DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I (Claim 1, terphenyl as the elected Aryl structure) in the reply filed on 5/29/26 is acknowledged.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 10/20/23 was filed. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement has been considered by the examiner.
Drawings
The drawings were received on 10/20/23. These drawings are acceptable.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by NPL, “Poly(Alkyl-Terphenyl Piperidinium) Ionomers and Membranes with an Outstanding Alkaline-Membrane Fuel-Cell Performance of 2.58 W cm⁻²,” by Nanjun Chen et al. (Chen).
As to Claim 1: Chen discloses a poly(alkyl-aryl piperidinium) polymer ionomer class (Chen, Pg. 1, Abstract; Pg. 8, Keywords); Chen discloses a unified copolymer molecular layout containing a repeating unit represented by <Chemical Formula 1> (Chen, Pg. 2, Fig. 1); Chen discloses that Aryl is selected from terphenyls, explicitly teaching the polycondensation of para-terphenyl or meta-terphenyl co-monomers to build the rigid block segments of the polymer backbone (Chen, Pg. 2, Fig. 1); Chen discloses a structural arrangement featuring an integrated main-chain diphenylalkane segment connected via a Cₙ alkylene block where n = 2, specifically demonstrating a flexible diphenylethane backbone bridge (Chen, Pg. 2, Fig. 1); Chen discloses structural configurations where continuous linear alkylene chains tether the active piperidinium cationic clusters (Chen, Pg. 2, Fig. 1); and Chen discloses specific copolymer structural variations designated as PDTP-25, PDTP-50, and PDTP-75 where x and y represent relative block mole fractions (%) in the repeating unit, satisfying the criteria where x > 0, y > 0, and x + y = 100 (Chen, Pg. 2, Fig. 1).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20190036143 A1 (US’143) in view of NPL, “Poly(aryl piperidinium) membranes and ionomers for hydroxide exchange membrane fuel cells”, by Wang et al., (Wang) and WO 2019068051 A2 (WO’051).
As to Claim 1: US’143 discloses a baseline poly(aryl piperidinium) polymer ionomer platform free of ether linkages for use as an anion exchange membrane (US’143, Abstract, [0003], [0046], [0055]); US’143 discloses a structural core parallel to Chemical Formula 1 wherein a central saturated cyclic piperidinium ring is coupled directly into aromatic main-chain rings as a reaction product via superacid-catalyzed polyhydroxyalkylation (US’143, [0009]–[0019], [0047]–[0055], [0062]–[0068], [0088]–[0101]); US’143 discloses that the Aryl block can be restricted to terphenyl isomers, explicitly teaching that the aryl linkages of the poly(aryl piperidinium) backbone can be derived from para-terphenyl monomers (US’143, [0050], [0058]–[0065], [0098]–[0101]); and US’143 discloses a copolymer composition balance wherein the sum of the mole fractions of the structural units is determined by the starting monomer feed, satisfying a balanced dual-block proportional framework (US’143, [0019]–[0024], [0055], [0088], [0092], [0098]–[0101]).
However, US’143 does not explicitly disclose the exact molecular connectivity of Chemical Formula 1 featuring a flexible diphenylalkane segment connected via a Cₙ alkylene block (n = 1 to 10) dynamically integrated inside the continuous main backbone chain alongside the terphenyl Aryl segment.
Wang and WO’051 disclose advanced modifications to the poly(aryl piperidinium) architecture to optimize performance and tune physical characteristics. Specifically, Wang discloses introducing flexible structural components, adjusting monomer feed ratios, and managing polymer molecular weight to lower water uptake and balance the tradeoff between high hydroxide conductivity and dimensional stability (Wang, Pg. 3–6, 11–13). Similarly, WO’051 discloses modifying the rigid poly(aryl piperidinium) framework by introducing flexible aliphatic spacer chains, multi-cation tethers, and alkylene links to fine-tune the mechanical properties, tensile strength, and elongation at break of the resulting membrane (WO’051, Abstract, [0052]–[0067], [0076]–[0087], [0131]–[0146]).
US’143, Wang, and WO’051 are analogous arts because they all belong to the same specific technical field of polymer chemistry, focus on the synthesis of ether-free poly(arylene piperidinium) baseline platforms, and target the development of chemically stable, ionically conductive, and mechanically robust anion exchange polyelectrolytes for alkaline fuel cell applications (US’143, Abstract, [0003], [0046]; Wang, Pg. 1–4; WO’051, Abstract, [0002], [0052]).
It would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to modify the rigid, fully polycyclic aromatic backbone of US’143 by incorporating a flexible, alkylene-bridged diphenylalkane segment into the main chain as suggested by the flexible aliphatic spacer and chain engineering taught in Wang and WO’051 in order to optimize nanophase separation channels, increase mechanical flexibility, and successfully control the water uptake and dimensional swelling of the resulting polyelectrolyte membrane (US’143, [0006]–[0008], [0025]–[0028], [0055]–[0068]; Wang, Pg. 3–6, 11–13; WO’051, [0005]–[0007], [0052]–[0067], [0076]–[0087], [0137]–[0146]).
Conclusion
/JIMMY VO/
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1723
/JIMMY VO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1723