DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
The amendments filed on August 6, 2026 have been entered.
Claims 1, 3, 22-23, and 27 have been amended.
Applicant’s amendment to claim 27 is sufficient to overcome the claim objections set forth in the previous office action. The examiner has withdrawn the objection for claim 27.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed on August 6, 2026, have been fully considered but they are moot in view of the new grounds of rejection.
In addition, the amended claims 22-23 are taught by Campbell in view of Humphrey; see the rejection below.
The Applicant has noted in the response considering filling a terminal disclaimer. The Double Patenting rejection is still maintained by the Examiner until the terminal disclaimer is filed officially by the Applicant.
Claim Objections
Claims 23 is objected to because of the following informality:
Claim 23 recites the limitation in lines 5-6 “detecting an unauthorized access attempt to the fixture,” it should read “detecting the unauthorized access attempt to the fixture.”
Appropriate correction is required.
Double Patenting
(Fed. Cir. 1993); In re Longi, 759 F.2d 887, 225 USPQ 645 (Fed. Cir. 1985); In re Van Ornum,
686 F.2d 937, 214 USPQ 761 (CCPA 1982); In re Vogel, 422 F.2d 438, 164 USPQ 619 (CCPA 1970); and In re Thorington, 418 F.2d 528, 163 USPQ 644 (CCPA 1969).
The USPTO internet Web site contains terminal disclaimer forms which may be used. Please visit http://www.uspto.gov/forms/. The filing date of the application will determine what form should be used. A web-based eTerminal Disclaimer may be filled out completely online using webscreens. An eTerminal Disclaimer that meets all requirements is auto-processed and approved immediately upon submission. For more information about eTerminal Disclaimers, refer to http://www.uspto.gov/patents/process/file/efs/guidance/eTD-info-I.jsp.
Claims 1-17, 19-20, 22-24, and 27-31 are rejected on the ground of the provisional nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-2, 4-10, 16-17, and 19-24 of the Application 18/060,759. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other as illustrated in the table below. The subject matter claimed in the instant application is fully disclosed in the referenced application since the referenced application and the instant application are claiming common subject matter, as shown in Table below.
Regarding Claim 1:
Instant Application No. 18/287,796
Reference Application No. 17/529,824
1. A data center monitoring system comprising:
1. A data center monitoring system for detecting unauthorized access to a fixture in a data center, wherein the fixture defines an enclosure having a top edge, a bottom edge, and an access opening defined therebetween, the data center monitoring system comprising:
at least one sensor configured to be attached to a fixture in a data center, wherein the at least one sensor is configured to transmit an optical signal for detecting an unauthorized access attempt to the fixture;
an array of sensors configured to be located at the top edge of the fixture, wherein the array of sensors is configured to transmit a plurality of optical signals towards the bottom edge of the fixture for detecting an unauthorized access attempt into the access opening of the fixture; and
a reflective component spaced from the at least one sensor, wherein the reflective component is configured to reflect the at least one optical signal back to the at least one sensor; and
19. a reflective component spaced at a predetermined distance from the array of sensors, wherein the reflective component is configured to reflect the plurality of optical signals back to the array of sensors.
at least one monitoring device configured to communicate with the at least one sensor, wherein the at least one monitoring device is configured to receive a signal from the at least one sensor indicative of the unauthorized access attempt to the fixture.
at least one monitoring device configured to communicate with the array of sensors, wherein the at least one monitoring device is configured to receive a signal from the at
US Application No. 17/529,824, doesn’t explicitly disclose wherein the at least one sensor is configured to scan an area surrounding the reflective component for calibrating a position of the sensor relative to the reflective component.
However, Allenberg-Rabe (Pub. No. US 2019/0270161) discloses wherein the at least one sensor is configured to scan an area surrounding the reflective component to find a location of the reflective component for calibrating a position of the sensor relative to the reflective component to capture a desired field of detection (See Parag. [0016]; the calibration can be carried out as follows: the retroreflector in the form of the three-dimensional object is arranged at a specified reflector position in the processing field, and a target position that notionally corresponds to the predetermined reflector position in the processing field is specified for the scanner device. If the actual position of the laser beam in the processing field corresponds exactly to the specified target position, the laser beam is maximally reflected on the retroreflector, e.g., a maximum intensity of the reflected laser radiation is detected. In the event of deviations between the actual position and the target position, a lower intensity of the reflected laser radiation is detected. To determine the actual position of the laser beam that corresponds to the reflector position, the scanner device passes over the retroreflector multiple times, during which the scanner device scans a region that has a predetermined spatial extension around the notional reflector position and the laser radiation reflected in each case is detected. Using image analysis, an intensity centroid is identified as the actual position from the two-dimensional intensity distribution (e.g., bitmap image) of the detected laser radiation. The actual position of the laser beam determined in this manner corresponds exactly to the reflector position. However, there is generally a deviation between the actual position and a target position specified for the scanner device (originally). This deviation is corrected in that, for example, the angular configurations present in the scanner device on the two scanner mirrors when the reflector position is reached are assigned to the actual position or reflector position as a new target position and stored in a memory device. If, during the subsequent processing, the scanner device positions the laser beam at a position in the processing field that corresponds to the reflector position, the corrected target position is specified for the scanner device. See also Parag. [0009]).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the teaching, taught by Campbell, to include the at least one sensor is configured to scan an area surrounding the reflective component to find a location of the reflective component for calibrating a position of the sensor relative to the reflective component to capture a desired field of detection, as taught by Allenberg-Rabe. This would be convenient for calibrating scanner devices as well as allowing a laser beam to be very accurately positioned in a processing field (Allenberg-Rabe, Parag. [0008]).
Regarding Claim 2:
Instant Application No. 18/287,796
Reference Application No. 17/529,824
2. The data center monitoring system of Claim 1, wherein the fixture is a server rack or server cabinet.
2. The data center monitoring system of Claim 1, wherein the fixture is a server rack or server cabinet.
Regarding Claim 3:
Instant Application No. 18/287,796
Reference Application No. 17/529,824
3. The data center monitoring system of Claim 1, wherein the fixture defines an enclosure within an access opening, and wherein the at least one sensor is configured to transmit the optical signal for detecting unauthorized access into the opening.
1. A data center monitoring system for detecting unauthorized access to a fixture in a data center, wherein the fixture defines an enclosure having a top edge, a bottom edge, and an access opening defined therebetween, array of sensors is configured to transmit a plurality of optical signals towards the bottom edge of the fixture for detecting an unauthorized access attempt into the access opening of the fixture
Regarding Claim 4:
Instant Application No. 18/287,796
Reference Application No. 17/529,824
4. The data center monitoring system of Claim 1, wherein the at least one sensor or the at least one monitoring device is configured to communicate a notification message to one or more remote devices.
4. The data center monitoring system of Claim 1, wherein the array of sensors or the at least one monitoring device is configured to communicate a notification message to one or more remote devices.
Regarding Claim 5:
Instant Application No. 18/287,796
Reference Application No. 17/529,824
5. The data center monitoring system of Claim 1, wherein the at least one sensor is configured to wirelessly communicate with the at least one monitoring device.
5. The data center monitoring system of Claim 1, wherein the
Regarding Claim 6:
Instant Application No. 18/287,796
Reference Application No. 17/529,824
6. The data center monitoring system of Claim 1, wherein the at least one sensor is electrically connected to the at least one monitoring device via one or more cables.
6. The data center monitoring system of Claim 1, wherein the array of sensors is electrically connected to the at least one monitoring device via one or more cables.
Regarding Claim 7:
Instant Application No. 18/287,796
Reference Application No. 17/529,824
7. The data center monitoring system of Claim 1, wherein the at least one monitoring device is a controller.
7. The data center monitoring system of Claim 1, wherein the at least one monitoring device is a controller.
Regarding Claim 8:
Instant Application No. 18/287,796
Reference Application No. 17/529,824
8. The data center monitoring system of Claim 1, wherein the at least one monitoring device is a computer.
8. The data center monitoring system of Claim 1, wherein the at least one monitoring device is a computer.
Regarding Claim 9:
Instant Application No. 18/287,796
Reference Application No. 17/529,824
9. The data center monitoring system of Claim 1, further comprising a plurality of sensors, each sensor coupled to a respective fixture.
9. The data center monitoring system of Claim 1, further comprising a plurality of arrays of sensors, each array coupled to a respective fixture.
Regarding Claim 10:
Instant Application No. 18/287,796
Reference Application No. 17/529,824
10. The data center monitoring system of Claim 9, wherein the at least one monitoring device is configured to communicate with each of the plurality of sensors.
10. The data center monitoring system of Claim 9, wherein the at least one monitoring device is configured to communicate with each of the plurality of arrays.
Regarding Claim 11:
Instant Application No. 18/287,796
Reference Application No. 17/529,824
11. The data center monitoring system of Claim 1, wherein the at least one sensor is an array of sensors configured to transmit a plurality of optical signals for detecting an unauthorized access attempt to the fixture.
1. the array of sensors is configured to transmit a plurality of optical signals towards the bottom edge of the fixture for detecting an unauthorized access attempt into the access opening of the fixture
Regarding Claim 12:
Reference Applicant 17/529,824 doesn’t explicitly disclose wherein each of sensors in the array of sensors is configured to direct its optical signal at a different direction than at least one other sensor.
However, Camilo Gomes et al. (Patent No. US 9,858,795) discloses wherein each of sensors in the array of sensors is configured to direct its optical signal at a different direction than at least one other sensor (See Fig. 2 and Col. 4 lines 3-6; a number of laser emitters 210 are installed to generate laser lines-of-sight 220 across the cold aisle 270 to a number of reflectors 215 that are located across the cold aisle 270).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the teaching, taught by Campbell in view of Patterson, to include transmitting optical signals at a different direction, as taught by Camilo Gomes. This would be convenient to detect the interruption of the laser light emitted by the emitter (Camilo Gomes, Col.4 lines 36-37).
Regarding Claim 13:
Instant Application No. 18/287,796
Reference Application No. 17/529,824
13. The data center monitoring system of Claim 1, further comprising an access control point coupled to the fixture and configured to control access to the fixture.
16. The data center monitoring system of Claim 1, further comprising an access control point coupled to the fixture and configured to control access to the fixture.
Regarding Claim 14:
Instant Application No. 18/287,796
Reference Application No. 17/529,824
14. The data center monitoring system of Claim 13, wherein the access control point is configured to communicate with a key for arming or disarming the access control point.
17. The data center monitoring system of Claim 16, wherein the access control point is configured to communicate with a key for arming or disarming the access control point.
Regarding Claim 15:
Instant Application No. 18/287,796
Reference Application No. 17/529,824
15. The data center monitoring system of Claim 1, wherein the reflective component is spaced a predetermined distance from the at least one sensor.
19. The data center monitoring system of Claim 1, further comprising a reflective component spaced at a predetermined distance from the array of sensors, wherein the reflective component is configured to reflect the plurality of optical signals back to the array of sensors.
Regarding Claim 16:
Instant Application No. 18/287,796
Reference Application No. 17/529,824
16. The data center monitoring system of Claim 15, wherein the reflective component comprises a retroreflective tape.
20. The data center monitoring system of Claim 19, wherein the reflective component comprises a retroreflective tape.
Regarding Claim 17:
Reference Applicant 17/529,824 doesn’t explicitly disclose wherein the reflective component comprises a plurality of segments of retroreflective tape.
However, Patterson et al. (Pub. No. 2017/0294088) disclose wherein the reflective component comprises a plurality of segments of retroreflective tape (See Parag. [0024] and Fig. 3; reflector element 300 is a retroreflector, meaning that it reflects light back to its source with a minimum of scattering. Reflector element 300 can be comprised of a plurality of transparent optical beads or microspheres 302. Accordingly, an optical wave which arrives at the reflector element 300 in a first vector direction is reflected back along a second vector direction that is parallel to but opposite to the transmit vector direction. The microspheres can be secured or embedded in a binder material 304 in a random or predetermined pattern. The binder material 304 can be a colorless clear paint, a flexible substrate in the form of a tape with adhesive disposed on one surface to secure the tape to a surface, or any other suitable material that is capable of securing the microspheres in a location).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the teaching, taught by Campbell, to comprises a retroreflective tape, as taught by Patterson. This would be convenient to monitor openings and closing of the doors and windows and/or other intrusions for purposes of triggering alerts and/or alarms (Patterson, Parag. [0028]).
Regarding Claim 19:
Instant Application No. 18/287,796
Reference Application No. 17/529,824
19. The data center monitoring system of Claim 1, wherein the at least one sensor is configured to detect an interruption in the optical signal.
21. The data center monitoring system of Claim 1, wherein the array of sensors is configured to detect an interruption in the plurality of optical signals.
Regarding Claim 20:
Instant Application No. 18/287,796
Reference Application No. 17/529,824
20. The data center monitoring system of Claim 17, wherein the at least one sensor is configured to detect an interruption in the optical signal using time of flight.
22. The data center monitoring system of Claim 21, wherein the array of sensors is configured to detect an interruption in the plurality of optical signals using time of flight.
Regarding Claim 22:
Instant Application No. 18/287,796
Reference Application No. 17/529,824
22. A data center monitoring system comprising:
23. A data center monitoring system comprising:
a plurality of server racks located in a data center;
a server rack located in a data center, wherein the server rack defines an enclosure having a top edge, a bottom edge, and an access opening defined therebetween;
a plurality of sensors each configured to be attached to a respective server rack, each sensor configured to transmit an optical signal towards a reflective component for detecting an unauthorized access attempt to the server rack; and
at least one sensor configured to be located at the top edge of the server rack, the at least one sensor configured to transmit a wireless signal towards the bottom edge of the fixture for detecting an unauthorized access attempt into the access opening of the server rack; a reflective component spaced at a predetermined distance from the at least one sensor, wherein the reflective component is a retroreflective tape configured to reflect the wireless signal back to the at least one sensor; and
at least one monitoring device configured to communicate with each of the plurality of sensors, the at least one monitoring device configured to receive a signal from each of the plurality of sensors indicative of the unauthorized access attempt to a respective server rack.
at least one monitoring device configured to communicate with the at least one sensor, the at least one monitoring device configured to receive a signal from the at least one sensor indicative of an unauthorized access attempt into the server rack due to an interruption in the wireless signal.
US Application No. 17/529,824, doesn’t explicitly disclose the transmitted signal is an optical signal; transmit the optical signal towards the reflective component and within a field of detection, the plurality of sensors configured to automatically configure a shape of the field of detection of the plurality of sensors to capture a desired field of detection.
However, Humphrey et al. (Patent No. US 12,332,350) discloses: sensor configured to transmit an optical signal towards a reflective component and within a field of detection (See Col. 1 lines 54-67; sensor system can comprise an orthogonal laser metrology sensor system for detecting an object and its position in a field of view of a beam fan. The system can comprise a reflection detector sensor array arranged to detect a light beam reflected by an object impinged by a beam fan in the field of view and output a reflected beam position trigger signal. See Col. 4 lines 60-63; OLMS (Orthogonal Laser Metrology Sensor) device that is be arranged to fan and scan a laser beam in one or more planes and detect when and where the laser beam encounters an object or surface, including an object such as a reflector device. See Col. 5 lines 3-17; The OLMS device 1 can include a laser module having a laser beam source 10, an optical system 20, and a scanning mirror module 50); and
the plurality of sensors configured to automatically configure a shape of the field of detection of the plurality of sensors to capture a desired field of detection (See Col. 4 lines 60-63; OLMS (Orthogonal Laser Metrology Sensor) device that is be arranged to fan and scan a laser beam in one or more planes and detect when and where the laser beam encounters an object or surface, including an object such as a reflector device. See Col. 17 lines 32-47; a beam reflection data, including center data, can be output from the speedup processor 130 (i.e., within OLMS device) to an SPI input of the central processor 100, which can then be used by the central processor 100 to determine the angle data. If the angle of the scanning mirror 150A is known at the time of reflection, then the angle between the OLMS device 1 and the reflector device 2 can be determined. By using triangulation, multiple OLMS devices 1 or multiple reflector devices 2 can be used to determine the range to a target and its lateral position. The central processor 130 can be arranged to use calibration data to convert the time value into an angle value for a reflector device positioned within the OLMS device's field of view, with a known angle between the reflector device and the OLMS device 1. The OLMS device 1 can be arranged to rotate a known set of angles to generate a calibration table that equates a time value to an angle value).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the teaching, taught by Campbell, to include sensor configured to transmit an optical signal towards a reflective component and within a field of detection, the plurality of sensors configured to automatically configure a shape of the field of detection of the plurality of sensors, as taught by Humphrey. This would be convenient to implementing orthogonal laser metrology for detection, measurement, monitoring, identifying or tracking, including, but not limited to, size, shape, orientation, location or motion of an object, a surface or a target in multidimensional space (Humphrey, Col. 1 lines 6-13).
Regarding Claim 23:
Instant Application No. 18/287,796
Reference Application No. 17/529,824
23. A method for monitoring a data center comprising:
23. A data center monitoring system comprising:
a plurality of sensors attached to a fixture in a data center for detecting unauthorized access attempts to the fixture
a plurality of server racks located in a data center; a plurality of sensors each configured to be attached to a respective server rack, each sensor configured to transmit a wireless signal for detecting an unauthorized access attempt to the server rack;
transmitting an optical signal with at least one sensor attached to a fixture in a data center towards a reflective component for detecting an unauthorized access attempt to the fixture; and
24. transmitting a plurality of optical signals towards the bottom edge of the fixture with an array of sensors located at the top edge of the fixture for detecting an unauthorized access attempt into the access opening of the fixture; and
22. reflective component
receiving a signal at a monitoring device from the at least one sensor indicative of the unauthorized access attempt to the fixture.
receiving a signal at a monitoring device from the array of sensors indicative of the unauthorized access attempt.
US Application No. 17/529,824, doesn’t explicitly disclose configuring a shape of a field of detection of a plurality of sensors to capture a desired field of detection; transmitting optical signals with at least one the plurality of sensors within the field of detection towards a reflective component.
However, Humphrey et al. (Patent No. US 12,332,350) discloses configuring a shape of a field of detection of a plurality of sensors to capture a desired field of detection (See Col. 4 lines 60-63; OLMS (Orthogonal Laser Metrology Sensor) device that is be arranged to fan and scan a laser beam in one or more planes and detect when and where the laser beam encounters an object or surface, including an object such as a reflector device. See Col. 17 lines 32-47; a beam reflection data, including center data, can be output from the speedup processor 130 (i.e., within OLMS device) to an SPI input of the central processor 100, which can then be used by the central processor 100 to determine the angle data. If the angle of the scanning mirror 150A is known at the time of reflection, then the angle between the OLMS device 1 and the reflector device 2 can be determined. By using triangulation, multiple OLMS devices 1 or multiple reflector devices 2 can be used to determine the range to a target and its lateral position. The central processor 130 can be arranged to use calibration data to convert the time value into an angle value for a reflector device positioned within the OLMS device's field of view, with a known angle between the reflector device and the OLMS device 1. The OLMS device 1 can be arranged to rotate a known set of angles to generate a calibration table that equates a time value to an angle value);
transmitting optical signals with at least one the plurality of sensors within the field of detection towards a reflective component (See Col. 1 lines 54-67; sensor system can comprise an orthogonal laser metrology sensor system for detecting an object and its position in a field of view of a beam fan. The system can comprise a reflection detector sensor array arranged to detect a light beam reflected by an object impinged by a beam fan in the field of view and output a reflected beam position trigger signal. See Col. 4 lines 60-63; OLMS (Orthogonal Laser Metrology Sensor) device that is be arranged to fan and scan a laser beam in one or more planes and detect when and where the laser beam encounters an object or surface, including an object such as a reflector device. See Col. 5 lines 3-17; The OLMS device 1 can include a laser module having a laser beam source 10, an optical system 20, and a scanning mirror module 50).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the teaching, taught by Campbell, to include configuring a shape of a field of detection of a plurality of sensors; transmitting optical signals with at least one the plurality of sensors within the field of detection towards a reflective component, as taught by Humphrey. This would be convenient to implementing orthogonal laser metrology for detection, measurement, monitoring, identifying or tracking, including, but not limited to, size, shape, orientation, location or motion of an object, a surface or a target in multidimensional space (Humphrey, Col. 1 lines 6-13).
Regarding Claim 24:
Reference Applicant 17/529,824 doesn’t explicitly disclose scanning an area surrounding the reflective component with the plurality of sensors for calibrating a position of the plurality of sensors.
However, Humphrey et al. (Patent No. US 12,332,350) discloses scanning an area surrounding the reflective component with the plurality of sensors for calibrating a position of the plurality of sensors (See Col. 4 lines 60-63; OLMS (Orthogonal Laser Metrology Sensor) device that is be arranged to fan and scan a laser beam in one or more planes and detect when and where the laser beam encounters an object or surface, including an object such as a reflector device. See Col. 17 lines 32-47; a beam reflection data, including center data, can be output from the speedup processor 130 (i.e., within OLMS device) to an SPI input of the central processor 100, which can then be used by the central processor 100 to determine the angle data. If the angle of the scanning mirror 150A is known at the time of reflection, then the angle between the OLMS device 1 and the reflector device 2 can be determined. By using triangulation, multiple OLMS devices 1 or multiple reflector devices 2 can be used to determine the range to a target and its lateral position. The central processor 130 can be arranged to use calibration data to convert the time value into an angle value for a reflector device positioned within the OLMS device's field of view, with a known angle between the reflector device and the OLMS device 1. The OLMS device 1 can be arranged to rotate a known set of angles to generate a calibration table that equates a time value to an angle value. See Col. 5 lines 31-38 and Col. 14 lines 13-22).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the teaching, taught by Campbell, to include scanning an area surrounding the reflective component with the plurality of sensors for calibrating a position of the plurality of sensors, as taught by Humphrey. This would be convenient to implementing orthogonal laser metrology for detection, measurement, monitoring, identifying or tracking, including, but not limited to, size, shape, orientation, location or motion of an object, a surface or a target in multidimensional space (Humphrey, Col. 1 lines 6-13).
Regarding Claim 27:
Reference Applicant 17/529,824 discloses the plurality of sensors attached to the fixture in the data center for detecting unauthorized access attempts to the fixture (Claim 23: a plurality of server racks located in a data center; a plurality of sensors each configured to be attached to a respective server rack, each sensor configured to transmit a wireless signal for detecting an unauthorized access attempt to the server rack), but Reference Applicant 17/529,824 doesn’t explicitly disclose wherein configuring the shape of the field of detection of the plurality of sensors comprises automatically configuring the shape of the field of detection.
However, Humphrey et al. (Patent No. US 12,332,350) discloses wherein configuring the shape of the field of detection of the plurality of sensors comprises automatically configuring the shape of the field of detection (See Col. 5 lines 31-38; a plurality of OLMS devices 1 can be arranged or assembled to provide 360-degree field-of-view. Each OLMS device 1 can be provided as a module. The plurality of OLMS devices 1 can be arranged in any configuration suitable for the application. For instance, in an embodiment, the OLMS devices 1 can be arranged in a circle as discrete modules and arranged for 360-degree field-of-view coverage. See Col. 14 lines 13-22; the speedup processor 130 is an FPGA that can be configured to use a hardware description language (HDL) to describe the structure and behavior of electronic circuits and components in the OLMS device 1, including the scanning mirror 50A and components 100 to 170. The speedup processor 130 can be programmed, for example, using embedded program code, to process data and control operation of the components in the OLMS device 1, including scanning mirror 50A, line sensor 30, RDS array 40, and APS array 70).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the teaching, taught by Campbell, to include wherein configuring comprises automatically configuring the shape of the field of detection, as taught by Humphrey. This would be convenient to implementing orthogonal laser metrology for detection, measurement, monitoring, identifying or tracking, including, but not limited to, size, shape, orientation, location or motion of an object, a surface or a target in multidimensional space (Humphrey, Col. 1 lines 6-13).
Regarding Claim 28:
Reference Applicant 17/529,824 doesn’t explicitly disclose wherein configuring comprises adjusting a direction and field of view of the optical signals for alignment with the reflective component.
However, Humphrey et al. (Patent No. US 12,332,350) discloses wherein configuring comprises adjusting a direction and field of view of the optical signals for alignment with the reflective component (See Col. 19 lines 47-48; the OLMS device 1 can detect and identify the reflector device 2 within its field of view. See Col. 20 lines 34-37; the speedup processor 130 can be arranged to take data from the line sensor 105 at high speed, capturing an entire line of beam reflection data each time a pulse signal is received from one of the photodiodes in the RDS array 145. The speedup processor 130 can pre-processes this data to identify the center of any reflection beam. See Col. 17 lines 32-47. a beam reflection data, including center data, can be output from the speedup processor 130 (i.e., within OLMS device) to an SPI input of the central processor 100, which can then be used by the central processor 100 to determine the angle data. If the angle of the scanning mirror 150A is known at the time of reflection, then the angle between the OLMS device 1 and the reflector device 2 can be determined. By using triangulation, multiple OLMS devices 1 or multiple reflector devices 2 can be used to determine the range to a target and its lateral position. The central processor 130 can be arranged to use calibration data to convert the time value into an angle value for a reflector device positioned within the OLMS device's field of view, with a known angle between the reflector device and the OLMS device 1. The OLMS device 1 can be arranged to rotate a known set of angles to generate a calibration table that equates a time value to an angle value).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the teaching, taught by Campbell, to include wherein configuring comprises adjusting a direction and field of view of the optical signals for alignment with the reflective component, as taught by Humphrey. This would be convenient to implementing orthogonal laser metrology for detection, measurement, monitoring, identifying or tracking, including, but not limited to, size, shape, orientation, location or motion of an object, a surface or a target in multidimensional space (Humphrey, Col. 1 lines 6-13).
Regarding Claim 29:
Reference Applicant 17/529,824 doesn’t explicitly disclose wherein the at least one sensor is configured to scan the area surrounding the reflective component in different directions for dynamically calibrating a position of the sensor relative to the reflective component.
However, Humphrey et al. (Patent No. US 12,332,350) discloses wherein the at least one sensor is configured to scan the area surrounding the reflective component in different directions for dynamically calibrating a position of the sensor relative to the reflective component (See Col. 4 lines 60-63; OLMS device that is be arranged to fan and scan a laser beam in one or more planes and detect when and where the laser beam encounters an object or surface, including an object such as a reflector device. See Col. 17 lines 40-47; The central processor 130 can be arranged to use calibration data to convert the time value into an angle value for a reflector device positioned within the OLMS device's field of view, with a known angle between the reflector device and the OLMS device 1. The OLMS device 1 can be arranged to rotate a known set of angles to generate a calibration table that equates a time value to an angle value. See also Col. 6 lines 46-62).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the teaching, taught by Campbell, to include wherein the at least one sensor is configured to scan the area surrounding the reflective component in different directions for dynamically calibrating a position of the sensor relative to the reflective component, as taught by Humphrey. This would be convenient to implementing orthogonal laser metrology for detection, measurement, monitoring, identifying or tracking, including, but not limited to, size, shape, orientation, location or motion of an object, a surface or a target in multidimensional space (Humphrey, Col. 1 lines 6-13).
Regarding Claim 30:
Reference Applicant 17/529,824 doesn’t explicitly disclose wherein the at least one sensor is configured to automatically scan the area surrounding the reflective component for calibrating the position of the sensor relative to the reflective component.
However, Humphrey et al. (Patent No. US 12,332,350) discloses wherein the at least one sensor is configured to automatically scan the area surrounding the reflective component for calibrating the position of the sensor relative to the reflective component (See Col. 17 lines 32-47; The beam reflection data, including center data, can be output from the speedup processor 130 to an SPI input of the central processor 100, which can then be used by the central processor 100 to determine the angle data. If the angle of the scanning mirror 150A is known at the time of reflection, then the angle between the OLMS device 1 and the reflector device 2 can be determined. By using triangulation, multiple OLMS devices 1 or multiple reflector devices 2 can be used to determine the range to a target and its lateral position. The central processor 130 can be arranged to use calibration data to convert the time value into an angle value for a reflector device positioned within the OLMS device's field of view, with a known angle between the reflector device and the OLMS device 1. The OLMS device 1 can be arranged to rotate a known set of angles to generate a calibration table that equates a time value to an angle value. See Col. 8 lines 60-67).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the teaching, taught by Campbell, to include wherein the at least one sensor is configured to automatically scan the area surrounding the reflective component for calibrating the position of the sensor relative to the reflective component, as taught by Humphrey. This would be convenient to implementing orthogonal laser metrology for detection, measurement, monitoring, identifying or tracking, including, but not limited to, size, shape, orientation, location or motion of an object, a surface or a target in multidimensional space (Humphrey, Col. 1 lines 6-13).
Regarding Claim 31:
Reference Applicant 17/529,824 doesn’t explicitly disclose wherein the at least one sensor is configured to scan the area surrounding the reflective component for calibrating a field of view of the at least one sensor with the reflective component.
However, Humphrey et al. (Patent No. US 12,332,350) discloses wherein the at least one sensor is configured to scan the area surrounding the reflective component for calibrating a field of view of the at least one sensor with the reflective component (See Col. 17 lines 32-47; The beam reflection data, including center data, can be output from the speedup processor 130 to an SPI input of the central processor 100, which can then be used by the central processor 100 to determine the angle data. If the angle of the scanning mirror 150A is known at the time of reflection, then the angle between the OLMS device 1 and the reflector device 2 can be determined. By using triangulation, multiple OLMS devices 1 or multiple reflector devices 2 can be used to determine the range to a target and its lateral position. The central processor 130 can be arranged to use calibration data to convert the time value into an angle value for a reflector device positioned within the OLMS device's field of view, with a known angle between the reflector device and the OLMS device 1. The OLMS device 1 can be arranged to rotate a known set of angles to generate a calibration table that equates a time value to an angle value. See Col. 8 lines 60-67).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the teaching, taught by Campbell, to include wherein the at least one sensor is configured to scan the area surrounding the reflective component for calibrating a field of view of the at least one sensor with the reflective component, as taught by Humphrey. This would be convenient to implementing orthogonal laser metrology for detection, measurement, monitoring, identifying or tracking, including, but not limited to, size, shape, orientation, location or motion of an object, a surface or a target in multidimensional space (Humphrey, Col. 1 lines 6-13).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-8, 11, 13-15, and 29-31 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Campbell et al. (Pub. No. US 2009/0293136), hereinafter Campbell; in view of Humphrey et al. (Patent No. US 12,332,350), hereinafter Humphrey; and further in view of Allenberg-Rabe et al. (Pub. No. US 2019/0270161), hereinafter Allenberg-Rabe.
Claim 1. Campbell discloses a data center monitoring system (See Parag. [0007]; detecting an unauthorized physical intrusion event to a data center) comprising:
at least one sensor configured to be attached to a fixture in a data center, wherein the at least one sensor is configured to transmit a signal for detecting an unauthorized access attempt to the fixture (See Parag. [0015]; detecting unauthorized intrusion event may include receiving an electronic signal from one or more sensor, such as a sensor that is external to the server blade that is being secured. The sensor may be an electronic keypad lock on a door to the data center or rack that can sense tampering or entry of successive incorrect codes. The sensor could also be a motion sensor in the data center. The sensor could be an accelerometer mounted to the rack or chassis that is sensitive to bumping, rocking or general physical manipulation of the rack or chassis. See also Parag. [0021][0031]); and
at least one monitoring device configured to communicate with the at least one sensor, wherein the at least one monitoring device is configured to receive a signal from the at least one sensor indicative of the unauthorized access attempt to the fixture (See Parag. [0021]; the management module is in communication with the plurality of servers for managing the operation of the plurality of servers, in communication with the sensor for receiving an electronic signal from the sensor in response to detecting the unauthorized intrusion event. See also Parag. [0031]).
Campbell doesn’t explicitly disclose the transmitted signal is an optical signal; and a reflective component spaced from the at least one sensor, wherein the reflective component is configured to reflect the at least one optical signal back to the at least one sensor; wherein the at least one sensor is configured to scan an area surrounding the reflective component to find a location of the reflective component for calibrating a position of the sensor relative to the reflective component to capture a desired filed of detection.
However, Humphrey discloses:
transmit an optical signal; and a reflective component spaced from the at least one sensor, wherein the reflective component is configured to reflect the at least one optical signal back to the at least one sensor (See Col. 1 lines 54-67; sensor system can comprise an orthogonal laser metrology sensor system for detecting an object and its position in a field of view of a beam fan. The system can comprise a reflection detector sensor array arranged to detect a light beam reflected by an object impinged by a beam fan in the field of view and output a reflected beam position trigger signal. See Col. 4 lines 60-63; OLMS (Orthogonal Laser Metrology Sensor) device that is be arranged to fan and scan a laser beam in one or more planes and detect when and where the laser beam encounters an object or surface, including an object such as a reflector device. See Col. 5 lines 3-17; The OLMS device 1 can include a laser module having a laser beam source 10, an optical system 20, and a scanning mirror module 50);
wherein the at least one sensor is configured to scan an area surrounding the reflective component to find a location of the reflective component to capture a desired field of detection (See Col. 4 lines 60-63; OLMS (Orthogonal Laser Metrology Sensor) device that is be arranged to fan and scan a laser beam in one or more planes and detect when and where the laser beam encounters an object or surface, including an object such as a reflector device (find a location of the reflective component). See Col. 17 lines 32-47; a beam reflection data, including center data, can be output from the speedup processor 130 (i.e., within OLMS device) to an SPI input of the central processor 100, which can then be used by the central processor 100 to determine the angle data. If the angle of the scanning mirror 150A is known at the time of reflection, then the angle between the OLMS device 1 and the reflector device 2 can be determined. By using triangulation, multiple OLMS devices 1 or multiple reflector devices 2 can be used to determine the range to a target and its lateral position. The central processor 130 can be arranged to use calibration data to convert the time value into an angle value for a reflector device positioned within the OLMS device's field of view, with a known angle between the reflector device and the OLMS device 1. The OLMS device 1 can be arranged to rotate a known set of angles to generate a calibration table that equates a time value to an angle value).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the teaching, taught by Campbell, to include transmit an optical signal, a reflective component spaced from the at least one sensor, wherein the reflective component is configured to reflect the at least one optical signal back to the at least one sensor, wherein the at least one sensor is configured to scan an area surrounding the reflective component for calibrating a position of the sensor relative to the reflective component, as taught by Humphrey. This would be convenient to implementing orthogonal laser metrology for detection, measurement, monitoring, identifying or tracking, including, but not limited to, size, shape, orientation, location or motion of an object, a surface or a target in multidimensional space (Humphrey, Col. 1 lines 6-13).
Campbell in view of Humphrey doesn’t explicitly disclose scanning the area surrounding the reflective component to find a location of the reflective component for calibrating a position of the sensor relative to the reflective component to capture the desired field of detection.
However, Allenberg-Rabe discloses wherein the at least one sensor is configured to scan an area surrounding the reflective component to find a location of the reflective component for calibrating a position of the sensor relative to the reflective component to capture a desired field of detection (See Parag. [0016]; the calibration can be carried out as follows: the retroreflector in the form of the three-dimensional object is arranged at a specified reflector position in the processing field, and a target position that notionally corresponds to the predetermined reflector position in the processing field is specified for the scanner device. If the actual position of the laser beam in the processing field corresponds exactly to the specified target position, the laser beam is maximally reflected on the retroreflector, e.g., a maximum intensity of the reflected laser radiation is detected. In the event of deviations between the actual position and the target position, a lower intensity of the reflected laser radiation is detected. To determine the actual position of the laser beam that corresponds to the reflector position, the scanner device passes over the retroreflector multiple times, during which the scanner device scans a region that has a predetermined spatial extension around the notional reflector position and the laser radiation reflected in each case is detected. Using image analysis, an intensity centroid is identified as the actual position from the two-dimensional intensity distribution (e.g., bitmap image) of the detected laser radiation. The actual position of the laser beam determined in this manner corresponds exactly to the reflector position. However, there is generally a deviation between the actual position and a target position specified for the scanner device (originally). This deviation is corrected in that, for example, the angular configurations present in the scanner device on the two scanner mirrors when the reflector position is reached are assigned to the actual position or reflector position as a new target position and stored in a memory device. If, during the subsequent processing, the scanner device positions the laser beam at a position in the processing field that corresponds to the reflector position, the corrected target position is specified for the scanner device. See also Parag. [0009]).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the teaching, taught by Campbell in view of Humphrey, to include the at least one sensor is configured to scan an area surrounding the reflective component to find a location of the reflective component for calibrating a position of the sensor relative to the reflective component to capture a desired field of detection, as taught by Allenberg-Rabe. This would be convenient for calibrating scanner devices as well as allowing a laser beam to be very accurately positioned in a processing field (Allenberg-Rabe, Parag. [0008]).
Claim 2. Campbell in view of Humphrey and Allenberg-Rabe discloses the data center monitoring system of Claim 1,
Campbell further discloses wherein the fixture is a server rack or server cabinet (See Parag. [0015]; the sensor may be an electronic keypad lock on a door to the data center or rack that can sense tampering or entry of successive incorrect codes. The sensor could also be a motion sensor in the data center. Furthermore, the sensor could be an accelerometer mounted to the rack or chassis that is sensitive to bumping, rocking or general physical manipulation of the rack or chassis. See also FIG. 1 which is a schematic elevation view of a data center having two racks supporting numerous chassis filled with server blades).
Claim 3. Campbell in view of Humphrey and Allenberg-Rabe discloses the data center monitoring system of Claim 1,
Campbell further discloses wherein the fixture defines an enclosure within an access opening, and wherein the at least one sensor is configured to transmit the optical signal for detecting unauthorized access into the opening (See Parag. [0015]; detecting unauthorized intrusion event may include receiving an electronic signal from one or more sensor, such as a sensor that is external to the server blade that is being secured. For example, the sensor may be an electronic keypad lock on a door to the data center or rack that can sense tampering or entry of successive incorrect codes. The sensor could also be a motion sensor in the data center. Furthermore, the sensor could be an accelerometer mounted to the rack or chassis that is sensitive to bumping, rocking or general physical manipulation of the rack or chassis. See also Parag. [0030]; The rack 12 and chassis 14 are each equipped with an accelerometer 24, 26, and the rack 12 also includes a limit switch 28 for detecting that the rack door 30 has been opened).
Claim 4. Campbell in view of Humphrey and Allenberg-Rabe discloses the data center monitoring system of Claim 1,
Campbell further discloses wherein the at least one sensor or the at least one monitoring device is configured to communicate a notification message to one or more remote devices (See Parag. [0019]; an alert may be sent to a remote user device in response to detecting the unauthorized intrusion event. The alert may include a description of the sensors that detected the intrusion and/or a description of the steps taken to physically secure the one or more servers).
Claim 5. Campbell in view of Humphrey and Allenberg-Rabe discloses the data center monitoring system of Claim 1,
Humphrey further discloses wherein the at least one sensor is configured to wirelessly communicate with the at least one monitoring device (See Col. 18 lines 35-44; “wireless.” See also Col. 22 lines 56-67).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the teaching, taught by Campbell, to include wherein the at least one sensor is configured to wirelessly communicate with the at least one monitoring device, as taught by Humphrey. This would be convenient to implementing orthogonal laser metrology for detection, measurement, monitoring, identifying or tracking, including, but not limited to, size, shape, orientation, location or motion of an object, a surface or a target in multidimensional space (Humphrey, Col. 1 lines 6-13).
Claim 6. Campbell in view of Humphrey and Allenberg-Rabe discloses the data center monitoring system of Claim 1,
Humphrey further discloses wherein the at least one sensor is electrically connected to the at least one monitoring device via one or more cables (See Col. 18 lines 35-44; “wired.” See also Col. 22 lines 56-67).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the teaching, taught by Campbell, to include wherein the at least one sensor is electrically connected to the at least one monitoring device via one or more cables, as taught by Humphrey. This would be convenient to implementing orthogonal laser metrology for detection, measurement, monitoring, identifying or tracking, including, but not limited to, size, shape, orientation, location or motion of an object, a surface or a target in multidimensional space (Humphrey, Col. 1 lines 6-13).
Claim 7. Campbell in view of Humphrey and Allenberg-Rabe discloses the data center monitoring system of Claim 1,
Campbell further discloses wherein the at least one monitoring device is a controller (See Parag. [0021]; the management module is in communication with the plurality of servers for managing the operation of the plurality of servers, in communication with the sensor for receiving an electronic signal from the sensor in response to detecting the unauthorized intrusion event).
Claim 8. Campbell in view of Humphrey and Allenberg-Rabe discloses the data center monitoring system of Claim 1,
Campbell further discloses wherein the at least one monitoring device is a computer (See Parag. [0021]; the management module is in communication with the plurality of servers for managing the operation of the plurality of servers, in communication with the sensor for receiving an electronic signal from the sensor in response to detecting the unauthorized intrusion event).
Claim 11. Campbell in view of Humphrey and Allenberg-Rabe discloses the data center monitoring system of Claim 1,
Campbell further discloses wherein the at least one sensor is an array of sensors configured to transmit a plurality of signals for detecting an unauthorized access attempt to the fixture (See Parag. [0015-0016]; detecting unauthorized intrusion event may include receiving an electronic signal from one or more sensor. A plurality of sensors, sensor types and/or sensor locations are used in order to detect unauthorized intrusion events. These sensors may each send electronic signals that give the management module additional information about the intrusion event. See also Parag. [0031]).
Humphrey further discloses transmit a plurality of optical signals (See Col. 1 lines 54-67; sensor system can comprise an orthogonal laser metrology sensor system for detecting an object and its position in a field of view of a beam fan. The system can comprise a reflection detector sensor array arranged to detect a light beam reflected by an object impinged by a beam fan in the field of view and output a reflected beam position trigger signal. See Col. 4 lines 60-63; OLMS (Orthogonal Laser Metrology Sensor) device that is be arranged to fan and scan a laser beam in one or more planes and detect when and where the laser beam encounters an object or surface, including an object such as a reflector device. See Col. 5 lines 3-17; The OLMS device 1 can include a laser module having a laser beam source 10, an optical system 20, and a scanning mirror module 50).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the teaching, taught by Campbell, to include transmit a plurality of optical signals, as taught by Humphrey. This would be convenient to implementing orthogonal laser metrology for detection, measurement, monitoring, identifying or tracking, including, but not limited to, size, shape, orientation, location or motion of an object, a surface or a target in multidimensional space (Humphrey, Col. 1 lines 6-13).
Claim 13. Campbell in view of Humphrey and Allenberg-Rabe discloses the data center monitoring system of Claim 1,
Campbell further discloses the system further comprising an access control point coupled to the fixture and configured to control access to the fixture (Parag. [0030]; security system includes a data center door assembly 17 having a key lock or cipher lock with a lock sensor 18 providing output if there is tampering with the lock or if a successive number of incorrect codes are entered).
Claim 14. Campbell in view of Humphrey and Allenberg-Rabe discloses the data center monitoring system of Claim 13,
Campbell further discloses wherein the access control point is configured to communicate with a key for arming or disarming the access control point (Parag. [0030]; security system includes a data center door assembly 17 having a key lock or cipher lock with a lock sensor 18 providing output if there is tampering with the lock or if a successive number of incorrect codes are entered).
Claim 15. Campbell in view of Humphrey and Allenberg-Rabe discloses the data center monitoring system of Claim 1,
Humphrey further discloses wherein the reflective component is spaced a predetermined distance from the at least one sensor (See Col. 4 lines 60-67 and; and Fig. 1; an OLMS device that is be arranged to fan and scan a laser beam in one or more planes and detect when and where the laser beam encounters an object or surface, including an object such as a reflector device).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the teaching, taught by Campbell, to include wherein the reflective component is spaced a predetermined distance from the at least one sensor, as taught by Humphrey. This would be convenient to implementing orthogonal laser metrology for detection, measurement, monitoring, identifying or tracking, including, but not limited to, size, shape, orientation, location or motion of an object, a surface or a target in multidimensional space (Humphrey, Col. 1 lines 6-13).
Claim 29. Campbell in view of Humphrey and Allenberg-Rabe discloses the data center monitoring system of Claim 1,
Humphrey further discloses wherein the at least one sensor is configured to scan the area surrounding the reflective component in different directions for dynamically calibrating a position of the sensor relative to the reflective component (See Col. 4 lines 60-63; OLMS device that is be arranged to fan and scan a laser beam in one or more planes and detect when and where the laser beam encounters an object or surface, including an object such as a reflector device. See Col. 17 lines 40-47; The central processor 130 can be arranged to use calibration data to convert the time value into an angle value for a reflector device positioned within the OLMS device's field of view, with a known angle between the reflector device and the OLMS device 1. The OLMS device 1 can be arranged to rotate a known set of angles to generate a calibration table that equates a time value to an angle value. See also Col. 6 lines 46-62).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the teaching, taught by Campbell, to include wherein the at least one sensor is configured to scan the area surrounding the reflective component in different directions for dynamically calibrating a position of the sensor relative to the reflective component, as taught by Humphrey. This would be convenient to implementing orthogonal laser metrology for detection, measurement, monitoring, identifying or tracking, including, but not limited to, size, shape, orientation, location or motion of an object, a surface or a target in multidimensional space (Humphrey, Col. 1 lines 6-13).
Claim 30. Campbell in view of Humphrey and Allenberg-Rabe discloses the data center monitoring system of Claim 1,
Humphrey further discloses wherein the at least one sensor is configured to automatically scan the area surrounding the reflective component for calibrating the position of the sensor relative to the reflective component (See Col. 17 lines 32-47; The beam reflection data, including center data, can be output from the speedup processor 130 to an SPI input of the central processor 100, which can then be used by the central processor 100 to determine the angle data. If the angle of the scanning mirror 150A is known at the time of reflection, then the angle between the OLMS device 1 and the reflector device 2 can be determined. By using triangulation, multiple OLMS devices 1 or multiple reflector devices 2 can be used to determine the range to a target and its lateral position. The central processor 130 can be arranged to use calibration data to convert the time value into an angle value for a reflector device positioned within the OLMS device's field of view, with a known angle between the reflector device and the OLMS device 1. The OLMS device 1 can be arranged to rotate a known set of angles to generate a calibration table that equates a time value to an angle value. See Col. 8 lines 60-67).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the teaching, taught by Campbell, to include wherein the at least one sensor is configured to automatically scan the area surrounding the reflective component for calibrating the position of the sensor relative to the reflective component, as taught by Humphrey. This would be convenient to implementing orthogonal laser metrology for detection, measurement, monitoring, identifying or tracking, including, but not limited to, size, shape, orientation, location or motion of an object, a surface or a target in multidimensional space (Humphrey, Col. 1 lines 6-13).
Claim 31. Campbell in view of Humphrey and Allenberg-Rabe discloses the data center monitoring system of Claim 1,
Humphrey further discloses wherein the at least one sensor is configured to scan the area surrounding the reflective component for calibrating a field of view of the at least one sensor with the reflective component (See Col. 17 lines 32-47; The beam reflection data, including center data, can be output from the speedup processor 130 to an SPI input of the central processor 100, which can then be used by the central processor 100 to determine the angle data. If the angle of the scanning mirror 150A is known at the time of reflection, then the angle between the OLMS device 1 and the reflector device 2 can be determined. By using triangulation, multiple OLMS devices 1 or multiple reflector devices 2 can be used to determine the range to a target and its lateral position. The central processor 130 can be arranged to use calibration data to convert the time value into an angle value for a reflector device positioned within the OLMS device's field of view, with a known angle between the reflector device and the OLMS device 1. The OLMS device 1 can be arranged to rotate a known set of angles to generate a calibration table that equates a time value to an angle value. See Col. 8 lines 60-67).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the teaching, taught by Campbell, to include wherein the at least one sensor is configured to scan the area surrounding the reflective component for calibrating a field of view of the at least one sensor with the reflective component, as taught by Humphrey. This would be convenient to implementing orthogonal laser metrology for detection, measurement, monitoring, identifying or tracking, including, but not limited to, size, shape, orientation, location or motion of an object, a surface or a target in multidimensional space (Humphrey, Col. 1 lines 6-13).
Claims 9-10 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Campbell et al. (Pub. No. US 2009/0293136), hereinafter Campbell; in view of Humphrey et al. (Patent No. US 12,332,350), hereinafter Humphrey; further in view of Allenberg-Rabe et al. (Pub. No. US 2019/0270161), hereinafter Allenberg-Rabe; and further in view of Camilo Gomes et al. (Patent No. US 9,858,795), hereinafter Camilo Gomes.
Claim 9. Campbell in view of Humphrey and Allenberg-Rabe discloses the data center monitoring system of Claim 1,
The combination doesn’t explicitly disclose the system further comprising a plurality of sensors, each sensor coupled to a respective fixture.
However, Camilo Gomes discloses a plurality of sensors, each sensor coupled to a respective fixture (See Fig. 2 and Col. 4lines 3-8; a number of laser emitters 210 are installed to generate laser lines-of-sight 220 across the cold aisle 270 to a number of reflectors 215 that are located across the cold aisle 270. Each emitter 210 also comprises a detector to determine whether the laser light is reflected back to the emitter 210 by the reflector 215).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the teaching, taught by the combination, to include each sensor to be coupled to a fixture, as taught by Camilo Gomes. This would be convenient to detect the interruption of the laser light emitted by the emitter (Camilo Gomes, Col.4 lines 36-37).
Claim 10. Campbell in view of Humphrey, Allenberg-Rabe, and Camilo Gomes discloses the data center monitoring system of Claim 9,
Campbell further discloses wherein the at least one monitoring device is configured to communicate with each of the plurality of sensors (See Parag. [0016]; a plurality of sensors, sensor types and/or sensor locations are used in order to detect unauthorized intrusion events. These sensors may each send electronic signals that give the management module additional information about the intrusion event. See also Parag. [0031]; Sensors 36, such as the lock sensor 18, motion sensor 22, rack accelerometer 24 or chassis accelerometer 26, provide input to the management module 20).
Claim 12. Campbell in view of Humphrey and Allenberg-Rabe discloses the data center monitoring system of Claim 11,
The combination doesn’t explicitly disclose wherein each of sensors in the array of sensors is configured to direct its optical signal at a different direction than at least one other sensor.
However, Camilo Gomes discloses wherein each of sensors in the array of sensors is configured to direct its optical signal at a different direction than at least one other sensor (See Fig. 2 and Col. 4 lines 3-6; a number of laser emitters 210 are installed to generate laser lines-of-sight 220 across the cold aisle 270 to a number of reflectors 215 that are located across the cold aisle 270).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the teaching, taught by the combination, to include transmitting optical signals at a different direction, as taught by Camilo Gomes. This would be convenient to detect the interruption of the laser light emitted by the emitter (Camilo Gomes, Col.4 lines 36-37).
Claims 16-17 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Campbell et al. (Pub. No. US 2009/0293136), hereinafter Campbell; in view of Humphrey et al. (Patent No. US 12,332,350), hereinafter Humphrey; further in view of Allenberg-Rabe et al. (Pub. No. US 2019/0270161), hereinafter Allenberg-Rabe; and further in view of Patterson et al. (Pub. No. US 2017/0294088), hereinafter Patterson.
Claim 16. Campbell in view of Humphrey and Allenberg-Rabe discloses the data center monitoring system of Claim 15,
The combination doesn’t explicitly disclose wherein the reflective component comprises a retroreflective tape
However, Patterson discloses wherein the reflective component comprises a retroreflective tape (See Parag. [0024] and Fig. 3; reflector element 300 is a retroreflector, meaning that it reflects light back to its source with a minimum of scattering. Reflector element 300 can be comprised of a plurality of transparent optical beads or microspheres 302. Accordingly, an optical wave which arrives at the reflector element 300 in a first vector direction is reflected back along a second vector direction that is parallel to but opposite to the transmit vector direction. The microspheres can be secured or embedded in a binder material 304 in a random or predetermined pattern. The binder material 304 can be a colorless clear paint, a flexible substrate in the form of a tape with adhesive disposed on one surface to secure the tape to a surface, or any other suitable material that is capable of securing the microspheres in a location).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the teaching, taught by the combination, to comprises a retroreflective tape, as taught by Patterson. This would be convenient to monitor openings and closing of the doors and windows and/or other intrusions for purposes of triggering alerts and/or alarms (Patterson, Parag. [0028]).
Claim 17. Campbell in view of Humphrey and Allenberg-Rabe discloses the data center monitoring system of Claim 15,
The combination doesn’t explicitly disclose wherein the reflective component comprises a plurality of segments of retroreflective tape.
However, Patterson discloses wherein the reflective component comprises a plurality of segments of retroreflective tape (See Parag. [0024] and Fig. 3; reflector element 300 is a retroreflector, meaning that it reflects light back to its source with a minimum of scattering. Reflector element 300 can be comprised of a plurality of transparent optical beads or microspheres 302. Accordingly, an optical wave which arrives at the reflector element 300 in a first vector direction is reflected back along a second vector direction that is parallel to but opposite to the transmit vector direction. The microspheres can be secured or embedded in a binder material 304 in a random or predetermined pattern. The binder material 304 can be a colorless clear paint, a flexible substrate in the form of a tape with adhesive disposed on one surface to secure the tape to a surface, or any other suitable material that is capable of securing the microspheres in a location).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the teaching, taught by the combination, to comprises a retroreflective tape, as taught by Patterson. This would be convenient to monitor openings and closing of the doors and windows and/or other intrusions for purposes of triggering alerts and/or alarms (Patterson, Parag. [0028]).
Claim 19. Campbell in view of Humphrey and Allenberg-Rabe discloses the data center monitoring system of Claim 1,
The combination doesn’t explicitly disclose wherein the at least one sensor is configured to detect an interruption in the optical signal.
However, Patterson discloses wherein the at least one sensor is configured to detect an interruption in the optical signal (See Parag. [0029]; a disturbance associated with a reflected optical signal can comprise an interruption or disruption of the reflected signal such that the presence of the reflected signal is no longer detected at the optical transceiver 110. As an example, such an interruption in the reflected optical signal could occur when a door 108 moves from a closed position to an open position. When this occurs, the reflector element 116 is rotated with the door 108 to an orientation in which it is no longer able to effectively reflect a transmitted optical signal to the optical receiver 112. See also Parag. [0030]).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the teaching, taught by Campbell in view of Humphrey, to include a detecting an interruption in the optical signal, as taught by Patterson. This would be convenient to monitor openings and closing of the doors and windows and/or other intrusions for purposes of triggering alerts and/or alarms (Patterson, Parag. [0028]).
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Campbell et al. (Pub. No. US 2009/0293136), hereinafter Campbell; in view of Humphrey et al. (Patent No. US 12,332,350), hereinafter Humphrey; further in view of Allenberg-Rabe et al. (Pub. No. US 2019/0270161), hereinafter Allenberg-Rabe; further in view of Patterson et al. (Pub. No. US 2017/0294088), hereinafter Patterson; and further in view of Kare et al. (Patent No. US 2018/0131449), hereinafter Kare.
Claim 20. Campbell in view of Humphrey, Allenberg-Rabe, and Patterson discloses the data center monitoring system of Claim 17,
The combination doesn’t explicitly disclose wherein the at least one sensor is configured to detect an interruption in the optical signal using time of flight.
However, Kare discloses wherein the at least one sensor is configured to detect an interruption in the optical signal using time of flight (See Parag. [0138]; the time delay is determined between the leading or trailing edge of the emitted time-varying optical signal and the corresponding edge of the returned signal (i.e., the pulsed output). The phase of the returned signal is compared to the phase of the emitted time-varying optical signal to determine the time-of-flight delay. See also Parag. [0140][0152]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the teaching, taught by the combination, to include detecting interruption in the optical signal using time of flight, as taught by Kare. This would be convenient to account for a sensor that is malfunctioning or is consistently providing object-intrusion indication (Kare, Parag. [0103]).
Claims 22-24 and 27-28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Campbell et al. (Pub. No. US 2009/0293136), hereinafter Campbell; in view of Humphrey et al. (Patent No. US 12,332,350), hereinafter Humphrey.
Claim 22. Campbell discloses a data center monitoring system comprising:
a plurality of server racks located in a data center (See Parag. [0029] and FIG. 1; a schematic elevation view of a data center 10 having two racks 12 supporting numerous chassis 14 filled with server blades 16);
a plurality of sensors (See Parag. [0022]; a plurality of sensors, sensor types and/or sensor locations that are used in order to detect unauthorized intrusion events) each configured to be attached to a respective server rack, each sensor configured to transmit an signal for detecting an unauthorized access attempt to the server rack (See Parag. [0015]; detecting unauthorized intrusion event may include receiving an electronic signal from one or more sensor, such as a sensor that is external to the server blade that is being secured. The sensor may be an electronic keypad lock on a door to the data center or rack that can sense tampering or entry of successive incorrect codes. The sensor could also be a motion sensor in the data center. The sensor could be an accelerometer mounted to the rack or chassis that is sensitive to bumping, rocking or general physical manipulation of the rack or chassis. See also Parag. [0021][0031]), and
at least one monitoring device configured to communicate with each of the plurality of sensors, the at least one monitoring device configured to receive a signal from each of the plurality of sensors indicative of the unauthorized access attempt to a respective server rack (See Parag. [0021]; the management module (monitoring device) is in communication with the plurality of servers for managing the operation of the plurality of servers, in communication with the sensor for receiving an electronic signal from the sensor in response to detecting the unauthorized intrusion event. See also Parag. [0031]).
Campbell doesn’t explicitly disclose: the transmitted signal is an optical signal; transmit the optical signal towards the reflective component and within a field of detection, the plurality of sensors configured to automatically configure a shape of the field of detection of the plurality of sensors to capture a desired field of detection.
However, Humphrey discloses:
sensor configured to transmit an optical signal towards a reflective component and within a field of detection (See Col. 1 lines 54-67; sensor system can comprise an orthogonal laser metrology sensor system for detecting an object and its position in a field of view of a beam fan. The system can comprise a reflection detector sensor array arranged to detect a light beam reflected by an object impinged by a beam fan in the field of view and output a reflected beam position trigger signal. See Col. 4 lines 60-63; OLMS (Orthogonal Laser Metrology Sensor) device that is be arranged to fan and scan a laser beam in one or more planes and detect when and where the laser beam encounters an object or surface, including an object such as a reflector device. See Col. 5 lines 3-17; The OLMS device 1 can include a laser module having a laser beam source 10, an optical system 20, and a scanning mirror module 50); and
the plurality of sensors configured to automatically configure a shape of the field of detection of the plurality of sensors to capture a desired field of detection (See Col. 4 lines 60-63; OLMS (Orthogonal Laser Metrology Sensor) device that is be arranged to fan and scan a laser beam in one or more planes and detect when and where the laser beam encounters an object or surface, including an object such as a reflector device. See Col. 17 lines 32-47; a beam reflection data, including center data, can be output from the speedup processor 130 (i.e., within OLMS device) to an SPI input of the central processor 100, which can then be used by the central processor 100 to determine the angle data (desired field of detection). If the angle of the scanning mirror 150A is known at the time of reflection, then the angle between the OLMS device 1 and the reflector device 2 can be determined. By using triangulation, multiple OLMS devices 1 or multiple reflector devices 2 can be used to determine the range to a target and its lateral position. The central processor 130 can be arranged to use calibration data to convert the time value into an angle value for a reflector device positioned within the OLMS device's field of view, with a known angle between the reflector device and the OLMS device 1. The OLMS device 1 can be arranged to rotate a known set of angles to generate a calibration table that equates a time value to an angle value).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the teaching, taught by Campbell, to include sensor configured to transmit an optical signal towards a reflective component and within a field of detection, the plurality of sensors configured to automatically configure a shape of the field of detection of the plurality of sensors, as taught by Humphrey. This would be convenient to implementing orthogonal laser metrology for detection, measurement, monitoring, identifying or tracking, including, but not limited to, size, shape, orientation, location or motion of an object, a surface or a target in multidimensional space (Humphrey, Col. 1 lines 6-13).
Claim 23. Campbell discloses a method for monitoring a data center comprising:
a plurality of sensors attached to a fixture in a data center for detecting unauthorized access attempts to the fixture (See Parag. [0022]; a plurality of sensors, sensor types and/or sensor locations that are used in order to detect unauthorized intrusion events. See Parag. [0029] and FIG. 1; a schematic elevation view of a data center 10 having two racks 12 supporting numerous chassis 14 filled with server blades 16);
transmitting signals with at least one the plurality of sensors attached to a fixture in a data center for detecting an unauthorized access attempt to the fixture (See Parag. [0015]; detecting unauthorized intrusion event may include receiving an electronic signal from one or more sensor, such as a sensor that is external to the server blade that is being secured. The sensor may be an electronic keypad lock on a door to the data center or rack that can sense tampering or entry of successive incorrect codes. The sensor could also be a motion sensor in the data center. The sensor could be an accelerometer mounted to the rack or chassis that is sensitive to bumping, rocking or general physical manipulation of the rack or chassis. See also Parag. [0021][0031]); and
receiving a signal at a monitoring device from the at least one of the plurality of sensors indicative of the unauthorized access attempt to the fixture (See Parag. [0021]; the management module is in communication with the plurality of servers for managing the operation of the plurality of servers, in communication with the sensor for receiving an electronic signal from the sensor in response to detecting the unauthorized intrusion event. See also Parag. [0031]).
Campbell doesn’t explicitly disclose configuring a shape of a field of detection of a plurality of sensors to capture a desired field of detection; transmitting optical signals with at least one the plurality of sensors within the field of detection towards a reflective component.
However, Humphrey discloses:
configuring a shape of a field of detection of a plurality of sensors to capture a desired field of detection (See Col. 4 lines 60-63; OLMS (Orthogonal Laser Metrology Sensor) device that is be arranged to fan and scan a laser beam in one or more planes and detect when and where the laser beam encounters an object or surface, including an object such as a reflector device. See Col. 17 lines 32-47; a beam reflection data, including center data, can be output from the speedup processor 130 (i.e., within OLMS device) to an SPI input of the central processor 100, which can then be used by the central processor 100 to determine the angle data (desired field of detection). If the angle of the scanning mirror 150A is known at the time of reflection, then the angle between the OLMS device 1 and the reflector device 2 can be determined. By using triangulation, multiple OLMS devices 1 or multiple reflector devices 2 can be used to determine the range to a target and its lateral position. The central processor 130 can be arranged to use calibration data to convert the time value into an angle value for a reflector device positioned within the OLMS device's field of view, with a known angle between the reflector device and the OLMS device 1. The OLMS device 1 can be arranged to rotate a known set of angles to generate a calibration table that equates a time value to an angle value);
transmitting optical signals with at least one the plurality of sensors within the field of detection towards a reflective component (See Col. 1 lines 54-67; sensor system can comprise an orthogonal laser metrology sensor system for detecting an object and its position in a field of view of a beam fan. The system can comprise a reflection detector sensor array arranged to detect a light beam reflected by an object impinged by a beam fan in the field of view and output a reflected beam position trigger signal. See Col. 4 lines 60-63; OLMS (Orthogonal Laser Metrology Sensor) device that is be arranged to fan and scan a laser beam in one or more planes and detect when and where the laser beam encounters an object or surface, including an object such as a reflector device. See Col. 5 lines 3-17; The OLMS device 1 can include a laser module having a laser beam source 10, an optical system 20, and a scanning mirror module 50).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the teaching, taught by Campbell, to include configuring a shape of a field of detection of a plurality of sensors; transmitting optical signals with at least one the plurality of sensors within the field of detection towards a reflective component, as taught by Humphrey. This would be convenient to implementing orthogonal laser metrology for detection, measurement, monitoring, identifying or tracking, including, but not limited to, size, shape, orientation, location or motion of an object, a surface or a target in multidimensional space (Humphrey, Col. 1 lines 6-13).
Claim 24. Campbell in view of Humphrey discloses the method of Claim 23,
Humphrey discloses the method further comprising scanning an area surrounding the reflective component with the plurality of sensors for calibrating a position of the plurality of sensors (See Col. 4 lines 60-63; OLMS (Orthogonal Laser Metrology Sensor) device that is be arranged to fan and scan a laser beam in one or more planes and detect when and where the laser beam encounters an object or surface, including an object such as a reflector device. See Col. 17 lines 32-47; a beam reflection data, including center data, can be output from the speedup processor 130 (i.e., within OLMS device) to an SPI input of the central processor 100, which can then be used by the central processor 100 to determine the angle data. If the angle of the scanning mirror 150A is known at the time of reflection, then the angle between the OLMS device 1 and the reflector device 2 can be determined. By using triangulation, multiple OLMS devices 1 or multiple reflector devices 2 can be used to determine the range to a target and its lateral position. The central processor 130 can be arranged to use calibration data to convert the time value into an angle value for a reflector device positioned within the OLMS device's field of view, with a known angle between the reflector device and the OLMS device 1. The OLMS device 1 can be arranged to rotate a known set of angles to generate a calibration table that equates a time value to an angle value. See Col. 5 lines 31-38 and Col. 14 lines 13-22).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the teaching, taught by Campbell, to include scanning an area surrounding the reflective component with the plurality of sensors for calibrating a position of the plurality of sensors, as taught by Humphrey. This would be convenient to implementing orthogonal laser metrology for detection, measurement, monitoring, identifying or tracking, including, but not limited to, size, shape, orientation, location or motion of an object, a surface or a target in multidimensional space (Humphrey, Col. 1 lines 6-13).
Claim 27. Campbell in view of Humphrey discloses the method of Claim 23,
Campbell further discloses the plurality of sensors attached to the fixture in the data center for detecting unauthorized access attempts to the fixture (See Parag. [0022]; a plurality of sensors, sensor types and/or sensor locations that are used in order to detect unauthorized intrusion events. See Parag. [0029] and FIG. 1; a schematic elevation view of a data center 10 having two racks 12 supporting numerous chassis 14 filled with server blades 16).
Humphrey further discloses wherein configuring the shape of the field of detection of the plurality of sensors comprises automatically configuring the shape of the field of detection (See Col. 5 lines 31-38; a plurality of OLMS devices 1 can be arranged or assembled to provide 360-degree field-of-view. Each OLMS device 1 can be provided as a module. The plurality of OLMS devices 1 can be arranged in any configuration suitable for the application. For instance, in an embodiment, the OLMS devices 1 can be arranged in a circle as discrete modules and arranged for 360-degree field-of-view coverage. See Col. 14 lines 13-22; the speedup processor 130 is an FPGA that can be configured to use a hardware description language (HDL) to describe the structure and behavior of electronic circuits and components in the OLMS device 1, including the scanning mirror 50A and components 100 to 170. The speedup processor 130 can be programmed, for example, using embedded program code, to process data and control operation of the components in the OLMS device 1, including scanning mirror 50A, line sensor 30, RDS array 40, and APS array 70).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the teaching, taught by Campbell, to include wherein configuring comprises automatically configuring the shape of the field of detection, as taught by Humphrey. This would be convenient to implementing orthogonal laser metrology for detection, measurement, monitoring, identifying or tracking, including, but not limited to, size, shape, orientation, location or motion of an object, a surface or a target in multidimensional space (Humphrey, Col. 1 lines 6-13).
Claim 28. Campbell in view of Humphrey discloses the method of Claim 23,
Humphrey further discloses wherein configuring comprises adjusting a direction and field of view of the optical signals for alignment with the reflective component (See Col. 19 lines 47-48; the OLMS device 1 can detect and identify the reflector device 2 within its field of view. See Col. 20 lines 34-37; the speedup processor 130 can be arranged to take data from the line sensor 105 at high speed, capturing an entire line of beam reflection data each time a pulse signal is received from one of the photodiodes in the RDS array 145. The speedup processor 130 can pre-processes this data to identify the center of any reflection beam. See Col. 17 lines 32-47. a beam reflection data, including center data, can be output from the speedup processor 130 (i.e., within OLMS device) to an SPI input of the central processor 100, which can then be used by the central processor 100 to determine the angle data. If the angle of the scanning mirror 150A is known at the time of reflection, then the angle between the OLMS device 1 and the reflector device 2 can be determined. By using triangulation, multiple OLMS devices 1 or multiple reflector devices 2 can be used to determine the range to a target and its lateral position. The central processor 130 can be arranged to use calibration data to convert the time value into an angle value for a reflector device positioned within the OLMS device's field of view, with a known angle between the reflector device and the OLMS device 1. The OLMS device 1 can be arranged to rotate a known set of angles to generate a calibration table that equates a time value to an angle value).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the teaching, taught by Campbell, to include wherein configuring comprises adjusting a direction and field of view of the optical signals for alignment with the reflective component, as taught by Humphrey. This would be convenient to implementing orthogonal laser metrology for detection, measurement, monitoring, identifying or tracking, including, but not limited to, size, shape, orientation, location or motion of an object, a surface or a target in multidimensional space (Humphrey, Col. 1 lines 6-13).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure (see PTO-form 892).
The following Patents and Papers are cited to further show the state of the art at the time of Applicant’s invention with respect to data center security system.
Atwell et al. (Pub. No. US 2014/0268178); “System and Apparatus of Acquiring three Dimensional Coordinates Using Multiple Coordinate Measurement Devices.”
Teaches a method is provided for determining the three dimensional coordinates of points on the surface of an object. The method includes providing a structured light scanner and a coordinate measurement device. The coordinate measurement device tracks the location and orientation of the structured light scanner during operation. The location and orientation data is combined with image frames captured by the scanner to allow registration of the image frames relative to each other. The three-dimensional coordinates of points on the surface of the object may then be determined in the frame of reference of the coordinate measurement device. (See Abstract).
/GHIZLANE MAAZOUZ/Examiner, Art Unit 2499 /PHILIP J CHEA/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2499