DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claim(s) 1-6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more (See 2019 Update: Eligibility Guidance).
Independent Claim(s) 1 recites
determining whether a battery of the electronic device is being charged;
based on determining that the battery is being charged,
determining a charging current value;
determining a charging state corresponding to the determined charging current value;
and
outputting charging information corresponding to the determined charging state
[Mathematical Concepts – mathematical relationships; mathematical formulas or equations or mathematical calculation] and/or [Mental Processes - concepts performed in the human mind (including an observation, evaluation, judgement, opinion)].
In combination with Independent Claim(s) 1, Claim(s) 2-5 recite(s)
based on the charging current value being less than a first threshold value,
determining the charging state to be a slow charging state.
based on the charging current value being greater than a second threshold value,
determining the charging state to be a fast charging state.
determining a charging completion time based on the charging current value;
and
outputting the charging completion time.
determining the charging completion time based on the charging current value and a present charging progress status
[Mathematical Concepts – mathematical relationships; mathematical formulas or equations or mathematical calculation] and/or [Mental Processes - concepts performed in the human mind (including an observation, evaluation, judgement, opinion)].
This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application. Limitations that are not indicative of integration into a practical application:
Adding the words “apply it” (or an equivalent) with the judicial exception, or mere instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer, or merely uses a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea (see MPEP § 2106.05(f)) (i.e. An electronic device comprising: a memory in which a program for outputting charging information is recorded; and a processor configured to execute the program, wherein the program comprises instructions that cause the processor to perform:);
Adding insignificant extra-solution activity to the judicial exception (see MPEP § 2106.05(g)) (i.e. heating an aerosol-generating substrate of a cigarette inserted in the electronic device, by using power provided by the battery); or
Generally linking the use of the judicial exception to a particular technological environment or field of use (MPEP § 2106.05(h)) (i.e. heating an aerosol-generating substrate of a cigarette inserted in the electronic device, by using power provided by the battery).
The claim(s) does/do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because looking at the additional elements as an ordered combination adds nothing that is not already present when looking at the elements taken individually. There is no indication that the combination of elements improves the functioning of a computer or improves any other technology. The additional elements simply append well-understood, routine, conventional activities previously known to the industry, specified at a high level of generality, to the judicial exception, e.g., a claim to an abstract idea requiring no more than a generic computer to perform generic computer functions that are well-understood, routine and conventional activities previously known to the industry, as discussed in Alice Corp., 134 S. Ct. at 2359-60, 110 USPQ2d at 1984 (see MPEP § 2106.05(d)) (i.e. See Alice Corp. and cited references for evidence of additional elements (i.e., generic computer structure)).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by HOWARD ET AL. (US 20230218009 A1) (hereinafter “HOWARD”).
With respect to Claim(s) 1, HOWARD teaches ‘An apparatus and a method is described comprising: charging a battery of an aerosol generating device in a first mode of operation when a charge level of the battery is below a first threshold; and charging the battery of the aerosol generating device in a second mode of operation when the charge level of the battery is above the first threshold’ and the BRI of:
An electronic device
comprising:
a memory in which a program for outputting charging information is recorded; and a processor configured to execute the program, wherein the program comprises instructions that cause the processor (See, e.g., Fig(s). 1, 8, 9, 13, 14)
to perform:
determining whether a battery of the electronic device is being charged (See, e.g., Fig(s). 4);
based on determining that the battery is being charged, determining a charging current value (See, e.g., Fig(s). 4);
determining a charging state corresponding to the determined charging current value (See, e.g., Fig(s). 4);
and
outputting charging information corresponding to the determined charging state (See, e.g., ¶ 0099; See also, e.g., Fig(s). 14).
With respect to Claim(s) 2, HOWARD teaches the BRI of the parent claim(s).
HOWARD further teaches the BRI of:
based on the charging current value being less than a first threshold value, determining the charging state to be a slow charging state (See, e.g., Fig(s). 4).
With respect to Claim(s) 3, HOWARD teaches the BRI of the parent claim(s).
HOWARD further teaches the BRI of:
based on the charging current value being greater than a second threshold value, determining the charging state to be a fast charging state (See, e.g., Fig(s). 4).
With respect to Claim(s) 6, HOWARD teaches the BRI of the parent claim(s).
HOWARD further teaches the BRI of:
heating an aerosol-generating substrate of a cigarette inserted in the electronic device, by using power provided by the battery (See, e.g., ¶ 0003).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4, 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the cited references of the parent claim(s) in view of RUAN ET AL. (US 20210325466 A1) (hereinafter “RUAN”).
With respect to Claim(s) 4, HOWARD teaches the BRI of the parent claim(s).
However, HOWARD is lacking the explicit language of:
determining a charging completion time based on the charging current value; and outputting the charging completion time.
RUAN teaches ‘A method includes: estimating a first estimated time required for the battery to be charged from the state of charge estimation initial value to an upper limit of the state of charge estimation section; estimating a second estimated time required for the battery to be changed in temperature from the temperature estimation initial value to an upper limit of the temperature estimation section; determining a new state of charge estimation initial value, a new state of charge estimation section, and a new temperature estimation initial value and a new temperature estimation section based on a smaller estimated time between the first estimated time and the second estimated time, until an upper limit of an state of charge estimation section reaches a target state of charge and a smaller estimated time is a first estimated time; and accumulating every determined smaller estimated times to obtain an estimated remaining charging time’ and the BRI of:
determining a charging completion time based on the charging current value; and outputting the charging completion time (See, e.g., ¶ ABSTRACT; See also, e.g., Fig(s). 1-3).
It would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art, at the time before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify HOWARD to include determining a charging completion time based on the charging current value; and outputting the charging completion time.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to modify HOWARD because it would be beneficial for convenience for the user of a rechargeable device. Further, it would be obvious to combine prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results, simply substitute one known element for another to obtain predictable results, use known techniques to improve similar devices in the same way, and/or apply a known technique to a known device ready for improvement to yield predictable results.
With respect to Claim(s) 5, HOWARD, RUAN teaches the BRI of the parent claim(s).
RUAN further teaches the BRI of:
determining the charging completion time based on the charging current value and a present charging progress status (See, e.g., ¶ ABSTRACT; See also, e.g., Fig(s). 1-3).
It would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art, at the time before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify HOWARD to include determining the charging completion time based on the charging current value and a present charging progress status.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to modify HOWARD because it would be beneficial for convenience for the user of a rechargeable device. Further, it would be obvious to combine prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results, simply substitute one known element for another to obtain predictable results, use known techniques to improve similar devices in the same way, and/or apply a known technique to a known device ready for improvement to yield predictable results.
Conclusion
RAYMOND NIMOX
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2857
/RAYMOND L NIMOX/Primary Examiner, Art Unit