Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 3-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. In claim 3, it is unclear how the annular expansively openable member is attached to the bolt main body (line 8) and the smaller diameter tube portion is between an inner surface of the annular expansively openable member and the push in potion (lines 15-17). And particularly in claim 4 where the expansively openable member is claimed as attached to the small diameter tube portion. Additionally in claim 3, line 16, the limitation “on the tip towards the tip” is unclear because how can something be towards itself.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 and 7-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Fisher (US 4,640,654). Fisher discloses an anchor bolt comprising: a bolt main body (2) with a thread at one end inserted into an anchor hole (8); a tubular member (7) made of plastic with an outer peripheral surface having locking portions (9) extending in the axial direction engaged within the bore; a relatively harder annular expansively openable member (7) made of a ductile metal attached to the main bolt and divided in the peripheral direction with a division line (column 3, paragraph beginning line 20); and a push-in portion (3) for expanding the annular expansively openable member (Fig. 3).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fischer as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Oettl (US 4,334,813). Fischer does not disclose the division line having ends offset from one another in the peripheral direction. Oettl discloses an anchor bolt with an annular expansively openable member (14) similar to Fisher but Oettl disclose the annular expansively member openable including a division line (37) peripherally offset at its’ ends (see Fig. 4b). Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to provide the annular expansively openable member of Fisher with a division line as disclosed in Oettl because it would continue to be expandable to yield the same predictable results.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3-6 appear would be allowable if rewritten or amended to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: In the context of the claims, the prior art does not disclose the annular expansively openable member divided in the peripheral direction and disposed on the smaller diameter tube portion which extends from the end of tubular member. The most relevant references are believed to be Fischer (US 4,460,654) and Anasis (US 9,562,558): Fisher teaches an annular expansive openable member (17) as divided in the peripheral direction and disposed on a smaller diameter a tube portion (16) but the smaller diameter tube portion is a groove which does not extend from an end of the tube; and Anasis, in the embodiment shown in Figs. 51-54, teaches an annular expansive openable member (200) disposed on a smaller diameter tube portion extending from an end of the tube but the annular expansively openable member is disclose to be rubber thus it would not be divided in the peripheral direction nor would there be any rational for providing a division.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. The additional references cited are of general interest.
/FLEMMING SAETHER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3675