col.2, lines 45-49] through the arc generated between the first electrode (4) and the second electrode (3), the arc extinguisher (2) extending from a position where the first electrode (4) and the second electrode (3) contact to the opening and covering the first electrode (4) and the second electrode (3) in a peripheral direction.
Regarding claim 17, Burmeister further discloses where a first-electrode end of the first electrode (4) and a second-electrode end of the second electrode (3) face each other, and the second-electrode end protrudes in a direction toward a space between the first- electrode end and the electrode housing (1) and has an inside diameter greater than an outside diameter of the first-electrode end, such that the first-electrode end is insertable into the second- electrode end.
Regarding claim 20, Burmeister further discloses where the second electrode (3) has an outside-diameter surface conformed in shape to an inclined inside-diameter surface of the electrode housing (1) on a side of the opening, and the outside-diameter surface of the second electrode (3) and the inclined inside-diameter surface of the electrode housing (1) are parallel to each other.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Burmeister in view of Farrer et al, US 2267399 [Farrer].
Regarding claim 3, Burmeister discloses the claimed invention, but silent on wherein at least one of the first electrode and the second electrode includes the arc extinguisher defining a surface thereof exposed to the enclosed space.
Farrer disclose (fig.3) a switching device where at least one of a first electrode (movable electrode, 50) and a second electrode includes an arc extinguisher (51) defining a surface thereof exposed to an enclosed space (inside of casing, 47).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the switching device of Burmeister with the substitution of the arc extinguisher sleeved on the electrode, thereby providing gas-evolving material, such that, when subjected to the heat of an arc assist with extinguishing the arc.
Regarding claim 9, Burmeister fails to disclose wherein the electrode housing has a round inside-diameter surface on a side of the opening.
Farrer disclose (fig.3) a switching device where an electrode housing (59) has a round inside-diameter surface on a side of an opening (at, 60).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the switching device of Burmeister with the teaching of the electrode housing of Farrer, thereby providing gas-evolving material, such that, when subjected to the heat of an arc assist with extinguishing the arc.
Claims 5-7 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Burmeister in view Hamano et al, JP 2007335148 [Hamano].
Regarding claim 5, Burmeister fail to disclose a magnetic field generator to generate a magnetic field having a component in a direction orthogonal to the arc.
Hamano discloses (figs.7-8) a switching device comprising a magnetic field generator (7) to generate a magnetic field (8) having a component in a direction orthogonal to an arc (6).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the switching device of Burmeister with the inclusion of a magnetic generator of Hamano, thereby providing magnetic flux, applying a stronger driving force to the arc, strengthening the radial magnetic field in the vicinity of the tip end portion of the arc contact, crossing the arc and further improving the arc extinguishing performance.
Regarding claim 6, Burmeister and Hamano further disclose where the magnetic field generator (7) is a permanent magnet disposed inside at least one of a first electrode (5) and a second electrode (3).
Regarding claim 7, Burmeister and Hamano further disclose where the magnetic field generator includes a magnetic body (Hamano, 26) disposed inside at least one of the first electrode (Hamano, 24), and a permanent magnet (27) disposed in a space external to an enclosed space [see fig.11].
Regarding claim 19, Burmeister and Hamano further disclose where the magnetic field generator comprises a magnetic body (Hamano, 26) disposed inside at least one of the first electrode (Hamano, 24), and a permanent magnet (27) attached to an electric field limiter (28) disposed outside the one of a first electrode (24) and a second electrode (25) [see fig.11].
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Burmeister in view Sato et al, JP 2010244742 [Sato].
Regarding claim 10, Burmeister fails to disclose wherein the electrode housing has a grooved inside-diameter surface on a side of the opening.
Sato discloses (figs.1-2) a switching device where an electrode housing (4) has a grooved inside-diameter surface (13) on a side of an opening.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the electrode housing of Burmeister with the teaching of the electrode housing of Sato, thereby providing a swirling component to the arc extinguishing gases, thus improving large current cut-off performance.
Claims 13-15 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Burmeister in view Kanetaka et al, JPH 08212882 [Kanetaka].
Regarding claim 13, Burmeister fails to disclose wherein a ventilation region between the enclosed space and a space external to the enclosed space.
Kanetaka discloses (figs.1-5) a gas switch where a ventilation region (2A) between an enclosed space (17) and a space (tank) external to the enclosed space (17).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the switch of Burmeister with the teaching of the electrode assembly of Kanetaka, thereby providing a vent channel providing a means of replenishing the arc extinguishing chamber with fresh extinguishing fluids, after an arcing event.
Regarding claim 14, Burmeister and Kanetaka further disclose a second electrode (1) includes the ventilation region (2A).
Regarding claim 15, Burmeister and Kanetaka further disclose where the ventilation region (2A) includes a check valve (20) attached thereto, and the check valve (20) of the ventilation region (2A) prevents a gas flow from the enclosed space (17) toward the space external (tank) to the enclosed space (17) and, when a pressure difference between the enclosed space (17) and the space external (tank) to the enclosed space (17) becomes greater than or equal to a predetermined pressure difference, opens to allow a gas flow from the space external (tank) to the enclosed space (17) toward the enclosed space (17) [para.0012].
Regarding claim 18, Burmeister fails to disclose wherein the gas discharged from the enclosed space flows in a first gas flow direction from an internal space of the second-electrode end and in a second gas flow direction from the space between the electrode housing and the first-electrode end, the gas in the first and second gas flow directions being blown onto the arc and reducing a diameter of the arc.
Kanetaka discloses (figs.1-5) a gas switch where a gas discharged from an enclosed space (17) flows in a first gas flow direction from an internal space (12) of a second-electrode (4) end and in a second gas flow direction from the space (17) between an electrode housing (2) and a first-electrode (1) end, the gas in first and second gas flow directions (12A, 12B) being blown onto an arc (13) and reducing a diameter of the arc (13).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the switch of Burmeister with the teaching of the switch of Kanetaka, thereby providing an internal pressure of the extinguishing chamber rises due to the arc heat; during the opening progressed in a second gas flow direction the gas is blown onto the arc, cooling the arc and interrupting the current.
Conclusion
/WILLIAM A BOLTON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2833