DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
This is in response to Applicants amendment filed 02/06/2026 which has been entered. Claims 1-4, 6, 8, 9, 14, 16 and 20 have been amended. Claims 5, 13 and 19 have been cancelled. No Claims have been added. Claims 1-4, 6-12, 14-18 and 20 are still pending in this application, with Claims 1, 8 and 9 being independent.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to Claim(s) 1-4, 6-12, 14-18 and 20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Objections
Claim 10 is objected to because of the following informalities: Claim 10 is described as Previously Presented when it is in fact Currently Amended. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3, 8-11, 16 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gisby et al (2009/0097631 A1) in view of Sansalone (2013/0303133 A1).
As per Claims 1, 8 and 9, Gisby teaches a server apparatus (Figures 1 and 2 – Reference 30; Page 3, Paragraphs [0036] – [0038]) comprising: at least a processor (Figure 2 – Reference 250; Page 3, Paragraphs [0036] – [0038]); and a memory in circuit communication with the processor (Figure 4 – References 420, 430, 440 and 450; Page 3, Paragraphs [0036] – [0038]), wherein the processor is configured to execute program instructions stored in the memory (Non-transitory program recording medium: Page 17, Paragraph [0160]).
Gisby also teaches performing processing comprising: upon receiving an incoming call to a representative telephone number (User PBX extension/DID number: Page 5, Paragraph [0051]), multicasting a notification to a plurality of staff terminals previously registered in association with the representative telephone number of an occurrence of the incoming call (Page 5, Paragraph [0051]; Page 6, Paragraphs [0058] and [0062]).
(Note: In paragraph [0051], Gisby describes the receipt of an incoming call to a terminal within an enterprise environment [e.g. incoming call to user PBX telephone extension – internal network]. Gisby indicates that in response to an incoming call a server may simultaneously ring a user’s office phone and other telephonic devices associated with the contacted party [i.e. plurality of staff terminals previously registered in association with the representative telephone number of an occurrence of the incoming call])
(Note: In paragraph [0052], Gisby describes an alert/indication/notification being provided to a called party and action being taken by the called party to indicated desired call disposition [answer call/ignore call/voicemail/etc.]. In paragraphs [0058] and [0062], Gisby describes modifiable user preferences that associates user office/PBX extension with one or more telephony devices which may be simultaneously or sequentially alerted in accordance with user preferences)
Gisby does not teach wherein the notification comprises a plurality of choices of connection methods including a connection via an external telephone network and a connection via an internal telephone network; and upon receiving, from a first staff terminal among the plurality of staff terminals, an answering operation including a connection method from among the plurality of choices of connection methods, establishing a telephone connection to the first staff terminal via a telephone exchanger according to the received connection method.
However, Sansalone teaches wherein the notification comprises a plurality of choices of connection methods including a connection via an external telephone network and a connection via an internal telephone network; and upon receiving, from a first staff terminal among the plurality of staff terminals, an answering operation including a connection method from among the plurality of choices of connection methods, establishing a telephone connection to the first staff terminal via a telephone exchanger according to the received connection method (Figure 2 – References 14, 18, 22, 26 and 28; Page 6, Paragraph [0068] – Page 7, Paragraph [0071]).
(Note: In paragraph [0068], Sansalone describes the receipt of an incoming call from a calling party who has dialed a company number and a specific extension code [i.e. direct inward dialing – DID: internal network facilitated by an enterprise PBX] which an enterprise server uses as a key to look up the IP address or equivalent identifier of the identified targeted party/department. The IP address is associated with one or more numbers [e.g. direct number of a mobile device, company number with a DID extension, direct landline number, etc.])
(Note: In paragraph [0069], Sansalone describes the transmission of a status message to the phones associated with number dialed by the calling party and indicates that a host mobile phone receives the status message and proceeds to provide a notification displayed on the screen with associated text, animation, etc.)
(Note: In paragraph [0070], Sansalone describes a dedicated multi-line application that provides a visual representation of phone lines [i.e. direct number of a mobile device, company number with a DID extension, direct landline number, etc.] Additionally, Gisby also describes the use of primary and secondary cellular and residential lines as shown in Figure 6A. The dedicated multi-line application shown in Figure 2 of Sansalone illustrates 6 lines which allows for 6 potential connection options. The Examiner is considering all employees of the enterprise to have mobile devices that feature the multi-line application)
(Note: The use of company extensions and direct inward dialing indicate there is an internal enterprise network that is separate from all external networks such as a PSTN or the public Internet shown in Figure 1 of Sansalone. The Examiner is considering the association of each of the contact numbers associated with the linked contact profile taught in both Gisby and Sansalone as be assigned to one of the lines of the multi-line application shown in Figure 2 of Sansalone)
(Note: In paragraph [0066], Sansalone describes the operation of the multi-line application interface. Sansalone indicates the display screen may include a keypad or a touchscreen. Other embodiments may include and IVR or rely on voice recognition. In paragraph [0071], Sansalone describes the selection of line 1 and the entering of a talk command which the Examiner is considering as reading on an answering operation including a connection method from among the plurality of choices of connection methods, establishing a telephone connection to the first staff terminal via a telephone exchanger according to the received connection method)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the apparatus, method and non-transitory program recording medium taught by Gisby with the apparatus taught by Sansalone to ensure that in areas or times of low data bandwidth it is possible to support multi-line capability and/or PBX capabilities using a cellular phone without having to excessively rely on cellular data for the transmission of voice information or signals across multiple lines.
As per Claims 2, 10 and 16, the combination of Gisby and Sansalone teaches wherein the processor multicasts the notification via a network different from a telephone network as described in Claim 1. (Note: In paragraph [0032], Gisby describes the use of a local area network [i.e. data network])
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the apparatus, method and non-transitory program recording medium taught by Gisby with the apparatus taught by Sansalone to ensure that in areas or times of low data bandwidth it is possible to support multi-line capability and/or PBX capabilities using a cellular phone without having to excessively rely on cellular data for the transmission of voice information or signals across multiple lines.
As per Claims 3, 11 and 17, the combination of Gisby and Sansalone teaches wherein, upon receiving a forwarding operation from the first staff terminal to a second staff terminal among the plurality of staff terminals, the processor calls a telephone number of the second staff terminal via the telephone exchanger to establish a telephone connection.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the apparatus, method and non-transitory program recording medium taught by Gisby with the apparatus taught by Sansalone to ensure that in areas or times of low data bandwidth it is possible to support multi-line capability and/or PBX capabilities using a cellular phone without having to excessively rely on cellular data for the transmission of voice information or signals across multiple lines.
Claim(s) 4, 12 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gisby et al (2009/0097631 A1) in view of Sansalone (2013/0303133 A1) as applied to Claims 1, 8 and 9 above, and further in view of HILL et al (2022/0006697 A1).
As per Claims 4, 12 and 18, the combination of Gisby and Sansalone teaches the server apparatus, method and non-transitory program recording medium according to Claims 1, 8 and 9; but does not teach wherein upon receiving a forwarding confirmation operation from the first staff terminal to a second staff terminal, the processor presents a plurality of choices of connection methods on the second staff terminal.
However, Hill teaches wherein upon receiving a forwarding confirmation operation from the first staff terminal to a second staff terminal, the processor presents a plurality of choices of connection methods on the second staff terminal (Page 13, Paragraph [0092]). (Note: In paragraph [0092], Hill describes the use of a drop-down menu that is used by a user to select a network path from a plurality of network paths. Combining this with the plurality of networks described by the combination of Gisby and Sansalone provides a functionality where a drop-down menu may be used to select a preferred network to utilize for establishing a call connection)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the apparatus, method and non-transitory program recording medium taught by Gisby and Sansalone with the apparatus taught by Hill to optimize the routing of a communication based on a particular variable [stability, cost, signal strength/quality] seeking to be maximized and the location of the party to whom the call is being forwarded.
Claim(s) 6, 7, 14, 15 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gisby et al (2009/0097631 A1) in view of Sansalone (2013/0303133 A1) as applied to Claims 1, 8 and 9 above, and further in view of Baiyor et al (6,307,929 B1).
As per Claim 6, 14 and 20, the combination of Gisby and Sansalone teaches the server apparatus, method and non-transitory program recording medium according to Claims 1, 8 and 9; but does not teach wherein the processor multicasts a notification to a plurality of staff terminals that a response to the incoming call to the representative telephone number has been performed or that a telephone connection to the representative telephone number has been abandoned.
However, Baiyor teaches wherein the processor multicasts a notification to a plurality of staff terminals that a response to the incoming call to the representative telephone number has been performed or that a telephone connection to the representative telephone number has been abandoned (Column 5, Line 58 – Column 6, Line 24; Column 7, Line 4-10).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the apparatus, method and non-transitory program recording medium taught by Gisby and Sansalone with the apparatus taught by Baiyor to enable a call to be automatically routed to a different department or to voicemail which prevents the caller from hearing a busy signal or a disconnect tone thereby retaining the caller in the enterprise’s ecosystem.
As per Claims 7 and 15, the combination of Gisby, Sansalone and Baiyor teaches wherein upon receiving a return call operation from the first staff terminal, the processor calls a terminal which had provided the incoming call to the representative telephone number to establish a telephone connection (Baiyor: Figure 5 – Reference 545; Column 15, Lines 46-56).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method and non-transitory program recording medium taught by Gisby and Sansalone with the apparatus taught by Baiyor to enable a call to be automatically routed to a different department or to voicemail which prevents the caller from hearing a busy signal or a disconnect tone thereby retaining the caller in the enterprise’s ecosystem.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. LIU (2022/0294891 A1), Gisby et al (2010/0046731 A1), O’Neil et al (8,107,957 B1), Heredia et al (2014/0335823 A1), Verrall et al (2014/0006589 A1), Mahler et al (2012/0224513 A1), Harris et al (2008/0200158 A1), Mateer et al (8,600,417 B1), Chavez et al (2005/0013421 A1), KATO (2009/0005024 A1) and Cai (8,452,315 B1). Each of these describes systems and methods for forwarding of communications within a telecommunications network.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
KHARYE POPE
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2693
/KHARYE POPE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2693