DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Claims 1 and 10-13 are amended. Claim 9 is canceled. Claims 1-8 and 10-13 are pending in this application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4, 6-8, and 10-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Favorskaya et al., “DIGITAL WATERMARKING OF 3D MEDICAL VISUAL OBJECTS”.
Regarding claim 1, Favorskaya discloses an intra image processing method (Section 1. Introduction, first sentence; digital processing methods) performed by an intraoral image processing device comprising a processor (Abstract, first sentence; medical equipment (a processor is implied) provides 3D models of scanning organs), the method comprising:
obtaining a first intraoral image (Section 5. Embedding and Extraction Schemes, first paragraph; Fig. 3a; and Section 6. Experimental Results, first paragraph; each of sliced images related to 3D model of a single tooth, 3D models of several teeth, or 3D model of a whole jaw; original or host slice); and
obtaining a second intraoral image by embedding input additional information including at least one of a text and an image into at least a partial area of the first intraoral image such that the partial area is modified to reflect the additional information (Section 4. Selecting Regions for Embedding; Section 5. Embedding and Extraction Schemes, first paragraph; Figs. 3b-3g; and Section 6. Experimental Results, first paragraph; select carefully regions for embedding and corresponding type of transform for embedding; b textual watermark, c ROI
watermark (increased in 3 times), d fragile watermark (Figs. 3b-3d are additional information), e watermarked slice after embedding of ROI watermark, f watermarked slice after embedding of ROI and textual watermarks, g watermarked slice after embedding of ROI, textual, and fragile watermarks (Figs. 3e-3g are embedded additional information into second intraoral images)),
wherein each of the first intraoral image and second intraoral image is three-dimensional scan data obtained by imaging a surface of an object (Abstract, first sentence; Section 5. Embedding and Extraction Schemes, first paragraph; Fig. 3a and 3e-3g; and Section 6. Experimental Results, first paragraph; medical equipment provides 3D models of scanning organs; each of sliced images related to 3D model of a single tooth, 3D models of several teeth, or 3D model of a whole jaw; original or host slice and embedded slices of original slice are therefore 3D scan data)
Regarding claim 2, the intra image processing method of claim 1, Favorskaya further discloses comprising identifying an additional information input area for displaying the additional information in the first intraoral image (Section 4. Selecting Regions for Embedding; Section 5. Embedding and Extraction Schemes, second paragraph; and Section 6. Experimental Results, first paragraph).
Regarding claim 3, the intra image processing method of claim 2, Favorskaya further discloses wherein the identifying of the additional information input area comprises identifying the additional information input area in remaining areas other than an oral cavity area of the first intraoral image (Section 4. Selecting Regions for Embedding; Section 5. Embedding and Extraction Schemes, second paragraph; and Section 6. Experimental Results, first paragraph).
Regarding claim 4, the intra image processing method of claim 2, Favorskaya further discloses comprising
receiving a selection of at least one of a tooth and gingiva as a target (Section 5. Embedding and Extraction Schemes, first paragraph),
wherein the identifying of the additional information input area comprises identifying the additional information input area in remaining area other than an area within a certain range from the at least one selected from the tooth and the gingiva (Section 4. Selecting Regions for Embedding; Section 5. Embedding and Extraction Schemes, second paragraph; and Section 6. Experimental Results, first paragraph).
Regarding claim 6, the intra image processing method of claim 2, Favorskaya further discloses comprising
outputting a user interface screen for selecting the additional information input area (Figs. 3b-3d and Section 6. Experimental Results, first paragraph),
wherein the identifying of the additional information input area comprises identifying a selected area as the additional information input area in response to the user interface screen (Section 4. Selecting Regions for Embedding; Section 5. Embedding and Extraction Schemes, second paragraph; and Section 6. Experimental Results, first paragraph).
Regarding claim 7, the intra image processing method of claim 2, Favorskaya further discloses comprising outputting at least one of a user interface screen on which the identified additional information input area is displayed and a user interface screen on which the input additional information is displayed in the identified additional information input area (Figs. 3b-3d and Section 6. Experimental Results, first paragraph).
Regarding claim 8, the intra image processing method of claim 7, Favorskaya further discloses wherein,
when the input additional information is greater than or equal to a certain size and when there are a plurality of additional information input areas where the additional information is displayed, the outputting of the user interface screen on which the input additional information is displayed comprises outputting an identifier indicating a position of the additional information input area instead of the additional information, or outputting the additional information input area whose size is reduced (Section 4. Selecting Regions for Embedding; Section 5. Embedding and Extraction Schemes; Figs. 3b-3d; and Section 6. Experimental Results, first paragraph).
Regarding claim 10, the intra image processing method of claim 1, Favorskaya further discloses wherein
the obtaining of the second intraoral image into which the additional information is embedded comprises obtaining the second intraoral image by embedding the additional information into the first intraoral image by replacing variables or color values of pixels of a two-dimensional image mapped to the first intraoral image with values corresponding to the additional information (Section 4. Selecting Regions for Embedding; Section 5. Embedding and Extraction Schemes, first paragraph; Section 6. Experimental Results, first paragraph); and Section 7. Conclusions).
Regarding claim 11, the intra image processing method of claim 1, Favorskaya further discloses wherein
the first intraoral image is the three-dimensional scan data expressed as at least one of dots and mesh (Section 1. Introduction; 3D models are 3D polygonal mesh
models), and
the obtaining of the second intraoral image into which the additional information is embedded comprises obtaining the second intraoral image by embedding the additional information in the first intraoral image by changing a color of at least one of a point, a vertex, and a polygon including the vertex of the first intraoral image located at a position corresponding to an outline of at least one of a text and an image included in the additional information (Section 4. Selecting Regions for Embedding; Section 5. Embedding and Extraction Schemes, first paragraph; Figs. 3b-3g; and Section 6. Experimental Results, first paragraph).
Regarding claim 12, this claim recites substantially the same limitations that are performed by claim 1 above, and it is rejected for the same reasons.
Regarding claim 13, this claim recites substantially the same limitations that are performed by claim 1 above, and it is rejected for the same reasons.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Favorskaya et al., “DIGITAL WATERMARKING OF 3D MEDICAL VISUAL OBJECTS” in view of Zarrabi et al., “BlessMark: A Blind Diagnostically-Lossless Watermarking Framework for Medical Applications Based on Deep Neural Networks”.
Regarding claim 5, the intra image processing method of claim 2, Favorskaya further discloses wherein the identifying of the additional information input area comprises identifying the additional information input area from the first intraoral image by using “a digital watermarking scheme” to identify additional information input areas from a plurality of intraoral images (Abstract; Section 4. Selecting Regions for Embedding; Section 5. Embedding and Extraction Schemes, second paragraph; and Section 6. Experimental Results, first paragraph).
Favorskaya discloses claim 5 as enumerated above, but Favorskaya does not explicitly discloses using a trained neural network as claimed.
However, Zarrabi discloses a deep neural network is used to recognize the ROI map in the embedding, extraction, and recovery processes in watermarking framework (Abstract).
Therefore, taking the combined disclosures of Favorskaya and Zarrabi as a whole, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate a deep neural network is used to recognize the ROI map in the embedding, extraction, and recovery processes in watermarking framework as taught by Zarrabi into the invention of Favorskaya for the benefit of satisfying the confidentiality of the patient information through a blind watermarking system, while it preserves diagnostic/medical information of the image
throughout the watermarking process (Zarrabi: Abstract).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments with respect to claims 1-8 and 10-13 have been considered but are moot in view of the new ground(s) of rejection.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/VAN D HUYNH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2665