CTNF 18/287,979 CTNF 88124 Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia 1. The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. DATAIL SUMMARY 2. The patent application submitted on October 23, 2025, has been received and recorded. There were 1-7 claims in the application of which claims 1, 6, and 7 are independent claims. A preliminary amendment was submitted on the same day where applicant maintained independent claims 1, 6-7 and dependent claims 2, 5 and amended dependent claims 3-4. NO claim has been cancelled and/or added as new claim in the preliminary amendment. Therefore, claims 1-7 are pending for consideration. Information Disclosure Statement 06-52 3. The information disclosure statement(IDS) submitted was filed along with the mailing date of the application on October 23, 2025. The IDS submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner. 07-30-03-h AIA Claim Interpretation 07-30-03 AIA 4. The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 112(f): (f) Element in Claim for a Combination. – An element in a claim for a combination may be expressed as a means or step for performing a specified function without the recital of structure, material, or acts in support thereof, and such claim shall be construed to cover the corresponding structure, material, or acts described in the specification and equivalents thereof. The following is a quotation of pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph: An element in a claim for a combination may be expressed as a means or step for performing a specified function without the recital of structure, material, or acts in support thereof, and such claim shall be construed to cover the corresponding structure, material, or acts described in the specification and equivalents thereof. 07-30-06 5. This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitations uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitations are: “movement control unit (claims 1, 7)” , “measurement unit (claims 1, 7)” , ”transmission unit (claims 1-2, 5, 7) “ correction unit (claim 3, 10, 14, 17)” , “drive unit (claim 4)” . Because these claim limitations are being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, they are being interpreted to cover the corresponding structure described in the specification as performing the claimed function, and equivalents thereof. If applicant does not intend to have these limitations interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, applicant may: (1) amend the claim limitations to avoid them being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph (e.g., by reciting sufficient structure to perform the claimed function); or (2) present a sufficient showing that the claim limitations recite sufficient structure to perform the claimed function so as to avoid them being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112 07-30-02 AIA 6. The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 112(b): (b) CONCLUSION.—The specification shall conclude with one or more claims particularly pointing out and distinctly claiming the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention. The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA), second paragraph: The specification shall conclude with one or more claims particularly pointing out and distinctly claiming the subject matter which the applicant regards as his invention. 07-34-23 7. Claim limitations movement control unit (claims 1, 7)” , “measurement unit (claims 1, 7)” , ”transmission unit (claims 1-2, 5, 7) , “ correction unit (claim 3)” , “drive unit (claim 4) ” in respective claims 1-5, and 7 invoke 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph. However , the written description fails to disclose the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the entire claimed function and to clearly link the structure, material, or acts to the function. Therefore , the claims are indefinite and are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph. Applicant may: (a) Amend the claim so that the claim limitation will no longer be interpreted as a limitation under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph; (b) Amend the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites what structure, material, or acts perform the entire claimed function, without introducing any new matter(35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or (c) Amend the written description of the specification such that it clearly links the structure, material, or acts disclosed therein to the function recited in the claim, without introducing any new matter(35 U.S.C. 132(a)). If applicant is of the opinion that the written description of the specification already implicitly or inherently discloses the corresponding structure, material, or acts and clearly links them to the function so that one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize what structure, material, or acts perform the claimed function, applicant should clarify the record by either: (a) Amending the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the claimed function and clearly links or associates the structure, material, or acts to the claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or (b) Stating on the record what the corresponding structure, material, or acts, which are implicitly or inherently set forth in the written description of the specification, perform the claimed function. For more information, see 37 CFR 1.75(d) and MPEP §§ 608.01(o) and 2181. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-20-aia AIA 8. The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-23-aia AIA 9. The factual inquiries for establishing a background for determining obviousness under 35 U.S.C. 103 are summarized as follows: 1. Determining the scope and contents of the prior art. 2. Ascertaining the differences between the prior art and the claims at issue. 3. Resolving the level of ordinary skill in the pertinent art. 4. Considering objective evidence present in the application indicating obviousness or nonobviousness. 07-20-02-aia AIA 10. This application currently names joint inventors. In considering patentability of the claims the examiner presumes that the subject matter of the various claims was commonly owned as of the effective filing date of the claimed invention(s) absent any evidence to the contrary. Applicant is advised of the obligation under 37 CFR 1.56 to point out the inventor and effective filing dates of each claim that was not commonly owned as of the effective filing date of the later invention in order for the examiner to consider the applicability of 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(C) for any potential 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) prior art against the later invention. 07-21-aia AIA 11. Claim s 1, and 3-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over SHIRAISHI et al. (US 2017/0219335 A1) (herein after SHIRAISHI) in view of WAKITA (US 2020/0184815 A1) . Regarding claim 1, SHIRAISHI teaches a moving body (measurement vehicle 1, road-rail truck 2, figs.1-2, Para-47, 58) that moves along a rail (rail 3, Para-58) ,the moving body comprising: a light emission unit (laser scanner 16, figs.3-4, Para-57) ; a movement control unit (velocity detection device 21, figs.1-4, Para-56) that controls the moving body (road-rail truck 2) so as to move on the rail at a predetermined speed (the speed road-rail track moves is considered as predetermined speed) ; a measurement unit that measures a movement time (every detection time) of moving from a predetermined position on the rail (Para-56/57) ; and a transmission unit (processing unit 20, figs.1-8) that transmits a signal indicating position information corresponding to the movement time measured by the measurement unit by using the light emission unit (Para-57, 77, 88-89) . If, it is considered that SHIRAISHI is not found to teach all the limitations in his/her disclosure, especially the limitations, “a measurement unit that measures a movement time of moving from a predetermined position on the rail”, then it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the application, to use the teaching of WAKITA in order to get the claim limitations. WAKITA teaches an information communication device and position management device, a measurement unit that measures a movement time of moving from a predetermined position on the rail (Para-49, 56; figs.6A-6B) . Such a combination is desirable as it provides an information communication apparatus and a position management system capable of protecting personal information, improving processing efficiency, and like, by performing communication with high confidentiality in change information of the current position of the displacement body, with a simple configuration. Regarding claim 3, SHIRAISHI as modified by WATIKA teaches the moving body according to claim 1, further comprising: a light reception unit that receives reflected light that is light emitted by the light emission unit being reflected (Para-57, SHIRAISHI) ; and a correction unit (processing unit 20, figs.1-8, SHIRAISHI) that corrects the position information according to the reflected light received by the light reception unit (Para-64, 71, 87-88, 117-120, SHIRAISHI) . Regarding claim 4, SHIRAISHI as modified by WATIKA teaches the moving body according to claim 1 any one of claims 1 , further comprising a drive unit (processing unit 20, position adjustment device 24, figs.3-4, Para-60, SHIRAISHI) that drives the light emission unit in a direction perpendicular to a moving direction of the moving body within a range in which an angle formed by an optical axis of light emitted by the light emission unit (figs.9-17, and related text, SHIRAISHI) and an optical axis serving as a reference is a predetermined angle or less, wherein the drive unit changes an irradiation range of the light emission unit (figs.9-17, and related text, SHIRAISHI) . Claim 6 is rejected for the same reason as mentioned in the rejection of claim 1 , since both claims 1 and 6 recite identical claim limitations except claim presentation are in different formats. Claim 7 is rejected for the same reason as mentioned in the rejection of claim 1 , since both claims 1 and 7 recite identical claim limitations except claim presentation are in different formats . Allowable Subject Matter 07-43-02 12. Claims 2 and 5 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. 13-03-01 AIA 13. The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: Claim 2: None of the cited prior arts, on record, taken along or in combination, provides a reasonable motivation to fairly or suggest applicant’s claim inventions, “the moving body according to claim 1, wherein the transmission unit switches the position information to be transmitted each time a movement time that is an integral multiple of a time during which the moving body moves by a length corresponding to a diameter of an irradiation range of the light emission unit arrives”. Claim 5: None of the cited prior arts, on record, taken along or in combination, provides a reasonable motivation to fairly or suggest applicant’s claim inventions, “the moving body according to claim 4, wherein the transmission unit switches the position information to be transmitted according to an angle formed by the optical axis of the light emitted by the light emission unit and the optical axis serving as the reference”. EXAMINER NOTE 14. The Examiner cites particular figures, paragraphs, columns and line numbers in the references, as applied to the claims above. Although the particular citations are representative teachings and are applied to specific limitations within the claims, other passages, internally cited references, and figures may also apply. In preparing a response, it is respectfully requested that the Applicant fully consider the references, in their entirety, as potentially disclosing or teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as fully consider the context of the passage as taught by the references or as disclosed by the Examiner. CONTACT Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to MD SAIFUL A SIDDIQUI whose telephone number is (571)270-1530. The examiner can normally be reached Mon-Fri: 9:00AM - 5:30PM. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Temesghen Ghebretinsae , can be reached at (571)272-3017. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /MD SAIFUL A SIDDIQUI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2626 Application/Control Number: 18/287,979 Page 2 Art Unit: 2626 Application/Control Number: 18/287,979 Page 3 Art Unit: 2626 Application/Control Number: 18/287,979 Page 4 Art Unit: 2626 Application/Control Number: 18/287,979 Page 5 Art Unit: 2626 Application/Control Number: 18/287,979 Page 6 Art Unit: 2626 Application/Control Number: 18/287,979 Page 7 Art Unit: 2626 Application/Control Number: 18/287,979 Page 8 Art Unit: 2626 Application/Control Number: 18/287,979 Page 9 Art Unit: 2626 Application/Control Number: 18/287,979 Page 10 Art Unit: 2626 Application/Control Number: 18/287,979 Page 11 Art Unit: 2626 Application/Control Number: 18/287,979 Page 12 Art Unit: 2626 Application/Control Number: 18/287,979 Page 13 Art Unit: 2626 Application/Control Number: 18/287,979 Page 14 Art Unit: 2626