DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
2. Claims 11-12 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 11, which depends on claim 10, recites: “the protective layer set” which lacks an antecedent basis. For examination purposes, “the protective layer set” is interpreted to be “the first protective layer set” (because “a first protective layer set” is mentioned in claim 10).
Claim 12 recites: “the magnetic conductive sheet” which lacks an antecedent basis. For examination purposes, dependency of claim 12 (“claim 1”) is interpreted to be “claim 4” which provides said antecedent basis.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
3. Claims 1-2, 5, 8, 15, 17 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Nakai et al. U.S. Patent Application Publication 2014/0327356 A1 (the ‘356 reference).
Referring to claim 1, the ‘356 reference discloses in Figs. 1-11 a light-emitting panel (11, 12, para [39, 148] (paragraph(s) [0039], [0148)), comprising:
a base substrate (2) having a first surface and a second surface disposed oppositely;
a conductive coil (antenna 4, para [41], best seen as a coil in Fig. 6) disposed on the first surface of the base substrate, the conductive coil having a first end (41, para [41]) and a second end (42);
a first electrode (51, para [40]) connected to the first end (41) (para [41, 66]);
a light-emitting layer (53, para [40]) disposed on a side of the first electrode (51) away from the base substrate; and
a second electrode (52, para [40]) disposed on a side of the light-emitting layer (53) away from the base substrate, and the second electrode (52) being connected to the second end (42) (para [41]).
Referring to claim 2, the reference further discloses that the first electrode (51, formed of copper, para [68]) is disposed in a same layer with a same material as the conductive coil (4, formed of copper, para [56]), meeting the claim limitation “the first electrode is disposed on a side of the conductive coil away from the base substrate, or the first electrode is disposed in a same layer with a same material as the conductive coil.”
Referring to claim 5, the reference further discloses that the light-emitting panel further comprises:
a barrier structure (vertical portion of sealing plate 3, Figs. 8-9, para [148]), disposed around a periphery of the conductive coil (4), and a vertical distance between a surface of the barrier structure (3) away from the base substrate (2) and the base substrate is greater than [or equal] to a vertical distance between a surface of the second electrode (52) away from the base substrate (2) and the base substrate.
Referring to claim 8, for the light-emitting panel detailed above for claim 5, the reference further discloses a packaging structure (horizontal portion of sealing plate 3, Figs. 8-9, para [148]), packaged on a side of the second electrode (52) away from the base substrate (2).
Referring to claim 15 and using the same reference characters, interpretations, and citations as detailed above for claim 1 where applicable, the reference discloses a light-emitting device, comprising a light-emitting panel (11, 12), wherein the light-emitting panel comprises:
a base substrate (2) having a first surface and a second surface disposed oppositely;
a conductive coil (4) disposed on the first surface of the base substrate, the conductive coil having a first end (41) and a second end (42);
a first electrode (51) connected to the first end (41);
a light-emitting layer (53) disposed on a side of the first electrode (51) away from the base substrate; and
a second electrode (52) disposed on a side of the light-emitting layer away from the base substrate, and the second electrode (52) being connected to the second end (42).
Referring to claim 17, the reference further discloses that the first electrode (51, formed of copper, para [68]) is disposed in a same layer with a same material as the conductive coil (4, formed of copper, para [56]), meeting the claim limitation “the first electrode is disposed on a side of the conductive coil away from the base substrate, or the first electrode is disposed in a same layer with a same material as the conductive coil.”
Referring to claim 20, the reference further discloses that the light-emitting panel further comprises:
a barrier structure (vertical portion of sealing plate 3, Figs. 8-9, para [148]), disposed around a periphery of the conductive coil (4), and a vertical distance between a surface of the barrier structure (3) away from the base substrate (2) and the base substrate is greater than [or equal] to a vertical distance between a surface of the second electrode (52) away from the base substrate (2) and the base substrate.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
4. Claims 4, 9, 12 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. §103 as being unpatentable over Nakai et al. U.S. Patent Application Publication 2014/0327356 A1 (the ‘356 reference).
Referring to claims 4 and 9, the ‘356 reference further discloses a magnetic conductive sheet (92, Fig. 10, para [168]). Although the reference does not disclose that the magnetic conductive sheet is disposed on the second surface of the base substrate, the relative placement of the magnetic conductive sheet (the reference discloses that the magnetic conductive sheet 92 is disposed on the first surface of the base substrate 2, see Fig. 10) is a matter of design choice, within the skill of one in the art, and therefore would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. Thus, such a change of placement of the magnetic conductive sheet would have resulted in a light-emitting panel having a magnetic conductive sheet disposed on the second surface of the base substrate.
Furthermore, referring to claim 12, the ‘356 reference further discloses a second protective layer set (insulating layer 91, para [167]), disposed between the second surface and the magnetic conductive sheet (92) (para [168]).
Referring to claim 14, a number of turns of the conductive coil is about 3 or 4 (see Fig. 6), meeting the claim limitation “greater than or equal to 3 turns”. Although the reference does not specifically disclose dimensions as claimed, the claimed dimensions (wherein a thickness of the conductive coil is less than or equal to 5 microns) will not support the patentability of subject matter encompassed by the prior art (the ‘356 reference discloses that a thickness of the electric power receiving antenna conductive coil 4 is not particularly limited, para [60]) unless there is evidence indicating such dimensions are critical. “[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation"; MPEP 2144.05.
5. Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. §103 as being unpatentable over Nakai et al. U.S. Patent Application Publication 2014/0327356 A1 (the ‘356 reference) in view of Sato et al. U.S. Patent Application Publication 2016/0190509 or Takahashi et al. U.S. Patent Application Publication 2022/0006051.
Referring to claim 9, the ‘356 reference discloses the packaging structure (horizontal portion of sealing plate 3, Figs. 8-9, para [148]) as detailed above for claim 8, but does not disclose that the packaging structure comprises a first inorganic layer, disposed on the side of the second electrode away from the base substrate, an organic layer, disposed on a side of the first inorganic layer away from the base substrate, and a second inorganic layer, disposed on a side of the organic layer away from the base substrate and at a periphery of the barrier structure. Instead, as detailed above, the reference discloses that the packaging structure comprises a single layer (horizontal portion of sealing plate 3) at a periphery of the barrier structure (vertical portion of sealing plate 3).
Sato, in disclosing a light-emitting panel comprising a packaging sealing structure (125, Fig. 3), discloses that the packaging sealing structure 125 comprises a multi-layer or s single layer packaging sealing material (para [35]), thereby teaching that a multi-layer or s single layer packaging sealing material are art-recognized equivalents; or, Takahashi, in disclosing a light-emitting panel comprising a packaging sealing structure (6, Fig. 1), discloses that the packaging sealing structure 6 comprises a multi-layer or s single layer packaging sealing material (para [29-31]), thereby teaching that a multi-layer or s single layer packaging sealing material are art-recognized equivalents.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have formed the reference’s packaging structure utilizing a multi-layer packaging sealing material. One would have been motivated to make such a modification in view of the teachings in Sato that a multi-layer or s single layer packaging sealing material are art-recognized equivalents.
Thus, such a modification would have resulted in a light-emitting panel,
referring to claim 9, wherein the packaging structure would have comprised: a first inorganic layer (231, Sato; 27, Takahashi), disposed on the side of the second electrode (52) away from the base substrate (2); an organic layer (232, Sato; 28, Takahashi), disposed on a side of the first inorganic layer away from the base substrate; and a second inorganic layer (233, Sato, para [35]; 29, Takahashi, para [29]), disposed on a side of the organic layer away from the base substrate and at a periphery of the barrier structure (vertical portion of sealing plate 3).
6. Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. §103 as being unpatentable over Nakai et al. U.S. Patent Application Publication 2014/0327356 A1 (the ‘356 reference) in view of Shin et al. U.S. Patent Application Publication 20220320474.
Referring to claim 16, the ‘356 reference discloses a light-emitting device comprising the light-emitting panel (11, 12) as detailed above for claim 15, but does not disclose that the light-emitting device further comprises a card case, the card case comprises a first card plate and a second card plate disposed oppositely, edges of the first card plate and the second card plate are connected, a through hole is provided on the first card plate, and the light-emitting panel is disposed in the through hole.
Shin, in disclosing a light-emitting device (300) comprising a light-emitting panel (320, Figs. 3A, 3B, para [96]), teaches that the light-emitting device further comprises a card case, the card case comprises a first card plate (311) and a second card plate (312) disposed oppositely, edges of the first card plate (311) and the second card plate (312) are connected, a through hole (recess) is provided on the first card plate (311), and the light-emitting panel (320) is disposed in the through hole (para [96]) for the implied purpose of protecting the light-emitting panel.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have formed the ‘356 reference’ light-emitting device comprising the light-emitting panel (11, 12 comprising a card case, the card case comprises a first card plate (311) and a second card plate (312) disposed oppositely, edges of the first card plate (311) and the second card plate (312) are connected, a through hole (recess) is provided on the first card plate (311), and the light-emitting panel (11, 12) would have been disposed in the through hole. One would have been motivated to make such a modification in view of the teachings in Shin for the implied purpose of protecting the light-emitting panel (11, 12).
Allowable Subject Matter
7. Claims 3, 6-7, 10-11, 13, and 18, insofar as in compliance with the claim objections detailed above, are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: The cited art, whether taken singularly or in combination, especially when all limitations are considered within the claimed specific combination, fails to teach or render obvious a light-emitting panel and a light-emitting device with all exclusive limitations as recited in claims 3, 6, 10, 13, and 18, which may be characterized in that (claims 3 and 18) a connecting electrode is disposed in a same layer with a same material as the first electrode and insulated from the first electrode, and in that the second electrode is connected to the second end through the connecting electrode, (claim 6) in that a first planarization layer is disposed between the conductive coil and the first electrode, and a second planarization layer is disposed on sides of the first planarization layer and the first electrode away from the base substrate, a third via hole is disposed on the second planarization layer, the third via hole is penetrated to the first electrode, and in that the light-emitting layer and the second electrode are disposed in the third via hole, (claim 10) a first protective layer set is disposed on a side of the packaging structure away from the base substrate, and (claim 13) in that the second protective layer set comprises a second adhesive layer, disposed on the second surface of the base substrate, and a second protective layer, disposed on a side of the second adhesive layer away from the base substrate.
Conclusion
01-31-2026
/TU-TU V HO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2818