DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Application
This action is responsive to the amendment dated 1/02/2026. Claims 1-15 remain pending. Claim 12 has been amended. Claims 1-11 remain withdrawn. The applicant’s amendment has necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection below. This action is Final.
Response to Remarks
Applicant's amendment to recite a pair of flats formed on opposite sides of the largest diameter cylindrical portion has overcome the rejection of record. However, a new ground(s) of rejection is applied to the claims below. As such, applicant's arguments with respect to the 103 rejection over Dufendach in view of Cooley have not been found persuasive. A new interpretation of Dufendach in view of Cooley as stated below in the 103 rejection teaches each and every limitation including a pair of flats formed on opposite sides of the largest diameter cylindrical portion.
In response to applicant's argument that Cooley is nonanalogous art, it has been held that a prior art reference must either be in the field of the inventor’s endeavor or, if not, then be reasonably pertinent to the particular problem with which the inventor was concerned, in order to be relied upon as a basis for rejection of the claimed invention. See In re Oetiker, 977 F.2d 1443, 24 USPQ2d 1443 (Fed. Cir. 1992). In this case, is reasonably pertinent to the particular problem with which the inventor was concerned, which is to provide a means which allows the user to use a tool to fasten and/or secure the filler neck as desired.
Applicant's amendments to the claims have necessitated further search and/or consideration and/or revision of the rejection, and accordingly, this action must be made Final.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 12-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dufendach et al. (US 2020/0047608, hereafter “Dufendach”) in view of Cooley (US 2022/0227223).
Regarding claim 12, Dufendach discloses a funnel (40) for a fuel fill tube assembly comprising: a plurality of cylindrical portions (as shown best in Fig. 2, see the multiple cylindrical portions that are separated by the tapered portions) each separated by a respective tapered transition portion (as shown in Fig. 2, see the tapered portions that separate the cylindrical portions), the plurality of cylindrical portions decreasing in diameter along a length of the funnel from a largest diameter cylindrical portion to a smallest diameter cylindrical portion (Fig. 2), wherein the funnel includes a large opening (the opening proximal to 50 with reference to Fig. 2) at a first end (the end that is proximal to 50 with reference to Fig. 2) and a small opening (the opening that feeds fluid into 32) at a second end (the end connected to 32), a flange (Exhibit A) surrounding the large opening, but fails to disclose a pair of flats formed on opposite sides of the largest cylindrical portion.
Cooley teaches a pair of flats (102; Fig. 2) formed on opposite sides of the largest diameter cylindrical portion. (Fig. 2)
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to modify the outer surface of the largest diameter cylindrical portion of Dufendach to include flats as taught by Cooley in order to provide a surface which allows a tool to access for installation or removal as desired by the user. (para. [0030])
Exhibit A
Regarding claim 13, Dufendach in view of Cooley further disclose the funnel of claim 12, wherein the funnel is tubular (Figs. 1-6), but fails to disclose has a wall thickness within a range of between 0.04 in and 0.02 in.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to modify the wall thickness to be within a range of between 0.04 in and 0.02 in since it has been held that “where the only difference between the prior art and the claims was a recitation of relative dimensions of the claimed device and a device having the claimed relative dimensions would not perform differently than the prior art device, the claimed device was not patentably distinct from the prior art device” Gardner v. TEC Syst., Inc., 725 F.2d 1338, 220 USPQ 777 (Fed. Cir. 1984), cert. denied, 469 U.S. 830, 225 SPQ 232 (1984). In the instant case, the device of Dufendach would not operate differently with the claimed thickness. Further, Applicant places no criticality on the claimed thickness in the specification.
Regarding claim 14, Dufendach in view of Cooley further disclose the funnel of claim 13, but fails to disclose wherein the wall thickness is 0.026 in.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to modify the wall thickness is 0.026 in since it has been held that “where the only difference between the prior art and the claims was a recitation of relative dimensions of the claimed device and a device having the claimed relative dimensions would not perform differently than the prior art device, the claimed device was not patentably distinct from the prior art device” Gardner v. TEC Syst., Inc., 725 F.2d 1338, 220 USPQ 777 (Fed. Cir. 1984), cert. denied, 469 U.S. 830, 225 SPQ 232 (1984). In the instant case, the device of Dufendach would not operate differently with the claimed thickness. Further, Applicant places no criticality on the claimed thickness in the specification.
Regarding claim 15, Dufendach in view of Cooley further disclose the funnel of claim 14, wherein the funnel is of a unitary one-piece construction. (Figs. 1-6 show a one-piece construction)
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/PAUL J GRAY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3753