DETAILED ACTION
This is in response to communications filed on 11/15/23, in which Claims 1, 3-15 and 17-18 are presented for examination of which Claims 1 and 15 are in independent form.
Drawings
The Figures are objected to, please include suitable descriptive legends as required by CFR 1.84 (o).
Claim Objections
Claim 4 is objected to because it depends from a canceled claim, it will be interpreted to depend from Claim 1. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Richerson (US 20140180605 A1).
Regarding Claim 1, Richerson discloses a testing assembly (Abstract, [0006] acquiring piston sensor data during engine testing) comprising:
a test object (10 of Figs 1-4 piston) at a testing device (Fig 4) for performing a test phase of a test sequence using measured values of the test object ([0043] development and confirmation of engine operating control parameters using measured piston sensor data may advantageously occur during the entire engine test cycle), wherein the test object comprises a measuring module ([0020] including temperature sensors, [measuring system housed within the piston]), wherein a test sensor is provided in the measuring module (various temperature sensors 60, 70, 80, 90, 100, 110, 120), which test sensor is designed to acquire the measured values of the test object ([0036] Analog sensor data may be sampled at a predetermined sampling rate, such as 1 Hz, 5 Hz, etc., and transmitted over a digital wireless link to wireless receiver 54); and
a communications device (50 of Fig 2 wireless transmitter) provided in the measuring module, which communications device is designed to transmit the measured values to an evaluation unit (including 54, 150, 154 of Fig 4) of the testing device, wherein the evaluation unit is designed to process the measured values in order to perform the test phase of the test sequence ([0040] modeling computer 154 hosts an operating system that executes various software tools that process and analyze piston sensor data, provide static and dynamic models of the piston that incorporate the measured sensor data, including, for example, temperatures, stresses, strains, velocities, accelerations, etc., [0041]-[0042]) and,
wherein the measuring module is an integral component of the test object (see Figs 2-3).
2. (canceled)
Regarding Claim 3, Richerson discloses the measuring module is integrated into a housing of the test object (see Figs 2-3).
Regarding Claim 4, Richerson discloses the measuring module is non-detachably integrated into the test object ([0020] Heat resistant material is provided within each passage to seal the passage and prevent the temperature sensor from overheating).
Regarding Claim 5, Richerson discloses the communications device is designed to wirelessly transmit the measured values to the evaluation unit ([0046] analog piston sensor data is sampled by wireless transmitter 50, and then transmitted to a wireless receiver 54).
Regarding Claim 6, Richerson discloses the measuring module includes an analog-to-digital converter for converting analog measured values into digital measured values, and wherein the communications device is designed to transmit the digital measured values to the evaluation unit ([0036] Analog sensor data may be sampled at a predetermined sampling rate, such as 1 Hz, 5 Hz, etc., and transmitted over a digital wireless link to wireless receiver 54).
Regarding Claim 7, Richerson discloses the measuring module includes a non-volatile, memory unit for storing measured values ([0038] Sensor data and three-dimensional sensor locations may be stored in a non-volatile memory 152).
Regarding Claim 8, Richerson discloses the measuring module includes a signal processing unit for processing measured values ([0039] data acquisition computer 150 and modeling computer 154 as separate servers or computers connected via network 158, alternatively, data acquisition computer 150 and modeling computer 154 may be the same computer or server, a single server with two or more processor boards).
Regarding Claim 9, Richerson discloses the measuring module includes a power supply unit, an energy harvesting unit (52 of Fig 2 power module), and a long-term energy store (56 of Fig 2), for supplying power to the measuring module ([0019] Power source 56 inductively couples power to wireless power module 52).
Regarding Claim 10, Richerson discloses the test sensor is designed to detect measured values of the test object, selected from the group consisting of pressure ([0020]), temperature ([0020]), rotational speed ([0039] engine speed), torque, current, voltage, and gas concentration.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Richerson in view of Johnson et al. (Johnson; US 6553336 B1).
Regarding Claim 11, Richerson doesn’t disclose the measuring module includes an identification unit which is configured to provide functions or properties of the measuring module, wherein the identification unit is configured according to the Transducer Electronic Data Sheet functionalities according to the ISO/IEC/IEEE 21450:2010 standard.
In the same field of endeavor, Johnson discloses a remote monitoring system includes transducers, a transducer control module, a communications device, a monitoring system and end-user display terminals. The transducers are disposed on the property and/or equipment in a manner to measure specific characteristics or parameters and communicate with the transducer control module via a wireless communication protocol. The transducer control module receives and analyzes transducer measurements and detects alarm conditions. The transducer control module communicates with the monitoring system via a wide area network and the communications device. The monitoring system receives, stores and analyzes information received from the transducer control module and reports the information to the end-user terminals via a wide area network, such as the Internet, in response to user requests.
Johnson discloses an identification unit which is configured to provide functions or properties of the measuring module, wherein the identification unit is configured according to the Transducer Electronic Data Sheet functionalities according to the ISO/IEC/IEEE 21450:2010 standard (Col 4 Lines 15-40).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Richerson with Johnson using a TEDS identification module in order to provide a standardized and efficient form of well-known wireless communication.
Claims 12 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Richerson in view of Hunt et al. (Hunt; US 6957133 B1).
Regarding Claim 12, Richerson discloses the measuring module includes a locating unit which is configured to disclose the position of the measuring module on the test object ([0033] In order to accurately locate the sensors within piston 10, a portion of each sensor is at least partially coated with a visualizing material), but doesn’t transmit it to the evaluation unit by means of the communications device.
In the same field of endeavor, Hunt discloses a wireless appliance for monitoring a vehicle, including a microprocessor; a vehicle-communication circuit; a GPS module; and a wireless transmitter. The wireless transmitter receives and transmits location-based data generated by the GPS module and diagnostic data collected by the vehicle-communication circuit. The vehicle-communication circuit is integrated into a single ASIC that includes modules for managing different vehicle-communication protocols.
Hunt discloses measuring module includes a locating unit which is configured to disclose the position of the measuring module on the test object and to transmit it to the evaluation unit by means of the communications device (Col 5 Lines 26-30 a small-scale wireless appliance 13 according to an embodiment of the present invention that monitors diagnostic and location-based data from a host vehicle and wirelessly transmits these data to an Internet-accessible website).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Richerson with Hunt transmitting location information in order to provide helpful data for finding vehicle engine with problems.
Regarding Claim 14, Hunt discloses the locating unit includes a radio unit for disclosing the position of the measuring module (Col 3 Lines 1-10).
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Richerson in view of Bates, Jr. (Bates; US 5170125 A).
Regarding Claim 13, Richerson doesn’t specify the locating unit includes a visual signal unit for disclosing the position of the measuring module.
In the same field of endeavor, Bates discloses a tester adapted to connect to an ignition control module under test. The tester includes an LED in series with a resistor. The series circuit is connected between a battery and a contact in the connector which provides the control module with an electric load in substitution for the ignition coil primary associated with the vehicle engine. If, after the tester is connected to the ignition control module and to a battery, the LED is turned on bright, it is one indication of a failed switching transistor in the module. The tester is provided with a flexible lead terminating in a contact which is touched to a predetermined terminal of the ignition control module. If the LED flashes on and off in correspondence with the terminal being touched, it is an indication of the control module being capable of processing ignition timing signals and of the switching transistor in the module being good.
Bates discloses a testing unit that includes a visual signal unit for disclosing the position of the measuring module (Col 3 Lines 25-50).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Richerson with Bates using a visual signal in order to provide an inexpensive and easy way to test an ignition control system and draw attention to any faults found.
Claims 15, 17 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Richerson in view of Nagayoshi et al. (Nagayoshi; US 5481906 A).
Regarding Claim 15, Richerson discloses a method for performing a test sequence (Abstract, [0006] acquiring piston sensor data during engine testing), comprising:
providing a first test phase of the test sequence including a first testing assembly (Fig 4; [0043] development and confirmation of engine operating control parameters using measured piston sensor data may advantageously occur during the entire engine test cycle*), in which a test object (10 of Figs 1-4 piston), including a measuring module ([0020] including temperature sensors, [measuring system housed within the piston]), is arranged on a first testing device (Fig 4), that, in the first test phase of the test sequence, a test sensor (various temperature sensors 60, 70, 80, 90, 100, 110, 120) of the measuring module of the test object acquires measured values (M) of the test object ([0036] Analog sensor data may be sampled at a predetermined sampling rate,) and transmits these to an evaluation unit (including 150, 154 of Fig 4) of the testing device via a communications device of the measuring module (50 of Fig 4 wireless transmitter);
processing, with the evaluation unit, the measured values for performing the first test phase of the test sequence, wherein the first test phase of the test sequence is ended ([0040] modeling computer 154 hosts an operating system that executes various software tools that process and analyze piston sensor data, provide static and dynamic models of the piston that incorporate the measured sensor data, including, for example, temperatures, stresses, strains, velocities, accelerations, etc., [0041]-[0042]), but doesn’t specify a second testing assembly testing the object after the first testing assembly.
In the same field of endeavor, Nagayoshi discloses a fault diagnosis apparatus for a vehicle control system.. According to this invention, the vehicle control system has an automatic transmission operation state detection sensor, an engine operation state detection sensor, an automatic transmission control unit and an engine control unit. For the diagnosis of a fault of at least one of the sensors and control units, the fault diagnosis apparatus comprises a fault determining unit, a code converter, a fault determining unit, a code converter, an ISO converter and a determining and diagnosing tester.
Nagayoshi discloses a second test phase of the test sequence having a second testing assembly is provided, in which the test object is arranged at a second testing device (Col 13 Lines 12-13 a second determining and diagnosing tester 32 can be connected*), and in that, in the second test phase of the test sequence, the test sensor of the measuring module of the test object acquires measured values of the test object and transmits these to an evaluation unit of the second testing device via the communications device of the measuring module, wherein the evaluation unit of the second testing device processes the measured values for performing the second test phase (Col 15 Lines 32-40 designed to perform determination and diagnosis of sensor fault information by the first determining and diagnosing tester 8A and at the same time determination and diagnosis of sensor fault information by the second determining and diagnosing tester 32).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Richerson with Nagayoshi using a second tester in order to provide a useful diagnostic for finding a fault of an electronic component mounted on a vehicle and to minimize an increase in the manufacturing cost upon incorporation of such a fault diagnosis apparatus, as suggested by Nagayoshi (Abstract).
The combination doesn’t specify that the second tester is connected after the second testing device is removed, however, but Nagayoshi teaches the first tester can be detached Col 11 Lines 15-16 The determining and diagnosing tester 8 is detachably connected to the external read terminal 40.), allowing for the second tester to be subsequently attached. There was a finite number of known ways to implement the testing; either with two testers at the same time or one tester testing after the other tester is done.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the second tester after the first tester, choosing from a finite number of identified, predictable solutions of how to effectively test a vehicle control system using separate testers, with a reasonable expectation of success.
16. (canceled)
Regarding Claim 17, Richerson discloses the measured values are encrypted, using cryptographic methods, before transmission to the communications device ([0036] Bluetooth).
Regarding Claim 18, Richerson discloses the measured values are secured in a non-volatile-memory unit of the measuring module ([0038] Sensor data and three-dimensional sensor locations may be stored in a non-volatile memory 152), and are encrypted beforehand using cryptographic methods ([0036] Bluetooth).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Priller et al. (US 20140303930 A1) discloses a sensors in a test bench environment parameterized in advance. The position of the sensor on the object under test be ascertained through suitable localization methods and the ascertained position be compared with geometric data of the object under test, from which the position of the sensor on the object under test can be derived, and from this position on the object under test, the variable physically measured by the sensor can be assigned to the sensor.
b. Bell (US 7595720 B2) discloses a tester for testing an active wheel speed sensor of a vehicle, comprising: a module testing portion to assess operation of a system control module by monitoring an electrical output from the system control module and to indicate proper operation of the system control module with a first indicator; and a sensor testing portion to assess the operation of the active wheel speed sensor and to indicate proper operation with a second indicator.
/MARK S RUSHING/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2687