This office action is in response to the amendment filed 06/16/2026.
Claims 1-10, 11-19, 20 are pending.
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d). The certified copy has been filed in parent Application No. SWEDEN 2150593-8, filed on 05/10/2021.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 06/16/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
On the pages 7-8 , the applicant argues that SELVANESAN’s 804 fails to disclose “ the UEs receiving a reference DRX cycle from the network and the UEs aligning sidelink communications”.
The examiner respectfully disagrees with the applicant’s argument.
SELVANESAN’s 804 discloses “ the UEs receiving a reference DRX cycle from the network and the UEs aligning sidelink communications” ( [0135] aligning, by the UE, the DRX cycles of the UE with an access point, like a base station, gNB, or a gateway node, of the wireless communication system and/or one or more of the further UEs ).
On the pages 7-8, the applicant argues that LIU’s 283 fails to disclose “ the UEs receive a reference DRX cycle from the network and the UEs aligning sidelink communications”.
The examiner respectfully disagrees with the applicant’s argument.
LIU’s 283 discloses the UEs receive a reference DRX cycle ( SL DRX cycle reference) from the network and the UEs aligning sidelink communications ( the first terminal device receives an SL DRX cycle reference values and adjusts the SL DRX cycle to match the SL DRX cycle reference ) [see Paragraphs 102-105 ].
On the pages 7-8, the applicant argues that a network node providing a reference DRX cycle to UEs to enable the UEs to align sidelink communications.
The examiner respectfully disagrees with the applicant’s argument.
LUO’s 843, from the same or similar fields of endeavor, teaches a network node providing a reference DRX cycle to UEs to enable the UEs to align sidelink communications ( the BS considers PO alignment when configuring SL DRX. By definition, the UE monitors one Paging Occasion (PO) per DRX cycle. A PO is a set of Physical Downlink Control Channel (PDCCH) monitoring occasions and can consist of multiple time slots (e.g., subframe or Orthogonal Frequency Division Multiplexing (OFDM) symbol) in which paging Downlink Control Information (DCI) can be sent. The BS can indicate whether to align with PO when configuring SL DRX of an RRC idle state UE. If the UE receives information indicating SL DRX alignment, the SL-on duration of the UE is the same as the paging occasion) [see Paragraph 0040; also see Paragraphs 0041-0042].
Therefore, it is respectfully submitted that claim 1 is unpatentable over the cited art. Claim 11 recited similar features as claim 1. Accordingly, claim 11 is also unpatentable over the cited art for at least reasons above.
The examiner respectfully submits that the cited art, separately or in combination, disclose, suggest, or render obvious, all features of independent claims 1 and 11 ( and the claims that depend therefrom ).
Thus, it is clear that the combined system of SELVANESAN’s 804, LIU’s 283, and LUO’s 843 disclose the broadly claim invention, and the 103 rejection should be sustained.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 2-6, 7-8, 11, 12-16, 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over SELVANESAN et al. ( US 20230062804, hereinafter, SELVANESAN’s 804) in view of LIU et al. ( US 20220361283, hereinafter, LIU’s 283 ), and further in view of LUO et al. ( US 20230171843, hereinafter, LUO’s 843 )
Regarding to the claim 1, SELVANESAN’s 804 teaches a method, performed by a first wireless device (WD) for handling sidelink communication with one or more second WDs residing in the same communication area for sidelink communication as the first WD, the method comprising:
receiving, from a wireless node, information indicative of a Discontinuous Reception (DRX) (Sidelink Discontinuous Reception Configurations) , determined by a network node, wherein the DRX configuration enables WDs for sidelink communication to align their DRX cycles ( [0135] aligning, by the UE, the DRX cycles of the UE with an access point, like a base station, gNB, or a gateway node, of the wireless communication system and/or one or more of the further UEs ) [see Paragraph 0135 ]
[ also see Figures 21-23 & Paragraphs 0295 & 0346 & 0347 & 0348 & 0349 & 0350 ] ,
obtaining a sidelink DRX cycle which is aligned with the DRX configuration (Sidelink Discontinuous Reception Configurations) (obtaining a sidelink DRX cycle which is aligned with the reference DRX cycle) [ see Paragraph 0135 ]
[ also see Paragraphs 0295 & 0346 & 0347 & 0348 & 0349 & 0350 ].
However, SELVANESAN’s 804 does not explicitly teach information indicative of a reference Discontinuous Reception (DRX) cycle determined by a network node.
LIU’s 283, from the same or similar fields of endeavor, teaches information indicative of a reference Discontinuous Reception (DRX) cycle the first information includes an SL DRX cycle reference value [see Paragraph 0102 ] determined by a network node, wherein the reference DRX cycle enable WDs residing in the communication area for sidelink communication adjust their SL DRX cycles
( SL DRX cycle reference) from the network and the UEs aligning sidelink communications ( the first terminal device receives an SL DRX cycle reference values and adjusts the SL DRX cycle to match the SL DRX cycle reference ) [see Paragraphs 102-105 ].
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing data of the claimed invention to modify the system of SELVANESAN’s 804 in view of LIU’s 283 because LIU’s 283 suggests that on the SL link between the terminal device and the another terminal device, reducing power consumption of the terminal device while ensuring effective data transmission becomes an urgent problem to be resolved.
However, SELVANESAN’s 804 and LIU’s 283 do not explicitly teach DRX occasions.
LUO’s 843, from the same or similar fields of endeavor, teaches receiving, from a wireless node, information indicative of a reference Discontinuous Reception (DRX), cycle determined by a network node, wherein the reference DRX cycle enables WDs residing in the communication area for sidelink communication to align their DRX cycles (receiving, from a wireless node, information indicative of a reference Discontinuous Reception (DRX), cycle determined by a network node, wherein the reference DRX cycle enables WDs residing in the communication area for sidelink communication to align their DRX cycles) [see Paragraphs 0040 & 0041 & 0042 ]
obtaining a sidelink DRX cycle which is aligned with the reference DRX cycle (SL DRX configuration for UEs) [see Paragraphs 0040 & 0041 & 0042 ]
, and communicating, with the one or more second WDs, in DRX occasions of the obtained sidelink DRX cycle
[see Paragraphs 0040-0042] .
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing data of the claimed invention to modify the combined system of (SELVANESAN’s 804 and LIU’s 283 ), and further in view of LUO’s 843 because LUO’s 843 suggests that starting from the known technology as described above, there may be a need for enhancements or improvements regarding discontinuous reception, DRX, on a sidelink, SL.
Regarding to the claim 2, SELVANESAN’s 804 further teaches wherein obtaining the sidelink DRX cycle comprises receiving information indicative of the sidelink DRX cycle from the wireless node (wherein obtaining the sidelink DRX cycle comprises receiving information indicative of the sidelink DRX cycle from the wireless node) [see Paragraph 0135 ] [ also see Figures 21-23 & Paragraphs 0295 & 0346 & 0347 & 0348 & 0349 & 0350 ] .
Regarding to the claim 3, SELVANESAN’s 804 further teaches wherein obtaining the sidelink DRX cycle comprises determining the sidelink DRX cycle based on the information indicative of the reference DRX cycle ( wherein obtaining the sidelink DRX cycle comprises determining the sidelink DRX cycle based on the information indicative of the reference DRX cycle ) [see Paragraph 0135 ] [ also see Figures 21-23 & Paragraphs 0295 & 0346 & 0347 & 0348 & 0349 & 0350 ] .
Regarding to the claim 4, SELVANESAN’s 804 further teaches wherein the sidelink DRX cycle is determined based on assistance information received from the one or more second WDs (wherein the sidelink DRX cycle is determined based on assistance information received from the one or more second WDs) [see Paragraph 0135 ]
[ also see Figures 21-23 & Paragraphs 0295 & 0346 & 0347 & 0348 & 0349 & 0350 ] .
Regarding to the claim 5, SELVANESAN’s 804 further teaches wherein the assistance information is indicative of a DRX cycle of the one or more second WDs for an interface between the one or more second WD and the network node (wherein the assistance information is indicative of a DRX cycle of the one or more second WDs for an interface between the one or more second WD and the network node) [see Paragraph 0135 ]
[ also see Figures 21-23 & Paragraphs 0295 & 0346 & 0347 & 0348 & 0349 & 0350 ] .
Regarding to the claim 6, SELVANESAN’s 804 further teaches wherein the method comprises: transmitting, to the one or more second WDs, information indicative of the sidelink DRX cycle (wherein the method comprises: transmitting, to the one or more second WDs, information indicative of the sidelink DRX cycle ) [see Paragraph 0135 ] [ also see Figures 21-23 & Paragraphs 0295 & 0346 & 0347 & 0348 & 0349 & 0350 ] .
Regarding to the claim 7, SELVANESAN’s 804 further teaches wherein the method comprises: transmitting, to the network node, a request to align a DRX cycle for an interface between the first WD and the network node with the reference DRX cycle ( wherein the method comprises: transmitting, to the network node, a request to align a DRX cycle for an interface between the first WD and the network node with the reference DRX cycle ) [see Paragraph 0135 ] [ also see Figures 21-23 & Paragraphs 0295 & 0346 & 0347 & 0348 & 0349 & 0350 ] .
Regarding to the claim 8, SELVANESAN’s 804 further teaches wherein the method comprises: receiving, from the network node, a DRX configuration indicative of a DRX cycle for the interface between the first WD and the network node which is aligned with the reference DRX cycle ( wherein the method comprises: receiving, from the network node, a DRX configuration indicative of a DRX cycle for the interface between the first WD and the network node which is aligned with the reference DRX cycle ) [see Paragraph 0135 ] [ also see Figures 21-23 & Paragraphs 0295 & 0346 & 0347 & 0348 & 0349 & 0350 ] .
Regarding to the claim 11, SELVANESAN’s 804 teaches a method, performed by a network node, for facilitating sidelink communication between one or more wireless devices (WDs), residing in a communication area for sidelink communication, the method comprising:
determining a Discontinuous Reception (DRX) (SL DRX configurations) , cycle enabling WDs for sidelink communication to align their DRX cycles [see Paragraph 0135 ] [ also see Figures 21-23 & Paragraphs 0295 & 0346 & 0347 & 0348 & 0349 & 0350 ],
providing, to one or more WDs, information indicative of the reference DRX cycle (SL DRX configuration) [see Paragraph 0135 ] [ also see Figures 21-23 & Paragraphs 0295 & 0346 & 0347 & 0348 & 0349 & 0350 ] .
However, SELVANESAN’s 804 does not explicitly teach information indicative of a reference Discontinuous Reception (DRX) cycle determined by a network node.
LIU’s 283, from the same or similar fields of endeavor, teaches information indicative of a reference Discontinuous Reception (DRX) cycle the first information includes an SL DRX cycle reference value [see Paragraphs 0102-105 ] determined by a network node, wherein the reference DRX cycle enable WDs residing in the communication area for sidelink communication adjust their SL DRX cycles [see Paragraphs 0102-105 ].
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing data of the claimed invention to modify the system of SELVANESAN’s 804 in view of LIU’s 283 because LIU’s 283 suggests that on the SL link between the terminal device and the another terminal device, reducing power consumption of the terminal device while ensuring effective data transmission becomes an urgent problem to be resolved.
However, SELVANESAN’s 804 does not explicitly teach the communication area.
LIU’s 283, from the same or similar fields of endeavor, teaches determining a reference Discontinuous Reception (DRX), cycle enabling WDs residing in the communication area for sidelink communication to align their DRX cycles ( determining a reference Discontinuous Reception (DRX), cycle enabling WDs residing in the communication area for sidelink communication to align their DRX cycles ) [see Paragraphs 0040 & 0041 & 0042], and
providing, to one or more WDs residing in the communication area, information indicative of the reference DRX cycle (SL DRX configurations ) [see Paragraphs 0040 & 0041 & 0042].
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing data of the claimed invention to modify the combined system (SELVANESAN’s 804 and LIU’s 283 ), and further in view of LUO’s 843 because LUO’s 843 suggests that starting from the known technology as described above, there may be a need for enhancements or improvements regarding discontinuous reception, DRX, on a sidelink, SL.
Regarding to the claim 12, SELVANESAN’s 804 further teaches wherein determining the reference DRX cycle comprises determining the reference DRX cycle based on a DRX cycle for an interface between a first WD of the one or more WDs and the network node (wherein determining the reference DRX cycle comprises determining the reference DRX cycle based on a DRX cycle for an interface between a first WD of the one or more WDs and the network node) [ see Paragraph 0135 ] [ also see Paragraphs 0295 & 0346 & 0347 & 0348 & 0349 & 0350 ].
Regarding to the claim 13, US 20230062804 further teaches wherein the method comprises: determining a sidelink DRX cycle, which sidelink DRX cycle is aligned with the reference DRX cycle ( wherein the method comprises: determining a sidelink DRX cycle, which sidelink DRX cycle is aligned with the reference DRX cycle ) [ see Paragraph 0135 ] [ also see Paragraphs 0295 & 0346 & 0347 & 0348 & 0349 & 0350 ]
Regarding to the claim 14, US 20230062804 further teaches wherein transmitting information comprises transmitting information indicative of the determined sidelink DRX cycle ( wherein transmitting information comprises transmitting information indicative of the determined sidelink DRX cycle ) [ see Paragraph 0135 ] [ also see Paragraphs 0295 & 0346 & 0347 & 0348 & 0349 & 0350 ]
Regarding to the claim 15, US 20230062804 further teaches wherein the information indicative of the sidelink DRX cycle comprises one or more of a sidelink DRX timing, a sidelink DRX rate and a time offset of the sidelink DRX cycle in relation to a timing of the reference DRX cycle ( wherein the information indicative of the sidelink DRX cycle comprises one or more of a sidelink DRX timing, a sidelink DRX rate and a time offset of the sidelink DRX cycle in relation to a timing of the reference DRX cycle ) [ see Paragraph 0135 ] [ also see Paragraphs 0295 & 0346 & 0347 & 0348 & 0349 & 0350 ].
Regarding to the claim 16, US 20230062804 further teaches wherein the method comprises: receiving, from at least one WD out of the one or more WDs, a request to align a DRX cycle for an interface between the at least one WD out of the one or more WDs and the network node with the reference DRX cycle ( wherein the method comprises: receiving, from at least one WD out of the one or more WDs, a request to align a DRX cycle for an interface between the at least one WD out of the one or more WDs and the network node with the reference DRX cycle ) [ see Paragraph 0135 ] [ also see Paragraphs 0295 & 0346 & 0347 & 0348 & 0349 & 0350 ].
Regarding to the claim 20, US 20230062804 teaches a wireless device comprising memory circuitry, processor circuitry, and a wireless interface, wherein the wireless device is configured to perform:
receiving, from a wireless node, information indicative of a Discontinuous Reception (DRX) (Sidelink Discontinuous Reception Configurations) , determined by a network node, wherein the DRX configuration enables WDs for sidelink communication to align their DRX cycles ( [0135] aligning, by the UE, the DRX cycles of the UE with an access point, like a base station, gNB, or a gateway node, of the wireless communication system and/or one or more of the further UEs ) [see Paragraph 0135 ]
[ also see Figures 21-23 & Paragraphs 0295 & 0346 & 0347 & 0348 & 0349 & 0350 ] ,
obtaining a sidelink DRX cycle which is aligned with the DRX configuration (Sidelink Discontinuous Reception Configurations) (obtaining a sidelink DRX cycle which is aligned with the reference DRX cycle) [ see Paragraph 0135 ]
[ also see Paragraphs 0295 & 0346 & 0347 & 0348 & 0349 & 0350 ].
However, SELVANESAN’s 804 does not explicitly teach information indicative of a reference Discontinuous Reception (DRX) cycle determined by a network node.
LIU’s 283, from the same or similar fields of endeavor, teaches information indicative of a reference Discontinuous Reception (DRX) cycle the first information includes an SL DRX cycle reference value [see Paragraph 0102 ] determined by a network node, wherein the reference DRX cycle enable WDs residing in the communication area for sidelink communication adjust their SL DRX cycles
( SL DRX cycle reference) from the network and the UEs aligning sidelink communications ( the first terminal device receives an SL DRX cycle reference values and adjusts the SL DRX cycle to match the SL DRX cycle reference ) [see Paragraphs 102-105 ].
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing data of the claimed invention to modify the system of SELVANESAN’s 804 in view of LIU’s 283 because LIU’s 283 suggests that on the SL link between the terminal device and the another terminal device, reducing power consumption of the terminal device while ensuring effective data transmission becomes an urgent problem to be resolved.
However, SELVANESAN’s 804 and LIU’s 283 do not explicitly teach DRX occasions.
LUO’s 843, from the same or similar fields of endeavor, teaches receiving, from a wireless node, information indicative of a reference Discontinuous Reception (DRX), cycle determined by a network node, wherein the reference DRX cycle enables WDs residing in the communication area for sidelink communication to align their DRX cycles (receiving, from a wireless node, information indicative of a reference Discontinuous Reception (DRX), cycle determined by a network node, wherein the reference DRX cycle enables WDs residing in the communication area for sidelink communication to align their DRX cycles) [see Paragraphs 0040 & 0041 & 0042 ]
obtaining a sidelink DRX cycle which is aligned with the reference DRX cycle (SL DRX configuration for UEs) [see Paragraphs 0040 & 0041 & 0042 ]
, and communicating, with the one or more second WDs, in DRX occasions of the obtained sidelink DRX cycle
[see Paragraphs 0040-0042] .
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing data of the claimed invention to modify the combined system of (SELVANESAN’s 804 and LIU’s 283 ), and further in view of LUO’s 843 because LUO’s 843 suggests that starting from the known technology as described above, there may be a need for enhancements or improvements regarding discontinuous reception, DRX, on a sidelink, SL.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 9 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance:
The prior art fails to disclose wherein the information indicative of the sidelink DRX cycle comprises one or more of a sidelink DRX timing, a sidelink DRX rate, and a time offset of the sidelink DRX cycle in relation to a timing of the reference DRX cycle.
Claim 10 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance:
The prior art fails to disclose wherein the information indicative of the reference DRX cycle comprises one or more of a reference DRX timing, a reference DRX rate, and a time offset of the reference DRX cycle in relation to a timing of a cell in which the WDs is camping.
Claim 17 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance:
The prior art fails to disclose determining whether a network condition satisfies an alignment criterion for moving the DRX cycle for the interface between the at least one WD out of the one or more WDs and the network node.
Claim 18 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance:
The prior art fails to disclose upon determining that the network condition satisfies the alignment criterion for moving the DRX cycle for the interface between the at least one WD out of the one or more WDs and the network node, transmitting, to the at least one WD out of the one or more WDs, a DRX configuration indicative of a DRX cycle for the interface between the at least one WD out of the one or more WDs and the network node which is aligned with the reference DRX cycle.
Claim 19 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance:
The prior art fails to disclose wherein the information indicative of the reference DRX cycle comprises one or more of a reference DRX timing, a reference DRX rate and a time offset of the reference DRX cycle in relation to a timing of a cell in which the WDs is camping
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Conclusion
/CHUONG T HO/Examiner, Art Unit 2412