DETAILED ACTION
Statement of claims
The present amended application includes:
Claims 1-7 were amended.
Claims 1-7 remain pending in the application. Claims 1-5 are being considered on the merits.
Response to Arguments
Rejections under 35 U.S.C. § 101
In view of the amendment and applicant’s remarks, 101 rejection is withdrawn.
Applicant's Response to the Double Patenting Rejection :
The terminal disclaimer filed on 05/14/2026 disclaiming the terminal portion of the copending application 18/287,892 has been reviewed and is accepted. The terminal disclaimer has been recorded.
Claim Rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 103 :
Applicant argues that:
Point 1 “That is, Hoshihara fails to teach or suggest " I. Fundamental Claim Scope: The Claimed Invention Concerns Distributed Grid Computing Resource Management" , “Neither Hoshihara nor Zhang is even tangentially related to this subject matter” … “Hoshihara fails to teach or suggest "A management system that manages grid computing processing of causing one or more arithmetic device that are available among a plurality of arithmetic devices to process job data, each of the plurality of arithmetic devices of which is mounted on a respective one of a plurality of vehicles, enters an operation state when the respective vehicle is traveling, and enters a stop state when a power supply of the respective vehicle is turned off' of independent claims 1 and 5. independent claims 1 and 5.".
As Point 1: The examiner respectfully disagrees and submits that Hoshihara teaches A management system that manages grid computing processing (e.g., see FIG. 2, para 41, “charge guidance processing unit 26 are implemented as concrete means which cause software”, “ to execute charge guidance processing programs “, “ for realizing the navigation system ” and “ the learning processing unit 24 “, “ extracts the charging spot at which the frequency of executing the charging processing” , the “ management information of the battery managing unit 13.” in para 44 , 46 and 62.
Thus, the “charging spot” represents the grid , the “charge guidance processing programs” coupled with the “learning processing unit 24” to “extracts the charging spot at which the frequency of executing the charging processing “ and “the management information from the battery managing unit 13”, see FIG. 2, therefore these teaching of Hoshihara suggest A management system that manages grid computing processing (emphasis added).
Moreover, Hoshihara teaches A management system that manages grid computing processing of causing one or more arithmetic device that are available among a plurality of arithmetic devices to process job data, each of the plurality of arithmetic devices of which is mounted on a respective one of a plurality of vehicles, enters an operation state when the respective vehicle is traveling, and enters a stop state when a power supply of the respective vehicle is turned off' ( see rejection of claim 1 below).
Applicant argues that:
Point 2. “Hoshihara Does Not Teach "Job Acceptance Processing of Accepting Job Data Requested for Calculation by a Client"
As to point 2, The examiner respectfully disagrees and submits that Hoshihara teaches Job Acceptance Processing of Accepting Job Data Requested for Calculation by a Client (e.g., see FIG. 2, and the “functions of the foregoing components in the charge guidance processing programs by the arithmetic unit 6 which is a computer for realizing the navigation system 2” in para 55 and “displays on the display unit 8 a selection screen for selecting the charging spot at which the frequency of executing the charging processing is not less than the prescribed number of times, its charge start time, and the charging duration required to provide an HMI for causing a user to select the charging spot, charge start time and charging duration using the input unit 7, so that the user can select the appropriate charging spot, charge start time and charging duration.” ,“ a plurality of spots”, “a parking lot where a plurality of vehicles can park at random” , The arithmetic unit 6, which carries out calculations of the individual processing in the navigation system 2, estimates the usual charging spot,” in para 39, 62, 67 .
Thus, one of the “functions” , “a user to select the charging spot, charge start time and charging duration” include the job for “which carries out calculations of the individual processing”, the “charge start time and charging duration “ include the job data requested for calculation by a client , therefore job acceptance processing of accepting the job data requested for calculation by a client. Therefore these teaching of Hoshihara suggest job Acceptance Processing of Accepting Job Data Requested for Calculation by a Client" (emphasis added).
Applicant argues that:
Point 3 . “III. Zhang Does Not Teach "Prediction Processing of Predicting a Temporal Change in the Calculation Capability Available in the Grid Computing Processing". Further, “Hoshihara fails to teach or suggest " Zhang fails to teach or suggest "prediction processing of predicting a temporal change in the calculation capability available in the grid computing processing of each of the plurality of arithmetic devices on a basis of the calculation capability information and the operation status information, and matching processing of allocating the one or more arithmetic device available in the grid computing processing among the plurality of arithmetic devices to the job data accepted in the job acceptance processing on a basis of a result of the prediction processing," as recited in independent claims 1 and 5."
As to point 3, examiner respectfully disagree , since Zhang was previously presented as teaching (see rejection of claim 1 below) , prediction processing of predicting a temporal change in the calculation capability available in the grid computing processing of each of the plurality of arithmetic devices on a basis of the calculation capability information and the operation status information (e.g., see page 2837, “B. Reservation-Enabled Charging Management”, “charging reservations as well as parking duration,charging (and parking) conditions can be precisely predicted for a future moment at CPs.” for “parked and charged AEVs “ and “the spatiotemporal dynamics of AEVs constantly on-the-move” in page 2841),
matching processing of allocating the arithmetic device that is available in the grid computing processing and is owned by the user among the plurality of arithmetic devices on a basis of a result of the prediction processing and a result of the selection processing (e.g., see page 2841, “B. CP-Selection Procedure” , “the GC is able to determine the optimal CP by accounting for the following context information 1) The traveling time of aevr from that D/P spot to each CP (lcp), denoted as T ldp,cp aev . 2) The expected waiting time for charging (EWTC) at individual CPs. While the calculation on T ldp,cp aev is easy to achieve, the value of EWTC requires predictions on the charging state with each CP for a future moment” for “load balancing across the network can be achieved, with regard to parked and charged AEVs in history” in page 2837 ).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Hoshihara with those of Zhang because both references are directed to related systems addressing similar technical problems within the same field and seek to improve system performance, reliability, and efficiency.
Hoshihara et al. disclose a management system that manages grid computing processing, the calculation capability of the arithmetic device , allowing a user to select the arithmetic device that is available in the grid computing processing while Zhang et al. teach prediction processing of predicting the temporal change in the calculation capability available in the grid computing processing, matching processing of allocating on a basis of a result of the prediction processing.
Incorporating the teachings of Zhang et al. into the system of Hoshihara et al. would have been a predictable and logical modification, yielding improved operational robustness and efficiency without requiring undue experimentation.
Such a combination would merely involve the substitution or integration of known elements performing their established functions, as taught by Zhang et al., into the system of Hoshihara et al., consistent with design incentives and market demands for improved performance and scalability. Moreover, Zhang et al. explicitly recognize benefits to “enable accurate predictions on future charging (and parking) states at CPs” and to provide “enhanced customer experiences in traveling period, as well as charging performances at both AEV and CP sides” (see Zhang, in abstract) . —that would naturally be desirable in the system of Hoshihara et al.
Accordingly, to one of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success in combining Hoshihara et al. with Zhang et al., and the combination represents no more than the predictable use of prior art elements according to their known functions.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hoshihara et al. (US 2013/0218402, Hoshihara hereinafter) in view of Xu Zhang et al. “Reservation Enhanced Autonomous Valet Parking Concerning Practicality Issues” , Zhang hereinafter ,PUBLICATION DATE: 2020-11-24.
As to claim 1, Hoshihara teaches a management system that manages grid computing processing (e.g., see FIG. 6, “spot C and spot B”, para 68, “a visiting spot of an electric vehicle. FIG. 6(a) shows a usual visiting spot of a driver, and FIG. 6(b) shows an occurrence of unusual visiting. In FIG. 6, the driver usually drives the electric vehicle to travel between spot C and spot B (see FIG. 6(a))” and “charging spot “, “the learning processing unit 24 reads out the history information stored in the storage unit 5, and extracts the charging spot at which the frequency of executing the charging processing” in para 62)) of causing one or more arithmetic devices that are available among a plurality of arithmetic devices to process job data, each of the plurality of arithmetic devices is mounted on a respective one of a plurality of vehicles (e.g., see FIG. 1, para 31, “an arithmetic unit 6” for “ the body 1 of an electric vehicle incorporating a navigation system 2 “and “The arithmetic unit 6, which carries out calculations” in para 39
para [0067] “for the usual charging spot “, “ it is not limited to a single place for each vehicle, but can be a plurality of spots”, “parking lot where a plurality of vehicles can park at random.” for “the user travels back and forth to work by electric vehicle.” , “for causing a user to select the charging spot, charge start time and charging duration using the input unit 7, so that the user can select the appropriate charging spot, charge start time and charging duration.” in para 62 and 68”. Thus, “ the user can select the appropriate charging spot, charge start time and charging duration.” Therefore, the select charging time and charging duration include the Job data coupled with “a plurality of vehicles”, “plurality of spots”, “arithmetic unit 6” . Therefore one or more arithmetic devices that are available among a plurality of arithmetic devices to process job data, each of the plurality of arithmetic devices is mounted on a respective one of a plurality of vehicle ) , and each of the plurality of arithmetic devices enters an operation state when the respective vehicle is traveling, and enters a stop state when a power supply of the respective vehicle is turned off (e.g., para [0039] The arithmetic unit 6, which carries out calculations of the individual processing in the navigation system 2, estimates the usual charging spot, charge start time and charging duration taken for the charge of the battery 14, for example, and retains them in the storage unit 5 as a learning result.” and
“the vehicle is in a parking state that enables charging” , “the power consumed by the traveling “ in para 96, 98 and FIG. 8, “state”, Running”, “parking”. Thus, the “charge start time, and the charging duration “ include the job data “, the “state”, Running”, “parking” include the state, therefore an operation state when the vehicle is traveling, and enters a stop state when a power supply of the vehicle is turned off, the parking state represent the stop sate) , the management system comprising:
a memory (e.g., “a storage unit 5”, FIG. 1); and
a controller (e.g., “6”, FIG. 1 and FIG. 2, para , 41, “In FIG. 2, the arithmetic unit 6 comprises “ , “a learning processing unit 24, a decision processing unit 25 and a charge guidance processing unit 26”), wherein
the memory has stored therein calculation capability information indicating a calculation capability of each of the plurality of arithmetic devices (e.g., para [0039] The arithmetic unit 6, which carries out calculations of the individual processing in the navigation system 2, estimates the usual charging spot, charge start time and charging duration taken for the charge of the battery 14, for example, and retains them in the storage unit 5 as a learning result “) and operation status information indicating an operation status of each of the plurality of arithmetic devices (e.g., see FIG. 7, “State”, “running”, “parking”, Charging”, para 69, wherein “parking and charging and the visiting spots of an electric vehicle, which corresponds to FIG. 6(a). Incidentally, the upper half of FIG. 7 shows the states of the electric vehicle with respect to time, and the lower half shows parking spots (visiting spots) of the electric vehicle with respect to time”, therefore operation status information indicating an operation status), and
the controller performs
job acceptance processing of accepting the job data requested for calculation by a client (e.g., see para 55 “ the functions of the foregoing components in the charge guidance processing programs by the arithmetic unit 6 which is a computer for realizing the navigation system 2, for example.” and “displays on the display unit 8 a selection screen for selecting the charging spot at which the frequency of executing the charging processing is not less than the prescribed number of times, its charge start time, and the charging duration required to provide an HMI for causing a user to select the charging spot, charge start time and charging duration using the input unit 7, so that the user can select the appropriate charging spot, charge start time and charging duration.” ,“ a plurality of spots”, “a parking lot where a plurality of vehicles can park at random” , The arithmetic unit 6, which carries out calculations of the individual processing in the navigation system 2, estimates the usual charging spot,” in para 39, 62, 67 .
Thus, one of the “functions” include the “ job ” for “a which carries out calculations of the individual processing”, the “charge start time and charging duration “ include the job data requested for calculation by a client , therefore job acceptance processing of accepting the job data requested for calculation by a client. The “a user to select the charging spot, charge start time and charging duration” include the job) , and
matching processing of allocating the one or more arithmetic devices available in the grid computing processing among the plurality of arithmetic devices to the job data accepted in the job acceptance processing on a basis of a result (e.g., see FIG. 6, “spot C and spot B”, para 68, a visiting spot of an electric vehicle. FIG. 6(a) “, “ FIG. 6, the driver usually drives the electric vehicle to travel between spot C and spot B (see FIG. 6(a)”.Thus, matching processing of allocating, to the job data corresponding to the job selected by the user in the selection processing among the plurality of jobs, the arithmetic device that is available in the grid computing processing ) and is owned by the user among the plurality of arithmetic devices on a basis of a result of the selection processing (e.g., para 62, “for causing a user to select the charging spot, charge start time and charging duration using the input unit 7, so that the user can select the appropriate charging spot, charge start time and charging duration” and “he charge guidance processing unit 26 of the decision result ” and “The arithmetic unit 6, which carries out calculations of the individual processing in the navigation system 2, estimates the usual charging spot, charge start time and charging duration taken for the charge of the battery 14”, in para 39.).
However, Hoshihara does not explicitly teach prediction processing of predicting a temporal change in the calculation capability available in the grid computing processing of each of the plurality of arithmetic devices on a basis of the calculation capability information and the operation status information, matching processing of allocating on a basis of a result of the prediction processing.
Zhang teaches prediction processing of predicting a temporal change in the calculation capability available in the grid computing processing of each of the plurality of arithmetic devices on a basis of the calculation capability information and the operation status information (e.g., see page 353 and 354, “Fig. 2. Time sequences of Reservation Enhanced LAVP. “, “Real-time monitoring: The GC keeps track on all CPs of their parking status, including the number of parked vehicles, their expected parking period”, “traffic information around the D/P area will be updated to GC in real-time (typically periodically), so as to inform the AV”, “While on the move, avr may send a parking request to GC for optimal selections on D/P spots and CPs.” and see Fig. 5, “ Influence of AV density. (a) Average parking waiting time. (b) Average AV traveling time. (c) Average customer trip duration”, “1) Average Parking Waiting Time:”, “2) Average AV Traveling Time”, “3) Average Customer Trip Duration” for predictions on future parking states across
the parking network” in page 358) ,
matching processing of allocating the arithmetic device available in the grid computing processing among the plurality of arithmetic devices to the job data accepted in the job acceptance processing on a basis of a result of the prediction processing. (e.g., see Fig. 1. “Big picture ofLAVPwhere anAVselects optimal D/P point and parking
lot with the aid of a cloud server GC.” and page 353, 356 and 357, “Algorithm 4: CP-Selection Decision Making. “, “2: calculate Tldp,cp av 3: calculate EWcp av via Algorithm 3 “ “D. CP-Selection Logic”, “By running the cost value C for each CP in Algorithm 4, the one meets the minimum cost value [according to (4)] for avr is selected”, see Fig. 1. Big picture ofLAVPwhere anAVselects optimal D/P point and parking
lot with the aid of a cloud server GC.
Thus, the “a cloud server GC” include the grid computing processing” for “enable accurate estimations on future parking states. “ , “Selection Decision Making “. Therefore, matching processing of allocating the arithmetic device available in the grid computing processing among the plurality of arithmetic devices to the job data accepted in the job acceptance processing on a basis of a result of the prediction processing).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Hoshihara with those of Zhang because both references are directed to related systems addressing similar technical problems within the same field and seek to improve system performance, reliability, and efficiency.
Hoshihara et al. disclose a management system that manages grid computing processing, the calculation capability of the arithmetic device , allowing a user to select the arithmetic device that is available in the grid computing processing while Zhang et al. teach prediction processing of predicting the temporal change in the calculation capability available in the grid computing processing, matching processing of allocating on a basis of a result of the prediction processing.
Incorporating the teachings of Zhang et al. into the system of Hoshihara et al. would have been a predictable and logical modification, yielding improved operational robustness and efficiency without requiring undue experimentation.
Such a combination would merely involve the substitution or integration of known elements performing their established functions, as taught by Zhang et al., into the system of Hoshihara et al., consistent with design incentives and market demands for improved performance and scalability. Moreover, Zhang et al. explicitly recognize benefits to “minimized vehicle trip duration and car park waiting time, as well as enhanced customer experiences (in terms of customer travel period (see Zhang, in page 352) . —that would naturally be desirable in the system of Hoshihara et al.
Accordingly, to one of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success in combining Hoshihara et al. with Zhang et al., and the combination represents no more than the predictable use of prior art elements according to their known functions.
As to claim 2, Hoshihara teaches wherein, in the matching processing, the controller allocates, to the job data, the one or more arithmetic devices available in the grid computing processing among the plurality of arithmetic devices and have performance corresponding to a calculation type of the job data (e.g., para 39, wherein the “estimates the usual charging spot, charge start time and charging duration” in performance corresponding to a calculation type of the job data) .
As to claim 3, Hoshihara teaches wherein, in the matching processing, the controller allocates, to the job data, the one or more arithmetic devices available in the grid computing processing among the plurality of arithmetic devices and have performance corresponding to an execution condition of the job data (e.g., para 136, “detecting physical quantities for deciding vehicle conditions, and the arithmetic unit 6C decides whether to charge the battery 14 or not from not only the power consumption due to traveling of the vehicle, but also the power consumption which depends on the vehicle conditions and is estimated from the detection information of the sensors 37-39”.
Thus, the” vehicle conditions” include an execution condition of the job data).
As to claim 4, Hoshihara teaches wherein, in the matching processing, the controller allocates, to the job data, the one or more arithmetic device that is available in the grid computing processing among the plurality of arithmetic devices so that the grid computing processing on the job data is completed until a delivery date set for the job data (e.g., para 65, “he period of time from the charge start time to the charge end time “ for “ the functions of the foregoing components in the charge guidance processing program”. Thus, the “the charge end time” include a delivery date set for the job data.) .
As to claim 5, see rejection of claim 1 above.
As to claim 6, see rejection of claim 4 above.
As to claim 7, see rejection of claim 4 above.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ABDOU K SEYE/ Examiner, Art Unit 2198
/PIERRE VITAL/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2198