DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 and 5-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 2,861,030 to Slatin (Slatin).
As to claim 1, Slatin teaches a method for preparing titanium metal by molten salt electrolysis, comprising using an electrolysis cell (10) comprising an anode chamber and a cathode chamber, the anode chamber filled with an anode molten salt electrolyte (31) and inserted with an anode (36), wherein the anode molten salt electrolyte comprises a titanium containing raw material, the cathode chamber is filled with a cathode molten salt electrolyte (32) and inserted with a cathode (48), a bottom of the electrolytic cell (10) filled with a liquid alloy (15), the anode molten salt electrolyte (31) and the cathode molten salt electrolyte (32) are connected by the liquid alloy (15) and not in contact which each other, the method comprising powering on and running the electrolytic cell reducing the titanium-containing raw material in the anode chamber to titanium atoms at an interface between the anode molten salt electrolyte (31) and the liquid alloy (15), and simultaneously dissolving the titanium atoms into the liquid alloy (15), at the same time oxidizing the titanium atoms in the liquid alloy to titanium ions at an interface between the liquid alloy (15) and the cathode molten salt electrolyte (32), and simultaneously allowing the titanium ions to enter the cathode molten salt electrolyte (32) and subsequently reducing the titanium ions entered to titanium atoms on a surface of the cathode (48) to form the titanium metal (Column 2, Line 6 to Column 6, Line 48; Figure 1).
As to claim 5, Slatin teaches the apparatus of claim 1. Slatin further teaches that the anode is formed of graphite and the cathode is formed of molybdenum (Column 2, Lines 49-50; Column 4, Lines 51-52).
As to claim 6, Slatin teaches the apparatus of claim 1. Slatin further teaches that the cathode molten salt electrolyte comprises, for example, CaCl2 and TiCl2 and TiCl3 in different proportions, i.e. dichloride at a lower concentration (Column 9, Line 47 to Column 10, Line 9; Column 11, Lines 24-29; Claim 26).
As to claims 7 and 9, Slatin teaches the apparatus of claim 1. Slatin further teaches that the liquid alloy is formed by a solute metal, titanium, and a solvent metal such as copper, tin, antimony, zinc, lead, bismuth, nickel or cobalt, metals that are less active than titanium and form a low melting point alloy with a melting point below 1000°C as evidenced at least by applicant’s own disclosure (Column 7, Line 70 to Column 8, Line 16).
As to claim 8, Slatin teaches the apparatus of claim 1. Slatin further teaches that during operation a temperature of the anode molten salt electrolyte and the cathode molten salt electrolyte are controlled to, for example, 1100°C (Column 9, Line 55-70) and an anode current density is, for example, 0.16 A/cm2 (10 A/in2) (Column 6, Lines 70-74).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2, 3 and 4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Slatin as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of US 2004/0194574 A1 to Cardarelli (Cardarelli).
As to claims 2, 3 and 4, Slatin teaches the apparatus of claim 1. Slatin further teaches that the titanium containing raw material comprises titanium dioxide (Column 7, Line 31) and that the anode molten salt electrolyte comprises CaO (Column 7, Lines 46-62). However, Slatin fails to teach the specific source of the titanium dioxide. However, Cardarelli also discusses the electrolytic production of titanium and teaches that titanium slag is a known source from which titanium dioxide can be used to recover titanium (Paragraph 0056). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to further provide titanium slag to the anode molten salt electrolyte for recovering titanium from a known source of titanium dioxide as taught by Cardarelli.
Double Patenting
Claims 1 and 5-9 provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 and 4-7 of copending Application No. 18/289,835 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because all the limitations of the claim are present or inherently present.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Conclusion
/CIEL P CONTRERAS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1794