DETAILED ACTION
The preliminary amendment filed on October 20, 2023 has been considered.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: drive wheel member (claims 1, 13), tension wheel member (claims 1, 13).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
B) CONCLUSION.—The specification shall conclude with one or more claims particularly pointing out and distinctly claiming the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention.
Claims 1-27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Claims 1, 13, “its” (line 4) lacks antecedent basis. Examiner suggests replacing “its” with – a --.
The remaining claims are also rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b), for being dependent upon a rejected base claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-4, 13-16, and 25-27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to non-statutory subject matter.
Pursuant to the 2019 Revised Patent Subject Matter Eligibility Guidance (MPEP 2106), the following analysis is made:
Under step 1 of the Guidance, the claims fall within a statutory category.
Under step 2A, prong 1, claims 1 and 13 recite an abstract idea of “based on the information received from said at least one sensor, determining if there is a natural frequency of said endless track” (mental process), “determining the natural frequency of said endless track” (mental process), based on the determination associated with natural frequency, determining whether or not there is a potential damage to the endless track” (mental process).
Under step 2A, prong 2, the claim limitations are not integrated into a practical application (MPEP 2106.04(d)(I)).
Receiving, from at least one sensor, measurement information associated with vibrations of said endless track is directed to an insignificant extra solution activity of data gathering (see MPEP 2106.05(g)).
Under step 2B, the claims do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the abstract idea (MPEP 2106.05(A)).
Receiving, from at least one sensor, measurement information associated with vibrations of said endless track is further directed to well-understood, routine and conventional activities known in the industry, have been found not to be enough to qualify as “significantly more” than the claimed judicial exception (see MPEP 2106.05(d)).
Accordingly, the additional elements do not provide meaningful limitation(s) to transform the abstract idea into a patent eligible application of the abstract idea.
Claims 2, 4, 14, and 16 are directed to an abstract idea.
Claims 3 and 15 recites a particular machine, however, the particular machine does not perform the abstract idea.
Claim 25 recites a conventional feature.
Claim 26 is directed to non-statutory subject matter, i.e., computer program.
Claim 27 is drawn to a "computer readable medium". The broadest reasonable interpretation of a claim drawn to a computer readable medium covers forms of non-transitory tangible media and transitory propagating signals per se in view of the ordinary and customary meaning of computer readable media, particularly when the specification is silent (see MPEP 2111.01). Because the broadest reasonable interpretation covers a signal per se, a rejection under 35 USC 101 is appropriate as covering non-statutory subject matter. See 351 OG 212, Feb 23 2010.
The Examiner suggests that Applicant amends the claims as follows: insert -- non-transitory – before “computer readable medium".
Claims 5-12 and 17-24 are directed to insignificant extra solution activities (under step 2A, prong 2), but the insignificant extra solution activities are not conventional (under step 2B). Accordingly, claims 5-12 and 17-24 are patent eligible under 35 USC 101.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 13-15, and 25-27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mizusawa et al. (JP 2011011622) in view of Richard et al. (US 2021/0173399).
Regarding claims 1 and 13, Mizusawa et al. discloses a method and device for determining potential damage of an endless track of a tracked vehicle (10, Fig. 1) (Abstract, lines 1-2), said tracked vehicle comprising at least one track assembly comprising a drive wheel member (14), a tension wheel member (16), a set of road wheels (24’s) and said endless track (20) disposed in its longitudinal extension around said wheels (Fig. 1), said endless track being configured to be rotated by means of said drive wheel member during drive of the tracked vehicle (Fig. 1), the method comprising the steps of:
receiving, from at least one sensor (44), measurement information associated with vibrations of said endless track (vibrations generated by track rollers 24, page 3, paragraph 2; Fig. 1);
based on the information received from said at least one sensor (vibration, page 2, paragraph 3; Fig. 1), determining whether or not there is a potential damage to the endless track (page 3, paragraph 13 – page 4, paragraph 1).
Mizusawa et al. does not disclose based on the information received from said at least one sensor, determining if there is a natural frequency of said endless track, and if so determining the natural frequency of said endless track, and based on the determination associated with natural frequency, determining whether or not there is a potential damage to the endless track.
Richard et al. discloses based on the information received from said at least one sensor, determining if there is a natural frequency of said endless track (paragraph 0321, lines 1-3), and if so determining the natural frequency of said endless track (identify resonant frequency, paragraph 0321, line 3) for determining whether or not there is a potential damage to the endless track (paragraph 0321, lines 5-7).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to provide Mizusawa et al. with determining if there is a natural frequency of said endless track as disclosed by Richard et al. for the purpose of determining whether or not there is a potential damage to the endless track.
Regarding claims 2 and 14, Mizusawa et al. does not disclose determining if there is a natural frequency of said endless track, and if so, determining the natural frequency of said endless track comprises determining if there is a natural frequency of said endless track, and if so, determining the natural frequency in the longitudinal extension of said endless track.
Richard et al. discloses determining if there is a natural frequency of said endless track, and if so, determining the natural frequency of said endless track comprises determining if there is a natural frequency of said endless track, and if so, determining the natural frequency in the longitudinal extension of said endless track (identifying the resonant frequency of the track, paragraph 0321, lines 1-3).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to provide Mizusawa et al. with determining the natural frequency in the longitudinal extension of said endless track as disclosed by Richard et al. for the purpose of determining whether or not there is a potential damage to the endless track.
Regarding claims 3 and 15, Mizusawa et al. does not disclose said endless track comprises a wire configuration arranged within said endless track and configured to run in the longitudinal extension of said endless track around said endless track.
Richard et al. discloses a wire configuration arranged within said endless track and configured to run in the longitudinal extension of said endless track around said endless track for reinforcing the track (paragraph 0102, lines 3-9).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to provide Mizusawa et al. with a wire configuration arranged within said endless track as disclosed by Richard et al. for the purpose of determining whether or not there is a potential damage to the endless track.
Regarding claim 25, Mizusawa et al. discloses a tracked vehicle (10, Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 26, Mizusawa et al. discloses a computer program (implied by execution of CPU 52) comprising computer-readable instructions (implied by execution of CPU 52), when executed by at least one processor (52) of a device (monitoring device, Abstract, lines 1-2) for determining potential damage of an endless track of a tracked vehicle (10), causes the at least one processor to perform (Abstract).
Regarding claim 27, Mizusawa et al. discloses a computer program product comprising at least one computer-readable medium, such as a non-volatile memory, storing the computer (implied by execution of CPU 52).
Claims 4 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mizusawa et al. in view of Richard et al. as applied to claims 1 and 13 above, and further in view of DE 4109257.
Regarding claims 4 and 16, Mizusawa et al. as modified by Richard et al. discloses the claimed limitations as discussed above, except determining whether or not there is a potential damage to the endless track comprises the steps of:
comparing the determination associated with natural frequency of said endless track with a predetermined natural frequency associated with said endless track; and,
determining a potential damage to the endless track if the difference between said determination associated with natural frequency and said predetermined natural frequency exceeds a predetermined threshold.
DE 4109257 discloses determining whether or not there is a potential damage to the endless track comprises the steps of:
comparing the determination associated with natural frequency of said endless track with a predetermined natural frequency associated with said endless track (comparing frequency of track with predetermined frequency, Abstract, lines 6-7); and,
determining a potential damage to the endless track if the difference between said determination associated with natural frequency and said predetermined natural frequency exceeds a predetermined threshold (Abstract, lines 6-7, 1-2).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to provide Mizusawa et al. as modified with comparing determination associated with natural frequency and said predetermined natural frequency as suggested by DE 4109257 for the purpose of determining an incorrect functioning of the track.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5-12 and 17-24 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Reasons For Allowance
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance:
The combination as claimed wherein a method and device for determining potential damage of an endless track of a tracked vehicle comprising receiving measurement information from measurement of movement of crankshaft of tension wheel member, and based on said crankshaft movement determining if there is a natural frequency of said endless track (claim 5, 17) or receiving measurement information from measurement of pressure variation of a tension cylinder in connection to said tension wheel member of said track assembly, and based on said pressure variation determining if there is a natural frequency of said endless track (claims 6, 18) or receiving measurement information from measurements performed during a drive sweep of said tracked vehicle (claims 7, 19) or receiving measurement information from measurements performed during a first standstill position of said tracked vehicle, during which first standstill position an external trigger frequency is applied in connection to said track assembly (claims 9, 21) is not disclosed, suggested, or made obvious by the prior art of record.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Ljung (US 2021/0269107) discloses a deflector arrangement (100) for a tracked vehicle (V) (Abstract, lines 1-2). Ljung further discloses a problem during drive in rough terrain with such vehicle is that ingestion of undesired material such as gravel and stones into the respective track assembly and in between wheels and the endless track may occur which in turn cause damages to the tracked vehicle and in some cases may result in the endless track being torn apart (paragraph 0003). However, Ljung does not disclose based on the determination associated with natural frequency, determining whether or not there is a potential damage to the endless track.
Contact Information
/MICHAEL P NGHIEM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2857 March 6, 2026