This office action is in response to the amendment filed 01/22/2026.
Claims 1-10, 11-19, 20 are pending.
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d). The certified copy has been filed in parent Application No. SWEDEN 2150593-8, filed on 05/10/2021.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 2-6, 7-8, 11, 12-16, 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over SELVANESAN et al. ( US 20230062804, hereinafter, SELVANESAN’s 804) in view of LIU et al. ( US 20220361283, hereinafter, LIU’s 283 ), and further in view of LUO et al. ( US 20230171843, hereinafter, LUO’s 843 )
Regarding to the claim 1, US 20230062804 teaches a method, performed by a first wireless device (WD) for handling sidelink communication with one or more second WDs residing in the same communication area for sidelink communication as the first WD, the method comprising:
receiving, from a wireless node, information indicative of a Discontinuous Reception (DRX) (Sidelink Discontinuous Reception Configurations) , determined by a network node, wherein the DRX configuration enables WDs for sidelink communication to align their DRX cycles ( [0125] In accordance with embodiments (see for example claim 11), to align a DRX cycle between the UE and a base station, [0126] in case the UE is connected to the base station, the UE has its DRX cycle aligned with the base station, responsive to being configured by the base station with one or more DRX configurations, and/or [0127] in case the UE has its DRX cycle aligned with one or more of the further UEs it is connected to for the SL communication, the UE is to signal to the base station one or more of its existing DRX cycles in order to inform the base station.
[0128] In accordance with embodiments (see for example claim 12), to align a DRX cycle between the UE and one or more of the further UEs, the UE is to listen to one or more of the further UEs being in proximity of the UE, and to adapt its DRX cycle to the one or more DRX cycles used by one or more of the further UEs ) [see Paragraphs 0125 & 0128, 0134 & 0274 & 0280 & 0289 & 0291, 0292, & 0293, & 0294 & 0295 & 0346 & 0051 & 0075 & 0022 & 0031 & 0051 & 0072 & 0075 & 0076 & 0119 & 0121 & 0291 & 0346 & 0347 & 0348 & 0349 & 0350 ] ,
obtaining a sidelink DRX cycle which is aligned with the DRX configuration (Sidelink Discontinuous Reception Configurations) (obtaining a sidelink DRX cycle which is aligned with the reference DRX cycle) [see Paragraphs 0125 & 0128, 0134 & 0274 & 0280 & 0289 & 0291, 0292, & 0293, & 0294 & 0295 & 0346 & 0051 & 0075 & 0022 & 0031 & 0051 & 0072 & 0075 & 0076 & 0119 & 0121 & 0291 & 0346 & 0347 & 0348 & 0349 & 0350 ];
However, US 20230062804 does not explicitly teach information indicative of a reference Discontinuous Reception (DRX) cycle determined by a network node.
US 20220361283, from the same or similar fields of endeavor, teaches information indicative of a reference Discontinuous Reception (DRX) cycle *the first information includes an SL DRX cycle reference value ) [see Paragraph 0102 ] determined by a network node, wherein the reference DRX cycle enable WDs residing in the communication area for sidelink communication adjust their SL DRX cycles [see Paragraph 0103 ].
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing data of the claimed invention to modify the system of US 20230062804 in view of US 20220361283 because US 20220361283 suggests that on the SL link between the terminal device and the another terminal device, reducing power consumption of the terminal device while ensuring effective data transmission becomes an urgent problem to be resolved.
However, US 20230062804 and US 20220361283 do not explicitly teach DRX occasions.
US 20230171843, from the same or similar fields of endeavor, teaches receiving, from a wireless node, information indicative of a reference Discontinuous Reception (DRX), cycle determined by a network node, wherein the reference DRX cycle enables WDs residing in the communication area for sidelink communication to align their DRX cycles (receiving, from a wireless node, information indicative of a reference Discontinuous Reception (DRX), cycle determined by a network node, wherein the reference DRX cycle enables WDs residing in the communication area for sidelink communication to align their DRX cycles) [see Paragraphs 0040 & 0041 & 0044 & 0045 & 0049 & 0052 ]
obtaining a sidelink DRX cycle which is aligned with the reference DRX cycle (SL DRX configuration for UEs) [see Paragraphs 0040 & 0041 & 0044 & 0045 & 0049 & 0052 ]
, and communicating, with the one or more second WDs, in DRX occasions of the obtained sidelink DRX cycle (8. The method of claim 1, further comprising: receiving, by the first wireless communication device from a base station, the SL DRX configuration information, the SL DRX configuration information comprising one or more DRX parameters; determining, by the first wireless communication device, the SL DRX configuration using the DRX parameters, wherein the DRX parameters comprise one or more of a length of a default SL DRX cycle, a number of total SL DRX frames in the length of the default SL DRX cycle, a number of DRX on occasions for a DRX on frame, and an offset used for determining the DRX on frame; determining the SL DRX configuration information comprises determining the SL DRX on duration using the DRX parameters; determining the SL DRX on duration comprises determining a System Frame Number (SFN) and a slot index indicating a slot of DRX on occasions based on the DRX parameters and an identifier, the identifier being determined based on one of: a Temporary Mobile Subscriber Identity (TMSI), a destination identifier, or a source identifier.) [see the claim 8 ].
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing data of the claimed invention to modify the combined system of ( US 20230062804 and US 20220361283 ), and further in view of US 20230171843 because US 20230171843 suggests that starting from the known technology as described above, there may be a need for enhancements or improvements regarding discontinuous reception, DRX, on a sidelink, SL.
Regarding to the claim 2, US 20230062804 further teaches wherein obtaining the sidelink DRX cycle comprises receiving information indicative of the sidelink DRX cycle from the wireless node (wherein obtaining the sidelink DRX cycle comprises receiving information indicative of the sidelink DRX cycle from the wireless node) [see Paragraphs 0125 & 0128, 0134 & 0274 & 0280 & 0289 & 0291, 0292, & 0293, & 0294 & 0295 & 0346 & 0051 & 0075 & 0022 & 0031 & 0051 & 0072 & 0075 & 0076 & 0119 & 0121 & 0291 & 0346 & 0347 & 0348 & 0349 & 0350 ].
Regarding to the claim 3, US 20230062804 further teaches wherein obtaining the sidelink DRX cycle comprises determining the sidelink DRX cycle based on the information indicative of the reference DRX cycle ( wherein obtaining the sidelink DRX cycle comprises determining the sidelink DRX cycle based on the information indicative of the reference DRX cycle ) [see Paragraphs 0125 & 0128, 0134 & 0274 & 0280 & 0289 & 0291, 0292, & 0293, & 0294 & 0295 & 0346 & 0051 & 0075 & 0022 & 0031 & 0051 & 0072 & 0075 & 0076 & 0119 & 0121 & 0291 & 0346 & 0347 & 0348 & 0349 & 0350 ].
Regarding to the claim 4, US 20230062804 further teaches wherein the sidelink DRX cycle is determined based on assistance information received from the one or more second WDs (wherein the sidelink DRX cycle is determined based on assistance information received from the one or more second WDs) [see Paragraph 0076 ]
[see Paragraphs 0125 & 0128, 0134 & 0274 & 0280 & 0289 & 0291, 0292, & 0293, & 0294 & 0295 & 0346 & 0051 & 0075 & 0022 & 0031 & 0051 & 0072 & 0075 & 0076 & 0119 & 0121 & 0291 & 0346 & 0347 & 0348 & 0349 & 0350 ].
Regarding to the claim 5, US 20230062804 further teaches wherein the assistance information is indicative of a DRX cycle of the one or more second WDs for an interface between the one or more second WD and the network node (wherein the assistance information is indicative of a DRX cycle of the one or more second WDs for an interface between the one or more second WD and the network node) [see Paragraphs 0125 & 0128, 0134 & 0274 & 0280 & 0289 & 0291, 0292, & 0293, & 0294 & 0295 & 0346 & 0051 & 0075 & 0022 & 0031 & 0051 & 0072 & 0075 & 0076 & 0119 & 0121 & 0291 & 0346 & 0347 & 0348 & 0349 & 0350 ].
Regarding to the claim 6, US 20230062804 further teaches wherein the method comprises: transmitting, to the one or more second WDs, information indicative of the sidelink DRX cycle (wherein the method comprises: transmitting, to the one or more second WDs, information indicative of the sidelink DRX cycle ) [see Paragraphs 0125 & 0128, 0134 & 0274 & 0280 & 0289 & 0291, 0292, & 0293, & 0294 & 0295 & 0346 & 0051 & 0075 & 0022 & 0031 & 0051 & 0072 & 0075 & 0076 & 0119 & 0121 & 0291 & 0346 & 0347 & 0348 & 0349 & 0350 ].
Regarding to the claim 7, US 20230062804 further teaches wherein the method comprises: transmitting, to the network node, a request to align a DRX cycle for an interface between the first WD and the network node with the reference DRX cycle ( wherein the method comprises: transmitting, to the network node, a request to align a DRX cycle for an interface between the first WD and the network node with the reference DRX cycle ) [see Paragraphs 0125 & 0128, 0134 & 0274 & 0280 & 0289 & 0291, 0292, & 0293, & 0294 & 0295 & 0346 & 0051 & 0075 & 0022 & 0031 & 0051 & 0072 & 0075 & 0076 & 0119 & 0121 & 0291 & 0346 & 0347 & 0348 & 0349 & 0350 ].
Regarding to the claim 8, US 20230062804 further teaches wherein the method comprises: receiving, from the network node, a DRX configuration indicative of a DRX cycle for the interface between the first WD and the network node which is aligned with the reference DRX cycle ( wherein the method comprises: receiving, from the network node, a DRX configuration indicative of a DRX cycle for the interface between the first WD and the network node which is aligned with the reference DRX cycle ) [see Paragraphs 0125 & 0128, 0134 & 0274 & 0280 & 0289 & 0291, 0292, & 0293, & 0294 & 0295 & 0346 & 0051 & 0075 & 0022 & 0031 & 0051 & 0072 & 0075 & 0076 & 0119 & 0121 & 0291 & 0346 & 0347 & 0348 & 0349 & 0350 ].
Regarding to the claim 11, US 20230062804 teaches a method, performed by a network node, for facilitating sidelink communication between one or more wireless devices (WDs), residing in a communication area for sidelink communication, the method comprising:
determining a Discontinuous Reception (DRX) (SL DRX configurations) , cycle enabling WDs for sidelink communication to align their DRX cycles ( [0125] In accordance with embodiments (see for example claim 11), to align a DRX cycle between the UE and a base station, [0126] in case the UE is connected to the base station, the UE has its DRX cycle aligned with the base station, responsive to being configured by the base station with one or more DRX configurations, and/or [0127] in case the UE has its DRX cycle aligned with one or more of the further UEs it is connected to for the SL communication, the UE is to signal to the base station one or more of its existing DRX cycles in order to inform the base station.
[0128] In accordance with embodiments (see for example claim 12), to align a DRX cycle between the UE and one or more of the further UEs, the UE is to listen to one or more of the further UEs being in proximity of the UE, and to adapt its DRX cycle to the one or more DRX cycles used by one or more of the further UEs ) [see Paragraphs 0125 & 0128, 0134 & 0274 & 0280 & 0289 & 0291, 0292, & 0293, & 0294 & 0295 & 0346 & 0051 & 0075 & 0022 & 0031 & 0051 & 0072 & 0075 & 0076 & 0119 & 0121 & 0291 & 0346 & 0347 & 0348 & 0349 & 0350 ],
providing, to one or more WDs, information indicative of the reference DRX cycle (SL DRX configuration) [see Paragraphs 0125 & 0128, 0134 & 0274 & 0280 & 0289 & 0291, 0292, & 0293, & 0294 & 0295 & 0346 & 0051 & 0075 & 0022 & 0031 & 0051 & 0072 & 0075 & 0076 & 0119 & 0121 & 0291 & 0346 & 0347 & 0348 & 0349 & 0350 ].
However, US 20230062804 does not explicitly teach information indicative of a reference Discontinuous Reception (DRX) cycle determined by a network node.
US 20220361283, from the same or similar fields of endeavor, teaches information indicative of a reference Discontinuous Reception (DRX) cycle *the first information includes an SL DRX cycle reference value ) [see Paragraph 0102 ] determined by a network node, wherein the reference DRX cycle enable WDs residing in the communication area for sidelink communication adjust their SL DRX cycles [see Paragraph 0103 ].
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing data of the claimed invention to modify the system of US 20230062804 in view of US 20220361283 because US 20220361283 suggests that on the SL link between the terminal device and the another terminal device, reducing power consumption of the terminal device while ensuring effective data transmission becomes an urgent problem to be resolved.
However, US 20230062804 does not explicitly teach the communication area.
US 20230171843, from the same or similar fields of endeavor, teaches determining a reference Discontinuous Reception (DRX), cycle enabling WDs residing in the communication area for sidelink communication to align their DRX cycles ( determining a reference Discontinuous Reception (DRX), cycle enabling WDs residing in the communication area for sidelink communication to align their DRX cycles ) [see Paragraphs 0040 & 0041 & 0044 & 0045 & 0049 & 0052 ], and
providing, to one or more WDs residing in the communication area, information indicative of the reference DRX cycle (SL DRX configurations ) [see Paragraphs 0040 & 0041 & 0044 & 0045 & 0049 & 0052 ].
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing data of the claimed invention to modify the combined system ( US 20230062804 and US 20220361283), and further in view of US 20230171843 because US 20230171843 suggests that starting from the known technology as described above, there may be a need for enhancements or improvements regarding discontinuous reception, DRX, on a sidelink, SL.
Regarding to the claim 12, US 20230062804 further teaches wherein determining the reference DRX cycle comprises determining the reference DRX cycle based on a DRX cycle for an interface between a first WD of the one or more WDs and the network node (wherein determining the reference DRX cycle comprises determining the reference DRX cycle based on a DRX cycle for an interface between a first WD of the one or more WDs and the network node) [see Paragraphs 0125 & 0128, 0134 & 0274 & 0280 & 0289 & 0291, 0292, & 0293, & 0294 & 0295 & 0346 & 0051 & 0075 & 0022 & 0031 & 0051 & 0072 & 0075 & 0076 & 0119 & 0121 & 0291 & 0346 & 0347 & 0348 & 0349 & 0350 ].
Regarding to the claim 13, US 20230062804 further teaches wherein the method comprises: determining a sidelink DRX cycle, which sidelink DRX cycle is aligned with the reference DRX cycle ( wherein the method comprises: determining a sidelink DRX cycle, which sidelink DRX cycle is aligned with the reference DRX cycle ) [see Paragraphs 0125 & 0128, 0134 & 0274 & 0280 & 0289 & 0291, 0292, & 0293, & 0294 & 0295 & 0346 & 0051 & 0075 & 0022 & 0031 & 0051 & 0072 & 0075 & 0076 & 0119 & 0121 & 0291 & 0346 & 0347 & 0348 & 0349 & 0350 ].
Regarding to the claim 14, US 20230062804 further teaches wherein transmitting information comprises transmitting information indicative of the determined sidelink DRX cycle ( wherein transmitting information comprises transmitting information indicative of the determined sidelink DRX cycle ) [see Paragraphs 0125 & 0128, 0134 & 0274 & 0280 & 0289 & 0291, 0292, & 0293, & 0294 & 0295 & 0346 & 0051 & 0075 & 0022 & 0031 & 0051 & 0072 & 0075 & 0076 & 0119 & 0121 & 0291 & 0346 & 0347 & 0348 & 0349 & 0350 ].
Regarding to the claim 15, US 20230062804 further teaches wherein the information indicative of the sidelink DRX cycle comprises one or more of a sidelink DRX timing, a sidelink DRX rate and a time offset of the sidelink DRX cycle in relation to a timing of the reference DRX cycle ( wherein the information indicative of the sidelink DRX cycle comprises one or more of a sidelink DRX timing, a sidelink DRX rate and a time offset of the sidelink DRX cycle in relation to a timing of the reference DRX cycle ) [see Paragraphs 0125 & 0128, 0134 & 0274 & 0280 & 0289 & 0291, 0292, & 0293, & 0294 & 0295 & 0346 & 0051 & 0075 & 0022 & 0031 & 0051 & 0072 & 0075 & 0076 & 0119 & 0121 & 0291 & 0346 & 0347 & 0348 & 0349 & 0350 ].
Regarding to the claim 16, US 20230062804 further teaches wherein the method comprises: receiving, from at least one WD out of the one or more WDs, a request to align a DRX cycle for an interface between the at least one WD out of the one or more WDs and the network node with the reference DRX cycle ( wherein the method comprises: receiving, from at least one WD out of the one or more WDs, a request to align a DRX cycle for an interface between the at least one WD out of the one or more WDs and the network node with the reference DRX cycle ) [see Paragraphs 0125 & 0128, 0134 & 0274 & 0280 & 0289 & 0291, 0292, & 0293, & 0294 & 0295 & 0346 & 0051 & 0075 & 0022 & 0031 & 0051 & 0072 & 0075 & 0076 & 0119 & 0121 & 0291 & 0346 & 0347 & 0348 & 0349 & 0350 ].
Regarding to the claim 20, US 20230062804 teaches a wireless device comprising memory circuitry, processor circuitry, and a wireless interface, wherein the wireless device is configured to perform:
receiving, from a wireless node, information indicative of a Discontinuous Reception (DRX) (Sidelink Discontinuous Reception Configurations) , determined by a network node, wherein the DRX configuration enables WDs for sidelink communication to align their DRX cycles ( [0125] In accordance with embodiments (see for example claim 11), to align a DRX cycle between the UE and a base station, [0126] in case the UE is connected to the base station, the UE has its DRX cycle aligned with the base station, responsive to being configured by the base station with one or more DRX configurations, and/or [0127] in case the UE has its DRX cycle aligned with one or more of the further UEs it is connected to for the SL communication, the UE is to signal to the base station one or more of its existing DRX cycles in order to inform the base station.
[0128] In accordance with embodiments (see for example claim 12), to align a DRX cycle between the UE and one or more of the further UEs, the UE is to listen to one or more of the further UEs being in proximity of the UE, and to adapt its DRX cycle to the one or more DRX cycles used by one or more of the further UEs ) [see Paragraphs 0125 & 0128, 0134 & 0274 & 0280 & 0289 & 0291, 0292, & 0293, & 0294 & 0295 & 0346 & 0051 & 0075 & 0022 & 0031 & 0051 & 0072 & 0075 & 0076 & 0119 & 0121 & 0291 & 0346 & 0347 & 0348 & 0349 & 0350 ] ,
obtaining a sidelink DRX cycle which is aligned with the DRX configuration (Sidelink Discontinuous Reception Configurations) (obtaining a sidelink DRX cycle which is aligned with the reference DRX cycle) [see Paragraphs 0125 & 0128, 0134 & 0274 & 0280 & 0289 & 0291, 0292, & 0293, & 0294 & 0295 & 0346 & 0051 & 0075 & 0022 & 0031 & 0051 & 0072 & 0075 & 0076 & 0119 & 0121 & 0291 & 0346 & 0347 & 0348 & 0349 & 0350 ];
However, US 20230062804 does not explicitly teach information indicative of a reference Discontinuous Reception (DRX) cycle determined by a network node.
US 20220361283, from the same or similar fields of endeavor, teaches information indicative of a reference Discontinuous Reception (DRX) cycle *the first information includes an SL DRX cycle reference value ) [see Paragraph 0102 ] determined by a network node, wherein the reference DRX cycle enable WDs residing in the communication area for sidelink communication adjust their SL DRX cycles [see Paragraph 0103 ].
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing data of the claimed invention to modify the system of US 20230062804 in view of US 20220361283 because US 20220361283 suggests that on the SL link between the terminal device and the another terminal device, reducing power consumption of the terminal device while ensuring effective data transmission becomes an urgent problem to be resolved.
However, US 20230062804 and US 20220361283 do not explicitly teach DRX occasions.
US 20230171843, from the same or similar fields of endeavor, teaches receiving, from a wireless node, information indicative of a reference Discontinuous Reception (DRX), cycle determined by a network node, wherein the reference DRX cycle enables WDs residing in the communication area for sidelink communication to align their DRX cycles (receiving, from a wireless node, information indicative of a reference Discontinuous Reception (DRX), cycle determined by a network node, wherein the reference DRX cycle enables WDs residing in the communication area for sidelink communication to align their DRX cycles) [see Paragraphs 0040 & 0041 & 0044 & 0045 & 0049 & 0052 ]
obtaining a sidelink DRX cycle which is aligned with the reference DRX cycle (SL DRX configuration for UEs) [see Paragraphs 0040 & 0041 & 0044 & 0045 & 0049 & 0052 ]
, and communicating, with the one or more second WDs, in DRX occasions of the obtained sidelink DRX cycle (8. The method of claim 1, further comprising: receiving, by the first wireless communication device from a base station, the SL DRX configuration information, the SL DRX configuration information comprising one or more DRX parameters; determining, by the first wireless communication device, the SL DRX configuration using the DRX parameters, wherein the DRX parameters comprise one or more of a length of a default SL DRX cycle, a number of total SL DRX frames in the length of the default SL DRX cycle, a number of DRX on occasions for a DRX on frame, and an offset used for determining the DRX on frame; determining the SL DRX configuration information comprises determining the SL DRX on duration using the DRX parameters; determining the SL DRX on duration comprises determining a System Frame Number (SFN) and a slot index indicating a slot of DRX on occasions based on the DRX parameters and an identifier, the identifier being determined based on one of: a Temporary Mobile Subscriber Identity (TMSI), a destination identifier, or a source identifier.) [see the claim 8 ].
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing data of the claimed invention to modify the combined system of ( US 20230062804 and US 20220361283 ), and further in view of US 20230171843 because US 20230171843 suggests that starting from the known technology as described above, there may be a need for enhancements or improvements regarding discontinuous reception, DRX, on a sidelink, SL.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 9, 10, 17, 18, 19 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/CHUONG T HO/Examiner, Art Unit 2412