Response to Amendment
Claims 11-13, 15-21, and 23-30 are presented for examination.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 11, 12, 18-20, 26, and 27 are rejected under 35 USC 103 as being obvious over Choi, U.S. 2020/0108832 (see IDS submitted 10/20/2023) in view of Naserian et al., U.S. 2022/0169243.
On claim 11, Choi cites except as underlined:
A method for operating an assistance system of a vehicle, the method comprising:
recording a trajectory along which the vehicle has been maneuvered in a forward direction of travel manually by a driver of the vehicle;
figure 3 and [0076] movement trace.
receiving data that describe surroundings of the vehicle and/or a behavior of at least one other road user in the surroundings;
[0081] Referring to < time> of FIG. 3, the movement trace storage unit 210 updates and stores the movement trace 20 from location coordinates m5 of the vehicle 10 at the second time of the vehicle to location coordinates m2 of the vehicle 10, which is spaced apart from the location coordinates m5 by the reference distance d, among previous location coordinates m1 to m4.
(The claimed “surroundings” are the cited locations).
detecting a dead-end situation on a basis of the received data including on a basis of the behavior of the at least one other road user in the surroundings, the dead-end situation describing a situation in which passage of the vehicle is temporarily not possible and/or not permitted in the forward direction of travel;
[0085] Meanwhile, when the other road is a restricted driving area 40 such as a dead end or a one-way street, the restricted driving area identifier 220 may inform the driver of the restricted driving area 40 before the vehicle 10 enters the restricted driving area 40.
and
proactively suggesting performance of an automated reversing function in response, at least in part, to detecting the dead-end situation, wherein in the automated reversing function the vehicle is maneuvered along the recorded trajectory in a reverse direction of travel in an automated manner,.
[0059] For example, when the restricted driving area is identified, the movement controller 240 may generate a control signal to perform the warning operation in the vehicle 10 or put on the brake on the vehicle 10 and transfer the control signal to the driving device 140.
And
[0125] As described above, according to the present disclosure, it is possible to provide an apparatus and a method for controlling a reverse driving to provide driving convenience by controlling an autonomous reverse driving when a vehicle enters a dead end or a one-way street by mistake.
wherein the data that describe a behavior of at least one other road user characterize a current driving maneuver and/or a driving intention of the at least one other road user.
Regarding the excepted: recording a trajectory along which the vehicle has been maneuvered in a forward direction of travel manually by a driver of the vehicle, Choi, as above, discloses figure 3 and [0076] an embodiment providing movement trace, that is, tracking the vehicle 10 and determining its path. The citation does not disclose if the cited movement trace is provided to track automated driving (as mentioned in [0125] above), or an unspecified but implied manual driving.
However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include into Choi the option of recording the trajectory along which the vehicle has been maneuvered in a forward direction of travel via an automated or manual means.
While Choi doesn’t specifically disclose which manner of driving is being carried out during the recording of the trajectory, there are only two known possibilities of such driving: manual driving and automated driving. Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to try recording the cited trajectory when the driving is carried out under an automated or manual mode. As described in Choi, at least two limited modes of driving are stated or implied. One of ordinary skill would have carried out either mode such that the claimed invention is realized.
MPEP 2143 (E) "Obvious to try" – choosing from a finite number of identified, predictable solutions, with a reasonable expectation of success.
Regarding the excepted: “proactively suggesting performance of an automated reversing function in response, at least in part, to detecting the dead-end situation,”
Choi, as previously discussed:
[0125] As described above, according to the present disclosure, it is possible to provide an apparatus and a method for controlling a reverse driving to provide driving convenience by controlling an autonomous reverse driving when a vehicle enters a dead end or a one-way street by mistake.
Choi did not disclose the excepted claim limitations in that passage. However Choi discloses:
[0059] For example, when the restricted driving area is identified, the movement controller 240 may generate a control signal to perform the warning operation in the vehicle 10 or put on the brake on the vehicle 10 and transfer the control signal to the driving device 140.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include into Choi the added feature of including a warning system warning the user when a restricted driving area is encountered. Choi discloses an alternative embodiment of telling the driver the driver has entered into a restricted area (or an area requiring the driver to reverse course). One of ordinary skill would have included Choi’s added a warning feature for the convenience of automatically apprising the driver he has entered into a restricted area to avoid going deeper into the area.
Regarding the excepted: wherein the data that describe a behavior of at least one other road user characterize a current driving maneuver and a driving intention of the at least one other road user, Choi discloses:
[0085] Meanwhile, when the other road is a restricted driving area 40 such as a dead end or a one-way street, the restricted driving area identifier 220 may inform the driver of the restricted driving area 40 before the vehicle 10 enters the restricted driving area 40.
Choi doesn’t disclose the excepted claim limitations.
In the similar art of v2v communications, Naserian cites:
[0026] With reference to FIG. 1, a reverse direction detection system shown generally at 100 is associated with a vehicle 10 in accordance with various embodiments. In general, the reverse direction detection system 100 receives and processes sensor data, map data, vehicle to everything communications (V2X), and/or vehicle to vehicle communications (V2V) to determine when the vehicle 10 is operating in a reverse direction along a road and warn operators of other vehicles to take appropriate action.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Choi’s vehicle reverse function using the alternative embodiment disclosed in Naserian such that upon a user’s vehicle 10 encountering another v2x equipped vehicle going the opposite direction, the vehicle 10, which is analogous to Choi’s user vehicle 10, reacts to the oncoming vehicle to avoid a collision. One of ordinary skill would have modified Choi using Naserian’s embodiment as a way to avoid an accident.
On claim 12, Choi cites:
The method according to claim 11, comprising:
receiving the data that describe the surroundings of the vehicle as environmental data from at least one environment sensor of the vehicle.
[0070] Meanwhile, the location of the vehicle detected only on the basis of the location information of the vehicle 10 acquired through reception of the GPS signal form the satellite 30 may be different from the real location of the vehicle 10. Accordingly, it is required to correct the location information on the basis of map information and the processing result of the image data acquired through detection of surroundings of the vehicle 10.
The cited “location information” derived from the cited “GPS signal from satellite 30” is the claimed “at least one environmental sensor of the vehicle.”
On claim 18, Choi cites:
The method according to claim 11, comprising: proactively suggesting performance of the automated reversing function additionally on a basis of a usage of the reversing function by the driver to date.
[0081] Referring to < time> of FIG. 3, the movement trace storage unit 210 updates and stores the movement trace 20 from location coordinates m5 of the vehicle 10 at the second time of the vehicle to location coordinates m2 of the vehicle 10, which is spaced apart from the location coordinates m5 by the reference distance d, among previous location coordinates m1 to m4.
Choi also discloses:
[0059] For example, when the restricted driving area is identified, the movement controller 240 may generate a control signal to perform the warning operation in the vehicle 10 or put on the brake on the vehicle 10 and transfer the control signal to the driving device 140.
The claimed “suggesting performance of the reversing function additionally on a basis of a usage of the reversing function by the driver to date” means driving the cited route, or “reversing function,” or going back and revisiting a previously driven path based on an updated driving of that path, which is the cited “updates” and “second time” of the vehicle traveling that path. See [0027] of the applicant’s published specification referencing this claimed function. Accordingly, Choi’s system discloses embodiments wherein the movement controller 240, upon entering the cited restricted driving area, and recalling the path of the restricted area based on the embodiment disclosed in [0081], maps out the same reverse path ascertained in that embodiment.
On claim 19, Choi cites except as underlined:
An assistance system for a vehicle, wherein the assistance system is configured to: record a trajectory along which the vehicle has been maneuvered in a forward direction of travel manually by a driver of the vehicle;
figure 3 and [0076] movement trace.
receive data that describe surroundings of the vehicle and/or a behavior of at least one other road user in the surroundings;
[0081] Referring to < time> of FIG. 3, the movement trace storage unit 210 updates and stores the movement trace 20 from location coordinates m5 of the vehicle 10 at the second time of the vehicle to location coordinates m2 of the vehicle 10, which is spaced apart from the location coordinates m5 by the reference distance d, among previous location coordinates m1 to m4.
detect a dead-end situation on a basis of the received data including on a basis of the behavior of the at least one other road user in the surroundings, the dead-end situation describing a situation in which passage of the vehicle is temporarily not possible and/or not permitted in the forward direction of travel;
[0085] Meanwhile, when the other road is a restricted driving area 40 such as a dead end or a one-way street, the restricted driving area identifier 220 may inform the driver of the restricted driving area 40 before the vehicle 10 enters the restricted driving area 40.
and proactively suggest performance of an automated reversing function in response , at least in part, to the dead-end situation ,wherein in the automated reversing function the vehicle is maneuvered along the recorded trajectory in a reverse direction of travel in an automated manner,.
[0081] Referring to < time> of FIG. 3, the movement trace storage unit 210 updates and stores the movement trace 20 from location coordinates m5 of the vehicle 10 at the second time of the vehicle to location coordinates m2 of the vehicle 10, which is spaced apart from the location coordinates m5 by the reference distance d, among previous location coordinates m1 to m4.
And
[0059] For example, when the restricted driving area is identified, the movement controller 240 may generate a control signal to perform the warning operation in the vehicle 10 or put on the brake on the vehicle 10 and transfer the control signal to the driving device 140.
And
[0125] As described above, according to the present disclosure, it is possible to provide an apparatus and a method for controlling a reverse driving to provide driving convenience by controlling an autonomous reverse driving when a vehicle enters a dead end or a one-way street by mistake.
Regarding the excepted: recording a trajectory along which the vehicle has been maneuvered in a forward direction of travel manually by a driver, Choi, as above, discloses figure 3 and [0076] an embodiment providing movement trace, that is, tracking the vehicle 10 and determining its path. The citation does not disclose if the cited movement trace is provided to track automated driving (as mentioned in [0125] above), or an unspecified but implied manual driving.
However, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include into Choi the option of recording the trajectory along which the vehicle has been maneuvered in a forward direction of travel.
While Choi doesn’t specifically disclose which manner of driving is being carried out during the recording of the trajectory, there are only two known possibilities of such driving: manual driving and automated driving. Thus, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to try recording the cited trajectory when the driving is carried out under an automated or manual mode. One of ordinary skill would have carried out either mode such that the claimed invention is realized.
MPEP 2143 (E) "Obvious to try" – choosing from a finite number of identified, predictable solutions, with a reasonable expectation of success.
Regarding the excepted: “wherein the data that described a behavior of at least one other road user characterize a current driving maneuver and a driver intention of the at least one other road user,” Choi, as previously discussed, included a feature where a driver should perform reverse driving while avoiding obstacles by identifying an interval between the vehicle and obstacles and directly determining whether the reverse driving is possible, Choi did not disclose an embodiment meeting the excepted claim limitations.
In the similar art of v2v communications, Naserian cites:
[0026] With reference to FIG. 1, a reverse direction detection system shown generally at 100 is associated with a vehicle 10 in accordance with various embodiments. In general, the reverse direction detection system 100 receives and processes sensor data, map data, vehicle to everything communications (V2X), and/or vehicle to vehicle communications (V2V) to determine when the vehicle 10 is operating in a reverse direction along a road and warn operators of other vehicles to take appropriate action.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Choi’s vehicle reverse function using the alternative embodiment disclosed in Naserian such that upon a user’s vehicle 107 encountering a vehicle 101 going the opposite direction, the vehicle 107, which is analogous to Choi’s user vehicle 10, reacts to the oncoming vehicle to avoid a collision. One of ordinary skill would have modified Choi using Naserian’s embodiment as a way to avoid an accident.
On claim 20, Choi cites:
The assistance system according to claim 19, wherein the assistance system is configured to:
receive the data that describe the surroundings of the vehicle as environmental data from at least one environment sensor of the vehicle.
[0070] Meanwhile, the location of the vehicle detected only on the basis of the location information of the vehicle 10 acquired through reception of the GPS signal form the satellite 30 may be different from the real location of the vehicle 10. Accordingly, it is required to correct the location information on the basis of map information and the processing result of the image data acquired through detection of surroundings of the vehicle 10.
The cited “location information” derived from the cited “GPS signal from satellite 30” is the claimed “at least one environmental sensor of the vehicle.”
On claim 26, Choi cites except as underlined:
The assistance system according to claim 19, wherein the assistance system is configured to:
proactively suggest performance of the reversing function additionally on a basis of a usage of the reversing function by the driver to date.
Choi discloses:
[0059] For example, when the restricted driving area is identified, the movement controller 240 may generate a control signal to perform the warning operation in the vehicle 10 or put on the brake on the vehicle 10 and transfer the control signal to the driving device 140.
And
[0081] Referring to < time> of FIG. 3, the movement trace storage unit 210 updates and stores the movement trace 20 from location coordinates m5 of the vehicle 10 at the second time of the vehicle to location coordinates m2 of the vehicle 10, which is spaced apart from the location coordinates m5 by the reference distance d, among previous location coordinates m1 to m4.
The claimed “suggesting performance of the reversing function additionally on a basis of a usage of the reversing function by the driver to date” means driving the cited route, or “reversing function,” or going back and revisiting a previously driven path based on an updated driving of that path, which is the cited “updates” and “second time” of the vehicle traveling that path. See [0027] of the applicant’s published specification referencing this claimed function. Accordingly, Choi’s system discloses embodiments wherein the movement controller 240, upon entering the cited restricted driving area, and recalling the path of the restricted area based on the embodiment disclosed in [0081], maps out the same reverse path ascertained in that embodiment.
On claim 27, Choi cites:
A vehicle comprising the assistance system according to claim 19.
Figure 1A, figure 3, system 130, and vehicle 10.
On claim 28, Choi cites except as underlined:
The assistance system according to claim 19, wherein the data that describe a behavior of the at least one other road user include information relating to a reversing function performed by the at least one other road user.
Choi discloses:
[0081] Referring to < time> of FIG. 3, the movement trace storage unit 210 updates and stores the movement trace 20 from location coordinates m5 of the vehicle 10 at the second time of the vehicle to location coordinates m2 of the vehicle 10, which is spaced apart from the location coordinates m5 by the reference distance d, among previous location coordinates m1 to m4.
And
[0125] As described above, according to the present disclosure, it is possible to provide an apparatus and a method for controlling a reverse driving to provide driving convenience by controlling an autonomous reverse driving when a vehicle enters a dead end or a one-way street by mistake.
Choi doesn’t disclose the excepted claim limitations:
In the same art of vehicular controls, Naserian cites:
[0026] With reference to FIG. 1, a reverse direction detection system shown generally at 100 is associated with a vehicle 10 in accordance with various embodiments. In general, the reverse direction detection system 100 receives and processes sensor data, map data, vehicle to everything communications (V2X), and/or vehicle to vehicle communications (V2V) to determine when the vehicle 10 is operating in a reverse direction along a road and warn operators of other vehicles to take appropriate action.
Naserian discloses an embodiment wherein v2v, or “vehicle-to-vehicle” communications is employed. Vehicle 10 includes a v2v communications system to determine the data from another vehicle.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention include into Choi the embodiments disclosed in Naserian such that the claimed invention is realized. Choi discloses a known feature to reverse a vehicle if the vehicle finds itself in a restricted driving area while Naserian discloses a means to communicate this knowledge from one vehicle to another. One of ordinary skill would have included Naserian’s embodiment into Choi’s driving system to more accurately allow both vehicles to navigate reverse driving and to prevent collision.
On claim 29, Choi cites except as underlined:
The assistance system according to claim 11, wherein the data that describe a behavior of the at least one other road user include information relating to a reversing function performed by the at least one other road user.
Choi discloses:
[0081] Referring to < time> of FIG. 3, the movement trace storage unit 210 updates and stores the movement trace 20 from location coordinates m5 of the vehicle 10 at the second time of the vehicle to location coordinates m2 of the vehicle 10, which is spaced apart from the location coordinates m5 by the reference distance d, among previous location coordinates m1 to m4.
And
[0125] As described above, according to the present disclosure, it is possible to provide an apparatus and a method for controlling a reverse driving to provide driving convenience by controlling an autonomous reverse driving when a vehicle enters a dead end or a one-way street by mistake.
Choi doesn’t disclose the excepted claim limitations:
In the same art of vehicular controls, Naserian cites:
[0026] With reference to FIG. 1, a reverse direction detection system shown generally at 100 is associated with a vehicle 10 in accordance with various embodiments. In general, the reverse direction detection system 100 receives and processes sensor data, map data, vehicle to everything communications (V2X), and/or vehicle to vehicle communications (V2V) to determine when the vehicle 10 is operating in a reverse direction along a road and warn operators of other vehicles to take appropriate action.
Naserian discloses an embodiment wherein v2v, or “vehicle-to-vehicle” communications is employed. Vehicle 10 includes a v2v communications system to determine the data from other oncoming vehiclse.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention include into Choi the embodiments disclosed in Naserian such that the claimed invention is realized. Choi discloses a known feature to reverse a vehicle if the vehicle finds itself in a restricted driving area while Naserian discloses a means to communicate this knowledge from one vehicle to another. One of ordinary skill would have included Naserian’s embodiment into Choi’s driving system to more accurately allow both vehicles to navigate reverse driving and to prevent collision.
On claim 30, Choi cites:
The method according to claim 11, wherein the proactively suggesting the performance of the automated reversing function is performed by proactively suggesting the performance of the automated reversing function via a display device of the vehicle.
Choi discloses:
[0059] For example, when the restricted driving area is identified, the movement controller 240 may generate a control signal to perform the warning operation in the vehicle 10 or put on the brake on the vehicle 10 and transfer the control signal to the driving device 140.
And
[0125] As described above, according to the present disclosure, it is possible to provide an apparatus and a method for controlling a reverse driving to provide driving convenience by controlling an autonomous reverse driving when a vehicle enters a dead end or a one-way street by mistake.
And
[0087] In order to inform the driver of the vehicle entering the restricted driving area 40, the restricted driving area identifier 220 may display the restricted driving area 40 on a display screen 50 mounted to the vehicle 10.
Claims 13 and 21 are rejected under 35 USC 103 as being obvious over Choi, U.S. 2020/0108832 in view of Naserian et al., U.S. 2022/0169243 and Igarashi et al., U.S. 2017/0197620.
On claim 13, Choi cites except as underlined: The method according to claim 11, wherein the received data that describe the surroundings of the vehicle are high-resolution map data.
Choi, as previously disclosed, cites:
[0070] Meanwhile, the location of the vehicle detected only on the basis of the location information of the vehicle 10 acquired through reception of the GPS signal form the satellite 30 may be different from the real location of the vehicle 10. Accordingly, it is required to correct the location information on the basis of map information and the processing result of the image data acquired through detection of surroundings of the vehicle 10.
Choi does not disclose high-resolution map data.
In the same art of autonomous vehicle controlling, Igarashi, [0030] discloses using a map information processing device including a map base. Two sets of data are used as inputs to the device: GPS satellite information and a map database including a high-resolution map.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to supplant the map embodiments disclosed in Igarashi in place of the GPS mapping function disclosed in Choi such that the claimed invention is realized. GPS mapping and high-resolution maps are known in the art of vehicle navigation. One of ordinary skill would have substituted one known feature for the other and based on these well-known techniques, the claimed invention would be realized.
On claim 21, Choi cites except as underlined:
The assistance system according to claim 19, wherein the received data that describe the surroundings of the vehicle are high-resolution map data.
Choi, as previously disclosed, cites:
[0070] Meanwhile, the location of the vehicle detected only on the basis of the location information of the vehicle 10 acquired through reception of the GPS signal form the satellite 30 may be different from the real location of the vehicle 10. Accordingly, it is required to correct the location information on the basis of map information and the processing result of the image data acquired through detection of surroundings of the vehicle 10.
Choi does not disclose high-resolution map data.
In the same art of autonomous vehicle controlling, Igarashi, [0030] discloses using a map information processing device including a map base. Two sets of data are used as inputs to the device: GPS satellite information and a map database including a high-resolution map.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute or supplant the map embodiments disclosed in Igarashi in place of the GPS mapping function disclosed in Choi such that the claimed invention is realized. GPS mapping and high-resolution maps are known in the art of vehicle navigation. One of ordinary skill would have substituted one known feature for the other and based on these well-known techniques, the claimed invention would be realized.
Claim 15 and 23 are rejected under 35 USC 103 as being obvious over Choi, U.S. 2020/0108832 in view of Naserian et al., U.S. 2022/0169243 and Bank et al., U.S. 2014/0005923
On claim 15, Choi cites except as underlined (the newly amended limitations are italicized):
The method according to claim 11, wherein the data that describe a behavior of the at least one other road user include information relating to a driving maneuver performed previously by the at least one other road user.
Choi discloses:
[0081] Referring to < time> of FIG. 3, the movement trace storage unit 210 updates and stores the movement trace 20 from location coordinates m5 of the vehicle 10 at the second time of the vehicle to location coordinates m2 of the vehicle 10, which is spaced apart from the location coordinates m5 by the reference distance d, among previous location coordinates m1 to m4.
Choi doesn’t disclose: wherein the data that describe a behavior of the at least one other road user include information relating to a driving maneuver previously performed by the at least one other road user.
In the similar art of vehicle lane guidance, Bank discloses:
[0026] In another example, the past driving history of other drivers may indicate that drivers drive in a particular lane to avoid a road hazard (e.g., big bump). Such information may be used by navigation system 101 to recommend to the driver of vehicle 100 a particular lane to drive on.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Choi’s embodiment using the hazard avoiding feature of Banks to produce an embodiment where a driver is forewarned of an obstacle based on the monitored prior experiences of other drivers. One of ordinary skill would have included such a feature to allow a driver to anticipate hazards experienced by other drivers.
On claim 23, Choi and Banks cites (the amended limitations are italicized):
The assistance system according to claim 19, wherein the data that describe a behavior of the at least one other road user include information relating to a driving maneuver previously performed user by the at least one other road user.
Choi discloses:
[0081] Referring to < time> of FIG. 3, the movement trace storage unit 210 updates and stores the movement trace 20 from location coordinates m5 of the vehicle 10 at the second time of the vehicle to location coordinates m2 of the vehicle 10, which is spaced apart from the location coordinates m5 by the reference distance d, among previous location coordinates m1 to m4.
In the similar art of vehicle lane guidance, Bank discloses:
[0026] In another example, the past driving history of other drivers may indicate that drivers drive in a particular lane to avoid a road hazard (e.g., big bump). Such information may be used by navigation system 101 to recommend to the driver of vehicle 100 a particular lane to drive on.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Choi’s embodiment using the hazard avoiding feature of Banks to produce an embodiment where a driver is forewarned of an obstacle based on the monitored prior experiences of other drivers. One of ordinary skill would have included such a feature to allow a driver to anticipate hazards experienced by other drivers.
Claims 16, 17, 24, and 25 are rejected under 35 USC 103 as being obvious over Choi, U.S. 2020/0108832 in view of Naserian et al., U.S. 2022/0169243 and Maass, U.S. 2005/0182539.
On claim 16, Choi cites except as underlined:
The method according to claim 11, comprising:
characterizing a current behavior of the driver and proactively suggesting performance of the automated reversing function additionally on a basis of the characterized behavior.
As previously disclosed in Choi:
[0030] The rear drive control device 130 is a device for controlling, when it is identified that the vehicle 10 enters a dead end or a no passing road by mistake during forward driving, movement of the vehicle 10 to allow the vehicle 10 to perform the autonomous reverse driving.
And
[0125] As described above, according to the present disclosure, it is possible to provide an apparatus and a method for controlling a reverse driving to provide driving convenience by controlling an autonomous reverse driving when a vehicle enters a dead end or a one-way street by mistake.
Choi also discloses:
[0059] For example, when the restricted driving area is identified, the movement controller 240 may generate a control signal to perform the warning operation in the vehicle 10 or put on the brake on the vehicle 10 and transfer the control signal to the driving device 140.
Choi doesn’t disclose “characterizing a current behavior of the driver and proactively suggesting performance of the automated reversing function additionally on a basis of the characterized behavior,”
In the similar art of driver performance monitoring, Maase cites:
[0007] In the calculation of the future path of the vehicle, which is drawn upon to warn the driver when he leaves the lane, the state of attention of the driver may be taken into account in such a manner that the behavior of the driver in the past is ascertained, and, in response to behavior which leads one to conclude that the driver is inattentive, the possible future path of the vehicle may be calculated using a smaller change in the curvature than for a driver that is presumed to be attentive.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include into Choi the added feature of including a warning system disclosed in Maase such that Choi’s warning to the driver to engage autonomous reverse driving is enabled using Maase’s cited feature. Such a modified feature would give the driver an early warning of what to do in case such a vehicle reversal event is required.
On claim 17, Choi cites except as underlined:
The method according to claim 11, comprising:
determining an individual driving ability of the driver on a basis of driving maneuvers manually performed by the driver to date,
and
proactively suggesting performance of the reversing function additionally on a basis of the individual driving ability.
Choi discloses:
[0059] For example, when the restricted driving area is identified, the movement controller 240 may generate a control signal to perform the warning operation in the vehicle 10 or put on the brake on the vehicle 10 and transfer the control signal to the driving device 140.
Choi doesn’t disclose the excepted claim limitation.
In the same art of driver performance monitoring, Maase states:
[0007] In the calculation of the future path of the vehicle, which is drawn upon to warn the driver when he leaves the lane, the state of attention of the driver may be taken into account in such a manner that the behavior of the driver in the past is ascertained, and, in response to behavior which leads one to conclude that the driver is inattentive, the possible future path of the vehicle may be calculated using a smaller change in the curvature than for a driver that is presumed to be attentive.
In this case, Maase is disclosing that its system includes having knowledge of the driver’s past behavior, and based on that behavior, a future path of the vehicle responsive to the driver’s past behavior, is calculated or determined.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include into Choi the added feature of including a warning system disclosed in Maase such that Choi’s warning to the driver to engage autonomous reverse driving is enabled using Maase’s cited feature. Such a modified feature would give the driver an early warning of what to do in case such a vehicle reversal event is required.
On claim 24, Choi cites except:
The assistance system according to claim 19, wherein the assistance system is configured to:
characterize a current behavior of the driver and proactively suggest performance of the automated reversing function additionally on a basis of the characterized behavior.
As previously disclosed in Choi:
[0081] Referring to < time> of FIG. 3, the movement trace storage unit 210 updates and stores the movement trace 20 from location coordinates m5 of the vehicle 10 at the second time of the vehicle to location coordinates m2 of the vehicle 10, which is spaced apart from the location coordinates m5 by the reference distance d, among previous location coordinates m1 to m4.
In other words, Choi is tracking the path of a user’s vehicle and recording that path as indicated in figure 3.
Choi also discloses:
[0059] For example, when the restricted driving area is identified, the movement controller 240 may generate a control signal to perform the warning operation in the vehicle 10 or put on the brake on the vehicle 10 and transfer the control signal to the driving device 140.
Choi doesn’t disclose the excepted claim limitations.
In the similar art of lane keeping, Maass discloses:
[0007] In the calculation of the future path of the vehicle, which is drawn upon to warn the driver when he leaves the lane, the state of attention of the driver may be taken into account in such a manner that the behavior of the driver in the past is ascertained, and, in response to behavior which leads one to conclude that the driver is inattentive, the possible future path of the vehicle may be calculated using a smaller change in the curvature than for a driver that is presumed to be attentive.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include into Choi the embodiment disclosed in Maass such that the claimed invention is realized.
Maass discloses an embodiment where driver performance is measured and depending on the results of the measurement, Maass’ system suggests a change in the warning the driver responsive to a detected shortfall of the driver’s driving performance.
One of ordinary skill would have included Maass’ embodiment into Choi as an added safety feature for the driver.
On claim 25, Choi cites except as underlined:
The assistance system according to claim 19, wherein the assistance system is configured to:
determine an individual driving ability of the driver on a basis of driving maneuvers manually performed by the driver to date, and
Choi, [0081] Referring to < time> of FIG. 3, the movement trace storage unit 210 updates and stores the movement trace 20 from location coordinates m5 of the vehicle 10 at the second time of the vehicle to location coordinates m2 of the vehicle 10, which is spaced apart from the location coordinates m5 by the reference distance d, among previous location coordinates m1 to m4.
and
proactively suggest performance of the reversing function additionally on a basis of the individual driving ability.
Choi discloses:
[0059] For example, when the restricted driving area is identified, the movement controller 240 may generate a control signal to perform the warning operation in the vehicle 10 or put on the brake on the vehicle 10 and transfer the control signal to the driving device 140.
Choi doesn’t disclose the excepted claim limitations.
In the same art of driver performance monitoring, Maase cites:
[0007] In the calculation of the future path of the vehicle, which is drawn upon to warn the driver when he leaves the lane, the state of attention of the driver may be taken into account in such a manner that the behavior of the driver in the past is ascertained, and, in response to behavior which leads one to conclude that the driver is inattentive, the possible future path of the vehicle may be calculated using a smaller change in the curvature than for a driver that is presumed to be attentive.
The claimed “suggesting performance of the reversing function additionally on a basis of the individual driving ability” includes the driver’s impaired ability based on the cited inattentiveness of the driver.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include into Choi the embodiment disclosed in Maass such that the claimed invention is realized.
Maass discloses an embodiment where driver performance is measured and depending on the results of the measurement, Maass’ system suggests a change in the warning the driver responsive to a detected shortfall of the driver’s driving performance.
One of ordinary skill would have included Maass’ embodiment into Choi as an added safety feature for the driver.
Response to Amendments
The applicant’s arguments regarding the rejection of claim 1 regarding rejections including Beaurepaire, U.S. 2023/0182775 (as “755” in the prior Office Action) was carefully reviewed and persuasive. Accordingly, a new grounds of rejection is presented.
Conclusion
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to CAL EUSTAQUIO whose telephone number is (571)270-7229. The examiner can normally be reached on 8am-5pm. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner's supervisor, Brian Zimmerman, can be reached at (571) 272-3059. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of an application may be obtained from the Patent Application lnformation Retrieval (PAIR) system. Status information for published applications may be obtained from either Private PAIR or Public PAIR. Status information for unpublished applications is available through Private PAlR only. For more information about the PAlR system, see http:/lpair-direct.uspto.gov. Should you have questions on access to the Private PAlR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative or access to the automated information system, call 800-786-91 99 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/CAL J EUSTAQUIO/Examiner, Art Unit 2686
/BRIAN A ZIMMERMAN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2686