DETAILED ACTION
Applicant’s amendment has been considered and entered for the record.
Preliminary Remarks
Applicant’s amendment overcomes the rejection in the previous Office Action. Claims 1-17 and 67-61 are pending further examination upon the merits.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2, 4-7, 9, 11-17 and 57-61 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a1 as being anticipated by Barbera-Guillen et al. (US 2002/0110905 A1 – hereafter ‘905).
‘905 discloses a culture system (Abstract) that includes the following limitations for claim 1:
“An integrated culture monitoring system”: ‘905 discloses a system for the perfusion of cells (0007]) that also permits the observation of the cell culture ([0032]) where this is being interpreted as the integrated culture monitoring system of the instant application.
“an incubation chamber to contain a culture fluid”: ‘905 discloses reservoirs (reservoirs 10; Fig. 8) that are within a temperature controlled chamber ([0029]; [0041]) and these reservoirs are being interpreted as the incubation chamber of the instant application. Finally, these chambers hold a culture fluid.
“a temperature control device arranged to control temperature of the incubation chamber”: ‘9058 discloses that the housing holding the reservoirs includes an environmental control mechanism that regulates the temperature ([0041]).
“a fluid-handling cartridge”: ‘905 includes a cell culture device (device 14, i.e. the fluid-handling cartridge; [0038]; Fig. 8) that contains cells and the culture fluid.
“a fluid passage operationally coupled to a pump and providing a fluid passage between the incubation chamber and the fluid-handling cartridge”: ‘905 discloses a fluid passage such as tubing (tubing 12a; Fig. 8; [0036]) that is coupled to a pump (pump 12b; Fig. 8) and provides fluid passage between the reservoir and the cell culture device (i.e. the incubation chamber and the cartridge).
“wherein the pump is arranged to pump a sample of the culture fluid from the incubation chamber through the fluid passage into the fluid handling cartridge.”: The pump of ‘905 is arranged to pump a sample from the reservoir to the culture device ([0036]; Fig. 8).
For claim 2, ‘905 discloses a microprocessor ([0037]) that is electronically connected to the temperature control device, cell culture device and pump and is programmed to control the temperature of the system ([0041]).
For claim 4, the reservoir of ‘905 includes a culture fluid ([0014]).
For claim 5, the reservoirs of ‘905 include a culture medium ([0014]).
For claim 6, the reagents are drawn to material operated on by the apparatus which does not structurally define the claimed invention over the prior art. See MPEP §2114.
For claim 7, ‘905 discloses sensors that are connected to the processor that controls the process ([0014]).
For claim 9, the reservoir and culture device are fluidly connected (Fig. 8; [0041]).
For claim 11, ‘905 discloses an optical sensor such as a flow photometer ([0043]).
For claim 12, the turbidity sensors of ‘905 would inherently be a photodiode.
For claim 13, ‘905 discloses that the chamber is formed by two gas permeable membranes (membranes 26; Fig. 5; [0032]) that would be separated by a gap and are fully capable of allowing droplet operations to be performed.
For claim 14, the reservoirs of ‘905 are being interpreted as bottles (Fig. 8; [0037]; [0041]).
For claim 15, ‘905 includes a display ([0044]) that includes a touch screen and therefore is fully capable of displaying an assay result. Moreover, the touch screen reads on a GUI.
For claims 16 and 17, the specific assay is drawn to the manner in which the device is operated and does not provide a structural limitation that defines over the prior art. See MPEP §2114.
For claims 57-59, the specific reagents are drawn to the manner in which the device is operated and does not provide a structural limitation that defines over the prior art. See MPEP §2114.
For claim 60, the cartridge of ‘905 is fully capable of being disposable.
For claim 61, ‘905 discloses that the cells are from biological organs or tissue and therefore include blood or a blood fraction ([0038]).
Therefore, ‘905 meets the limitations of claims 1, 2, 4-7, 9, 11-17 and 57-61.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Barbera-Guillen et al. (US 2002/0110905 A1 – hereafter ‘905) in view of Handique et al. (US 2015/0328638 A1 – hereafter ‘638).
‘905 (Barbera-Guillen) differs from claim 3 regarding a digital microfluidic cartridge.
‘638 (Handique) discloses a cartridge that creates microdroplets ([0009]) that is being interpreted as the DMF of the instant application since a DMF cartridge generates droplets for analysis on each individual droplet.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to include the cartridge of ‘638 within ‘905 in order to process a sample for a diagnostic result. The suggestion for doing so at the time would have been in order to lyse a cell to prepare it for amplification ([0009]).
‘905 differs from the limitation of claim 8.
For claim 8, ‘638 discloses sensors that can be used to detect droplets ([0246]; [0244]).
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the earliest effective filing date to include the sensors of ‘638 within ‘905 in order to monitor a droplet in the cartridge. The suggestion for doing so at the time would have been in order to position a droplet at a desired location ([0295]).
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Barbera-Guillen et al. (US 2002/0110905 A1 – hereafter ‘905) in view of Vacic et al. (US 11,828,766 B2 – hereafter ‘766).
‘905 (Barbera-Guillen) differs with regards to the agitator of claim 10.
‘766 (Vacic) discloses a testing system for performing multi-assay testing sequence (Abstract) that for claim 10 includes a shacking system for shaking the cartridges (col. 29 lines 42-54). This can result in an increase in growth of the cell culture (col. 3 line 35).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the earliest effective filing date to incorporate the shaking system of ‘766 within ‘905 in order to improve oxygenation within the chamber. The suggestion for doing so at the time would have been to allow the continuous and more uniform exposure of microorganisms to nutrients in the growth medium (col. 3 lines 30-32).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 09/07/2026 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Hammons et al. (US 2011/0207209 A1) discloses a culture system that automates the culturing and incubation process.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MICHAEL L HOBBS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1799