DETAILED ACTION
Statement of claims
The present amended application includes:
Claims 1-5 were amended.
Claims 1-5 remain pending in the application. Claims 1-5 are being considered on the merits.
Response to Arguments
Rejections under 35 U.S.C. § 101
In view of the amendment and applicant’s remarks, 101 rejection is withdrawn.
Applicant's Response to the Double Patenting Rejection :
The terminal disclaimer filed on 05/04/2026 disclaiming the terminal portion of the copending application 18/287,914 has been reviewed and is accepted. The terminal disclaimer has been recorded.
Claim Rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 103 :
Applicant argues that:
Point 1 “That is, Hoshihara fails to teach or suggest "A management system that manages grid computing processing of causing one or more arithmetic devices that are available among a plurality of arithmetic devices, each of the plurality of arithmetic devices is owned by a respective one of a plurality of users, each of the plurality of arithmetic devices is mounted on a respective one of a plurality of vehicles, and each of the plurality of arithmetic devices enters an operation state when the vehicle is traveling, and enters a stop state when a power supply of the vehicle is turned off, to process job data," as recited in independent claims 1 and 4.".
As Point 1: The examiner respectfully disagrees and submits that Hoshihara teaches A management system that manages grid computing processing (e.g., see FIG. 2, para 41, “charge guidance processing unit 26 are implemented as concrete means which cause software”, “ to execute charge guidance processing programs “, “ for realizing the navigation system ” and “ the learning processing unit 24 “, “ extracts the charging spot at which the frequency of executing the charging processing” , the “ management information of the battery managing unit 13.” in para 44 , 46 and 62.
Thus, the “charging spot” represents the grid , the “charge guidance processing programs” coupled with the “learning processing unit 24” to “extracts the charging spot at which the frequency of executing the charging processing “ and “the management information from the battery managing unit 13”, see FIG. 2, therefore these teaching of Hoshihara suggest management system that manages grid computing processing. (emphasis added).
Moreover, Hoshihara teaches, (see rejection of claim 1 below) causing one or more arithmetic devices that are available among a plurality of arithmetic devices, each of the plurality of arithmetic devices is owned by a respective one of a plurality of users, each of the plurality of arithmetic devices is mounted on a respective one of a plurality of vehicles, and each of the plurality of arithmetic devices enters an operation state when the vehicle is traveling, and enters a stop state when a power supply of the vehicle is turned off, to process job data ( see rejection of claim 1 below).
Applicant argues that:
Point 2. “Further, Hoshihara fails to teach or suggest "the controller performs prediction processing of predicting a temporal change in the calculation capability available in the grid computing processing of each of the plurality of arithmetic devices on a basis of the calculation capability information and the operation status information, selection processing of presenting a job list that introduces a plurality of jobs to the plurality of users and allowing the plurality of users to select the job for which the calculation capability of the plurality of arithmetic devices owned by the plurality of users is desired to be provided from the jobs introduced by the job list, and matching processing of allocating, to the job data corresponding to the job selected by the plurality of users in the selection processing among the plurality of jobs, the one or more arithmetic devices that are available in the grid computing processing and are owned by the respective users among the plurality of arithmetic devices on a basis of a result of the prediction processing and a result of the selection processing" as recited in independent claims 1 and 4."
As to point 2, examiner respectfully disagree , since Zhang was previously presented as teaching (see rejection of claim 1 below) , prediction processing of predicting a temporal change in the calculation capability available in the grid computing processing of each of the plurality of arithmetic devices on a basis of the calculation capability information and the operation status information (e.g., see page 2837, “B. Reservation-Enabled Charging Management”, “charging reservations as well as parking duration,charging (and parking) conditions can be precisely predicted for a future moment at CPs.” for “parked and charged AEVs “ and “the spatiotemporal dynamics of AEVs constantly on-the-move” in page 2841),
matching processing of allocating the arithmetic device that is available in the grid computing processing and is owned by the user among the plurality of arithmetic devices on a basis of a result of the prediction processing and a result of the selection processing (e.g., see page 2841, “B. CP-Selection Procedure” , “the GC is able to determine the optimal CP by accounting for the following context information 1) The traveling time of aevr from that D/P spot to each CP (lcp), denoted as T ldp,cp aev . 2) The expected waiting time for charging (EWTC) at individual CPs. While the calculation on T ldp,cp aev is easy to achieve, the value of EWTC requires predictions on the charging state with each CP for a future moment” for “load balancing across the network can be achieved, with regard to parked and charged AEVs in history” in page 2837 ).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Hoshihara with those of Zhang because both references are directed to related systems addressing similar technical problems within the same field and seek to improve system performance, reliability, and efficiency.
Hoshihara et al. disclose a management system that manages grid computing processing, the calculation capability of the arithmetic device , allowing a user to select the arithmetic device that is available in the grid computing processing while Zhang et al. teach prediction processing of predicting the temporal change in the calculation capability available in the grid computing processing, matching processing of allocating on a basis of a result of the prediction processing.
Incorporating the teachings of Zhang et al. into the system of Hoshihara et al. would have been a predictable and logical modification, yielding improved operational robustness and efficiency without requiring undue experimentation.
Such a combination would merely involve the substitution or integration of known elements performing their established functions, as taught by Zhang et al., into the system of Hoshihara et al., consistent with design incentives and market demands for improved performance and scalability. Moreover, Zhang et al. explicitly recognize benefits to “enable accurate predictions on future charging (and parking) states at CPs” and to provide “enhanced customer experiences in traveling period, as well as charging performances at both AEV and CP sides” (see Zhang, in abstract) . —that would naturally be desirable in the system of Hoshihara et al.
Accordingly, to one of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success in combining Hoshihara et al. with Zhang et al., and the combination represents no more than the predictable use of prior art elements according to their known functions.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hoshihara et al. (US 2013/0218402, Hoshihara hereinafter) in view of Xu Zhang et al. “An Integrated Framework on Autonomous-EV Charging and Autonomous Valet Parking (AVP) Management System” , Zhang hereinafter , Electronic publication date, print publication date 2022-01-20.
As to claim 1, Hoshihara teaches a management system that manages grid computing processing (e.g., see FIG. 6, “spot C and spot B”, para 68, “a visiting spot of an electric vehicle. FIG. 6(a) shows a usual visiting spot of a driver, and FIG. 6(b) shows an occurrence of unusual visiting. In FIG. 6, the driver usually drives the electric vehicle to travel between spot C and spot B (see FIG. 6(a))” and “charging spot “, “the learning processing unit 24 reads out the history information stored in the storage unit 5, and extracts the charging spot at which the frequency of executing the charging processing” in para 62) of causing one or more arithmetic devices that are available among a plurality of arithmetic devices, each of the plurality of arithmetic devices which is owned by a respective one of a plurality of users (e.g., para [0067] “for the usual charging spot “, “ it is not limited to a single place for each vehicle, but can be a plurality of spots”, “parking lot where a plurality of vehicles can park at random.” for “the user travels back and forth to work by electric vehicle, in which spot B is user's workplace and spot C is user's home.” in para 68”. Thus, “a plurality of vehicles” coupled with “charging spot”, “arithmetic unit 6” , therefore causing one or more arithmetic devices that are available among a plurality of arithmetic devices, each of the plurality of arithmetic devices which is owned by a respective one of a plurality of users ) ,each of the plurality of arithmetic devices is mounted on a respective one of a plurality of vehicles ,and each of the plurality of arithmetic devices (e.g., see FIG. 1, para 31, “an arithmetic unit 6” for “ the body 1 of an electric vehicle incorporating a navigation system 2 “and “The arithmetic unit 6, which carries out calculations” in para 39 ) , enters an operation state when the vehicle is traveling, and enters a stop state when a power supply of the vehicle is turned off, to process job data (e.g., para [0039] The arithmetic unit 6, which carries out calculations of the individual processing in the navigation system 2, estimates the usual charging spot, charge start time and charging duration taken for the charge of the battery 14, for example, and retains them in the storage unit 5 as a learning result.” and “the vehicle is in a parking state that enables charging” , “the power consumed by the traveling “ in para 96, 98 and FIG. 8, “state”, Running”, “parking”. Thus, the “charge start time, and the charging duration “ include the job data “, the “state”, Running”, “parking” include the state, therefore an operation state when the vehicle is traveling, and enters a stop state when a power supply of the vehicle is turned off) , the management system comprising:
a memory (e.g., “a storage unit 5”, FIG. 1); and
a controller (e.g., “6”, FIG. 1 and FIG. 2, para , 41, “In FIG. 2, the arithmetic unit 6 comprises “ , “a learning processing unit 24, a decision processing unit 25 and a charge guidance processing unit 26”), wherein
the memory has stored therein calculation capability information indicating a calculation capability of each of the plurality of arithmetic devices (e.g., para [0039] The arithmetic unit 6, which carries out calculations of the individual processing in the navigation system 2, estimates the usual charging spot, charge start time and charging duration taken for the charge of the battery 14, for example, and retains them in the storage unit 5 as a learning result “) and operation status information indicating an operation status of each of the plurality of arithmetic devices (e.g., see FIG. 7, “State”, “running”, “parking”, Charging”, para 69, wherein “parking and charging and the visiting spots of an electric vehicle, which corresponds to FIG. 6(a). Incidentally, the upper half of FIG. 7 shows the states of the electric vehicle with respect to time, and the lower half shows parking spots (visiting spots) of the electric vehicle with respect to time”, therefore operation status information indicating an operation status), and
the controller performs
selection processing of presenting a job list that introduces a plurality of jobs to the user and allowing the user to select the job for which the calculation capability of the arithmetic device owned by the user is desired to be provided from the jobs introduced by the job list (e.g., see para 55 “ the functions of the foregoing components in the charge guidance processing programs by the arithmetic unit 6 which is a computer for realizing the navigation system 2, for example.” and “displays on the display unit 8 a selection screen for selecting the charging spot at which the frequency of executing the charging processing is not less than the prescribed number of times, its charge start time, and the charging duration required to provide an HMI for causing a user to select the charging spot, charge start time and charging duration using the input unit 7, so that the user can select the appropriate charging spot, charge start time and charging duration.” ,“ a plurality of spots”, “a parking lot where a plurality of vehicles can park at random” , The arithmetic unit 6, which carries out calculations of the individual processing in the navigation system 2, estimates the usual charging spot,” in para 39, 62, 67 and “.
Thus, the “functions” include the “a job list that introduces a plurality of jobs” for “a plurality of vehicles” coupled with “displays on the display unit 8 “, “a plurality of spots” , “ user to select the charging spot” for “number of times” , “results”, therefore a job list that introduces a plurality of jobs to the user and allowing the user to select the job for which the calculation capability of the arithmetic device owned by the user is desired to be provided from the jobs introduced by the job list) , and
matching processing of allocating, to the job data corresponding to the job selected by the user in the selection processing among the plurality of jobs, the arithmetic device that is available in the grid computing processing (e.g., see FIG. 6, “spot C and spot B”, para 68, a visiting spot of an electric vehicle. FIG. 6(a) “, “ FIG. 6, the driver usually drives the electric vehicle to travel between spot C and spot B (see FIG. 6(a)”.Thus, matching processing of allocating, to the job data corresponding to the job selected by the user in the selection processing among the plurality of jobs, the arithmetic device that is available in the grid computing processing ) and is owned by the user among the plurality of arithmetic devices on a basis of a result of the selection processing (e.g., para 62, “for causing a user to select the charging spot, charge start time and charging duration using the input unit 7, so that the user can select the appropriate charging spot, charge start time and charging duration” and “he charge guidance processing unit 26 of the decision result ” and “The arithmetic unit 6, which carries out calculations of the individual processing in the navigation system 2, estimates the usual charging spot, charge start time and charging duration taken for the charge of the battery 14”, in para 39.).
However, Hoshihara does not explicitly teach prediction processing of predicting the temporal change in the calculation capability available in the grid computing processing of each of the plurality of arithmetic devices on a basis of the calculation capability information and the operation status information, matching processing of allocating on a basis of a result of the prediction processing.
Zhang teaches prediction processing of predicting a temporal change in the calculation capability available in the grid computing processing of each of the plurality of arithmetic devices on a basis of the calculation capability information and the operation status information (e.g., see page 2837, “B. Reservation-Enabled Charging Management”, “charging reservations as well as parking duration,charging (and parking) conditions can be precisely predicted for a future moment at CPs.” for “parked and charged AEVs “ and “the spatiotemporal dynamics of AEVs constantly on-the-move” in page 2841),
matching processing of allocating the arithmetic device that is available in the grid computing processing and is owned by the user among the plurality of arithmetic devices on a basis of a result of the prediction processing and a result of the selection processing (e.g., see page 2841, “B. CP-Selection Procedure” , “the GC is able to determine the optimal CP by accounting for the following context information 1) The traveling time of aevr from that D/P spot to each CP (lcp), denoted as T ldp,cp aev . 2) The expected waiting time for charging (EWTC) at individual CPs. While the calculation on T ldp,cp aev is easy to achieve, the value of EWTC requires predictions on the charging state with each CP for a future moment” for “load balancing across the network can be achieved, with regard to parked and charged AEVs in history” in page 2837 ).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Hoshihara with those of Zhang because both references are directed to related systems addressing similar technical problems within the same field and seek to improve system performance, reliability, and efficiency.
Hoshihara et al. disclose a management system that manages grid computing processing, the calculation capability of the arithmetic device , allowing a user to select the arithmetic device that is available in the grid computing processing while Zhang et al. teach prediction processing of predicting the temporal change in the calculation capability available in the grid computing processing, matching processing of allocating on a basis of a result of the prediction processing.
Incorporating the teachings of Zhang et al. into the system of Hoshihara et al. would have been a predictable and logical modification, yielding improved operational robustness and efficiency without requiring undue experimentation.
Such a combination would merely involve the substitution or integration of known elements performing their established functions, as taught by Zhang et al., into the system of Hoshihara et al., consistent with design incentives and market demands for improved performance and scalability. Moreover, Zhang et al. explicitly recognize benefits to “enable accurate predictions on future charging (and parking) states at CPs” and to provide “enhanced customer experiences in traveling period, as well as charging performances at both AEV and CP sides” (see Zhang, in abstract) . —that would naturally be desirable in the system of Hoshihara et al.
Accordingly, to one of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success in combining Hoshihara et al. with Zhang et al., and the combination represents no more than the predictable use of prior art elements according to their known functions.
As to claim 2, Hoshihara teaches wherein the job list introduces the plurality of jobs and an incentive given to the user by providing the calculation capability of the one or more arithmetic devices to each of the plurality of jobs (e.g., see para 86, “ the decision processing unit 25 calculates from the difference value calculated at step ST5a the distance to be traveled from the present position (parking spot) of the vehicle to the usual charging spot (step ST7a).” ) .
As to claim 3, Hoshihara does not teach wherein the controller recommends, to the plurality of users, the job according to a preference of the user among the plurality of jobs in the selection processing. However, Zhang teaches wherein the controller recommends, to the user, the job according to a preference of the user among the plurality of jobs in the selection processing (e.g., see page 2838, “ the decision on D/P-selected is confirmed by aevr , the GC would recommend an optimized CP for the AEV, by accounting for the distance to the D/P-selected point. From”).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Hoshihara by adopting the teachings of Zhang in order to “enable accurate predictions on future charging (and parking) states at CPs” and to provide “enhanced customer experiences in traveling period, as well as charging performances at both AEV and CP sides” (see Zhang, in abstract) (see Zhang , abstract).
As to claim 4, see rejection of claim1 above.
As to claim 5, see rejection of claim 3 above.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ABDOU K SEYE/Examiner, Art Unit 2198
/PIERRE VITAL/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2198