DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Claims 8 and 11-16 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to nonelected inventions and species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Applicant timely traversed the restriction (election) requirement in the reply filed on 6/4/2026.
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed on 9/24/2026 has been entered. Claim(s) 1 and 6-8 is/are currently amended. Claim(s) 2, 5 and 9 has/have been cancelled. Claim(s) 1, 3-4, 6-8 and 10-16 is/are pending with claim(s) 8 and 11-16 withdrawn from consideration. Claim(s) 1, 3-4, 6-7 and 10 is/are under examination in this office action.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's argument filed on 9/24/2026, with respect to 103 rejection has been fully considered but is not persuasive.
Applicant argued that Sulser fails to describe or suggest an anionic polymer that is a copolymer having a polymer backbone and side chains bonded thereto, the copolymer consisting of at least one ionizable monomer unit M1 and at least one side chain-bearing monomer unit M2, and optionally at least one monomer unit MS, wherein the at least one anionic polymer has a nonrandom distribution of the at least one monomer unit M1 and the at least one monomer unit M2 in a direction along the polymer backbone, where M1, M2 and MS are as defined in present claim 1.
In response, Sulser teaches a polymer P comprising monomer A and monomer B that read on the claimed M1 and M2 respectively, having a nonrandom distribution in a direction along the polymer backbone, as stated in the 103 rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claim 6 recites “The aqueous composition according to claim 1, wherein the at least one anionic polymer comprises, in addition to the anionic polymer having a random distribution of the at least one monomer unit M1 and the at least one monomer unit M2 in a direction along the polymer backbone, further comprises an additional anionic polymer, the additional anionic polymer being a copolymer having a polymer backbone and side chains bonded thereto, the additional anionic polymer copolymer comprising at least one ionizable monomer unit M1 and at least one side chain-bearing monomer unit M2, wherein the additional fin-anionic polymer has a random distribution of the at least one monomer unit M1 and/or the at least one monomer unit M2 in a direction along the polymer backbone”. This is not supported by the originally filed specification. The originally filed specification discloses that the at least one anionic polymer comprises a first and a second anionic polymer, each anionic polymer being a copolymer having a polymer backbone and side chains bonded thereto, each copolymer comprising at least one ionizable monomer unit M1 and at least one side chain- bearing monomer unit M2, wherein the first anionic polymer has a random distribution of the monomer units M1 and/or the monomer units M2 in a direction along the polymer backbone, and wherein the second anionic polymer has a nonrandom distribution of the monomer units M1 and/or the monomer units M2 in a direction along the polymer backbone [0083 and 0114 pgpub]. The specification does not disclose the at least one anionic polymer comprising two polymers both having a random distribution of the at least one monomer unit M1 and the at least one monomer unit M2 in a direction along the polymer backbone as stated in the currently amended claim 6.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3-4, 6-7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Susler et al (US 20100197840 A1) in view of Yamakawa et al (US 20080196629 A1).
Regarding claims 1 and 3-4, Sulser teaches an aqueous composition Z for admixtures in concrete comprising 20-80 wt% of a polymer P and 0.1-20 wt% of an antifoam M [0001, 0079-0081].
The polymer P comprises monomer A including acrylic acid, methacrylic acid etc. [0019-0022]. Thus, the polymer P is an anionic polymer and reads on the claimed a); and its concentration of 20-80 wt% overlaps the claimed 12-55 wt% of a). A prima facie case of obviousness exists where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" (MPEP 2144.05.I).
The antifoam M includes phosphoric acid esters, such as, for example, tributyl phosphate or triisobutyl phosphate (TIBP), polyalkylene glycols, such as, for example, polypropylene oxides, block copolymers containing ethylene oxide, propylene oxides or butylene oxides, mineral oils or vegetable oils, fatty acid, fatty acid esters, fatty alcohols, alkoxylated fatty acids or fatty alcohols, silicones, silicone esters or a hydrophobic organic compound [0080]. These compounds read on the claimed b) of water insoluble liquid defoamer, as specified by the applicant in claim 3. The concentration of 0.1-20 wt% of an antifoam M overlaps the claimed 15-30 wt% of b).
The recited “plasticizers, water reducers, superplasticizers and workability retainers for inorganic binders” represents a statement of intended use that imparts no additional structure beyond the claimed product and need not be taught by the prior art to read on the claimed invention. See MPEP 2111.02(III). Nonetheless, Sulser teaches the polymer for use as a plasticizer for hydraulically setting compositions, in particular for concrete and mortar [0091].
Sulser teaches that the aqueous composition Z comprises retardants [0088] which reads on the claimed retarder. Sulzer is silent about the amount of the retardants.
In the same field of endeavor, Yamakawa teaches a hydraulic composition for cement mortar [abstract], comprising a setting retarder including hydroxycarboxylic acids in an amount of 0.005-50 parts by weight per 100 parts by weight of the overall system [0018, 0050-0051]. Hydroxycarboxylic acids read on the claimed retarder as specified in claim 4; and its amount of 0.005-50 parts by weight per 100 parts by weight of the overall system overlaps the claimed range of 1-10 weight-% based on 100 weight-% of the aqueous composition. A prima facie case of obviousness exists where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" (MPEP 2144.05.I).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to form a hydraulically setting composition according to Sulser including the retardant in an amount of 0.005-50 parts by weight per 100 parts by weight of the overall system, as Yamakawa demonstrates this range to be suitable for similar hydraulically setting composition. This represents the use of a suitable range of retardant in a hydraulically setting composition which is compositionally similar to those of Yamakawa and which is used in similar application. "The combination of familiar elements according to known methods is likely to be obvious when it does no more than yield predictable results." KSR Int'l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 416-21 (2007). See MPEP 2141.
Sulser teaches a preferred polymer P having formula (VIII) [0069]:
wherein, X1 is CO2, etc.; R13 is H, CH3, COOM, etc.; R14 is H or an alkyl having 1 to 5 carbon atoms, etc.; R15 is H, or an alkyl having 1 to 5 carbon atoms, etc.; M is H, alkali metal, alkaline earth metal, ammonium, ammonium cation or mixtures thereof; Y can be -CH2-COO-, etc.; R1, independently of one another, are a mono- or dicarboxylic acid, etc.; R2 is H or alkyl having 1-20 carbon atoms, etc.; R5 is alkyl radical having 1-30 carbon atoms, etc.; R7 is H or methyl; R8 is an alkyl radical having 2-30 carbon atoms, etc.; R11 is H or methyl; R12 is a radical having at least one primary, secondary or tertiary amino group if Y1 is -CH2- or -CO-; x, y, z, independently of one another, each have the values 0-250 and x+y+z=3 or greater [0019-0021, 0026-0027, 0030-0031, 0040, 0043, 0055, ]. Block a represents monomer A unit; block b, b’; b”, b”’, and b”” represent monomer B unit [0072].
The examiner submits that the above monomer A reads on the claimed M1; the above monomer B reads on the claimed M2.
Sulser teaches that the sequence of the structural building blocks a, b, b', b'', b''', b'', c, d and optionally e may be alternate, statistical, blockwise or random [0073].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to select polymer P having alternate, statistical or blockwise sequence in Sulser’s composition, as these are expressly disclosed as being useful in this capacity. It has been established that selection of a known material based on its suitability for its intended use is prima facie obvious (Sinclair & Carroll Co. v. Interchemical Corp., 325 U.S. 327, 65 USPQ 297 (1945)). See MPEP 2144.07. These structure sequences meet the claimed nonrandom distribution.
Sulser’s block a in formula (VIII) reads on the claimed M1, with X1M corresponding to the claimed R1; R15 corresponding to the claimed R2; R13 and R14 corresponding to the claimed R3 and R4.
Sulser’s block b in formula (VIII) reads on the claimed M2, with R15 corresponding to the claimed R5; R13 and R14 corresponding to the claimed R6 and R7; Y (-CH2-COO-) corresponding to the claimed (CH2)m-(CO)p-X- wherein m=1, p=1, and X=O; (C2H4O)x-(C3H6O)y-(C4H8O)z-R2 corresponding to the claimed R8.
Regarding claim 6, Sulser teaches that the sequence of the structural building blocks a, b, b', b'', b''', b'', c, d and optionally e can be random [0073].
A composition comprising a random copolymer is a mixture of individual copolymer chains that have different random sequence of comonomers - the copolymer chains differ from each other in terms of comonomer distribution. Therefore, the random copolymer can be viewed as a mixture of different random copolymers. Thus, Sulser’s random copolymer comprises multiple random copolymers with the same comonomer building blocks a and b in different random sequence in the polymer chain. This meets the claimed limitation of the at least one anionic polymer comprising one random polymer and an additional random polymer.
Regarding claim 7, the nonrandom polymer P reads on the claimed second anionic polymer and it can be in form of block as stated above.
Claim(s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Susler et al (US 20100197840 A1) in view of Yamakawa et al (US 20080196629 A1) as applied to claim 1 above, further in view of Klaus et al (EP 2152647 B1, machine translation is referenced herein).
Regarding claim 10, Sulser teaches that the aqueous composition Z may further comprise additives such as accelerators [0088], but does not specify the accelerators.
In the same field of endeavor, Klaus teaches an aqueous preparation of polymer-modified setting accelerators suitable for use in hydraulically setting systems in concrete and mortars [0033], comprising at least one setting accelerator and one or more polymers having a cationic charge [claim 1]. The one or more polymers having a cationic charge include homopolymers or copolymers of diallyldimethylammonium chloride (DADMAC) [claim 4]. Klaus teaches that aqueous compositions comprising setting accelerators and cationically stabilized polymers are stable and do not coagulate or precipitate during storage as compared to accelerators without cationically stabilized polymers [0004-0009].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to use the polymer-modified setting accelerator in the aqueous hydraulically setting composition, for the benefit of being stable and do not coagulate or precipitate during storage.
The homopolymers or copolymers of diallyldimethylammonium chloride (DADMAC) reads on the claimed cationic linear polyamine.
Klaus teaches that the content of the aqueous preparations of the polymer-modified setting accelerators in the setting accelerators and cationically stabilized polymers is preferably from 10 to 75% by weight; and the weight ratio of cationically stabilized polymers to setting accelerators is most preferably from 1:1 [0031-0032]. Therefore, the content of polydiallyldimethylammonium chloride is most preferably 5-37.5 wt% in the aqueous preparations, as calculated by the examiner, overlapping the claimed range of 5-15 weight-%. A prima facie case of obviousness exists where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" (MPEP 2144.05.I).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JIANGTIAN XU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1762