DETAILED ACTION
This Office action is in response to the communication filed on August 6, 2026. Claims 1-4, 6-9, 11-16, 18-19, and 21 remain pending and claims 22 and 23 have been added in this application. The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA .
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to amended claims 1, 13 and 16 in the Remarks section (pages 7-10) have been fully considered but are moot because the arguments do not apply to the current combination of references being used in the current rejection.
Applicant argues that Kim does not teach an anisotropic conductive film arranged on open contacts of an electrode structure that extends from a three-dimensional touch surface onto the contacting surface.
However, Chan teaches a contacting surface with open contacts (operable contacts) in Fig. 6A on top surface and paragraph [0034], in which during a second operation and as shown in FIGS. 6A and 6B, the user can tap the surface 190 to adjust a second setting (shown in FIG. 6A), e.g., to change a mode of operation due to the front display and touch panel 185 as in [0028]). Extending the electrode structure to a base increases resolution because there are more contacts between the FPC and the electrode structure as there more electrodes present. The equivalent is true for Helot as in Fig. 1, the electrode pixel matrix of the touch screen continues to a ring and reference plane around the knob and there are more electrodes. See Helot paragraph [0010]. Each electrode requires a connection to an FPC, particularly the flexible printed circuit (FPC) 115 has a cylindrical ring shape corresponding to flexible touch panel sensor 125 and its electrodes. The flexible touch panel sensor used capacitive touch technology. See Chen Fig. 4 and paragraph [0025]. Capacitive technology as taught by Kim required pad electrodes 600 are bonded by an anisotropic conductive film (ACF) to a flexible printed circuit board (FPCB). The pad electrodes were connected to the main electrodes of a touch structure. Therefore, meeting claim limitations of a layered stack of electrode structure, ACF, and a flexible printed circuit, wherein the accessible, open contacts of the front display and touch screen area are arranged. A recitation of the intended use of the claimed invention must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim.
Applicant's arguments have been fully considered with respect to 2-4, 6-9, 11-12, 14-15, 18-19 and 21-23 in the Remarks section (page 9) but they are not persuasive as the claims depend -upon the features recited in the amended independent claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, 6-9, 12-15, and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Publication 2016/0364059 A1 by Chan in view of U.S. Patent Publication 2023/0004225 A1 by Orita, and further in view of U.S. Patent Publication 2020/0079218 A1 by Helot and U.S. Patent Publication 2012/0032914 A1 by Kim.
Regarding claim 1, Chan teaches a user control for an electrical system, comprising: a three-dimensional touch surface to be touched by a user to provide a user input (Fig. 4; [0015], Embodiments provide a three-dimensional and 360-degree cylindrical touch control with user interface information. Basic construction for the control enables user interaction in three-dimensions and 360 degrees, and includes a capacitive sensitive touch panel); and
a structure arranged at least partly on the three-dimensional touch surface (Fig. 4, flexible printed circuit 115 including flexible touch sensor panel corresponding to a surface 212 on a cylindrical touch sleeve 210 as in [0025] and [0030]), wherein the electrode structure is configured to provide a haptic feedback to the user (Fig. 4, haptic vibrator 195; [0015], The control has virtual rotating, swiping, and tapping. The control can provide a user interface for visual, audio, and haptic feedback through the use of a visual source, an audible source, and a vibration source),
wherein the user control further comprises a contacting surface electrically contacting for the electrode structure (Fig. 4, surface 212 on a cylindrical touch sleeve 210 corresponds to the flexible printed circuit 115 including flexible touch sensor panel), which is arranged at least partly adjacent the three-dimensional touch surface in an angle greater than 45○, and wherein the electrode structure extends onto the contacting surface (Greater than 45 degrees perpendicular to the cylindrical touch sleeve 210 was a flexible printed circuit 115 including the flexible touch sensor panel 125, wherein the flexible printed circuit 115 extended the components of a flexible touch sensor panel to a touch sleeve),
wherein the structure extends onto the contracting surface and has open contacts on the contacting surface (Fig. 6A, contacts on top surface, [0034], During a second operation and as shown in FIGS. 6A and 6B, the user can tap the surface 190 to adjust a second setting (shown in FIG. 6A), e.g., to change a mode of operation due to the front display and touch panel 185 as in [0028]).
However, Chan does not specifically teach the structure was an electrode structure, but Chan teaches the flexible touch sensor panel uses capacitive detection in [0025] and [0015]. However, in the analogous art of capacitive touch detection for tactile elements, Orita teaches a touch detection circuit 210 includes, for example, a detection integrated circuit (IC) for detecting a change in electrostatic capacitance due to touching and a microcomputer. The touch detection occurred on a substrate that had an excitation electrode and a detection electrode upon it, comprising an electrode structure (Orita [0096]). It would have been obvious before the effective date of the invention to have used electrostatic detection between an excitation and detection electrode as a known method to detect touch. One having ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to have detected coordinates of a touch position of an indicator are identified as capacitance (hereinafter, sometimes referred to as “touch capacitance”) formed between the indicator and a conductor element which is a detection wiring by a detection circuit. Further, the touch position between conductor elements can be interpolated by a relative value of detected capacitance of one or more conductor/electrode elements (Orita [0006], [0005]).
Chan in view of Orita does not teach a contacting surface for the electrode structure extending outward from the user control.
In the analogous art of knobs used in combination with display devices, Helot teaches when an operating knob for an operating apparatus extends away from a reference plane that delimits the operating knob on a rear side. The operating knob is in the form of a three-dimensionally protruding body in relation to the reference plane up to a knob height. The operating knob that had a pixel matrix that extended over the side wall, perpendicular to the contacting surface of the 3d display interfacing knob (Helot Abstract and [0005]). An inclination of the side wall 23 relative to a surface normal N of the panel 16 has an angle W, for example, from 0° to 45°.The touchscreen 16 can likewise have a curved surface outside the region of the operating knob 18. The reference plane 19 in that case represents an imaginary tangential plane of the panel in the region of the operating knob 18 beyond the 0° to 45°. (Helot [0041] and [0046]).
The operating knob can have a touch-sensitive and/or proximity-sensitive surface on the side wall for capturing a rotary movement (rotary knob) and/or sliding movement (slide control) and/or push movement (key) of at least one finger operating the operating knob. It should be noted that the rotary movement relates for example to the at least one finger, while the operating knob itself can remain unmoved. The sensitive surface can be formed in a manner known per se by way of a sensor field, that is to say a touchpad sensor matrix. For example, capacitive proximity sensors for providing the sensitive surface can be provided, as is known in a touchscreen. The described frontal display face can also have a touch-sensitive design. Therefore, the touchscreen elements in the reference plane were extended to the protruding knob with 3-dimensional surface, extending user control (Helot [0014]). It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the invention for the three dimensional user interface knob of Chan in view of Orita to been physically implemented from a reference plane that was a touchscreen extending the touch sensitivity. One having ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to have an operating knob integrated with a screen, the operating knob is placed on or integrated in a screen. The operating knob is consequently surrounded by the pixel matrix of the screen. This offers the resulting advantage that a contiguous, consistent pixel graphic can be presented that extends from the side wall to the screen. For example, orientation lines or orientation symbols extending from the side wall to the presentation region of the screen can be presented (Helot [0009]).
Chan teaches a flexible printed circuit (FPC) 115 has a cylindrical shape and is disposed in the main base 110. Additionally, Chan teaches: “The flexible printed circuit 135 for the front display and touch panel 140 is fastened to the front cap base 170 with an adhesive, for example. The front display and touch panel 140 includes a touch panel sensor 185 which may be flexible and made of a similar design as the flexible touch panel sensor 125 and is parallel to a surface 190 of the glass lens 175” and “. A first touch controller 245 is coupled to the touch panel sensor 185 in paragraphs [0028],” Chan did not teach the electrode structure, the anisotropic conductive film layer and flexible printed circuit forming a layered stack on the contacting surface, wherein the anisotropic conductive film being arranged on the open contacts.
Chan in view of Orita and Helot does not teach the user control, wherein the electrode structure is electrically contacted by arranging an anisotropic film layer on the structure onto the contacting surface, and by arranging a flexible printed circuit on the anisotropic film 1ayer.
However, in the analogous art of input devices, Kim teaches pad electrodes 600 are bonded by an anisotropic conductive film (ACF) to a flexible printed circuit board (FPCB). The flexible printed circuit board connects the touch panel according to the embodiment to a driver such as a system or a driver IC. The pad electrodes were connected to the main electrodes of a touch structure (Kim [0033] and [0058]-[0060]). It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the invention to have connected the respective flexible printed circuit boards to the touch structure and front touch panel of Chan in view of Orita and Helot using an anisotropic conductive film as an adhesive. One having ordinary skill in the art would have used a known material for connecting a capacitive touch structure to a flexible printed circuit board so it have been connected to a driver such as a system or a driver IC (Kim [0033] and [0058]-[0060]).
Regarding claim 2, Chan of the combination of references further teaches the user control according to claim 1, wherein the haptic feedback is affected by touch forces between the user and the electrode structure ([0033], During one operation, a user virtually rotates the cylindrical touch sleeve 210, which is fixed, to adjust a first setting, e.g., change volume. In some implementations, the virtual rotation needs to be accomplished by multiple contacts with the touch sensor sleeve, e.g., two or more fingers, to result in input to the circuit. This limits accidental activation due to user movement. A first indicator can provide the user feedback. The indicator can be visual, audible, or haptic).
While Chan teaches the flexible touch sensor panel uses capacitive detection in [0025] and [0015], Chan does not teach capacitive detection uses electro-static forces. However, Chan does not specifically teach the structure was an electrode structure, but Chan teaches the flexible touch sensor panel uses capacitive detection in [0025] and [0015]. However, in the analogous art of capacitive touch detection for tactile elements, Orita teaches a touch detection circuit 210 includes, for example, a detection integrated circuit (IC) for detecting a change in electrostatic capacitance due to touching and a microcomputer. The touch detection occurred on a substrate that had an excitation electrode and a detection electrode upon it, comprising an electrode structure (Orita [0096]). It would have been obvious before the effective date of the invention to have used electrostatic detection between an excitation and detection electrode as a known method to detect touch. One having ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to have detected coordinates of a touch position of an indicator are identified as capacitance (hereinafter, sometimes referred to as “touch capacitance”) formed between the indicator and a conductor element which is a detection wiring by a detection circuit. Further, the touch position between conductor elements can be interpolated by a relative value of detected capacitance of one or more conductor/electrode elements (Orita [0006], [0005]).
Regarding claim 3, Chan of the combination of references further teaches the user control according claim 1, wherein an additional sensor structure is arranged at the user control to detect the user input (Fig. 5, front touch panel 140), and wherein the haptic feedback is based at least partly on the detected user input ([0026], The flexible printed circuit 115 includes a first electrical connection to interface connector 130, an electrical connection to a flexible printed circuit 135 for a front display and touch panel 140 where haptic feedback is according to user interaction such as touching and tapping the control as in [0015]).
Regarding claim 4, Chan of the combination of references further teaches the user control according to claim 3, wherein the additional sensor structure is arranged at least partly on the three-dimensional touch surface (Fig. 4, front touch panel 140; [0026], The flexible printed circuit 115 of the touch panel includes a first electrical connection to interface connector 130, an electrical connection to a flexible printed circuit 135 for a front display and touch panel 140 located at the front of the stationary interface control).
Regarding claim 6, Chan of the combination of references further teaches the user control according to claim 1, wherein the contacting surface extends along at least 75% of an outer edge of the three-dimensional touch surface (Fig. 4, surface 212 on a cylindrical touch sleeve 210 corresponded to at least 75% the outer edge to the flexible printed circuit 115 including flexible touch sensor panel),
Regarding claim 7, Chan of the combination of references further teaches the user control according to claim 1, wherein the contacting surface substantially lies in a plane (Fig. 4, front touch panel 140 in front plane was included in the contacting surface of the stationary interface knob; [0025]-[0026], The flexible printed circuit 115 includes a first electrical connection to interface connector 130, an electrical connection to a flexible printed circuit 135 for a front display and touch panel 140 where flexible printed circuit 115 was part of flexible touch sensor panel making a cylindrical touch sleeve).
Regarding claim 8, Chan of the combination of references further teaches the user control according to claim 1, wherein the user control is a contextural knob with a side surface, wherein a top surface of the contextural knob comprises a display ([0026], The flexible printed circuit 115 includes a first electrical connection to interface connector 130, an electrical connection to a flexible printed circuit 135 for a front display and touch panel 140, and an electrical connection to a flexible printed circuit 145 that supported a liquid crystal display element for the front display. The knob had change in mode of operation based on the context of situation and was contextural. For instance, he stationary interface control knob 100 can enter the volume control mode when the user taps the surface 190 one time within a time period and enter the channel control mode when the user taps the surface 190 two times within the time period as in [0037]).
Chan in view of Orita does not teach a side surface higher than 1 mm. In the analogous art of knobs used in combination with display devices, Helot teaches when an operating knob for an operating apparatus extends away from a reference plane that delimits the operating knob on a rear side. The operating knob is in the form of a three-dimensionally protruding body in relation to the reference plane up to a knob height. The knob height to this end is for example greater than 2 mm, for example greater than 0.5 cm or greater than 1 cm. (Helot Abstract and [0005]). Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the invention for the three dimensional user interface knob of Chan in view of Orita to been physically implemented by protruding with a height greater than 2 mm as taught by Helot. One having ordinary skill in the art would have motivated to have knob height to this end is for example greater than 2 mm, for example greater than 0.5 cm or greater than 1 cm, to ensure a structure that is able at least to be felt with fingertips, for example a grippable or claspable knob or button (Helot Abstract and [0005]).
Regarding claim 9, Chan of the combination of references further teaches the user control according to claim 8, wherein the three-dimensional touch surface surface is a cylindrical surface (Fig. 4, touch panel sensor 125; [0025], Moreover, while one flexible touch panel sensor 125 is shown in FIG. 4 substantially forming a cylinder), and the contacting surface is a closed ring-shaped plane surface around the three-dimensional touch surface and is substantially perpendicular to the three-dimensional touch surface ([0027], A front cap 155 can be made of a translucent plastic resin with a predefined color. The front ringed cap 155 includes an edge 160 that resides next a shelf 165 of front cap base 170. The front cap 155 can be molded to give an effect, such as to indicate when the user decides to switch and gave the effect through the visual source of liquid crystal display elements of the front touch panel and display as in [0026]).
Regarding claim 12, Chan of the combination of references further teaches the user control according to claim 1,wherein the three-dimensional touch surface is non-moveable in relation to the user and cannot be actuated by the user (Fig. 4, touch sensor 124; [0021], stationary interface control includes providing a knob-like structure having a fixed surface with touch sensor 124 located within it).
Regarding claim 13, Chan teaches a method for contacting a user control with a haptic feedback ([0015]), comprising: a three-dimensional touch surface to be touched by a user to provide a user input (Fig. 4; [0015], Embodiments provide a three-dimensional and 360-degree cylindrical touch control with user interface information. Basic construction for the control enables user interaction in three-dimensions and 360 degrees, and includes a capacitive sensitive touch panel); and
a structure arranged at least partly on the three-dimensional touch surface (Fig. 4, flexible printed circuit 115 including flexible touch sensor panel corresponding to a surface 212 on a cylindrical touch sleeve 210 as in [0025] and [0030]), wherein the electrode structure is configured to provide a haptic feedback to the user (Fig. 4, haptic vibrator 195; [0015], The control has virtual rotating, swiping, and tapping. The control can provide a user interface for visual, audio, and haptic feedback through the use of a visual source, an audible source, and a vibration source),
wherein the user control further comprises a contacting surface for electrically contacting the electrode structure (Fig. 4, surface 212 on a cylindrical touch sleeve 210 corresponds to the flexible printed circuit 115 including flexible touch sensor panel), which is arranged at least partly adjacent a side of the three-dimensional touch surface in an angle greater than 45○, and wherein the electrode structure extends onto the contacting surface wherein the user control further comprises a contacting surface for the electrode structure (Greater than 45 degrees perpendicular to the cylindrical touch sleeve 210 was a flexible printed circuit 115 including the flexible touch sensor panel 125, wherein the flexible printed circuit 115 extended the components of a flexible touch sensor panel to a touch sleeve),
wherein the structure extends onto the contracting surface and has open contacts on the contacting surface (Fig. 6A, contacts on top surface, [0034], During a second operation and as shown in FIGS. 6A and 6B, the user can tap the surface 190 to adjust a second setting (shown in FIG. 6A), e.g., to change a mode of operation due to the front display and touch panel 185 as in [0028]).
However, Chan does not specifically teach the structure was an electrode structure, but Chan teaches the flexible touch sensor panel uses capacitive detection in [0025] and [0015]. However, in the analogous art of capacitive touch detection for tactile elements, Orita teaches a touch detection circuit 210 includes, for example, a detection integrated circuit (IC) for detecting a change in electrostatic capacitance due to touching and a microcomputer. The touch detection occurred on a substrate that had an excitation electrode and a detection electrode upon it, comprising an electrode structure (Orita [0096]). It would have been obvious before the effective date of the invention to have used electrostatic detection between an excitation and detection electrode as a known method to detect touch. One having ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to have detected coordinates of a touch position of an indicator are identified as capacitance (hereinafter, sometimes referred to as “touch capacitance”) formed between the indicator and a conductor element which is a detection wiring by a detection circuit. Further, the touch position between conductor elements can be interpolated by a relative value of detected capacitance of one or more conductor/electrode elements (Orita [0006], [0005]).
Chan in view of Orita does not teach a contacting surface for the electrode structure adjacent a side of the three-dimensional touch surface in an angle greater than 45°.
In the analogous art of knobs used in combination with display devices, Helot teaches when an operating knob for an operating apparatus extends away from a reference plane that delimits the operating knob on a rear side. The operating knob is in the form of a three-dimensionally protruding body in relation to the reference plane up to a knob height. The operating knob that had a pixel matrix that extended over the side wall, perpendicular to the contacting surface of the 3d display interfacing knob (Helot Abstract and [0005]). An inclination of the side wall 23 relative to a surface normal N of the panel 16 has an angle W, for example, from 0° to 45°.The touchscreen 16 can likewise have a curved surface outside the region of the operating knob 18. The reference plane 19 in that case represents an imaginary tangential plane of the panel in the region of the operating knob 18 beyond the 0° to 45°. (Helot [0041] and [0046]).
The operating knob can have a touch-sensitive and/or proximity-sensitive surface on the side wall for capturing a rotary movement (rotary knob) and/or sliding movement (slide control) and/or push movement (key) of at least one finger operating the operating knob. It should be noted that the rotary movement relates for example to the at least one finger, while the operating knob itself can remain unmoved. The sensitive surface can be formed in a manner known per se by way of a sensor field, that is to say a touchpad sensor matrix. For example, capacitive proximity sensors for providing the sensitive surface can be provided, as is known in a touchscreen. The described frontal display face can also have a touch-sensitive design. Therefore, the touchscreen elements in the reference plane were extended to the protruding knob with 3-dimensional surface, extending user control (Helot [0014]). It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the invention for the three dimensional user interface knob of Chan in view of Orita to been physically implemented from a reference plane that was a touchscreen extending the touch sensitivity. One having ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to have an operating knob integrated with a screen, the operating knob is placed on or integrated in a screen. The operating knob is consequently surrounded by the pixel matrix of the screen. This offers the resulting advantage that a contiguous, consistent pixel graphic can be presented that extends from the side wall to the screen. For example, orientation lines or orientation symbols extending from the side wall to the presentation region of the screen can be presented (Helot [0009]).
Chan teaches a flexible printed circuit (FPC) 115 has a cylindrical shape and is disposed in the main base 110. Additionally, Chan teaches: “The flexible printed circuit 135 for the front display and touch panel 140 is fastened to the front cap base 170 with an adhesive, for example. The front display and touch panel 140 includes a touch panel sensor 185 which may be flexible and made of a similar design as the flexible touch panel sensor 125 and is parallel to a surface 190 of the glass lens 175” and “. A first touch controller 245 is coupled to the touch panel sensor 185 in paragraphs [0028],” Chan did not teach the electrode structure, the anisotropic conductive film layer and flexible printed circuit forming a layered stack on the contacting surface, wherein the anisotropic conductive film being arranged on the open contacts.
Chan in view of Orita and Helot does not teach arranging an anisotropic conductive film (ACF) layer onto the electrode structure on the contacting surface; and arranging a flexible printed circuit (FPC) onto the ACF layer.
However, in the analogous art of input devices, Kim teaches pad electrodes 600 are bonded by an anisotropic conductive film (ACF) to a flexible printed circuit board (FPCB). The flexible printed circuit board connects the touch panel according to the embodiment to a driver such as a system or a driver IC. The pad electrodes were connected to the main electrodes of a touch structure (Kim [0033] and [0058]-[0060]). It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the invention to have connected the respective flexible printed circuit boards to the touch structure and front touch panel of Chan in view of Orita and Helot using an anisotropic conductive film as an adhesive. One having ordinary skill in the art would have used a known material for connecting a capacitive touch structure to a flexible printed circuit board so it have been connected to a driver such as a system or a driver IC (Kim [0033] and [0058]-[0060]).
Regarding claim 14, Chan of the combination of references further teaches a control panel for an electronic system comprising at least one of the user controls according to claim 1 ([0024], The stationary interface control was used with electrical devices including vehicles.)
Regarding claim 15, Chan of the combination of references further teaches a vehicle comprising at least one of the control panels according to claim 14 ([0024], The stationary interface control was used with electrical devices including vehicles.)
Regarding claim 21, Chan of the combination of references teaches the user control according to claim 1, wherein the three- dimensional touch surface with the electrode structure is substantially perpendicular to a ground plane (Greater than 45 degrees perpendicular to the cylindrical touch sleeve 210 was a flexible printed circuit 115 on a ground/base plane parallel to the ground as defined by Applicant’s specification page 7, lines 1-5 and shown in Chan Fig. including the -flexible touch sensor panel 125, wherein the flexible printed circuit 115 extended the components of a flexible touch sensor panel to a touch sleeve.)
Claims 16 and 18-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Publication 2016/0364059 A1 by Chan in view of U.S. Patent Publication 2023/0004225 A1 by Orita, U.S. Patent Publication 2020/0079218 A1 by Helot, U.S. Patent Publication 2012/0032914 A1 by Kim, and further in view of U.S. Patent Publication 2016/0004309 A1 by Modarres.
Regarding claim 16, Chan teaches a user control for an electrical system, comprising: a three-dimensional touch surface to be touched by a user to provide a user input (Fig. 4; [0015], Embodiments provide a three-dimensional and 360-degree cylindrical touch control with user interface information. Basic construction for the control enables user interaction in three-dimensions and 360 degrees, and includes a capacitive sensitive touch panel); and
a structure arranged about an outer, user-touchable side of the three-dimensional touch surface (Fig. 4, flexible printed circuit 115 including flexible touch sensor panel corresponding to a surface 212 on a cylindrical touch sleeve 210 as in [0025] and [0030]), wherein the electrode structure is configured to provide a haptic feedback to the user (Fig. 4, haptic vibrator 195; [0015], The control has virtual rotating, swiping, and tapping. The control can provide a user interface for visual, audio, and haptic feedback through the use of a visual source, an audible source, and a vibration source),
wherein the user control further comprises a contacting surface for electrically contacting the electrode structure (Fig. 4, surface 212 on a cylindrical touch sleeve 210 corresponds to the flexible printed circuit 115 including flexible touch sensor panel), which is arranged at least partly adjacent the three-dimensional touch surface in an angle greater than 45 degrees, and wherein the electrode structure extends onto the contacting surface (Greater than 45 degrees perpendicular to the cylindrical touch sleeve 210 was a flexible printed circuit 115 including the flexible touch sensor panel 125, wherein the flexible printed circuit 115 extended the components of a flexible touch sensor panel to a touch sleeve),
wherein the structure extends onto the contracting surface and has open contacts on the contacting surface (Fig. 6A, contacts on top surface, [0034], During a second operation and as shown in FIGS. 6A and 6B, the user can tap the surface 190 to adjust a second setting (shown in FIG. 6A), e.g., to change a mode of operation due to the front display and touch panel 185 as in [0028]).
However, Chan does not specifically teach the structure was an electrode structure, but Chan teaches the flexible touch sensor panel uses capacitive detection in [0025] and [0015]. However, in the analogous art of capacitive touch detection for tactile elements, Orita teaches a touch detection circuit 210 includes, for example, a detection integrated circuit (IC) for detecting a change in electrostatic capacitance due to touching and a microcomputer. The touch detection occurred on a substrate that had an excitation electrode and a detection electrode upon it, comprising an electrode structure (Orita [0096]). It would have been obvious before the effective date of the invention to have used electrostatic detection between an excitation and detection electrode as a known method to detect touch. One having ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to have detected coordinates of a touch position of an indicator are identified as capacitance (hereinafter, sometimes referred to as “touch capacitance”) formed between the indicator and a conductor element which is a detection wiring by a detection circuit. Further, the touch position between conductor elements can be interpolated by a relative value of detected capacitance of one or more conductor/electrode elements (Orita [0006], [0005]).
Chan in view of Orita does not teach a contacting surface for the electrode structure extending outward from the user control.
In the analogous art of knobs used in combination with display devices, Helot teaches when an operating knob for an operating apparatus extends away from a reference plane that delimits the operating knob on a rear side. The operating knob is in the form of a three-dimensionally protruding body in relation to the reference plane up to a knob height. The operating knob that had a pixel matrix that extended over the side wall, perpendicular to the contacting surface of the 3d display interfacing knob (Helot Abstract and [0005]). An inclination of the side wall 23 relative to a surface normal N of the panel 16 has an angle W, for example, from 0° to 45°.The touchscreen 16 can likewise have a curved surface outside the region of the operating knob 18. The reference plane 19 in that case represents an imaginary tangential plane of the panel in the region of the operating knob 18 (Helot [0041] and [0046]).
The operating knob can have a touch-sensitive and/or proximity-sensitive surface on the side wall for capturing a rotary movement (rotary knob) and/or sliding movement (slide control) and/or push movement (key) of at least one finger operating the operating knob. It should be noted that the rotary movement relates for example to the at least one finger, while the operating knob itself can remain unmoved. The sensitive surface can be formed in a manner known per se by way of a sensor field, that is to say a touchpad sensor matrix. For example, capacitive proximity sensors for providing the sensitive surface can be provided, as is known in a touchscreen. The described frontal display face can also have a touch-sensitive design. Therefore, the touchscreen elements in the reference plane were extended to the protruding knob with 3-dimensional surface, extending user control (Helot [0014]). It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the invention for the three dimensional user interface knob of Chan in view of Orita to been physically implemented from a reference plane that was a touchscreen extending the touch sensitivity. One having ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to have an operating knob integrated with a screen, the operating knob is placed on or integrated in a screen. The operating knob is consequently surrounded by the pixel matrix of the screen. This offers the resulting advantage that a contiguous, consistent pixel graphic can be presented that extends from the side wall to the screen. For example, orientation lines or orientation symbols extending from the side wall to the presentation region of the screen can be presented (Helot [0009]).
Chan teaches a flexible printed circuit (FPC) 115 has a cylindrical shape and is disposed in the main base 110. Additionally, Chan teaches: “The flexible printed circuit 135 for the front display and touch panel 140 is fastened to the front cap base 170 with an adhesive, for example. The front display and touch panel 140 includes a touch panel sensor 185 which may be flexible and made of a similar design as the flexible touch panel sensor 125 and is parallel to a surface 190 of the glass lens 175” and “. A first touch controller 245 is coupled to the touch panel sensor 185 in paragraphs [0028],” Chan did not teach the electrode structure, the anisotropic conductive film layer and flexible printed circuit forming a layered stack on the contacting surface, wherein the anisotropic conductive film being arranged on the open contacts.
Chan in view of Orita and Helot does not teach arranging an anisotropic conductive film (ACF) layer onto the electrode structure on the contacting surface; and arranging a flexible printed circuit (FPC) onto the ACF layer.
However, in the analogous art of input devices, Kim teaches pad electrodes 600 are bonded by an anisotropic conductive film (ACF) to a flexible printed circuit board (FPCB). The flexible printed circuit board connects the touch panel according to the embodiment to a driver such as a system or a driver IC. The pad electrodes were connected to the main electrodes of a touch structure (Kim [0033] and [0058]-[0060]). It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the invention to have connected the respective flexible printed circuit boards to the touch structure and front touch panel of Chan in view of Orita and Helot using an anisotropic conductive film as an adhesive. One having ordinary skill in the art would have used a known material for connecting a capacitive touch structure to a flexible printed circuit board so it have been connected to a driver such as a system or a driver IC (Kim [0033] and [0058]-[0060]). Chan in view of Orita and Helot does not teach an anisotropic film layer arranged on the electrode structure onto the contacting surface, a ring-shaped flexible printed circuit arranged on the anisotropic film 1ayer.
However, in the analogous art of input devices, Kim teaches pad electrodes 600 are bonded by an anisotropic conductive film (ACF) to a flexible printed circuit board (FPCB). The flexible printed circuit board connects the touch panel according to the embodiment to a driver such as a system or a driver IC. The pad electrodes were connected to the main electrodes of a touch structure (Kim [0033] and [0058]-[0060]). It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the invention to have connected the flexible printed circuit board to the touch structure of Chan in view of Orita and Helot using an anisotropic conductive film. One having ordinary skill in the art would have used a known material for connecting a capacitive touch structure to a flexible printed circuit board so it have been connected to a driver such as a system or a driver IC (Kim [0033] and [0058]-[0060]).
While Chan and Helot mention different types of haptic feedback, Chan in view of Orita, Helot and Kim do not specifically mention the haptic feedback is effected by electro-static forces between a user and the electrode structure.
However, in the analogous art of haptic touch devices, Modarres teaches a haptic effect that was an electrostatic haptic effect where a user has pressed a finger 402 against the touch surface 404. The touch surface 404 comprises three ESF cells 306 a-c positioned linearly along the touch surface 404. Upon the occurrence of an event, the system 400 may output a static ESF effect or a confirmation ESF effect (Modarres Fig. 4; [0036] and [0062]-[0063]). It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the invention to have substituted the haptic effects of Chan in view of Orita, Helot and Kim for the haptic effect as taught by Modarres. One having ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to have a more intuitive and enhanced user experience, designers often leverage user experience with physical interactions. This is generally done by reproducing some aspects of interactions with the physical world through visual, audio, and/or haptic feedback. Haptic feedback often takes the form of a mechanical vibration. There is a need for additional systems and methods to generate haptic feedback (Modarres Fig. 4; [0002]).
Regarding claim 18, Chan in view of Orita and Helot, Kim, and Modarres renders obvious the claim limitations in consideration of the grounds of rejection of claim 3 above.
Regarding claim 19, Chan in view of Orita and Helot, Kim, and Modarres renders obvious the claim limitations in consideration of the grounds of rejection of claim 4 above.
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Publication 2016/0364059 A1 by Chan in view of U.S. Patent Publication 2023/0004225 A1 by Orita, U.S. Patent Publication 2020/0079218 A1 by Helot, U.S. Patent Publication 2012/0032914 A1 by Kim, and further in view of U.S. Patent Publication 2016/0291745 A1 by Grip et al. (“Grip.”)
Regarding claim 11, Chan in view of Orita and Helot does not teach the user control according to claim 1, wherein the flexible printed circuit further comprises a chip- on-foil electrically arranged between at least part of contacts to the electrode structure and an output end of the flexible printed circuit.
However, in the analogous art of flexible printed circuits connected to touch structures, Grip teaches a touch FPC 240 carries touch signals from touch panel 210 to driver 235. Display FPC 245 carries display signals from display 220 to driver 235. According to an exemplary implementation, display FPC 245 may be a flexible printed circuit, a chip-on-flex, a chip-on-foil, or some other flexible material that can propagate signals. Touch FPC 240 may be implemented in a similar manner (Grip [0030]). It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the invention to have used chip on foil to connect and contact the flexible printed circuit to the flexible touch sensor of Chan as modified by Orita, Helot and Kim. One having ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to have used chip on foil as a flexible material that propagate signals in a known, ordinary way in the prior art (Grip [0030]).
Claim 22-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Publication 2016/0364059 A1 by Chan in view of U.S. Patent Publication 2023/0004225 A1 by Orita, U.S. Patent Publication 2020/0079218 A1 by Helot, U.S. Patent Publication 2012/0032914 A1 by Kim, and further in view of U.S. Patent Publication 2022/0171479 A1 by Chappaz0 et al. (“Chappaz.”)
Regarding claim 22, Chan of the combination of references further teaches the three-dimensional touch surface is a cylindrical surface (Fig. 2, cylindrical touch sleeve 210), wherein the flexible printed circuit is a ring-shaped flexible printed circuit (Fig. 4, [0026], The flexible printed circuit 115 includes..an electrical connection to a flexible printed circuit 135 for a front display and touch panel 140, and an electrical connection to a flexible printed circuit 145 which is ring shaped).
Chan in view of Orita, Helot and Kim does not teach the contacting surface is a closed ring-shaped plane surface around the bottom of the three-dimensional surface and is substantially perpendicular to and surrounding the three-dimensional touch surface. While Chan teaches O-ring 230 closed ring-shaped plane surface 230 around the bottom of the structure opposite to a top, perpendicular and surrounding the three-dimensional touch surface in Figs. 2-3 and [0031], Chan did not teach if the ring was a contacting surface.
However, in the analogous art of three-dimensional “3D” touch interfaces, teaches a cylindrical button where a lower surrounding plane surface around the bottom of the structure opposite to a top, has a touch surface 5 (Chappaz Fig. 1; [0019] and [0013]), It may be beneficial to arrange on or in the 3D button 2 electrical wires or tracks of which the variation in capacitance can be detected by capacitive touch sensors, which may be incorporated into the touch surface 5 (Chappaz [0040]). The 3D touch interface was a control device with haptic feedback with a vibrating plate having a touch surface with touch sensors and able to be set in vibration at an ultrasonic frequency by electromechanical actuators which are controlled by control electronics so as to generate, on said touch surface, an ultrasonic lubrication effect. The location of the plate was a ring cutout around the touch button. It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the invention to have had a lower surface opposite to top surface of Chan in view Orita, Helot and Kim have a touch surface operable to the user. One having ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to have sensed touch and communicated the vibrations of the ultrasonic lubrication effect from said touch surface to user of a 3d touch interface, specifically on a raised touch surface (Chan Fig. 1; [0013]-[0014]).
Regarding claim 23, Chan of the combination of references teaches wherein the layered stack is arranged on a side of the contacting surface facing away from a ground plane of the user control. (Fig. 6A, contacts on top surface, [0034], During a second operation and as shown in FIGS. 6A and 6B, the user can tap the surface 190 to adjust a second setting (shown in FIG. 6A), e.g., to change a mode of operation due to the front display and touch panel 185 as in [0028]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
U.S. Patent Publication 2011/0240455 A1 by Kulczycki teaches a base that is a contacting surface that is perpendicular to a control knob that used capacitive sensor elements around its sidewalls.
U.S. Patent Publication 2018/0046267 by Kobayashi teaches for the pressing manipulation body 20 and rotational part 60, a conductive transparent film (ITO (indium tin oxide) film, for example) is formed on a surface of an insulative transparent resin, for example. Thus, the pressing manipulation body 20 preferably becomes electrically continuous from the front surface 21a of the manipulation part 21 through the rear surface 21b and axial part 23 to the contact body 24.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MAHEEN I JAVED/Examiner, Art Unit 2621
/AMR A AWAD/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2621