This office action is in response to Applicant’s amendment filed on 04/14/2026. By the amendment, Claims 1, 2, 4, and 6-8 have been amended; Claim 5 was previously canceled. Therefore, Claims 1-4 and 6-8 are pending. Any examiner’s note, objection, or rejection not repeated is withdrawn due to Applicant’s amendment.
Priority
Applicant’s claims for priority from foreign application JP2021-077867 filed 04/30/2021 and PCT/JP2022/017110 filed 04/05/2022 are acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4 and 6-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Takamitsu (JP-2007241394-A ; published 2007-09-20) in view of Kazuaki (JP-4522780-B2 ; published 2010-08-11), hereinafter referred to as Takamitsu and Kazuaki, respectively.
Regarding Claim 1, Takamitsu discloses A management system that manages grid computing using an arithmetic device, the management system comprising ([0009]In the present embodiment, the arithmetic processing execution system 100 includes a divided processing management system 140. Please note that the digital processing management system 140 of an arithmetic processing execution system 100 corresponds to Applicant’s management system managing grid computing using an arithmetic device.):
a controller ([0009] the divided processing management system 140 includes […] a mobile grid management server device 111. Please note the mobile grid management server device 111 corresponds to Applicant’s controller of the management system.);
and a memory that stores resource information that is information related to the arithmetic device ([0020] the mobile grid management server device 111 includes a CPU911 (also referred to as a central Processing unit, an arithmetic device, a microprocessor, a microcomputer, or a processor) that executes a program. The CPU911 is an example of a control device. The CPU911 is connected to […] a RAM914 (Random Access Memory) […] and controls these hardware devices. Please note that the RAM connected to the CPU 911 that executes a program of the grid management server device 111 corresponds to Applicant’s memory that stores resource information that is information related to the arithmetic device, due to its association with the CPU.),
wherein the controller performs processing of configuring a plurality of candidates of a group forming a grid for executing the grid computing as grid candidates with reference to the resource information ([0039]As described above, the attribute condition management unit 116 manages the processing capability information 206 indicating the processing capability of each mobile terminal device 131 as at least a part of the attribute condition 202 related to each mobile terminal device 131 by the storage device. Accordingly, when arithmetic processing is distributed and requested to a plurality of terminal devices, it is possible to preferentially request processing to a terminal device having a high processing capability. Please note that the attribute condition management unit 116 that manages the processing capability information 206 with arithmetic processing being distributed and requested to a plurality of terminal devices corresponds to Applicant’s controller performing processing of configuring a plurality of candidates of a group forming a grid for executing the grid computing as grid candidates with reference to the resource information. This is because it preferentially requests a terminal device of the plurality of terminal devices, i.e., a grid candidate of a group forming a grid for executing the grid computing, with reference to the processing capability, i.e., with reference to the resource information.),
processing of estimating, for each of the grid candidates having been configured, arithmetic device information including a temporal change in a calculation capability, with reference to the resource information ([0035]In the attribute condition 202 of the portable terminal device 131, the processing capability information 206 is a value representing the processing capability of the portable terminal device 131. As a method of determining this value, it is possible to use a method of determining the value of the processing capacity information 206 from the number of clocks of the CPU (an example of the control device) of the portable terminal device 131, […] The CPU processing capacity evaluation value 303 is a value obtained by evaluating and quantifying the CPU clock number 302 as the processing capacity. Please note that the processing capability information 206 representing the processing capability of the portable terminal device 131, where it can be determined from the number of clocks of the CPU of the device, and the CPU processing capacity evaluation value 303 obtained by evaluating and quantifying the CPU clock number 302 corresponds to Applicant’s processing estimating arithmetic device information including a temporal change in a calculation capability with reference to the resource information, i.e., the quantified CPU clock number, for each of the grid candidates having been configured.),
and processing of storing, about each of the grid candidates having been configured, the arithmetic device information having been estimated in a grid candidate table in the memory together with data specifying configuring each of the grid candidates ([0013] The attribute condition management unit 116 manages an attribute condition related to each portable terminal device 131 of the plurality of portable terminal devices 131 by a storage device.; [0027] the priority table 200 includes a terminal number 201, an attribute condition 202, and a priority 209. The terminal number 201 is an identifier for uniquely identifying the mobile terminal device 131. The attribute condition 202 includes processing request information 203 indicated as "processing request in progress", radio wave condition information 204 indicated as "radio wave condition", user input information 205 indicated as "allowable load", processing capability information 206 indicated as "processing capability", reliability 207, and movement frequency information 208 indicated as "movement frequency". The priority 209 is a value for the terminal selection control unit 118 of the mobile grid management server device 111 to determine which mobile terminal device 131 is requested to perform processing. Please note that the attribute condition related to the portable terminal device 131 being managed by a storage device corresponds to Applicant’s processing of storing the arithmetic device information having been estimated in the memory about each of the grid candidates having been configured together with data specifying configuring each of the grid candidates. Furthermore, the priority table 200 that includes terminal numbers and the processing capability information 206 corresponds to Applicant’s grid candidate table that is stored in the memory and has configuring data for each of the grid candidates.).
Takamitsu does not explicitly disclose an arithmetic device that is mounted on a vehicle;
enters an operation state when the vehicle is traveling, and enters a stop state when a power supply of the vehicle is turned off;
and vehicle information that is information related to each vehicle;
a plurality of candidates of a group;
and the vehicle information stored in the memory;
However, Kazuaki discloses an arithmetic device that is mounted on a vehicle ([0006] the in-vehicle LAN-side computer includes a grid management unit that manages the grid computing environment. Please note that the grid management unit of the vehicle LAN-side computer corresponds to Applicant’s arithmetic device mounted on a vehicle.);
enters an operation state when the vehicle is traveling, and enters a stop state when a power supply of the vehicle is turned off ([0004] obtain some processing result before the automobile arrives at the destination using the ECU connected to the above-described in-vehicle LAN; [0006] the in-vehicle LAN-side computer includes a grid management unit that manages the grid computing environment. Please note that an in-vehicle computer, i.e., operating as part of the operation of the vehicle, would inherently require a power supply from the car to which it is connected to operate, meaning that when the vehicle’s power supply is turned off, the device would turn off as well, and would be able to enter an operation state when the vehicle is traveling and turned on.);
and vehicle information that is information related to each vehicle ([0058] external computer information including the position information of the other vehicle-mounted LAN12a or the like side computer present in the vicinity of the automobile 10, the destination LAN12a or the like of the other automobile 10a on which the other vehicle-mounted T1 or the like side computer is mounted, and the other vehicle information relating to the traveling route R1 or the like, and record the external computer information in the external computer information recording unit. Please note that external computer information including vehicle information corresponds to Applicant’s vehicle information related to each vehicle.);
a plurality of candidates of a group ([0024] In FIG. 1, a group A using a provider 40 of a wireless LAN-A using a frequency band such as 2. 4GHz or 5. 2GHz, a group B using a provider 60 of a wireless LAN-B, and a group C using dedicated short range communication ( Dedicated Short Range Communication : DSRC ) are illustrated as the external computers. […] one of the external computers of the group A, which can access other computers on the Internet. [0026] a grid computing system 1 includes an in-vehicle LAN12 computer and an external computer 50 connected to the in-vehicle center computer by wireless communication. Please note that groups of external computers A, B, and C, correspond to Applicant’s plurality of candidates of a group, since each group comprises computers, and it may be included in the grid computing system and connected to the vehicle.);
and the vehicle information stored in the memory ([0058] vehicle information relating to the traveling route R1 or the like, and record the external computer information in the external computer information recording unit. Please note that the recorded external computer information in the external computer information recording unit, including vehicle information, corresponds to Applicant’s vehicle information stored in the memory.)
Takamitsu and Kazuaki are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of grid computing. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Takamitsu to incorporate the teachings of Kazuaki to modify the grid computing management system that configures a grid candidate based on resource information, estimates calculation capability, and stores the arithmetic device information in a grid candidate table to apply to an arithmetic system mounted on a vehicle that enters an operation state when the vehicle is traveling, enters a stop state when the power supply of the vehicle is turned off, has a plurality of candidates in each group, and stores vehicle information related to each vehicle in memory, allowing for improved system performance and real-time processing in a vehicle computer system, as described in Kazuaki.
Regarding Claim 2, Takamitsu-Kazuaki as described in Claim 1, Takamitsu further discloses the controller performs, for a job requested from a client terminal, processing of assigning the grid that executes the job from the grid candidates with reference to the arithmetic device information of each of the grid candidates stored in the grid candidate table in the memory ([0004] distribute arithmetic processing in accordance with detailed attributes of respective terminal devices when distributing the arithmetic processing to a plurality of terminal devices, for example.; [0027] the priority table 200 includes a terminal number 201, an attribute condition 202, and a priority 209. The terminal number 201 is an identifier for uniquely identifying the mobile terminal device 131. Please note that the system distributing arithmetic processing in accordance with detailed attributes of respective terminal devices corresponds to Applicant’s controller performing processing of assigning the grid that execut4es the job from the grid candidates with reference to the arithmetic device information of each of the grid candidates stored in the memory, i.e., with reference to each of the respective detailed attributes, for a job requested from a client terminal. Additionally, the priority table 200 corresponds to Applicant’s grid candidate table storing arithmetic device information.).
Regarding Claim 3, Takamitsu-Kazuaki as described in Claim 2, Takamitsu further discloses when the assigning of the grid is not successful, the controller newly configures a grid that executes the job with reference to the resource information and the vehicle information stored in the memory ([0070] In addition, the management server requests a plurality of portable terminals to perform processing, and requests the portable terminals to perform processing again when the requested processing fails, thereby improving the reliability of the system. Please note that the management server requesting the portable terminals to perform processing again when the requested processing fails corresponds to Applicant’s newly configuring a grid that executes a job when the assigning of the grid is not successful.).
Regarding Claim 4, Takamitsu-Kazuaki as described in Claim 1, Takamitsu further discloses the resource information includes at least a type of the arithmetic device and the calculation capability ([0035]In the attribute condition 202 of the portable terminal device 131, the processing capability information 206 is a value representing the processing capability of the portable terminal device 131. As a method of determining this value, it is possible to use a method of determining the value of the processing capacity information 206 from the number of clocks of the CPU (an example of the control device) of the portable terminal device 131, the capacity of the memory (an example of the storage device), or the like based on the processing capacity calculation table 301 illustrated in FIG. 6, for example. Please note that the processing capability information 206 that may be determined via the number of clocks of the CPU or memory capacity corresponds to Applicant’s resource information including at least a type of the arithmetic device, i.e., the attributes of the processor, and the calculation capability that is determined.),
and the controller performs processing of configuring the grid candidates by using at least one of the type of the arithmetic device of each vehicle, the calculation capability of the arithmetic device of each vehicle, or the position data of each vehicle ([0039] Accordingly, when arithmetic processing is distributed and requested to a plurality of terminal devices, it is possible to preferentially request processing to a terminal device having a high processing capability. Please note that preferentially requesting processing to a terminal device having a high processing capability corresponds to Applicant’s controller performing processing of configuring the grid candidates by using the calculation capability of the arithmetic device of each vehicle, i.e., in order to select the most capable processing device of a vehicle. As Applicant state’s “at least one of” the criteria for configuration, this is interpreted as fulfilling the requirement.).
Kazuaki further discloses the vehicle information includes at least position data of the vehicle ([0058] external computer information including the position information of the other vehicle-mounted LAN12a. Please note that the external computer information including position information of the other vehicle-mounted LAN12a system corresponds to Applicant’s vehicle information including at least position data of the vehicle.),
Regarding Claim 6, Takamitsu-Kazuaki as described in Claim 2, Takamitsu further discloses the resource information includes at least a type of the arithmetic device and the calculation capability ([0035]In the attribute condition 202 of the portable terminal device 131, the processing capability information 206 is a value representing the processing capability of the portable terminal device 131. As a method of determining this value, it is possible to use a method of determining the value of the processing capacity information 206 from the number of clocks of the CPU (an example of the control device) of the portable terminal device 131, the capacity of the memory (an example of the storage device), or the like based on the processing capacity calculation table 301 illustrated in FIG. 6, for example. Please note that the processing capability information 206 that may be determined via the number of clocks of the CPU or memory capacity corresponds to Applicant’s resource information including at least a type of the arithmetic device, i.e., the attributes of the processor, and the calculation capability that is determined.),
and the controller performs processing of configuring the grid candidates by using at least one of the type of the arithmetic device of each vehicle, the calculation capability of the arithmetic device of each vehicle, or the position data of each vehicle ([0039] Accordingly, when arithmetic processing is distributed and requested to a plurality of terminal devices, it is possible to preferentially request processing to a terminal device having a high processing capability. Please note that preferentially requesting processing to a terminal device having a high processing capability corresponds to Applicant’s controller performing processing of configuring the grid candidates by using the calculation capability of the arithmetic device of each vehicle, i.e., in order to select the most capable processing device of a vehicle. As Applicant state’s “at least one of” the criteria for configuration, this is interpreted as fulfilling the requirement.).
Kazuaki further discloses the vehicle information includes at least position data of the vehicle ([0058] external computer information including the position information of the other vehicle-mounted LAN12a. Please note that the external computer information including position information of the other vehicle-mounted LAN12a system corresponds to Applicant’s vehicle information including at least position data of the vehicle.),
Regarding Claim 7, Takamitsu-Kazuaki as described in Claim 3, Takamitsu further discloses the resource information includes at least a type of the arithmetic device and the calculation capability ([0035]In the attribute condition 202 of the portable terminal device 131, the processing capability information 206 is a value representing the processing capability of the portable terminal device 131. As a method of determining this value, it is possible to use a method of determining the value of the processing capacity information 206 from the number of clocks of the CPU (an example of the control device) of the portable terminal device 131, the capacity of the memory (an example of the storage device), or the like based on the processing capacity calculation table 301 illustrated in FIG. 6, for example. Please note that the processing capability information 206 that may be determined via the number of clocks of the CPU or memory capacity corresponds to Applicant’s resource information including at least a type of the arithmetic device, i.e., the attributes of the processor, and the calculation capability that is determined.),
and the controller performs processing of configuring the grid candidates by using at least one of the type of the arithmetic device of each vehicle, the calculation capability of the arithmetic device of each vehicle, or the position data of each vehicle ([0039] Accordingly, when arithmetic processing is distributed and requested to a plurality of terminal devices, it is possible to preferentially request processing to a terminal device having a high processing capability. Please note that preferentially requesting processing to a terminal device having a high processing capability corresponds to Applicant’s controller performing processing of configuring the grid candidates by using the calculation capability of the arithmetic device of each vehicle, i.e., in order to select the most capable processing device of a vehicle. As Applicant state’s “at least one of” the criteria for configuration, this is interpreted as fulfilling the requirement.).
Kazuaki further discloses the vehicle information includes at least position data of the vehicle ([0058] external computer information including the position information of the other vehicle-mounted LAN12a. Please note that the external computer information including position information of the other vehicle-mounted LAN12a system corresponds to Applicant’s vehicle information including at least position data of the vehicle.),
Regarding Claim 8, Takamitsu discloses A management method of managing, by a computer, grid computing using an arithmetic device, the management method comprising ([0001]The present invention relates to […] a divided processing management method.; [0009]In the present embodiment, the arithmetic processing execution system 100 includes a divided processing management system 140. Please note that the divided processing management method including the digital processing management system 140 of an arithmetic processing execution system 100 corresponds to Applicant’s management method of managing grid computing using an arithmetic device by a computer.)
by using resource information that is information related to the arithmetic device, performing, by the computer, processing of configuring a plurality of candidates of a group forming a grid for executing the grid computing as grid candidates with reference to the resource information ([0039]As described above, the attribute condition management unit 116 manages the processing capability information 206 indicating the processing capability of each mobile terminal device 131 as at least a part of the attribute condition 202 related to each mobile terminal device 131 by the storage device. Accordingly, when arithmetic processing is distributed and requested to a plurality of terminal devices, it is possible to preferentially request processing to a terminal device having a high processing capability. Please note that the attribute condition management unit 116 that manages the processing capability information 206 with arithmetic processing being distributed and requested to a plurality of terminal devices corresponds to Applicant’s computer performing processing of configuring a plurality of candidates of a group forming a grid for executing the grid computing as a grid candidate with reference to the resource information. This is because it preferentially requests a terminal device of the plurality of terminal devices, i.e., a grid candidate of a group forming a grid for executing the grid computing, with reference to the processing capability, i.e., with reference to the resource information.),
processing of estimating, for each of the grid candidates having been configured, arithmetic device information including a temporal change in a calculation capability, with reference to the resource information ([0035] In the attribute condition 202 of the portable terminal device 131, the processing capability information 206 is a value representing the processing capability of the portable terminal device 131. As a method of determining this value, it is possible to use a method of determining the value of the processing capacity information 206 from the number of clocks of the CPU (an example of the control device) of the portable terminal device 131, […] The CPU processing capacity evaluation value 303 is a value obtained by evaluating and quantifying the CPU clock number 302 as the processing capacity. Please note that the processing capability information 206 representing the processing capability of the portable terminal device 131, where it can be determined from the number of clocks of the CPU of the device, and the CPU processing capacity evaluation value 303 obtained by evaluating and quantifying the CPU clock number 302 corresponds to Applicant’s processing estimating arithmetic device information including a temporal change in a calculation capability with reference to the resource information, i.e., the quantified CPU clock number, for each of the grid candidates having been configured.),
and processing of storing, about each of the grid candidates having been configured, the arithmetic device information having been estimated in a grid candidate table in the memory together with data specifying configuring each of the grid candidates ([0013] The attribute condition management unit 116 manages an attribute condition related to each portable terminal device 131 of the plurality of portable terminal devices 131 by a storage device. [0027] the priority table 200 includes a terminal number 201, an attribute condition 202, and a priority 209. The terminal number 201 is an identifier for uniquely identifying the mobile terminal device 131. The attribute condition 202 includes processing request information 203 indicated as "processing request in progress", radio wave condition information 204 indicated as "radio wave condition", user input information 205 indicated as "allowable load", processing capability information 206 indicated as "processing capability", reliability 207, and movement frequency information 208 indicated as "movement frequency". The priority 209 is a value for the terminal selection control unit 118 of the mobile grid management server device 111 to determine which mobile terminal device 131 is requested to perform processing. Please note that the attribute condition related to the portable terminal device 131 being managed by a storage device corresponds to Applicant’s processing of storing the arithmetic device information having been estimated in the memory about each of the grid candidates having been configured together with data specifying configuring each of the grid candidates. Furthermore, the priority table 200 that includes terminal numbers and the processing capability information 206 corresponds to Applicant’s grid candidate table that is stored in the memory and has configuring data for each of the grid candidates.)
Takamitsu does not explicitly disclose an arithmetic device that is mounted on a vehicle;
enters an operation state when the vehicle is traveling, and enters a stop state when a power supply of the vehicle is turned off;
and vehicle information that is information related to each vehicle;
a plurality of candidates of a group;
and the vehicle information stored in the memory
However, Kazuaki discloses an arithmetic device that is mounted on a vehicle ([0006] the in-vehicle LAN-side computer includes a grid management unit that manages the grid computing environment. Please note that the grid management unit of the vehicle LAN-side computer corresponds to Applicant’s arithmetic device mounted on a vehicle.);
enters an operation state when the vehicle is traveling, and enters a stop state when a power supply of the vehicle is turned off ([0004] obtain some processing result before the automobile arrives at the destination using the ECU connected to the above-described in-vehicle LAN; [0006] the in-vehicle LAN-side computer includes a grid management unit that manages the grid computing environment. Please note that an in-vehicle computer, i.e., operating as part of the operation of the vehicle, would inherently require a power supply from the car to which it is connected to operate, meaning that when the vehicle’s power supply is turned off, the device would turn off as well, and would be able to enter an operation state when the vehicle is traveling and turned on.);
and vehicle information that is information related to each vehicle ([0058] external computer information including the position information of the other vehicle-mounted LAN12a or the like side computer present in the vicinity of the automobile 10, the destination LAN12a or the like of the other automobile 10a on which the other vehicle-mounted T1 or the like side computer is mounted, and the other vehicle information relating to the traveling route R1 or the like, and record the external computer information in the external computer information recording unit. Please note that external computer information including vehicle information corresponds to Applicant’s vehicle information related to each vehicle.);
a plurality of candidates of a group ([0024] In FIG. 1, a group A using a provider 40 of a wireless LAN-A using a frequency band such as 2. 4GHz or 5. 2GHz, a group B using a provider 60 of a wireless LAN-B, and a group C using dedicated short range communication ( Dedicated Short Range Communication : DSRC ) are illustrated as the external computers. […] one of the external computers of the group A, which can access other computers on the Internet. [0026] a grid computing system 1 includes an in-vehicle LAN12 computer and an external computer 50 connected to the in-vehicle center computer by wireless communication. Please note that groups of external computers A, B, and C, correspond to Applicant’s plurality of candidates of a group, since each group comprises computers, and it may be included in the grid computing system and connected to the vehicle.);
and the vehicle information stored in the memory ([0058] vehicle information relating to the traveling route R1 or the like, and record the external computer information in the external computer information recording unit. Please note that the recorded external computer information in the external computer information recording unit, including vehicle information, corresponds to Applicant’s vehicle information stored in the memory.)
Takamitsu and Kazuaki are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of grid computing. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Takamitsu to incorporate the teachings of Kazuaki to modify the grid computing management system that configures a grid candidate based on resource information, estimates calculation capability, and stores the arithmetic device information in a grid candidate table to apply to an arithmetic system mounted on a vehicle that enters an operation state when the vehicle is traveling, enters a stop state when the power supply of the vehicle is turned off, has a plurality of candidates in each group, and stores vehicle information related to each vehicle in memory, allowing for improved system performance and real-time processing in a vehicle computer system, as described in Kazuaki.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 04/14/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant’s arguments are summarized as follows:
The invention is focused on proactive, group-based pre-configuration of grid candidates, where the management server configures candidates of vehicle groups forming grids and estimates arithmetic device information including a temporal change in calculation capability for each group=-based grid candidate and stores the information in a grid candidate table with data specifying the vehicles of each grid candidate, so that a job is executed by selecting a candidate from the pre-populated table instead of configuring a new grid from scratch. However:
Takamitsu fails to disclose configuring a candidate of a vehicle group forming a grid, as the attribute condition management unit 116 of Takamitsu operates at the individual device level and manages the attributes of each terminal device in isolation, not pre-configuring a group of terminal devices as a unitary grid candidate.
Additionally, Takamitsu does not teach estimating arithmetic device information for a group-based grid candidate, as it assesses individual device capabilities, but not the collective arithmetic device information, i.e., as an aggregate of the group.
Lastly, Takamitsu also does not teach storing arithmetic device information in a grid candidate table with data specifying vehicles configuring the grid candidate, as it discloses per-device attribute conditions, not group-level arithmetic device information, and no disclosure of a grid candidate table storing a list of vehicles and the arithmetic device information including temporal changes in calculation capability for that group.
Therefore, the rejection of independent Claim 1 under 35 U.S.C. 103 should be withdrawn.
The combination of Takamitsu with Kazuaki does not remedy these deficiencies, as Kazuaki still fails to disclose the group-based grid candidate pre-configuration architecture, and still does not teach pre-configuring candidates of vehicle groups as grid candidates, estimating collective arithmetic device information including a temporal change in calculation capability for each group-based grid candidate, or storing the group-level estimated information in a grid candidate table together with vehicle-specifying data. Therefore, the three-step group-based architecture of independent Claim 1 is not recited by the combination. Therefore, the rejection of independent Claim 1 under 35 U.S.C. 103 should be withdrawn.
The combination of Takamitsu-Kazuaki also does not teach the three-step group-based architecture of independent Claim 8. Therefore, the rejection of independent Claim 8 under 35 U.S.C. 103 should be withdrawn.
The Office Action has not articulated a specific, reasoned motivation to modify Takamitsu’s system regarding individual-device attribute management to arrive at the group-based pre-configuration and group-level capability estimation taught by the invention. A mere assertion that both references are in the field of grid computing is insufficient to establish a motivation to combine them, and the group-centric approach of the invention is a non-obvious shift from the device-centric approach of the prior art.
The additional rejections of the dependent Claims under 35 U.S.C. 103 have also been overcome, as their limitations are also thus not taught by the combination of references.
Regarding A, the examiner respectfully disagrees. As stated above, regarding argument i, Kazuaki teaches candidates of a vehicle group forming a grid, as groups of external computers A, B, and C, correspond to Applicant’s plurality of candidates of a group, since each group comprises computers, and may be included in the grid computing system and connected to the vehicle.
In response to applicant's argument in j that the references fail to show certain features of the invention, it is noted that the features upon which applicant relies (i.e., estimating collective arithmetic device information, as an aggregate of the group) are not recited in the rejected claim. Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993).
Lastly, regarding argument k, as stated above, since Takamitsu discloses the priority table 200 that includes terminal numbers and the processing capability information 206 corresponding to Applicant’s grid candidate table that is stored in the memory and has configuring data for each of the grid candidates, and Kazuaki discloses external computer information including vehicle information and each group comprising computers, which may be included in the grid computing system and connected to the vehicle, corresponding to a plurality of candidates of a group, the combined system of these teachings teaches the limitations regarding group-level arithmetic device information and a grid candidate table storing a list of vehicles and the arithmetic device information including temporal changes in calculation capability for that group.
Therefore, the recited features can be found in the combination of references, amended Independent Claim 1 remains rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 for the reasons stated above, and the combinations would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the application.
Regarding B, the examiner respectfully disagrees. In response to applicant's argument that the references fail to show certain features of the invention, it is noted that the features upon which applicant relies (i.e., pre-configuring candidates of vehicle groups) are not recited in the rejected claim. Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993).
As stated above, regarding the group-based grid candidate configuration architecture, Kazuaki teaches configuring candidates of vehicle groups as grid candidates and group-based grid candidates, Takamitsu teaches estimating collective arithmetic device information including a temporal change in calculation capability for each grid candidate and the priority table 200 storing the group-level estimated information in a grid candidate table, together with vehicle-specifying data as disclosed by Kazuaki. Therefore, the three-step group-based architecture of independent Claim 1 is recited by the combination of the two references.
Therefore, the recited features can be found in the combination of references, amended Independent Claim 1 remains rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 for the reasons stated above, and the combinations would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the application.
Regarding C, contrary to Applicant’ arguments, because independent Claim 8 contains similar limitations to rejected Claim 1 and does not add limitations that overcome the rejection, it likewise remains rejected. Therefore, the recited features can be found in the combination of references, amended Independent Claim 8 remains rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 for the reasons stated above, and the combinations would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the application.
Regarding D, the examiner respectfully disagrees, In response to applicant’s argument that there is no teaching, suggestion, or motivation to combine the references, the examiner recognizes that obviousness may be established by combining or modifying the teachings of the prior art to produce the claimed invention where there is some teaching, suggestion, or motivation to do so found either in the references themselves or in the knowledge generally available to one of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Fine, 837 F.2d 1071, 5 USPQ2d 1596 (Fed. Cir. 1988), In re Jones, 958 F.2d 347, 21 USPQ2d 1941 (Fed. Cir. 1992), and KSR International Co. v. Teleflex, Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007). In this case, both references are concerned with improvements in grid computing systems, and Kazuaki discloses the application of grid computing to vehicles, and utilizing groups of computing devices in the grid system. Therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the filing date of the Application in the field would have found it obvious to combine the teachings of the references to arrive at an analogous system that uses groups of computers with capability estimations for grid computing.
Regarding E, independent claim 1 remains rejected for the reasons stated above. Thus, contrary to Applicant’s arguments, because the dependent claims depend from unpatentable independent claims and do not add limitations that overcome the rejection, they likewise remain rejected.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Sugimoto (US 20200128066 A1) discloses a distributed computing network with each vehicle acting as a node in the network, with processors in the vehicles, predicting use of the vehicles, allocating tasks to each vehicle based on the predicted use in order to use underutilized vehicle based computational resources, and obtaining positional information of the vehicle (see [0003-0006, 0012-0014, 0027])
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/FARAZ T AKBARI/ Examiner, Art Unit 2196
/APRIL Y BLAIR/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2196