DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-13, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over (JP-4630705-B2) hereinafter referred to as ‘Yoshihiro’ in view of (WO-2017154038-A1) hereinafter referred to as ‘Inuzuka’, in further view of (US-20050095496-A1) hereinafter referred to as ‘Yuuichi’
Regarding Claim 1,
Yoshihiro fuel cell comprising: a fuel electrode (Yoshihiro, fuel electrode, 6, Fig. 3) and an air electrode (Yoshihiro, oxidant electrode, 7, Fig. 3) that face each other; and an electrolyte electrode that is disposed between the fuel electrode and the air electrode (Yoshihiro, electrolyte layer, 1, Fig. 3) wherein the fuel electrode has a plate shape (see Fig. 3),
Yoshihiro does not teach an solid oxide fuel cell where the edge of the fuel electrode is rounded along a thickness direction of the fuel electrode,
Inuzuka teaches a solid oxide fuel cell where the edge of the fuel electrode is rounded along a thickness direction of the fuel electrode (Inuzuka, “If the corner portion 25 has an arc shape, the inside of the electrolyte portion 21 and the covering portion 30 covering the arcuate portion also has an arc shape. As a result, damage to the electrolyte portion 21 and the covering portion 30 due to stress concentration is suppressed.”, see pg. 3).
Inuzuka teaches that the rounded edges allows for the suppression of stress (Inuzuka, “If the corner portion 25 has an arc shape, the inside of the electrolyte portion 21 and the covering portion 30 covering the arcuate portion also has an arc shape. As a result, damage to the electrolyte portion 21 and the covering portion 30 due to stress concentration is suppressed.”, see pg. 3).
Yoshihiro and Inuzuka are analogous as they are both of the same field of electrodes.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the edge of the electrode as taught in Yoshihiro to the edge as taught Inuzuka in order to suppress stress on the electrode.
Yoshihiro does not teach the fuel electrode includes a central layer and an outer layer disposed on both sides of the central layer, and a first porosity, which is a porosity of the central layer of the fuel electrode, is smaller than a second porosity, which is a porosity of the outer layer of the fuel electrode.
Yuuichi teaches the fuel electrode includes a central layer and an outer layer (The examiner notes that Yuuichi does not teach the layer disposed on both sides but it would have been an obvious matter of duplication of parts MPEP 2144.04 (VI)(B)) the side of the central layer (Yuuichi, fuel electrode, 5, Fig. 2) , and a first porosity, which is a porosity of the central layer of the fuel electrode (Yuuichi, “It is further desired that the fuel electrode layer 5 has an open porosity of not smaller than 15%”, see [0057]), is smaller than a second porosity, which is a porosity of the outer layer of the fuel electrode (Yuuichi, “This layer 11b exhibits its intrinsic function as the oxygen electrode and is more porous than the inner layer 11a, has a high gas permeability, and its porosity is higher than that of the inner layer 11a and is, usually, in a range of about 30 to about 50%.”, see [0081]).
Yuuichi teaches that this electrode layering allows for reaction prevention with the electrode (Yuuichi, “It is therefore an object of the present invention to provide a solid electrolytic fuel cell having a structure of forming a reaction-preventing layer between the oxygen electrode and the solid electrolytic layer, having a decreased interfacial resistance between the oxygen electrode and the reaction-preventing layer, and featuring an increased junction strength between the oxygen electrode and the reaction-preventing layer”, see [0011]).
Yoshihiro and Yuuichi are analogous as they are both of the same field of fuel cell electrodes.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the layering as taught in Yoshihiro to have the layering as taught in Yuuchi in order to allow for reaction prevention.
Regarding Claim 2,
Modified Yoshihiro teaches the solid oxide cell of claim 1, wherein: a first corner, which is a corner connecting edges of the fuel electrode, is rounded along the thickness direction of the fuel electrode (Inuzuka, “If the corner portion 25 has an arc shape, the inside of the electrolyte portion 21 and the covering portion 30 covering the arcuate portion also has an arc shape. As a result, damage to the electrolyte portion 21 and the covering portion 30 due to stress concentration is suppressed.”, see pg. 3) (Yoshihiro, corner portion, 9, Fig. 2).
Regarding Claim 3,
Modified Yoshihiro teaches the solid oxide cell of claim 2, wherein: the first corner is rounded on a plane crossing the thickness direction of the fuel electrode (Yoshihiro, corner portion, 9, Fig. 2).
Regarding Claim 4,
Modified Yoshihiro teaches the solid oxide cell of claim 3, wherein: the edge of the fuel electrode has a curvature radius which is a range of 1/4 to 1 of the thickness of the fuel electrode (Yoshihiro, “ A rectangular frame-shaped fuel electrode sealing material formed from an EPDM (ethylene-propylene-diene rubber) sheet having a thickness of 400 μm”, see [0041])(Yoshihiro, “ The fuel electrode seal material and the oxidant electrode seal material had rounded corners, and the inner radii of curvature r1 and r2 were 0.3 mm.”, see [0041])(The examiner notes that that the ratio of 0.3 to 0.4 is 0.75, which is within the claimed range).
Regarding Claim 5,
Modified Yoshihiro teaches the solid oxide cell of claim 3, wherein: a second corner, a corner of the electrolyte electrode, and a third corner, a corner of the air electrode, are rounded on a plane crossing the thickness direction of the fuel electrode (Yoshihiro, “ The fuel electrode seal material and the oxidant electrode seal material had rounded corners, and the inner radii of curvature r1 and r2 were 0.3 mm.”, see [0041])
Regarding Claim 6,
Modified Yoshihiro teaches the solid oxide cell of claim 5, wherein: a curvature radius of each of the first corner, the second corner, and the third corner on a plane crossing the thickness direction of the fuel electrode is a range of 0.1 mm to 2 mm (Yoshihiro, “ The fuel electrode seal material and the oxidant electrode seal material had rounded corners, and the inner radii of curvature r1 and r2 were 0.3 mm.”, see [0041]).
Regarding Claim 7,
Modified Yoshihiro teaches the solid oxide cell of claim 1, wherein: the fuel electrode further comprises a middle layer disposed between the central layer and the outer layer and having a third porosity, and the third porosity is greater than the first porosity and less than the second porosity (Yuuishi, “Usually, therefore, the inner layer 11a has a porosity of not larger than 20% and, particularly, in a range of 5 to 20%”, see [0080])(The examiner notes that the ranges overlap where the outer layer can have a larger porosity) .
Regarding Claim 8,
Modified Yoshihiro teaches the solid oxide cell of claim 7, wherein: a length of the middle layer is longer than a length of the outer layer and shorter than a length of the central layer (Inuzuka, “If the corner portion 25 has an arc shape, the inside of the electrolyte portion 21 and the covering portion 30 covering the arcuate portion also has an arc shape. As a result, damage to the electrolyte portion 21 and the covering portion 30 due to stress concentration is suppressed.”, see pg. 3)(The examiner notes that the length of each section being shorter than the previous would be an inherent property of the electrode being curved see MPEP 2163.07(a)).
Regarding Claim 9,
Yoshihiro teaches a manufacturing method of a fuel cell, comprising: preparing a plurality of fuel electrode members of plate shape; stacking and compressing the plurality of fuel electrode members (Yoshihiro, “A rectangular frame-shaped fuel electrode sealing material formed from an EPDM (ethylene-propylene-diene rubber) sheet having a thickness of 400 μm is provided on the periphery of one surface of an electrolyte membrane (perfluorosulfonic acid membrane) having a thickness of 200 μm. They were bonded by heat compression”, see [0041]); stacking an electrolyte member on the fuel electrode member sintering the plurality of fuel electrode members and the electrolyte member to form the fuel electrode and electrolyte (Yoshihiro, “These laminates were hot-pressed at 135 ° C. for 15 minutes at a pressure of 100 kg / cm 2 to obtain a membrane electrode assembly (MEA).”, see [0044]; and forming an air electrode on the electrolyte electrode (Yoshihiro, “and the oxidizing electrode 7 is laminated on the portion of the electrolyte layer 1 surrounded by the oxidizing electrode sealing material 11. Thus, a membrane electrode assembly is obtained.”, see [0033]) .
Inuzuka teaches an a solid oxide cell where the edge of the fuel electrode is rounded along a thickness direction of the fuel electrode (Inuzuka, “If the corner portion 25 has an arc shape, the inside of the electrolyte portion 21 and the covering portion 30 covering the arcuate portion also has an arc shape. As a result, damage to the electrolyte portion 21 and the covering portion 30 due to stress concentration is suppressed.”, see pg. 3).
Inuzuka teaches that the rounded edges allows for the suppression of stress (Inuzuka, “If the corner portion 25 has an arc shape, the inside of the electrolyte portion 21 and the covering portion 30 covering the arcuate portion also has an arc shape. As a result, damage to the electrolyte portion 21 and the covering portion 30 due to stress concentration is suppressed.”, see pg. 3).
Yoshihiro and Inuzuka are analogous as they are both of the same field of electrodes.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the edge of the electrode as taught in Yoshihiro to the edge as taught Inuzuka in order to suppress stress on the electrode.
Yoshihiro does not teach the fuel electrode includes a central layer and an outer layer disposed on both sides of the central layer, and a first porosity, which is a porosity of the central layer of the fuel electrode, is smaller than a second porosity, which is a porosity of the outer layer of the fuel electrode.
Yuuichi teaches the fuel electrode includes a central layer and an outer layer disposed on the central layer (Yuuichi, fuel electrode, 5, Fig. 2) (The examiner notes that Yuuichi does not teach the layer disposed on both sides but it would have been an obvious matter of duplication of parts MPEP 2144.04 (VI)(B)) , and a first porosity, which is a porosity of the central layer of the fuel electrode (Yuuichi, “It is further desired that the fuel electrode layer 5 has an open porosity of not smaller than 15%”, see [0057]), is smaller than a second porosity, which is a porosity of the outer layer of the fuel electrode (Yuuichi, “This layer 11b exhibits its intrinsic function as the oxygen electrode and is more porous than the inner layer 11a, has a high gas permeability, and its porosity is higher than that of the inner layer 11a and is, usually, in a range of about 30 to about 50%.”, see [0081]).
Yuuichi teaches that this electrode layering allows for reaction prevention with the electrode (Yuuichi, “It is therefore an object of the present invention to provide a solid electrolytic fuel cell having a structure of forming a reaction-preventing layer between the oxygen electrode and the solid electrolytic layer, having a decreased interfacial resistance between the oxygen electrode and the reaction-preventing layer, and featuring an increased junction strength between the oxygen electrode and the reaction-preventing layer”, see [0011]).
Yoshihiro and Yuuichi are analogous as they are both of the same field of fuel cell electrodes.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the layering as taught in Yoshihiro to have the layering as taught in Yuuchi in order to allow for reaction prevention.
Regarding Claim 10,
Modified Yoshihiro teaches the manufacturing method of the solid oxide cell of claim 9, wherein: by sintering the plurality of fuel electrode members, the outer member shrinks more than the central member such that a length of the outer layer formed by sintering the outer member is shorter than a length of the central layer formed by sintering the central member (Inuzuka, “Here, when the thermal expansion coefficient of the covering portion 30 is smaller than the thermal expansion coefficient of the cell main body 20, compressive stress is applied to the cell main body 20 during operation at high temperature, and the strength of the cell main body 20 is improved”, see pg. 5)(The examiner notes that it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to pick a material which would shrink during sintering to improve the strength of the cell) .
Regarding Claim 11,
Modified Yoshihiro teaches the manufacturing method of the solid oxide cell of claim 10, wherein: the preparing the plurality of fuel electrode members comprises forming a first corner, which is a corner of the plurality of fuel electrode members, to be round on a plane crossing the thickness direction of the fuel electrode (Yoshihiro, “ The fuel electrode seal material and the oxidant electrode seal material had rounded corners, and the inner radii of curvature r1 and r2 were 0.3 mm.”, see [0041]).
Regarding Claim 12,
Modified Yoshihiro teaches the manufacturing method of the solid oxide cell of claim 11, wherein: the stacking the electrolyte member comprises forming a second corner, which is a corner of the electrolyte member, to be round on a plane crossing the thickness direction of the fuel electrode (Yoshihiro, “ The fuel electrode seal material and the oxidant electrode seal material had rounded corners, and the inner radii of curvature r1 and r2 were 0.3 mm.”, see [0041]).
Regarding Claim 13,
Modified Yoshihiro teaches the manufacturing method of the solid oxide cell of claim 12, wherein: the forming the air electrode comprises forming a third corner, which is a corner of the air electrode, to be round on a plane crossing the thickness direction of the fuel electrode (Yoshihiro, “ The fuel electrode seal material and the oxidant electrode seal material had rounded corners, and the inner radii of curvature r1 and r2 were 0.3 mm.”, see [0041]).
Regarding Claim 19,
Modified Yoshihiro does not teach, wherein: a porosity of the fuel electrode increases in a direction from the central portion of the fuel electrode to the portion of the fuel electrode which is closer to the electrolyte electrode than the central portion.
Yuuichi teaches wherein: a porosity of the fuel electrode increases in a direction from the central portion of the fuel electrode to the portion of the fuel electrode which is closer to the electrolyte electrode than the central portion (Yuuichi, “This layer 11b exhibits its intrinsic function as the oxygen electrode and is more porous than the inner layer 11a, has a high gas permeability, and its porosity is higher than that of the inner layer 11a and is, usually, in a range of about 30 to about 50%.”, see [0081]) (Yuuichi, “It is further desired that the fuel electrode layer 5 has an open porosity of not smaller than 15%”, see [0057]),
Yuuichi teaches that this electrode layering allows for reaction prevention with the electrode (Yuuichi, “It is therefore an object of the present invention to provide a solid electrolytic fuel cell having a structure of forming a reaction-preventing layer between the oxygen electrode and the solid electrolytic layer, having a decreased interfacial resistance between the oxygen electrode and the reaction-preventing layer, and featuring an increased junction strength between the oxygen electrode and the reaction-preventing layer”, see [0011]).
Yoshihiro and Yuuichi are analogous as they are both of the same field of fuel cell electrodes.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the layering as taught in Yoshihiro to have the layering as taught in Yuuchi in order to allow for reaction prevention.
Claims 14-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over (JP-4630705-B2) hereinafter referred to as ‘Yoshihiro’ in view of (WO-2017154038-A1) hereinafter referred to as ‘Inuzuka’
Regarding Claim 14,
Yoshihiro teaches a fuel cell comprising: a fuel electrode (Yoshihiro, fuel electrode, 6, Fig. 3) and an air electrode (Yoshihiro, oxidant electrode, 7, Fig. 3) that face each other; and an electrolyte electrode that is disposed between the fuel electrode and the air electrode (Yoshihiro, electrolyte layer, 1, Fig. 3) wherein the fuel electrode has a plate shape (see Fig. 3),
Yoshihiro does not teach a central portion of the fuel electrode is longer than a portion of the fuel electrode which is closer to the electrolyte electrode than the central portion.
Inuzuka teaches a solid oxide fuel cell with a central portion of the fuel electrode is longer than a portion of the fuel electrode which is closer to the electrolyte electrode than the central portion (Inuzuka, “If the corner portion 25 has an arc shape, the inside of the electrolyte portion 21 and the covering portion 30 covering the arcuate portion also has an arc shape. As a result, damage to the electrolyte portion 21 and the covering portion 30 due to stress concentration is suppressed.”, see pg. 3).
Inuzuka teaches that the rounded edges allows for the suppression of stress (Inuzuka, “If the corner portion 25 has an arc shape, the inside of the electrolyte portion 21 and the covering portion 30 covering the arcuate portion also has an arc shape. As a result, damage to the electrolyte portion 21 and the covering portion 30 due to stress concentration is suppressed.”, see pg. 3).
Yoshihiro and Inuzuka are analogous as they are both of the same field of electrodes.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the edge of the electrode as taught in Yoshihiro to the edge as taught Inuzuka in order to suppress stress on the electrode.
Regarding Claim 15,
Modified Yoshihiro teaches the solid oxide cell of claim 14, wherein: a first corner, which is a corner connecting edges of the fuel electrode, is rounded along a thickness direction of the fuel electrode (Inuzuka, “If the corner portion 25 has an arc shape, the inside of the electrolyte portion 21 and the covering portion 30 covering the arcuate portion also has an arc shape. As a result, damage to the electrolyte portion 21 and the covering portion 30 due to stress concentration is suppressed.”, see pg. 3) (Yoshihiro, “ The fuel electrode seal material and the oxidant electrode seal material had rounded corners, and the inner radii of curvature r1 and r2 were 0.3 mm.”, see [0041])
.
Regarding Claim 16,
Modified Yoshihiro teaches the solid oxide cell of claim 15, wherein: wherein a curvature radius of the fuel electrode is a range of 0.1 mm to 2 mm (Yoshihiro, “ The fuel electrode seal material and the oxidant electrode seal material had rounded corners, and the inner radii of curvature r1 and r2 were 0.3 mm.”, see [0041]).
Regarding Claim 17,
Modified Yoshihiro teaches the solid oxide cell of claim 15, wherein: a second corner, a corner of the electrolyte electrode, and a third corner, a corner of the air electrode, are rounded on a plane crossing the thickness direction of the fuel electrode (Yoshihiro, “ The fuel electrode seal material and the oxidant electrode seal material had rounded corners, and the inner radii of curvature r1 and r2 were 0.3 mm.”, see [0041]).
Regarding Claim 18,
Modified Yoshihiro teaches the solid oxide cell of claim 14, wherein: a length of the fuel electrode decreases in a direction from the central portion of the fuel electrode to the portion of the fuel electrode which is closer to the electrolyte electrode than the central portion (Inuzuka, “If the corner portion 25 has an arc shape, the inside of the electrolyte portion 21 and the covering portion 30 covering the arcuate portion also has an arc shape. As a result, damage to the electrolyte portion 21 and the covering portion 30 due to stress concentration is suppressed.”, see pg. 3)(The examiner notes that the length of each section being shorter than the previous would be an inherent property of the electrode being curved).
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over (JP-4630705-B2) hereinafter referred to as ‘Yoshihiro’ in view of (WO-2017154038-A1) hereinafter referred to as ‘Inuzuka’, in further view of (US-20190109333-A1) hereinafter referred to as ‘Okui’
Regarding Claim 20,
Modified Yoshihiro does not teach, wherein: a length of the electrolyte electrode is greater than a length of the air electrode and less than a length of the fuel electrode.
Okui teaches a length of the electrolyte electrode is greater than a length of the air electrode and less than a length of the fuel electrode (Okui, “Since the extended length (CL) is longer than the thermal expansion difference between the solid electrolyte layer 12 and the current collection assisting layer 2, the end of the cathode electrode 13 always extends beyond the end of the current collection assisting layer 2 even when the solid electrolyte layer 12 and the current collection assisting layer 2 thermally expand. This allows the cathode electrode 13 to function as a cushion so as to prevent a damage of the solid electrolyte layer 12.”, see [0045]).
Okui teaches that this size differential allows for the cushioning of the electrode stack (Okui, “Since the extended length (CL) is longer than the thermal expansion difference between the solid electrolyte layer 12 and the current collection assisting layer 2, the end of the cathode electrode 13 always extends beyond the end of the current collection assisting layer 2 even when the solid electrolyte layer 12 and the current collection assisting layer 2 thermally expand. This allows the cathode electrode 13 to function as a cushion so as to prevent a damage of the solid electrolyte layer 12.”, see [0045]).
Yoshihiro and Okui are analogous as they are both of the same field of fuel cell electrodes.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the fuel cell stack as taught in Yoshihiro to have the lengths as taught in Okui, in order to improve the cushioning of the electrolyte.
Conclusion
/S.P.M./Examiner, Art Unit 1752
/NICHOLAS A SMITH/Supervisory Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1752