DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
The claims are inconsistent with the use of the term of “follower”, “cam follower”, and “tine bar follower.” Appropriate correction is required.
The claims are inconsistent with the use of the term of: “tine bar” vs “reel tine bars”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 10 is objected to because of the following informalities: claim 10 is missing a word. It is presumed that “engages” should be between “reel tine bars cams” and “against the diverter.” Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3 and 14-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Lehman et al. (US 2020/0256437 A1), hereinafter Lehman.
Regarding claim 1, Lehman discloses a harvester reel (200, fig. 1-2, [0017-0020]) for an agricultural harvester header (102, fig. 1, [0017-0020]) comprising:
a central rotatable shaft (202, fig. 2, [0018-0020]);
a plurality of reel tine bars (206, fig. 2-4, [0018-0021, and 0028]) extending widthwise across the reel and connected to the central rotatable shaft for rotation therewith (fig. 2, [0020]), each of the plurality of reel tine bars including:
a biasing member (412, fig. 4, [0021 and 0029-0030]) biasing each reel tine bar to rotate about a central longitudinal axis of each reel tine bar (fig. 4, 0021), and
a tine (208, fig. 2-4, 0020); and
a cam assembly (300, fig. 2-4, [0018 and 0021]) for guiding rotation of the plurality of reel tine bars (fig. 2-4, [0021]).
Regarding claim 2, Lehman further discloses wherein each of the plurality of reel tine bars (206, fig. 2-4, [0021]) further comprises a cam follower (308, fig. 2-3, [0023-0030]) for engaging the cam assembly (fig. 2-3, [0023-0030]).
Regarding claim 3, Lehman discloses wherein the cam follower (308) comprises an elongated shaft (402, fig. 4, [0021 and 0027-0030]) and a curved head (404, fig. 4, [0027-0028]).
Regarding claim 14, Lehman discloses an agricultural harvester header (102, fig. 1, [0017-0020]) comprising:
the harvester reel (200, fig. 1-2, [0017-0020]) of claim 1 (see claim 1); and
a cutterbar (110, fig. 1, [0017]) carried below the harvester reel (fig. 1).
Regarding claim 15, Lehman further discloses, an agricultural harvester (100, fig. 1, [0017]) comprising the agricultural harvester header (102, fig. 1, [0017-0020]) of claim 14 (see claim 14).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 16-22 allowed.
Claims 4-13 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding claim 4, 9, 16, 17 and 20 Lehman is considered the closest prior art, but fails to teach a secondary cam … moveable between a disengaged position and an engaged position. No prior art was found that teaches a second cam that is moveable between a disengaged position and an engaged position, when taken in combination with the other limitations of the claims.
Claims 5-8 and 10-13 would be allowable for depending on claims 4 and 9. Claims 18-19 and 21-22 are allowable for depending on claims 17 and 20.
Claim 23 is allowable for the same reasoning as 4, 9, 16, and 20, but fails to teach a secondary tine bar guiding mechanism configured to guide rotation of the tine bars during a portion of a complete revolution of rotation of the central rotatable shaft. No prior art was found that teaches secondary tine bar guiding mechanism configured to guide rotation of the tine bars during a portion of a complete revolution of rotation of the central rotatable shaft, when taken in combination with the other limitations of the claims.
Claims 24-26 are allowable for depending on claim 23.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Cook (US 20190082599 A1) – agricultural harvester with a cam, but teaches away from a second cam [0063]
Jost et al. (US 20170311546 A1) - agricultural harvester with a cam and teaches a second cam track, but not a second cam [0022-24]
Honey et al. (US 20150272001 A1) - agricultural harvester with a cam that briefly mentions a second cam [0018]
Pollich et al. (US 4993275 A) - agricultural harvester with a main cam and an auxiliary cam
/JENNIFER A RAILEY/Examiner, Art Unit 3676
/Nicole Coy/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3672