CTNF 18/287,823 CTNF 101661 DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Claim Objections Claims 2-6 & 9 are objected to because of the following informalities: Claim 2-5 are objected to because of the recitation “a non-aqueous electrolyte” in line 1 of said claims. The recitation should read “the non-aqueous electrolyte”. Claim 5 is objected to because of the recitation “a total weight” in line 5 of said claim. The recitation should read “the total weight”. Claims 6-9 is objected to because of the recitation “a lithium secondary battery” in line 1 of said claims. The recitation should read “the lithium secondary battery”. Appropriate corrections are required. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-06 AIA 15-10-15 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-23-aia AIA The factual inquiries for establishing a background for determining obviousness under 35 U.S.C. 103 are summarized as follows: 1. Determining the scope and contents of the prior art. 2. Ascertaining the differences between the prior art and the claims at issue. 3. Resolving the level of ordinary skill in the pertinent art. 4. Considering objective evidence present in the application indicating obviousness or nonobviousness. 07-20-02-aia AIA This application currently names joint inventors. In considering patentability of the claims the examiner presumes that the subject matter of the various claims was commonly owned as of the effective filing date of the claimed invention(s) absent any evidence to the contrary. Applicant is advised of the obligation under 37 CFR 1.56 to point out the inventor and effective filing dates of each claim that was not commonly owned as of the effective filing date of the later invention in order for the examiner to consider the applicability of 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(C) for any potential 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) prior art against the later invention. 07-21-aia AIA Claim s 1-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Onuma (JP2012119091A; see machine translation) in view of Lang (US 8309376 B2) . Regarding Claim 1, Onuma teaches an additive (fluorine-containing (meth) acrylic acid derivative, see [0007]) for a non-aqueous electrolyte (non-aqueous electrolyte, see [0007]). PNG media_image1.png 167 484 media_image1.png Greyscale Onuma is silent on the additive comprising a compound represented by Formula 1 below wherein in the Formula 1, n is an integer of 2 to 20 Lang teaches a fluorine-containing polymer (3,3,4,4,5,5,6,6,7,7,8,8,8-tridecafluorooctyl) propiolate (see col 33, lines 59-60 and chemical structure outline below as annotated Figure A) which reads on the chemical Formula 1 and wherein n is 5. Lang discloses the above fluorine-containing polymer is used as a reagent to synthesize a photocurable surface-active composition (see col 33, lines 43-61) which is used as an organic active material for electronic devices (see col 2, lines 38-45). PNG media_image2.png 280 500 media_image2.png Greyscale Onuma and Lang are analogous art to the claimed invention as both references are in the same field of fluorine-containing polymers. It therefore would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have used the (3,3,4,4,5,5,6,6,7,7,8,8,8-tridecafluorooctyl) propiolate fluorine containing polymer of Lang as the additive in the non-aqueous electrolyte of Onuma which can further be used to produce a photocurable surface composition useful as organic active materials in electronic devices. Regarding Claims 2-3, modified Onuma discloses all the limitations as set forth above. Further, Lang teaches wherein, in the Formula 1, n is an integer of 3 to 15 (as required by Claim 2) and wherein, in the Formula 1, n is an integer of 4 to 10 (as required by Claim 3) (see annotated Figure A above wherein n is 5). Regarding Claim 4, modified Onuma discloses all of the limitations as set forth . Further, Lang teaches wherein the compound represented by the Formula 1 includes at least one of compounds represented by Formulae 1-1 to 1-3 (see annotated Figure A which reads on Formula 1-2). Regarding Claim 5 , modified Onuma teaches all of the limitations as set forth. Further, Onuma teaches a non-aqueous electrolyte (as set forth above) for a lithium secondary battery (lithium-ion secondary battery 100, see [0040] & Figure 1), the non-aqueous electrolyte (as set forth above) comprising a lithium salt (lithium salts, see [0034]), an organic solvent (organic solvent, see [0037]), and the additive (fluorine-containing (meth) acrylic acid derivative) wherein the additive (fluorine-containing (meth) acrylic acid derivative) is present in an amount of up to 9.0 wt% based on a total weight of the non-aqueous electrolyte (see [0033] which describes that the fluorine-containing (meth) acrylic acid derivative is preferably contained in an amount of 0.01% to 8.0% by mass). Regarding Claims 6 & 7, while Onuma teaches that the fluorine-containing (meth) acrylic acid derivative is preferably contained in an amount of 0.01% to 8.0% by mass (see [0033]), which overlaps the claimed ranges, the reference dos not explicitly disclose the additive (fluorine-containing (meth) acrylic acid derivative) being present in an amount of 0.1 wt% to 7.0 wt% based on the total weight of the non-aqueous electrolyte (as required by claim 6) and 0.1 wt% to 5.0 wt% based on the total weight of the non-aqueous electrolyte (as required by claim 7). Further Onuma teaches that when the content of the fluorine-containing (meth)acrylic acid derivative is below the said range, the effect of reducing heat generation becomes insufficient and when above the said range, the discharge capacity tends to decrease. When the claimed ranges overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art, a prima facie case of obviousness exists (MPEP § 2144.05.I), and thus it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to select the overlapping portions of the ranges for the amount of the fluorine-containing (meth) acrylic acid derivative with a reasonable expectation that such selection would successfully result in sufficient reduction of heat generation and minimize decrease in discharge capacity (the benefit of the range). Regarding Claim 8 , modified Onuma teaches all of the limitations as set forth above. Further, Onuma teaches t he non-aqueous electrolyte (non-aqueous electrolyte) for a lithium secondary battery (lithium-ion secondary battery 100), further comprising at least one other additive selected from the group consisting of a cyclic carbonate-based compound, a halogen-substituted carbonate-based compound, a nitrile- based compound, a phosphate-based compound, a borate-based compound, and a lithium salt-based compound (see vinylene carbonate, [0037] which reads on a cycle carbonate-based compound). Regarding Claim 9 , modified Onuma teaches all of the limitations as set forth above. Further, Onuma teaches a lithium secondary battery (lithium-ion secondary battery 100) comprising a positive electrode (positive electrode 10, Figure 1 & [0041]); a negative electrode (negative electrode 20, [0041] & Figure 1); a separator (separator 18, [0041] & Figure 1 ) disposed between the negative electrode (20) and the positive electrode (10); and the non-aqueous electrolyte (non-aqueous electrolyte) . Conclusion 07-96 AIA The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Ikeda et al, ACS Appl. Polym. Mater. 2026, 8, 4, 3023–3032 (Art discusses side-chain fluorinated polymers and further lists a C 6 F 13 -alkyne which reads on Formula 1-2) CN119340518A (machine translation provided - art discusses fluorinated polymers used in lithium-ion batteries, see compounds A-1 to A-4 on pages 79-80). Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to FIKI V OWHOSO whose telephone number is (571)272-3418. The examiner can normally be reached Monday - Friday 9:00 am - 5:00 pm. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Basia Ridley can be reached at 5712725453. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /F.V.O./Examiner, Art Unit 1725 /BASIA A RIDLEY/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1725 Application/Control Number: 18/287,823 Page 2 Art Unit: 1725 Application/Control Number: 18/287,823 Page 3 Art Unit: 1725 Application/Control Number: 18/287,823 Page 4 Art Unit: 1725 Application/Control Number: 18/287,823 Page 5 Art Unit: 1725 Application/Control Number: 18/287,823 Page 6 Art Unit: 1725 Application/Control Number: 18/287,823 Page 7 Art Unit: 1725