Election/Restrictions
Claims 13-25 withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to nonelected inventions, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 04/16/2026.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed August 24, 2026 have been fully considered.
With respect to the 112(b) rejection the claim has been amended to overcome the rejection.
Examiner indicates the arguments presented regarding 103 rejections address newly
amended claims and not the claims previously presented and examined in the Non-Final Office
Action. To address the amended claims, new grounds of rejection have been made, as described
below.
Claim Interpretation
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yang (US 8225698, hereinafter “Yang”) in view of Chern (US 8555751, hereinafter “Chern”).
Regarding claim 1, Yang discloses a force amplified fastener assembly for removably coupling a detachable implement to a power tool, the force amplified fastener assembly (magnification driving tool as described in the abstract) comprising:
a top housing (cover 100 and polygonal hole 124, col 3 lines 18-27, 54-58 Fig 4 shown below);
a bottom structure (nut driven ring body 111, col 3 lines 28-35 Fig 4), wherein the top housing and bottom structure are configured to nest and provide an enclosed area for housing one or more components of the force amplified fastener assembly (as seen in Fig 4 the top housing and bottom structure nest and provide an enclosed area for housing many components of the assembly);
a fastening element disposed between the top housing and the bottom structure and at least partially within the enclosed area (nut 101, col 2 lines 59-63 Fig 4), wherein the fastening element is configured for engagement with a shaft of the power tool (nut is configured for engagement with the stud (equivalent of a shaft), col 2 lines 59-63);
a force amplifying gear train comprising a plurality of gears and at least one gear plate disposed in the enclosed area and in mechanical communication with the top housing, the bottom structure, and the fastening element (planetary gears 131 and gear plate 127 which are disposed in the enclosed area and in mechanical communication with the top housing, the bottom structure and the fastening element, col 3 lines 36-49 Fig 4 (examiner notes that mechanical communication is interpreted as physical contact either direct or via another piece or pieces of the assembly)), wherein the force amplifying gear train provides a mechanical advantage with respect to application of torque to the fastening element in response to torque applied to the top housing (torque applied to the top housing (through 124) is magnified through the gear train, col 4 lines 33-41).
However, Yang fails to disclose a lock mechanism disposed at least partially within the enclosed area and operative to discourage rotation of the fastening element relative to the shaft in at least one rotational direction, the lock mechanism comprising:
a first lock element configured to prevent relative movement of the top housing with respect to the gear plate, and
a second lock element at least partially defining a ring circumscribing a ring gear of the bottom structure.
Chern is also concerned with tools that tighten or loosen and teaches a lock mechanism disposed at least partially within the enclosed area and operative to discourage rotation of the fastening element relative to the shaft in at least one rotational direction (pawl 30, positioning unit 12, and ratchet teeth 41 define a lock mechanism that discourage rotation in at least one rotational direction, col 2-3 lines 56-2 Fig 5 shown below).
the lock mechanism comprising: a first lock element configured to prevent relative movement of the top housing with respect to the gear plate, and a second lock element at least partially defining a ring circumscribing a ring gear of the bottom structure (first lock element defined as engaging teeth 32 of pawl 30 which are configured to prevent relative movement when engaged with the teeth of the ratchet wheel 41, and second lock element defined as pawl 30 as well as spring 121 and recess 31, and as shown below in Figs 6 and 8, the pawl 30 at least partially defines a ring because its contoured shape mates with the outer ring shaped circumference of wheel 40, col 3 lines 29-39).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have incorporated the lock mechanism of Chern with the force amplified fastener assembly of Yang in order to provide a tool capable of being utilized easily in situations with limited space or mobility. The lock mechanism of Chern as described above applied to Yang would have the second lock element, as described above, circumscribing a ring gear of the bottom structure, defined as inner ring gear 102, as inner ring gear 102 is formed integrally with the nut driven ring body 111 which the pawl of Chern would circumscribe.
Regarding claim 2, Yang, as modified, discloses the limitations of claim 1, as described above, and further discloses the first lock element is configured to prevent relative movement of the top housing with respect to the gear plate in a first direction while allowing relative movement in a second direction when the lock mechanism is in a locked configuration (first lock element, engaging teeth 32, prevent movement in a first direction (defined as clockwise) while allowing movement in a second direction (defined as counter-clockwise) when the lock mechanism is in a locked configuration as shown above in Fig. 6, col 3 lines 29-39).
Regarding claim 3, Yang, as modified, discloses the limitations of claim 2, as described above, and further discloses the first lock element is configured to prevent relative movement of the top housing with respect to the gear plate in the second direction while allowing relative movement in the first direction when the lock mechanism is in an unlocked configuration (teeth 32 prevent movement counter-clockwise while allowing clockwise movement when the lock mechanism is in an unlocked configuration as shown above in Fig. 8, col 3 lines 29-39).
Regarding claim 4, Yang, as modified, discloses the limitations of claim 1, as described above, and further discloses the first lock element comprises a lock pawl (every individual tooth of 32 define a pawl), and wherein the second lock element is configured to allow the lock pawl to enter a lock position of the lock mechanism locked configuration when a portion of the second lock element is in a radially outward position and to encourage the lock pawl to enter an unlocked position of a lock mechanism unlocked configuration when the portion of the second lock element is in a radially inward position (spring 121 and recess 31 of the second lock element, as described above, allow the lock pawl to enter the lock position when the spring is in a radially outward position (compressed) because 122 can then be urged to the locked position 31 as shown in Fig 6 and encourages the lock pawl to enter the unlocked position when the spring is in a radially inward position (extended) because 122 can be urged to the unlocked position 31 as shown in Fig 8).
Regarding claim 5, Yang, as modified, discloses the limitations of claim 1, as described above, and further discloses the first lock element comprises a lock pawl (every individual tooth of 32 define a pawl), and wherein the second lock element is configured to allow the lock pawl to enter a lock position of the lock mechanism locked configuration when a portion of the second lock element is in an un-depressed position and to encourage the lock pawl to enter an unlocked position of a lock mechanism unlocked configuration when the portion of the second lock element is in a depressed position (spring 121 and recess 31 allow the lock pawl to enter the lock position when the spring is in an undepressed position because 122 can then be urged to the locked position 31 as shown in Fig 6 and encourages the lock pawl to enter the unlocked position when the spring is in an un-depressed position because 122 can be urged to the unlocked position 31 as shown in Fig 8).
Regarding claim 6, Yang, as modified, discloses the limitations of claim 5, as described above, and further discloses the first lock element encourages the lock pawl to enter the unlocked position via a third lock element (defined as 122).
Claims 7-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yang and Chern as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Brobst (US 2010/0180733, hereinafter “Brobst”).
Regarding claim 7, Yang, as modified, discloses the limitations of claim 1, as described above. However, Yang fails to disclose a grasping member assembly disposed upon a top surface of the top housing,
wherein the grasping member assembly is configured to facilitate manual application of torque to the top housing by a user.
Brobst is also concerned with tools that interface with fasteners and teaches a grasping member assembly (wrench 10) disposed upon a top surface of the top housing,
wherein the grasping member assembly is configured to facilitate manual application of torque to the top housing by a user (wrench 10 is capable of facilitating manual application of torque to the top housing of Yang, as described above, as the second end 68 could interface with polygonal hole 124 of Yang (it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the square cross section of 68 to be polygonal in order to mate with sockets of a polygonal shape)).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have added the grasping member assembly of Brobst to the force amplified fastener assembly of Yang in order to enable the tool to be used in tight spaces and without using a multitude of additional tools to operate (Brobst [0002]).
Regarding claim 8, Yang, as modified, discloses the limitations of claim 7, as described above, and further discloses the grasping member assembly comprises:
a plate affixed to the top housing (defined as flanges 52 of Brobst which would be affixed to the top housing of Yang during use of the grasping member of Brobst, [0029]); and
a handle hingedly disposed with respect to plate, wherein the handle is configured to be disposed in a use position and a storage position (handle 12 of Brobst where the storage position is when handle 12 is folded as much as possible towards body 16 and where the use position is when the handle 12 is around 90° from body 16, [0027] Fig 5 shown below).
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yang, Chern and Brobst as applied to claim 8 above, and further in view of Ragner (US 2015/0336257, hereinafter “Ragner”).
Regarding claim 9, Yang, as modified, discloses the limitations of claim 8, as described above. However, Yang, as modified, fails to disclose the plate comprises:
spring plate configured to encourage the handle to remain in the use position when the handle is positioned in the use position and to encourage the handle to remain in the storage position when the handle is positioned in the storage position.
Ragner is also concerned with tools that interface with fasteners and teaches the plate comprises:
spring plate (friction spring washer 57a [0096] Fig 2A shown below) configured to encourage the handle to remain in the use position when the handle is positioned in the use position and to encourage the handle to remain in the storage position when the handle is positioned in the storage position ([0096] explains that 57a provides a consistent pressure that provides friction to resist pivoting and so it would encourage the handle to remain in whatever position it was last urged to).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have added the spring plate of Ragner to the force amplified fastener assembly of Yang in order to allow for smooth pivoting of the handle and provide a holding force for the handle once positioned (Ragner: [0096]).
Claims 10-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yang and Chern as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Van Laere (US 4822958, hereinafter “Van Laere”).
Regarding claim 10, Yang, as modified, discloses the limitations of claim 1, as described above. However, Yang fails to disclose a removable and replaceable exterior surface covering configured to provide a protective surface for at least a portion of the force amplified fastener assembly.
Van Laere is also concerned with tools that drive fasteners and teaches a removable and replaceable exterior surface covering configured to provide a protective surface for at least a portion of the force amplified fastener assembly (shell 1 is removable and replaceable and provides a protective surface, col. 14 lines 30-41, Fig 1 shown below).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have added the exterior surface covering of Van Laere to the force amplified fastener assembly of Yang in order to provide it with protection in an event where damage would occur on the tool.
Regarding claim 11, Yang, as modified, discloses the limitations of claim 10, as described above, and further discloses the removable and replaceable exterior surface covering comprises:
a replaceable jacket covering at least a portion of the top housing and at least a portion of the bottom structure, wherein the replaceable jacket provides a protective surface for the at least a portion of the top housing and at least a portion of the bottom structure, and wherein the replaceable jacket is configured to provide protection to at least a portion of the lock mechanism (replaceable jacket defined as the longitudinal walls of shell 1 as shown above which provide a protective surface for at least a portion of the top housing, bottom structure and lock mechanism).
Regarding claim 12, Yang, as modified, discloses the limitations of claim 10, as described above, and further discloses the removable and replaceable exterior surface covering comprises:
a replaceable cap covering at least a portion of the top housing, wherein the replaceable cap provides a protective surface for the at least a portion of the top housing, and wherein the replaceable cap is configured to provide protection to at least a portion of the lock mechanism (cap defined as the longitudinal walls of shell 1 as shown above which provide a protective surface for at least a portion of the top housing, bottom structure and lock mechanism).
Double Patenting
Claim 1 rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 5-6 of U.S. Patent No. 12408585. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because:
Instant Application, claim 1
US Patent No. 12408585, claims 1, 5-6
Claim 1, lines 1-2: a force amplified fastener assembly for removably coupling a detachable implement to a power tool, the force amplified fastener assembly comprising
Claim 1, lines 1-3: a force amplified fastener assembly for removably coupling a detachable implement to a power tool, the force amplified fastener assembly comprising
Claim 1, line 3: a top housing
Claim 1, line 4: a top housing
Claim 1, line 4: a bottom structure
Claim 1, line 5: a bottom structure
Claim 1, lines 4-6: wherein the top housing and bottom structure are configured to nest and provide an enclosed area for housing one or more components of the force amplified fastener assembly
Claim 1, line 4 and 9: a bottom structure nested within an area of the cupped casing (formed by the top housing), a force amplifying gear train disposed in the area of the cupped casing
*area of the cupped casing of ‘585 = enclosed area of instant app
Claim 1, lines 7-9: a fastening element disposed between the top housing and the bottom structure and at least partially within the enclosed area wherein the fastening element is configured for engagement with a shaft of the power tool
Claim 1, lines 6-8: a fastening element disposed between the top housing and the bottom structure and within the area of the cupped casing, wherein the fastening element is configured for engagement with a shaft of the power tool
*area of the cupped casing of ‘585 = enclosed area of instant app
Claim 1, lines 10-14: a force amplifying gear train disposed in the enclosed area and in mechanical communication with the top housing, the bottom structure, and the fastening element, wherein the force amplifying gear train provides a mechanical advantage with respect to application of torque to the fastening element in response to torque applied to the top housing
Claim 1, lines 9-13: a force amplifying gear train disposed in the area of the cupped casing and in mechanical communication with the top housing, the bottom structure, and the fastening element, wherein the force amplifying gear train provides a mechanical advantage with respect to torque to the fastening element in response to torque applied to the top housing
*area of the cupped casing of ‘585 = enclosed area of instant app
Claim 1, line 10: comprising a plurality of gears and at least one gear plate
Claim 5, lines 3-5: …a planetary gear configuration… a ring gear… and a sun gear…
Claim 6 line 3: …a gear plate…
Claim 1, lines 15-17: a lock mechanism disposed at least partially within the enclosed area and operative to discourage rotation of the fastening element relative to the shaft in at least one rotational direction
Claim 1, lines 14-16: a lock mechanism disposed within the area of the cupped casing of the top housing and operative to prevent rotation of the fastening element relative to the shaft in at least one rotational direction.
*area of the cupped casing of ‘585 = enclosed area of instant app
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/J.M.L./Examiner, Art Unit 3723
/BRIAN D KELLER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3723