DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2, 4, 5, and 7-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kadiric (US 2018/0160726).
Claim 1. Kadiric discloses a smoking article 10 having an upstream end and a downstream end and comprising a tobacco rod 11 (tobacco medium portion) which is attached at its downstream end to an axially aligned filter 12 (filter portion). The tobacco rod 11 comprises a charge of cut filler 31 that is circumscribed by a tobacco rod wrapper 32. The filter 12 comprises a hollow tubular element 13 (second filter segment) and a single segment of cellulose acetate tow 15 (first filter segment) which abuts the hollow tubular element 13. The hollow tubular element 13 abuts the tobacco rod 11 such that a cylindrical internal cavity 14 (space) is defined by the inner surface of the hollow tubular element 13, the single segment of cellulose acetate tow 15 and the tobacco rod 11. The hollow tubular element 13 and the single segment of cellulose acetate tow 15 (first filter segment), are both circumscribed by a filter wrapper 18 (inner wrapper) that is in turn circumscribed by the tipping wrapper 16 ([0060]; Figure 1).
Claim 2. Kadiric discloses that the filter 12 and a portion of the tobacco rod 11 are circumscribed by tipping wrapper 16 (outer wrapper) ([0060]; Figure 1).
Claim 4. Kadiric discloses that filter wrapper 18 (inner wrapper) surrounds an outer peripheral surface of the segment of cellulose acetate tow 15 (first filter segment) ([0060]; Figure 1).
Claim 5. Kadiric discloses that the tobacco rod 11 (tobacco medium portion) and the filter wrapper 18 (inner wrapper) have the same outer diameter (Figure 1).
Claim 7. Kadiric discloses that an end of the tobacco rod 11 (tobacco medium portion) and an end of the segment of cellulose acetate tow 15 (first filter segment) are configured to face each other with respect to the hollow tubular element 13 (second filter segment) (Figure 1).
Claim 8. Kadiric discloses that the filter wrapper 18 (inner wrapper) extends to an end of the tobacco rod 11 (tobacco medium portion) ([0060]; Figure 1).
Claim 9. Kadiric discloses that the filter wrapper 18 (inner wrapper) extends outwardly beyond the segment of cellulose acetate tow 15 (first filter segment) ([0060]; Figure 1).
Claims 1, 2, 4-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Jordil et al. (US 2020/0281260).
Claims 1, 2, and 4. Jordil et al. discloses an aerosol-generating article 10 comprising a wrapped tobacco rod 12 of tobacco cut filler (tobacco medium portion) which is attached at one end to an axially aligned mouthpiece 14 (filter portion). A band of tipping paper 16 circumscribes the mouthpiece 14 and a portion of the wrapped tobacco rod 12 to join together the two components of the aerosol-generating article 10 ([0075]; Figure 2). The mouthpiece 14 (filter portion) comprises a first filter segment 18 and a second filter segment 20 (first filter segment spaced apart from the tobacco medium portion). The second filter segment 20 is provided upstream of the first filter segment 18 and the downstream end of the second filter segment 20 abuts the upstream end of the first filter segment 18. The second filter segment 20 comprises a wrapped plug of cellulose acetate tow containing a centrally positioned capsule 24 ([0076]; Figure 2). The second filter segment 20 is spaced apart from the wrapped tobacco rod 12 in the longitudinal direction and an upstream cavity 26 (second filter segment) is provided between the second filter segment 20 and the wrapped tobacco rod 12. The upstream cavity 26 is unfilled and has a length of 5 millimetres ([0078]; Figure 2). The upstream cavity 26 is defined by a combining plug wrap 28 (inner wrapper) which circumscribes the first filter segment 18 and the second filter segment 20 and extends upstream of the second filter segment 20 by 5 millimetres. The combining plug wrap 28 therefore does not extend over the wrapped tobacco rod 12. The tipping wrapper 16 (outer wrapper) overlies the combining plug wrap 28 to connect the mouthpiece 14 and the wrapped tobacco rod 12 ([0079]; Figure 2).
Claim 5. Jordil et al. discloses that the tobacco cut filler (tobacco medium portion) and the plug wrap 28 (inner wrapper) have the same outer diameter (Figure 2).
Claim 6. Jordil et al. discloses that the aerosol-generating article 10 further comprises a ventilation zone 30 at a location along the second filter segment 20 (wherein the ventilation zone is “around” the upstream cavity 26 (second filter segment)), upstream of the capsule 24. The ventilation zone 30 comprises a row of perforations extending through the tipping wrapper 16 and the combining plug wrap 28 (inner wrapper) ([0081]; Figure 2 wherein the ventilation zone is in communication with the upstream cavity 26 and the exterior of the aerosol-generating article).
Claim 7. Jordil et al. discloses that an end of the tobacco rod 12 (tobacco medium portion) and an end of second filter segment 20 (first filter segment) are configured to face each other with respect to the upstream cavity 26 (second filter segment) (Figure 2).
Claim 8. Jordil et al. discloses that the plug wrap 28 (inner wrapper) extends to an end of the tobacco rod 12 (tobacco medium portion) (Figure 2).
Claim 9. Jordil et al. discloses that the plug wrap 28 (inner wrapper) extends outwardly beyond the second filter segment 20 (first filter segment) (Figure 2).
Claims 1, 4, 7-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Watanabe (US 2021/0368859).
Claim 1. Watanabe discloses an electronic cigarette cartridge 1 (aerosol-generating article) having a cigarette filling aggregate 10 in the present embodiment. As shown in FIG. 1, in the electronic cigarette cartridge 1, an approximately cylindrical cigarette filling aggregate 10 filled with a plurality of cigarette fillings 20 (tobacco medium portion), a cylindrical support member 12 (second filter segment), and a mouthpiece 14 (first filter segment) serving as an inhalation opening are arranged in a long direction and are wound with a sheet-shaped packaging member 16 (inner wrapper) to be integrally formed ([0032]; Figure 1). The support member 12 has a channel section 30 (space) at a center portion thereof such that an air flow including an aerosol generated in the cigarette filling aggregate 10 flows to the mouthpiece 14. The support member 12 has a peripheral edge section 31 around the channel section 30 and can support an inner peripheral side of the packaging member 16 (inner wrapper). The mouthpiece 14 is a sponge-like porous body and is formed in a cylindrical shape ([0034]; Figure 1).
Claim 4. Watanabe discloses that the sheet-shaped packaging member 16 (inner wrapper) surrounds an outer peripheral surface of the mouthpiece 14 (first filter segment) ([0032]; Figure 1).
Claim 7. Watanabe discloses that an end of the cigarette filling aggregate 10 (tobacco medium portion) and an end of mouthpiece 14 (first filter segment) are configured to face each other with respect to the cylindrical support member 12 (second filter segment) (Figure 1).
Claim 8. Watanabe discloses that the sheet-shaped packaging member 16 (inner wrapper) extends to an end of the cigarette filling aggregate 10 (tobacco medium portion) (Figure 1).
Claim 9. Watanabe discloses that the sheet-shaped packaging member 16 (inner wrapper) extends outwardly beyond the mouthpiece 14 (first filter segment) (Figure 1).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kadiric (US 2018/0160726) in view of Sebold (US 2022/0167659).
Claim 3. Kadiric discloses the article of claim 2 but does not explicitly disclose that the filter wrapper 18 (inner wrapper) has a thickness greater than the thickness of the tipping wrapper 16 (outer wrapper).
Sebold discloses an article 1 for use with a non-combustible aerosol provision device ([0127]). The article 1 comprises a mouthpiece 2, and a cylindrical rod of aerosol generating material 3, in the present case tobacco material, connected to the mouthpiece 2 ([0128]). The mouthpiece comprises a first hollow tubular element 4 and a second hollow tubular element 8, also referred to as a cooling element, upstream of the first hollow tubular element 4. The second hollow tubular element 8 is upstream of, adjacent to and in an abutting relationship with the body of material 6. The stiff plug wrap and/or tipping paper (outer wrapper) can have a thickness between 80 μm and 200 μm, more preferably between 100 μm and 160 μm, or from 120 μm to 150 μm. It can be desirable for both the second plug wrap 9 (inner wrapper) and tipping paper 5 (outer wrapper) to have values in these ranges, to achieve an acceptable overall level of rigidity for the second hollow tubular element 8 ([0146]; Figure 4).
Sebold does not explicitly disclose that the second plug wrap 9 (inner wrapper) has a thickness greater than the thickness of the tipping paper 5 (outer wrapper). However, since Sebold teaches that the second plug wrap 9 (inner wrapper) and tipping paper 5 (outer wrapper) both have thicknesses in the same range, there are three possible scenarios: the second plug wrap 9 (inner wrapper) has a greater thickness than the tipping paper 5 (outer wrapper), the tipping paper 5 (outer wrapper) has a greater thickness than the second plug wrap 9 (inner wrapper), or the second plug wrap 9 (inner wrapper) and the tipping paper 5 (outer wrapper) are the same thickness. It would have been obvious to choose from the finite number of identified, predictable solutions (i.e. the three scenarios identified above) with a reasonable expectation of success (Sebold recognizes that when the second plug wrap 9 (inner wrapper) and tipping paper 5 (outer wrapper) have thickness values in these disclosed ranges, an acceptable overall level of rigidity for the second hollow tubular element 8 is achieved [0146]). Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to try the solution where the second plug wrap 9 (inner wrapper) has a thickness greater than the thickness of the tipping paper 5 (outer wrapper).
Claims 10 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kadiric (US 2018/0160726) in view of Bonici et al. (US 2020/0329758).
Claim 10. Kadiric discloses the article of claim 1 but does not explicitly disclose that the filter wrapper 18 (inner wrapper) has a thickness in a range of 100 µm to 350 µm.
Bonici et al. discloses an aerosol generating article 10 comprising a rod of aerosol-forming substrate 20, such as a tobacco rod, and a filter 30 downstream of the aerosol-forming substrate 20. The depicted aerosol-generating article 10 includes a plug wrap 60 (inner wrapper), cigarette paper 40, and tipping paper 50. The cigarette paper 40 circumscribes at least a portion of the rod 20. Tipping paper 50 or other suitable wrapper circumscribes the plug wrap 60 and a portion of the cigarette paper 40 as is generally known in the art. The filter 30 includes the plug wrap 60 and filter material 32 ([0061]; Figure 1). The plug wrap may have any suitable thickness. Suitable plug wrap papers may have a thickness of about 25 micrometers to about 200 micrometers; preferably from about 50 micrometers to about 200 micrometers. In some preferred embodiments, a plug wrap has a thickness from about 100 micrometers to about 150 micrometers ([0045]).
Since Kadiric does not teach a particular thickness for the filter wrapper 18 (inner wrapper), it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date that the filter wrapper 18 (inner wrapper) may have the same thickness as other plug wrappers known in the art, such as that of Bonici et al. Since the range from about 100 micrometers to about 150 micrometers overlaps the claimed range of 100 µm to 350 µm, a prima facie case of obviousness exists (MPEP 2144.05(I)).
Claim 11. Kadiric discloses the article of claim 1 but does not explicitly disclose that the filter wrapper 18 (inner wrapper) has a weight in the range of 80 g/m2 to 150 g/m2.
Bonici et al. discloses an aerosol generating article 10 comprising a rod of aerosol-forming substrate 20, such as a tobacco rod, and a filter 30 downstream of the aerosol-forming substrate 20. The depicted aerosol-generating article 10 includes a plug wrap 60 (inner wrapper), cigarette paper 40, and tipping paper 50. The cigarette paper 40 circumscribes at least a portion of the rod 20. Tipping paper 50 or other suitable wrapper circumscribes the plug wrap 60 and a portion of the cigarette paper 40 as is generally known in the art. The filter 30 includes the plug wrap 60 and filter material 32 ([0061]; Figure 1). The plug wrap may have any suitable basis weight. Preferably, the plug wrap has a basis weight from about 20 grams per square meter to about 180 grams per square meter. More preferably, the plug wrap has a basis weight from about 50 grams per square meter to about 150 grams per square meter; and even more preferably from about 50 grams per square meter to about 100 grams per square meter ([0044]).
Since Kadiric does not teach a particular weight for the filter wrapper 18 (inner wrapper), it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date that the filter wrapper 18 (inner wrapper) may have the same weight as other plug wrappers known in the art, such as that of Bonici et al. Since the range from 20 grams per square meter to about 180 grams per square meter overlaps the claimed range of 80 g/m2 to 150 g/m2, a prima facie case of obviousness exists (MPEP 2144.05(I)).
Claims 12 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kadiric (US 2018/0160726) in view of Liu (US 2020/0093172).
Claims 12 and 13. Kadiric discloses the aerosol-generating article of claim 1 but does not explicitly disclose that the tobacco rod 11 (tobacco medium portion) comprises a plurality of tobacco segments.
Liu discloses a smoking article 200 comprising a mouthpiece 240 and a cigarette rod 220. In one embodiment, the mouthpiece 240 may be a filter. One end of the cigarette rod 220 is connected to the mouthpiece 240. The cigarette rod 220 includes a plurality of tobacco segments 242 that are sequentially connected. The tobacco segment 242 includes a tobacco material 244 and a phase change material 246 disposed in the tobacco material 244. The cigarette rod 220 can be inserted into the accommodating chamber 144, and the plurality of tobacco segments 242 are in one-to-one correspondence with the plurality of heating elements 142 ([0018]; Figure 3).
Liu teaches that the plurality of tobacco segments 242 of the smoking article 200, in cooperation with the heating pot 140 having the plurality of heating elements 142 independently controlling temperature, facilitates controlling the temperature of the different tobacco segments 242. Since the plurality of heating elements 142 independently control the temperature and sequentially heat from the insertion opening 146 towards the air inlet hole 148, the plurality of tobacco segments 242 of the smoking article 200 may be sequentially heated in a direction from one end adjacent to the mouthpiece 240 towards the other end away from the mouthpiece 240. The high-concentration aerosol produced during the overall heating is avoided, and the released amount of smoke during the smoking process is relatively uniform, thereby balancing the sensory difference between the different number of suctions and improving the consistency of the smoke taste ([0019]). Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the tobacco rod 11 (tobacco medium portion) of Kadiric to include a plurality of tobacco segments 242 (and the accompanying plurality of heating elements) that are sequentially connected in order to independently control the temperature of different segments, provide a uniform amount of smoke, and improve the consistency of the smoke taste as taught by Liu ([0019]).
Claim 14, 16, 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jordil et al. (US 2020/0281260) in view of Malgat et al. (US 2016/0331031).
Claims 14, 16, and 18. Jordil et al. discloses an aerosol-generating article 10 comprising a wrapped tobacco rod 12 of tobacco cut filler (tobacco medium portion) which is attached at one end to an axially aligned mouthpiece 14 (filter portion). A band of tipping paper 16 circumscribes the mouthpiece 14 and a portion of the wrapped tobacco rod 12 to join together the two components of the aerosol-generating article 10 ([0075]; Figure 2). The mouthpiece 14 (filter portion) comprises a first filter segment 18 and a second filter segment 20 (first filter segment spaced apart from the tobacco medium portion). The second filter segment 20 is provided upstream of the first filter segment 18 and the downstream end of the second filter segment 20 abuts the upstream end of the first filter segment 18. The second filter segment 20 comprises a wrapped plug of cellulose acetate tow containing a centrally positioned capsule 24 ([0076]; Figure 2). The second filter segment 20 is spaced apart from the wrapped tobacco rod 12 in the longitudinal direction and an upstream cavity 26 (second filter segment) is provided between the second filter segment 20 and the wrapped tobacco rod 12. The upstream cavity 26 is unfilled and has a length of 5 millimetres ([0078]; Figure 2). The upstream cavity 26 is defined by a combining plug wrap 28 (inner wrapper) which circumscribes the first filter segment 18 and the second filter segment 20 and extends upstream of the second filter segment 20 by 5 millimetres. The combining plug wrap 28 therefore does not extend over the wrapped tobacco rod 12. The tipping wrapper 16 (outer wrapper) overlies the combining plug wrap 28 to connect the mouthpiece 14 and the wrapped tobacco rod 12 ([0079]; Figure 2). Jordil discloses that aerosol generating articles according to the present invention may be articles in which a tobacco material is heated to form an aerosol, rather than combusted. In one type of heated aerosol generating article, a tobacco material is heated by one or more electrical heating elements to produce an aerosol ([0069]).
Jordil does not explicitly disclose a power supplier configured to supply power to the heater and a controller configured to control the power supplied to the power supplier.
Malgat et al. discloses an electrically-operated aerosol-generating system 3000 that utilises a heating blade 3100 to heat an aerosol-generating substrate 1020 of an aerosol-generating article 1000. The heating blade is mounted within an aerosol article receiving chamber of an electrically-operated aerosol-generating device 3010. The aerosol-generating device comprises a power supply and electronics, which are illustrated in FIG. 6 ([0082]; Figures 5 and 6). Within the housing 6130 there is an electrical energy supply 6140, for example a rechargeable lithium ion battery. A controller 6150 is connected to the heating element 6120, the electrical energy supply 6140, and a user interface 6160, for example a button or display. The controller 6150 controls the power supplied to the heating element 6120 in order to regulate its temperature ([0085]; Figures 5 and 6).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date that the article of Jordil may be used in an electrically heated aerosol system known in the art, such as that of Malgat et al., which uses a heater and controller in order to operate.
Claim 19. Modified Jordil et al. discloses that the tobacco cut filler (tobacco medium portion) and the plug wrap 28 (inner wrapper) have the same outer diameter (Jordil Figure 2).
Claim 20. Modified Jordil et al. discloses that the aerosol-generating article 10 further comprises a ventilation zone 30 at a location along the second filter segment 20 (wherein the ventilation zone is “around” the upstream cavity 26 (second filter segment)), upstream of the capsule 24. The ventilation zone 30 comprises a row of perforations extending through the tipping wrapper 16 and the combining plug wrap 28 (inner wrapper) (Jordil [0081]; Figure 2 wherein the ventilation zone is in communication with the upstream cavity 26 and the exterior of the aerosol-generating article).
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jordil et al. (US 2020/0281260) in view of Malgat et al. (US 2016/0331031) and further in view of Jeong (US 2020/0154766).
Claim 15. Jordil et al. in view of Malgat et al. discloses the device of claim 14 but does not explicitly disclose an aerosol generator configured to generate and aerosol by heating a liquid composition wherein the aerosol generated by the aerosol generator is introduced into the aerosol-generating article.
Jeong discloses an electronic cigarette comprising smoky vapor generation part 120 (aerosol generator) may include a second cover member 122 which has a storage space 122a for storing a liquid material converted into smoky vapor when being heated, and a second heater 121 which vaporizes the liquid material introduced from the storage space 122a to generate the smoky vapor. In addition, the smoky vapor generation part 120 may include an absorption member 123 which supplies the liquid material stored in the storage space 122a to the second heater 121 ([0087]; Figure 3). When power is supplied to the second heater 121, the liquid material may be supplied to the second heater 121 through the absorption member 123. The liquid material supplied to the second heater 121 may be vaporized through heat supplied from the second heater 121. As a result, the smoky vapor generation part 120 may generate the smoky vapor ([0088]; Figure 3). The smoky vapor generation part 120 may be disposed to be parallel with the smoking vapor generation part 110, and smoky vapor generated through the second heater 121 may be supplied to the smoking vapor generation part 110 ([0092]; Figure 3).
Jeong teaches that since smoky vapor is additionally generated through a smoky vapor generation part during smoking, a user can inhale and exhale an abundant amount of vapor, thereby increasing user satisfaction ([0026]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date that the aerosol-generating article 10 of Jordil et al. may be used in an electronic cigarette such as that of Jeong, which vaporizes both liquid material and the solid cartridge 1 in order to provide an abundant amount of vapor, thereby increasing user satisfaction as taught by Jeong ([0026]).
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jordil et al. (US 2020/0281260) in view of Malgat et al. (US 2016/0331031) and further in view of Sebold (US 2022/0167659).
Claim 17. Modified Jordil et al. discloses the device of claim 16 but does not explicitly disclose that the plug wrap 28 (inner wrapper) has a thickness greater than the thickness of the tipping wrapper 16 (outer wrapper).
Sebold discloses an article 1 for use with a non-combustible aerosol provision device ([0127]). The article 1 comprises a mouthpiece 2, and a cylindrical rod of aerosol generating material 3, in the present case tobacco material, connected to the mouthpiece 2 ([0128]). The mouthpiece comprises a first hollow tubular element 4 and a second hollow tubular element 8, also referred to as a cooling element, upstream of the first hollow tubular element 4. The second hollow tubular element 8 is upstream of, adjacent to and in an abutting relationship with the body of material 6. The stiff plug wrap and/or tipping paper (outer wrapper) can have a thickness between 80 μm and 200 μm, more preferably between 100 μm and 160 μm, or from 120 μm to 150 μm. It can be desirable for both the second plug wrap 9 (inner wrapper) and tipping paper 5 (outer wrapper) to have values in these ranges, to achieve an acceptable overall level of rigidity for the second hollow tubular element 8 ([0146]; Figure 4).
Sebold does not explicitly disclose that the second plug wrap 9 (inner wrapper) has a thickness greater than the thickness of the tipping paper 5 (outer wrapper). However, since Sebold teaches that the second plug wrap 9 (inner wrapper) and tipping paper 5 (outer wrapper) both have thicknesses in the same range, there are three possible scenarios: the second plug wrap 9 (inner wrapper) has a greater thickness than the tipping paper 5 (outer wrapper), the tipping paper 5 (outer wrapper) has a greater thickness than the second plug wrap 9 (inner wrapper), or the second plug wrap 9 (inner wrapper) and the tipping paper 5 (outer wrapper) are the same thickness. It would have been obvious to choose from the finite number of identified, predictable solutions (i.e. the three scenarios identified above) with a reasonable expectation of success (Sebold recognizes that when the second plug wrap 9 (inner wrapper) and tipping paper 5 (outer wrapper) have thickness values in these disclosed ranges, an acceptable overall level of rigidity for the second hollow tubular element 8 is achieved [0146]). Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to try the solution where the second plug wrap 9 (inner wrapper) has a thickness greater than the thickness of the tipping paper 5 (outer wrapper).
Conclusion
/KATHERINE A WILL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1747