DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
The following title is suggested: BATTERY MANAGEMENT SYSTEM, BATTERY MANAGEMENT METHOD, AND PROGRAM INCLUDING CHARGEABLE CAPACITY AUTHENTICATION
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “a battery status acquisition unit”, “a battery capacity authentication unit”, “a battery management database unit”, and “a user data modification unit” in claim 1.
Claim limitation “battery status acquisition unit” has/have been interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because it uses/they use a generic placeholder “unit” coupled with functional language “configured to acquire…identification data…and electrical characteristic data” without reciting sufficient structure to achieve the function. Furthermore, the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier.
Since the claim limitation(s) invokes 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, claims 1-6 and 9-20 have been interpreted to cover the corresponding structure described in the specification that achieves the claimed function, and equivalents thereof.
A review of the specification shows that the following appears to be the corresponding structure described in the specification for the 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph limitation: “a data processing device” (¶ 0028 of specification as originally filed); and “a central processing unit (CPU: Central Processing Unit), and a storage device” (¶ 0038 of specification as originally filed).
Claim limitation “battery capacity authentication unit” has/have been interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because it uses/they use a generic placeholder “unit” coupled with functional language “configured to authenticate the chargeable capacity” without reciting sufficient structure to achieve the function. Furthermore, the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier.
Since the claim limitation(s) invokes 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, claims 1-6 and 9-20 have been interpreted to cover the corresponding structure described in the specification that achieves the claimed function, and equivalents thereof.
A review of the specification shows that the following appears to be the corresponding structure described in the specification for the 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph limitation: “a data processing device” (¶ 0028 of specification as originally filed); and “a central processing unit (CPU: Central Processing Unit), and a storage device” (¶ 0038 of specification as originally filed).
Claim limitation “battery management database unit” has/have been interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because it uses/they use a generic placeholder “unit” coupled with functional language “configured to record the identification data” without reciting sufficient structure to achieve the function. Furthermore, the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier.
Since the claim limitation(s) invokes 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, claims 1-6 and 9-20 have been interpreted to cover the corresponding structure described in the specification that achieves the claimed function, and equivalents thereof.
A review of the specification shows that the following appears to be the corresponding structure described in the specification for the 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph limitation: “a data processing device” (¶ 0028 of specification as originally filed); and “a central processing unit (CPU: Central Processing Unit), and a storage device” (¶ 0038 of specification as originally filed).
Claim limitation “user data modification unit” has/have been interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because it uses/they use a generic placeholder “unit” coupled with functional language “configured to modify the association…” without reciting sufficient structure to achieve the function. Furthermore, the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier.
Since the claim limitation(s) invokes 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, claims 1-6 and 9-20 have been interpreted to cover the corresponding structure described in the specification that achieves the claimed function, and equivalents thereof.
A review of the specification shows that the following appears to be the corresponding structure described in the specification for the 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph limitation: “a data processing device” (¶ 0028 of specification as originally filed); and “a central processing unit (CPU: Central Processing Unit), and a storage device” (¶ 0038 of specification as originally filed).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to a judicial exception (abstract idea) without reciting additional elements that integrate the judicial exception into a practical application. Moreover, the claims do not appear to recite additional elements that amount to significantly more than the judicial exception.
Claim 1 recites a battery management system including various “units” which recite functionality performed by a central processing unit and a storage device (see 112(f) interpretation above). The recited functionality of the “units” are directed to data manipulation and/or calculations that may be performed through a mental process and is thus considered a Judicial Exception. This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application because, e.g., the recited functionality of the units do not constitute a technological improvement, are not integrated with a specific machine, and do not transform a specific article. The claim(s) does/do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because the additional elements (i.e., the “units”) are recited at a high level of generality and are interpreted as generic computer components performing well-known, routine, and conventional computer functions.
Claims 2-6 and 9-20 do not appear to make the claims eligible for reasons similar to those noted above and are therefore also rejected under 35 USC 101. It is noted that the additional elements of “a user terminal” in claim 3 and “a distribution server” in claim 4 are considered “field of use” recitations (see MPEP 2106.05(h)) and are recited at a high level of generality, and are therefore not considered a practical application or significantly more.
Claim 7 recites a battery management method including various “steps” that are directed to data manipulation and/or calculations that may be performed through a mental process and is thus considered a Judicial Exception. This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application because, e.g., the recited functionality does not constitute a technological improvement, is not integrated with a specific machine, and does not transform a specific article. The claim(s) does/do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception.
Claim 8 recites a battery management program recorded on a non-transitory computer readable medium including various “procedures” that are directed to data manipulation and/or calculations that may be performed through a mental process and is thus considered a Judicial Exception. This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application because, e.g., the recited functionality does not constitute a technological improvement, is not integrated with a specific machine, and does not transform a specific article. The claim(s) does/do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because the additional elements (i.e., the “computer readable medium”) is recited at a high level of generality and is interpreted as a generic computer component performing well-known, routine, and conventional computer functions.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 5-9, 13-14, 16-18, and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by SHIYAMA (US Pub. No. 2020/0009990; cited on IDS with date 7/9/2025).
Regarding claim 1, SHIYAMA discloses a battery management system (comprising 100, Fig. 1, and 200, Fig. 2; ¶ 0028: FIG. 2 schematically illustrates an example of the system configuration of the battery management system 200) for performing charging and discharging of a secondary battery (22, Fig. 2) connected to a battery station (210, Fig. 2; ¶ 0034: the battery station 210 stores one or more mobile batteries 22. For example, the battery station 210 rents one or more mobile batteries 22 to the user; ¶ 0035: battery station 210 charges one or more mobile batteries 22. The battery station 210 discharges one or more mobile batteries 22) and managing the secondary battery with a management server (220, Fig. 2) communicably connected to the battery station (¶ 0039: the management server 220 manages one or more mobile batteries 22; ¶ 0040: the management server 220 manages the battery station 210), the battery management system comprising:
a battery status acquisition unit (comprising at least part of 120, Fig. 1; and/or comprising at least part of 410, Fig. 4) configured to acquire, as secondary battery data, identification data that specifies and identifies the secondary battery (¶ 0063: memory of the mobile battery 22 stores, for example, user identification information (which may also be referred to as a user ID), identification information of the mobile battery 22 (which may also be referred to as a battery ID); ¶ 0104: the reservation management unit 540 manages the reservation status of the mobile battery to be managed. For example, the reservation management unit 540 stores the result of reservation reception processing (which may also be referred to as reservation information) in the request processing unit 560. The reservation information includes, for example, information on a user ID, a receipt date, scheduled time of receipt, a station ID, a battery ID) and electrical characteristic data that indicates electrical characteristics of the secondary battery when connected, when charging or when discharging (¶ 0021: the deterioration information acquisition unit 120 first charges a storage battery to be determined according to a predetermined charging pattern, and acquires a charging curve of the storage battery. The deterioration information acquisition unit 120 also discharges the storage battery used as determination object according to a predetermined discharge pattern, and acquires a discharging curve of the storage battery. Next, the deterioration information acquisition unit 120 analyzes the above charging curve and discharging curve, and determines the deterioration state of the storage battery to be determined; ¶ 0068: the case where the control unit 350 is arranged in the battery station 210 has been described. However, the control unit 350 is not limited to this embodiment. In another embodiment, the function of the control unit 350 or a part of the function of the control unit 350 is realized by the management server 220. For example, at least one of the charge/discharge control unit 354 and the state management unit 356 is located in the management server 220. A part of the charge/discharge control unit 354 may be located in the management server 220. A part of the state management unit 356 may be located in the management server 220; ¶ 0071: the deterioration state determination unit 410 charges or discharges the mobile battery 22 to be determined according to a predetermined charge/discharge pattern. The deterioration state determination unit 410 analyzes an obtained charging/discharging curve and determines the deterioration state of the deterioration state determination unit 410);
a battery capacity authentication unit (comprising at least part of 120, Fig. 1; and/or comprising at least part of 410, Fig. 4) configured to calculate a chargeable capacity of the secondary battery based on the electrical characteristic data and authenticate the chargeable capacity as an authentication capacity (¶ 0021, 0071: see above; the “chargeable capacity” is implied in the charging curve and deterioration state determination, e.g., a battery with less capacity/more deterioration will hit its voltage thresholds much faster than a healthy/less deteriorated battery; ¶ 0151: the data table 1100 stores, for example, a battery ID 1110, a deterioration level 1120, a charging speed 1130, current SOC 1140, a renting status 1150, an operation status 1160, and a storage site 1170 which are mutually related to each other; paragraph 0151 and corresponding Figure 11 show batteries classified by “deterioration level”);
a battery management database unit provided in the management server (a “database unit”, e.g., a memory, is implied in order to implement the “data table” as disclosed in paragraph 0151; memory is disclosed in ¶ 0026 & 0091) and configured to record the identification data in association with the authentication capacity (as shown in Fig. 11, the identification data is “BATTERY ID” and is “in association with” the “DETERIORATION LEVEL”; ¶ 0029: the battery management system 200 manages a rent status, an operating state (e.g., charging, discharging, or waiting), a charge state (e.g., the current SOC), a storage state (e.g., a temperature), a deterioration state, and the like of the mobile batteries 22; ¶ 0151: see above);
a user management database configured to record user data related to a user of the secondary battery in association with the identification data (¶ 0063: memory of the mobile battery 22 stores, for example, user identification information (which may also be referred to as a user ID), identification information of the mobile battery 22 (which may also be referred to as a battery ID), information indicating a movement history or a moving distance of the user or the mobile battery 22, information indicating a deterioration state of the mobile battery 22, information indicating restrictions on charging of the mobile battery 22 (which may also be referred to as a charge condition), information indicating restrictions on discharging of the mobile battery 22 (which may also be referred to as a discharge condition), and the like. User identification information includes: (i) an ID assigned to each user by the battery management system 200 administrator; (ii) a user name; ¶ 0104: see above); and
a user data modification unit (540, Fig. 5) configured to modify the association between the user data and the identification data (¶ 0063, 0104, 0151: see above; a “modification unit” is implied in order to store user data associated with the identification data of the secondary battery).
Regarding claim 2, SHIYAMA discloses the user data modification unit is configured to modify the association between the user data and the identification data based on the authentication capacity (¶ 0022, 0024, 0029, 0039, 0065, 0067, 0074, 0084-0090).
Regarding claim 3, SHIYAMA discloses a user terminal communicably connected to the battery station or the management server, wherein the user data modification unit is configured to modify the association between the user data and the identification data based on an input result from the user terminal (¶ 0129, 0142).
Regarding claim 5, SHIYAMA discloses the electrical characteristic data includes one of a full charge voltage, a full discharge voltage, an open circuit voltage, a closed circuit voltage, a charge characteristic, a discharge characteristic, an internal resistance, a temperature characteristic, a load characteristic, a cyclic use history data, or impedance (¶ 0021, 0071).
Regarding claim 6, SHIYAMA discloses the battery management database is configured to record a plurality of acquisition times and dates of the electrical characteristic data in association with the identification data, wherein the battery capacity authentication unit is configured to authenticate the authentication capacity based on a temporal change of the electrical characteristic data (¶ 0021, 0071, 0151).
Regarding claim 7, SHIYAMA discloses a battery management method (¶ 0029: the battery management system 200 manages one or a plurality of mobile batteries 22. For example, the battery management system 200 manages a rent status, an operating state (e.g., charging, discharging, or waiting), a charge state (e.g., the current SOC), a storage state (e.g., a temperature), a deterioration state, and the like of the mobile batteries 22) comprising:
a battery status acquisition step for acquiring secondary battery data including identification data that specifies and identifies a secondary battery (22, Fig. 2; ¶ 0063: memory of the mobile battery 22 stores, for example, user identification information (which may also be referred to as a user ID), identification information of the mobile battery 22 (which may also be referred to as a battery ID); ¶ 0104: the reservation management unit 540 manages the reservation status of the mobile battery to be managed. For example, the reservation management unit 540 stores the result of reservation reception processing (which may also be referred to as reservation information) in the request processing unit 560. The reservation information includes, for example, information on a user ID, a receipt date, scheduled time of receipt, a station ID, a battery ID) and electrical characteristic data that indicates electrical characteristics of the secondary battery when connected, when charging or when discharging (¶ 0021: the deterioration information acquisition unit 120 first charges a storage battery to be determined according to a predetermined charging pattern, and acquires a charging curve of the storage battery. The deterioration information acquisition unit 120 also discharges the storage battery used as determination object according to a predetermined discharge pattern, and acquires a discharging curve of the storage battery. Next, the deterioration information acquisition unit 120 analyzes the above charging curve and discharging curve, and determines the deterioration state of the storage battery to be determined; ¶ 0068: the case where the control unit 350 is arranged in the battery station 210 has been described. However, the control unit 350 is not limited to this embodiment. In another embodiment, the function of the control unit 350 or a part of the function of the control unit 350 is realized by the management server 220. For example, at least one of the charge/discharge control unit 354 and the state management unit 356 is located in the management server 220. A part of the charge/discharge control unit 354 may be located in the management server 220. A part of the state management unit 356 may be located in the management server 220; ¶ 0071: the deterioration state determination unit 410 charges or discharges the mobile battery 22 to be determined according to a predetermined charge/discharge pattern. The deterioration state determination unit 410 analyzes an obtained charging/discharging curve and determines the deterioration state of the deterioration state determination unit 410);
a battery capacity authentication step for calculating a chargeable capacity of the secondary battery based on the electrical characteristic data and authenticating the chargeable capacity as an authentication capacity (¶ 0021, 0071: the “chargeable capacity” is implied in the charging curve and deterioration state determination, e.g., a battery with less capacity/more deterioration will hit its voltage thresholds much faster than a healthy/less deteriorated battery; ¶ 0151: the data table 1100 stores, for example, a battery ID 1110, a deterioration level 1120, a charging speed 1130, current SOC 1140, a renting status 1150, an operation status 1160, and a storage site 1170 which are mutually related to each other; paragraph 0151 and corresponding Figure 11 show batteries classified by “deterioration level”);
a battery data management step for recording the identification data in association with the authentication capacity (as shown in Fig. 11, the identification data is “BATTERY ID” and is “in association with” the “DETERIORATION LEVEL”; ¶ 0029: the battery management system 200 manages a rent status, an operating state (e.g., charging, discharging, or waiting), a charge state (e.g., the current SOC), a storage state (e.g., a temperature), a deterioration state, and the like of the mobile batteries 22; ¶ 0151: see above);
a user management step for recording user data related to a user of the secondary battery in association with the identification data (¶ 0063: memory of the mobile battery 22 stores, for example, user identification information (which may also be referred to as a user ID), identification information of the mobile battery 22 (which may also be referred to as a battery ID), information indicating a movement history or a moving distance of the user or the mobile battery 22, information indicating a deterioration state of the mobile battery 22, information indicating restrictions on charging of the mobile battery 22 (which may also be referred to as a charge condition), information indicating restrictions on discharging of the mobile battery 22 (which may also be referred to as a discharge condition), and the like. User identification information includes: (i) an ID assigned to each user by the battery management system 200 administrator; (ii) a user name; ¶ 0104: see above); and
a user data modification step for modifying the association between the user data and the identification data (¶ 0063, 0104, 0151: see above; a “modification unit” is implied in order to store user data associated with the identification data of the secondary battery).
Regarding claim 8, SHIYAMA discloses a non-transitory computer readable recording medium on which a battery management program (¶ 0029: the battery management system 200 manages one or a plurality of mobile batteries 22. For example, the battery management system 200 manages a rent status, an operating state (e.g., charging, discharging, or waiting), a charge state (e.g., the current SOC), a storage state (e.g., a temperature), a deterioration state, and the like of the mobile batteries 22) is recorded (¶ 0026: When at least some of the components constituting the information processing apparatus 100 are embodied by software, the components embodied by the software may be implemented by activating software or a program that defines the operations related to the corresponding components in a typically configured information processing apparatus; ¶ 0027: the data processing apparatus or storage device may store the software or the program. The above software or program is executed by the processor to cause the above information processing apparatus to execute an operation defined by the software or program. The above software or program may be stored in a non-transitory computer readable recording medium; ¶ 0028: FIG. 2 schematically illustrates an example of the system configuration of the battery management system 200), the battery management program comprising:
a battery status acquisition procedure for acquiring secondary battery data including identification data that specifies and identifies a secondary battery (22, Fig. 2; ¶ 0063: memory of the mobile battery 22 stores, for example, user identification information (which may also be referred to as a user ID), identification information of the mobile battery 22 (which may also be referred to as a battery ID); ¶ 0104: the reservation management unit 540 manages the reservation status of the mobile battery to be managed. For example, the reservation management unit 540 stores the result of reservation reception processing (which may also be referred to as reservation information) in the request processing unit 560. The reservation information includes, for example, information on a user ID, a receipt date, scheduled time of receipt, a station ID, a battery ID) and electrical characteristic data that indicates electrical characteristics of the secondary battery when connected, when charging or when discharging (¶ 0021: the deterioration information acquisition unit 120 first charges a storage battery to be determined according to a predetermined charging pattern, and acquires a charging curve of the storage battery. The deterioration information acquisition unit 120 also discharges the storage battery used as determination object according to a predetermined discharge pattern, and acquires a discharging curve of the storage battery. Next, the deterioration information acquisition unit 120 analyzes the above charging curve and discharging curve, and determines the deterioration state of the storage battery to be determined; ¶ 0068: the case where the control unit 350 is arranged in the battery station 210 has been described. However, the control unit 350 is not limited to this embodiment. In another embodiment, the function of the control unit 350 or a part of the function of the control unit 350 is realized by the management server 220. For example, at least one of the charge/discharge control unit 354 and the state management unit 356 is located in the management server 220. A part of the charge/discharge control unit 354 may be located in the management server 220. A part of the state management unit 356 may be located in the management server 220; ¶ 0071: the deterioration state determination unit 410 charges or discharges the mobile battery 22 to be determined according to a predetermined charge/discharge pattern. The deterioration state determination unit 410 analyzes an obtained charging/discharging curve and determines the deterioration state of the deterioration state determination unit 410);
a battery capacity authentication procedure for calculating a chargeable capacity of the secondary battery based on the electrical characteristic data and authenticating the chargeable capacity as an authentication capacity (¶ 0021, 0071: the “chargeable capacity” is implied in the charging curve and deterioration state determination, e.g., a battery with less capacity/more deterioration will hit its voltage thresholds much faster than a healthy/less deteriorated battery; ¶ 0151: the data table 1100 stores, for example, a battery ID 1110, a deterioration level 1120, a charging speed 1130, current SOC 1140, a renting status 1150, an operation status 1160, and a storage site 1170 which are mutually related to each other; paragraph 0151 and corresponding Figure 11 show batteries classified by “deterioration level”);
a battery data management procedure for recording the identification data in association with the authentication capacity (as shown in Fig. 11, the identification data is “BATTERY ID” and is “in association with” the “DETERIORATION LEVEL”; ¶ 0029: the battery management system 200 manages a rent status, an operating state (e.g., charging, discharging, or waiting), a charge state (e.g., the current SOC), a storage state (e.g., a temperature), a deterioration state, and the like of the mobile batteries 22; ¶ 0151: see above);
a user management procedure for recording user data related to a user of the secondary battery in association with the identification data (¶ 0063: memory of the mobile battery 22 stores, for example, user identification information (which may also be referred to as a user ID), identification information of the mobile battery 22 (which may also be referred to as a battery ID), information indicating a movement history or a moving distance of the user or the mobile battery 22, information indicating a deterioration state of the mobile battery 22, information indicating restrictions on charging of the mobile battery 22 (which may also be referred to as a charge condition), information indicating restrictions on discharging of the mobile battery 22 (which may also be referred to as a discharge condition), and the like. User identification information includes: (i) an ID assigned to each user by the battery management system 200 administrator; (ii) a user name; ¶ 0104: see above); and
a user data modification procedure for modifying the association between the user data and the identification data (¶ 0063, 0104, 0151: see above; a “modification unit” is implied in order to store user data associated with the identification data of the secondary battery).
Regarding claim 9, SHIYAMA discloses a user terminal communicably connected to the battery station or the management server, wherein the user data modification unit is configured to modify the association between the user data and the identification data based on an input result from the user terminal (¶ 0129, 0142).
Regarding claim 13, SHIYAMA discloses the electrical characteristic data includes one of a full charge voltage, a full discharge voltage, an open circuit voltage, a closed circuit voltage, a charge characteristic, a discharge characteristic, an internal resistance, a temperature characteristic, a load characteristic, a cyclic use history data, or impedance (¶ 0021, 0071).
Regarding claim 14, SHIYAMA discloses the electrical characteristic data includes one of a full charge voltage, a full discharge voltage, an open circuit voltage, a closed circuit voltage, a charge characteristic, a discharge characteristic, an internal resistance, a temperature characteristic, a load characteristic, a cyclic use history data, or impedance (¶ 0021, 0071).
Regarding claim 16, SHIYAMA discloses the electrical characteristic data includes one of a full charge voltage, a full discharge voltage, an open circuit voltage, a closed circuit voltage, a charge characteristic, a discharge characteristic, an internal resistance, a temperature characteristic, a load characteristic, a cyclic use history data, or impedance (¶ 0021, 0071).
Regarding claim 17, SHIYAMA discloses the battery management database is configured to record a plurality of acquisition times and dates of the electrical characteristic data in association with the identification data, wherein the battery capacity authentication unit is configured to authenticate the authentication capacity based on a temporal change of the electrical characteristic data (¶ 0021, 0071, 0151).
Regarding claim 18, SHIYAMA discloses the battery management database is configured to record a plurality of acquisition times and dates of the electrical characteristic data in association with the identification data, wherein the battery capacity authentication unit is configured to authenticate the authentication capacity based on a temporal change of the electrical characteristic data (¶ 0021, 0071, 0151).
Regarding claim 20, SHIYAMA discloses the battery management database is configured to record a plurality of acquisition times and dates of the electrical characteristic data in association with the identification data, wherein the battery capacity authentication unit is configured to authenticate the authentication capacity based on a temporal change of the electrical characteristic data (¶ 0021, 0071, 0151).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4, 10-12, 15, and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over SHIYAMA as applied to claims 1-3, 5-9, 13-14, 16-18, and 20 above, and further in view of MUNAKATA (JP2020038522A; cited on IDS with date 10/20/2023; English machine translation is included with office action).
Regarding claim 4, SHIYAMA discloses the battery management system as applied to claim 1, but fails to disclose a distribution server communicably connected to the management server; wherein the distribution server includes a presentation unit configured to present the authentication capacity of the secondary battery identified by the identification data to another user, and a receiving unit configured to receive acquisition offer data from the other user, wherein the user data modification unit is configured to modify the association between the user data and the identification data based on the acquisition offer data.
MUNAKATA discloses the [server] (1, Fig. 1) includes a presentation unit configured to present the authentication capacity of the secondary battery identified by the identification data to another user (¶ 0064, 0075, 0079), and a receiving unit configured to receive acquisition offer data from the other user (¶ 0080-0083), wherein the user data modification unit is configured to modify the association between the user data and the identification data based on the acquisition offer data (¶ 0065, 0105). It would have been a routine design choice to provide the claimed functionality into a separate, communicably connected “distribution server”, as doing so merely rearranges known elements without changing their respective functions or yielding unpredictable results.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include the distribution server, presentation unit, receiving unit, and acquisition offer data as recited in order to efficiently support battery reuse by determining the application of batteries (MUNAKATA, ¶ 0010).
Regarding claim 10, SHIYAMA discloses the battery management system as applied to claim 2, but fails to disclose a distribution server communicably connected to the management server; wherein the distribution server includes a presentation unit configured to present the authentication capacity of the secondary battery identified by the identification data to another user, and a receiving unit configured to receive acquisition offer data from the other user, wherein the user data modification unit is configured to modify the association between the user data and the identification data based on the acquisition offer data.
MUNAKATA discloses the [server] (1, Fig. 1) includes a presentation unit configured to present the authentication capacity of the secondary battery identified by the identification data to another user (¶ 0064, 0075, 0079), and a receiving unit configured to receive acquisition offer data from the other user (¶ 0080-0083), wherein the user data modification unit is configured to modify the association between the user data and the identification data based on the acquisition offer data (¶ 0065, 0105). It would have been a routine design choice to provide the claimed functionality into a separate, communicably connected “distribution server”, as doing so merely rearranges known elements without changing their respective functions or yielding unpredictable results.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include the distribution server, presentation unit, receiving unit, and acquisition offer data as recited in order to efficiently support battery reuse by determining the application of batteries (MUNAKATA, ¶ 0010).
Regarding claim 11, SHIYAMA discloses the battery management system as applied to claim 3, but fails to disclose a distribution server communicably connected to the management server; wherein the distribution server includes a presentation unit configured to present the authentication capacity of the secondary battery identified by the identification data to another user, and a receiving unit configured to receive acquisition offer data from the other user, wherein the user data modification unit is configured to modify the association between the user data and the identification data based on the acquisition offer data.
MUNAKATA discloses the [server] (1, Fig. 1) includes a presentation unit configured to present the authentication capacity of the secondary battery identified by the identification data to another user (¶ 0064, 0075, 0079), and a receiving unit configured to receive acquisition offer data from the other user (¶ 0080-0083), wherein the user data modification unit is configured to modify the association between the user data and the identification data based on the acquisition offer data (¶ 0065, 0105). It would have been a routine design choice to provide the claimed functionality into a separate, communicably connected “distribution server”, as doing so merely rearranges known elements without changing their respective functions or yielding unpredictable results.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include the distribution server, presentation unit, receiving unit, and acquisition offer data as recited in order to efficiently support battery reuse by determining the application of batteries (MUNAKATA, ¶ 0010).
Regarding claim 12, SHIYAMA discloses the battery management system as applied to claim 9, but fails to disclose a distribution server communicably connected to the management server; wherein the distribution server includes a presentation unit configured to present the authentication capacity of the secondary battery identified by the identification data to another user, and a receiving unit configured to receive acquisition offer data from the other user, wherein the user data modification unit is configured to modify the association between the user data and the identification data based on the acquisition offer data.
MUNAKATA discloses the [server] (1, Fig. 1) includes a presentation unit configured to present the authentication capacity of the secondary battery identified by the identification data to another user (¶ 0064, 0075, 0079), and a receiving unit configured to receive acquisition offer data from the other user (¶ 0080-0083), wherein the user data modification unit is configured to modify the association between the user data and the identification data based on the acquisition offer data (¶ 0065, 0105). It would have been a routine design choice to provide the claimed functionality into a separate, communicably connected “distribution server”, as doing so merely rearranges known elements without changing their respective functions or yielding unpredictable results.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include the distribution server, presentation unit, receiving unit, and acquisition offer data as recited in order to efficiently support battery reuse by determining the application of batteries (MUNAKATA, ¶ 0010).
Regarding claim 15, SHIYAMA discloses the electrical characteristic data includes one of a full charge voltage, a full discharge voltage, an open circuit voltage, a closed circuit voltage, a charge characteristic, a discharge characteristic, an internal resistance, a temperature characteristic, a load characteristic, a cyclic use history data, or impedance (¶ 0021, 0071).
Regarding claim 19, SHIYAMA discloses the battery management database is configured to record a plurality of acquisition times and dates of the electrical characteristic data in association with the identification data, wherein the battery capacity authentication unit is configured to authenticate the authentication capacity based on a temporal change of the electrical characteristic data (¶ 0021, 0071, 0151).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record on form PTO-892 and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
/Manuel Hernandez/Examiner, Art Unit 2859 6/23/2026
/DREW A DUNN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2859