DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to because "Figure 1" should be referred to as "the figure" instead, given that only one figure is provided within the application. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. The figure or figure number of an amended drawing should not be labeled as “amended.” If a drawing figure is to be canceled, the appropriate figure must be removed from the replacement sheet, and where necessary, the remaining figures must be renumbered and appropriate changes made to the brief description of the several views of the drawings for consistency. Additional replacement sheets may be necessary to show the renumbering of the remaining figures. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
Chemical Formula 1-2 has the subscript (3-m1) for Ar6 {pg. 11}. However, m1 is defined as "an integer of 1 to 4" {pg. 9}. Therefore, if m1 is 4, there will be an unfeasible number of Ar6 substituents.
In Group I-1, the m--terphenyl-d14 functional group has no indicated linking point {pg. 20}. Therefore, the site of attachment is unclear.
Chemical Formula 2B is missing the bond between L5 and Ar4 {pg. 47}. For the purpose of examination, a bond between Ar4 and L5 will be assumed. Chemical Formulas 2C to 2F have a lack of consistency with respect to the ordering of these R groups of indolocarbazole because each chemical formula has the same labels in different positions {pg. 47-48}. This raises uncertainty when the R groups are referenced.
A single period is isolated as a line on line 5, page 48.
When listing the compounds of Group 2, the labels of the top row of compounds on most pages are located at the bottom of the previous page {pg. 51-60}.
Two structures from Group A are identical {pg. 62}. The identical structures are indicated below in the annotated select embodiments of Group A.
In the synthesis examples {pg.77-82}, the sentences are difficult to read and correction is required. For example, words key to the reproduction of the synthesis were omitted in “2nd step: Synthesis of Compound 1-38” {pg. 78}. The areas where words are omitted are highlighted: “30 g (0.0535 mol) of Compound Int 1, 40 g (0.267 mol) of trifluoromethanesulfonic acid, and 282 g (3.35 mol) of D6-benzene were put and then, stirred at 10 °C for 24 hours. Subsequently, purified water was thereto and then, neutralized with a saturated K3PQ4 solution. An organic layer therefrom was concentrated and column-purified to obtain 18 g of Compound 1-38 (a white solid, LC-Mass Mz 578.79, C42HI0D18N2).”
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Objections
Regarding claim 7: Claim 7 is objected to because of the following informalities: Chemical Formula 2B is missing the bond between L5 and Ar4 {pg. 35}.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 1: Claim 1 recites “La, L3, to L6 are each independently a single bond…” {pg. 5}. It is unclear whether the range is covering La and L3 to L6, rendering the claim indefinite. For the purpose of examination, the claim is being interpreted such that “La and L3 to L6 are each independently a single bond.”
Regarding claims 2-12: Claims 2-12 are rejected due to their dependence from claim 1.
Regarding claim 2: Claim 2 recites Chemical Formula 1-2, which has the subscript (3-m1) for Ar6 {pg. 6}. However, m1 is defined as "an integer of 1 to 4" {pg. 4}. Therefore, if m1 is 4, there are an unfeasible number of Ar6 substituents, rendering the claim indefinite. For the purpose of examination, the claim is being interpreted such that the subscript for Ar6 is (4-m1) as in the other structural formulas.
Regarding claim 4: Claim 4 recites that the moieties L1-Ar1 and L2-Ar2 are selected from Groups I-1 and I-2 {pg. 10-13}. The m--terphenyl-d14 functional group in Group I-2 has no indicated linking point {pg. 11}. Therefore, the site of attachment is unclear, rendering the claim indefinite. For the purpose of examination, the claim is being interpreted such that the linking point is located at the single position in m--terphenyl-d14 that is not deuterated.
Regarding claims 7 and 9: Claims 7 and 9 recite structures of indolocarbazole in Chemical Formula 2A to 2F. Chemical Formulas 2C to 2F in claim 7 {pg. 35-36} and Chemical Formula 2B in claim 9 {pg. 38} lack of consistency with respect to the ordering of the R groups of indolocarbazole because each chemical formula has the same labels in different positions. This raises uncertainty when these R groups are referenced, rendering the claims indefinite. For the purpose of examination, the numbering of the R groups is being interpreted such that the numbering of the R groups matches those of Chemical Formula 2A unless stated otherwise explicitly.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 7-8, and 10-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and (a)(2) as being anticipated by Hayashi (WO 2023008501 A1—machine translation relied upon) (hereafter “Hayashi”).
Regarding claims 1-3, 7-8, and 10-11: Hayashi discloses an organic optoelectronic device, comprising: an anode and a cathode facing each other, and at least one organic layer between the anode and cathode, wherein the at least one organic layer is a light emitting layer that includes a composition an optoelectronic device {Example 4, paragraph [0115], pg. 29}. The organic layer comprising the composition is the light emitting layer {Example 4, paragraph [0115], pg. 29}.
The composition comprises the compounds shown below {Example 4, paragraph [0115], pg. 29}.
Where as indicated above, the biscarbazole derivative comprises between 1 and 28 deuterium atoms in place of a hydrogen atom.
Claims 1-3, 7-8, and 10-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and (a)(2) as being anticipated by Ikenaga et al. (WO 2022255243 A1—machine translation relied upon) (hereafter “Ikenaga”).
Regarding claim 1-3, 7-8, and 10-11: Ikenaga discloses an organic optoelectronic device, comprising: an anode and a cathode facing each other, and at least one organic layer between the anode and cathode, wherein the at least one organic layer is a light emitting layer that includes the composition for an optoelectronic device {Device example 17, pg. 28-29}. The organic layer comprising the composition is the light emitting layer {Device example 17, pg. 28-29}.
The composition comprises the compounds shown below {Device example 17, pg. 28-29}.
Where as indicated above, the biscarbazole derivative comprises between 12 and 28 deuterium atoms in place of a hydrogen atom.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4, 5, 6, and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hayashi et al. (WO 2023008501 A1—machine translation relied upon) (hereafter "Hayashi") in view of Li et al. (US 2002/0076576 A1) (hereafter “Li”).
Regarding claims 4-6 and 9: Hayashi discloses all of the features with respect to claim 1, as outlined above.
However, Hayashi does not exemplify that the biscarbazole compound of the composition is completely deuterated. Rather, Hayashi teaches deuteration in a range.
Li teaches organic light-emitting electronic devices containing conjugated material wherein one or more hydrogens have been replaced with deuterium {abstract}. Li teaches that when deuterium is substituted for hydrogen on organic semiconductors compounds, the deuterated compounds possess improved thermal stability and longer lifetime in optoelectronic devices due to the stronger nature of the C-D bond relative to the C-H bond {p. 2, ¶ [0009], lines 11-13}.
Therefore, at the time the invention was effectively filed, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified the example compound 719 of Hayashi by completely deuterated the biscarbazole compound, based on the teaching of Li. The motivation for doing so would have been to improve the performance of the optoelectronic device by improving the thermal stability of the organic compound, as taught by Li, by using the maximum number of deuterium atoms.
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hayashi et al. (WO 2023008501 A1—machine translation relied upon) (hereafter “Hayashi”) in view of Lamansky et al. (WO 2023008501 A1) (hereafter "Lamansky").
Regarding claim 12: Hayashi teaches a display device comprising the organic optoelectronic device of claim 10, where the organic optoelectronic device comprises of an anode and cathode facing each other, and at least one organic layer between the anode and the cathode, wherein the at least one organic layer includes the composition for the organic optoelectronic device of claim 1 {Example 4, paragraph [0115], pg. 29}.
However, Hayashi does not exemplify a display device.
Lamansky teaches the use of organic optoelectronic devices in display devices {paragraph [0139]}. Lamansky teaches that flat panel displays utilizing organic light emitting devices (which are organic optoelectronic devices) would have bright colors, wide viewing angle, low power requirements, broad temperature ranges, and thin form factor {paragraph [0010]}.
Therefore, at the time the invention was effectively filed, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have further modified the organic optoelectronic device of Hayashi to be part of a display device, based on the teachings of Lamansky. The motivation for doing so would have been to provide a display with bright colors, wide viewing angle, low power requirements, broad temperature ranges, and thin form factor, as taught by Lamansky.
Claims 4-6 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ikenaga et al. (WO 2022255243 A1—machine translation relied upon) (hereafter "Ikenaga") in view of Li et al. (US 20020076576 A1) (hereafter “Li”).
Regarding claim 4-6 and 9: Ikenaga discloses all of the features with respect to claim 1, as outlined above.
However, Ikenaga does not exemplify that the biscarbazole compound of the composition is completely deuterated. Rather, Ikenaga teaches deuteration in a range.
Li teaches organic light-emitting electronic devices containing conjugated material wherein one or more hydrogens have been replaced with deuterium {abstract}. Li teaches that when deuterium is substituted for hydrogen on organic semiconductors compounds, the deuterated compounds possess improved thermal stability and longer lifetime in optoelectronic devices due to the stronger nature of the C-D bond relative to the C-H bond {p. 2, ¶ [0009], lines 11-13}.
Therefore, at the time the invention was effectively filed, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified the biscarbazole compound of Ikenaga by completely deuterated the biscarbazole compound, based on the teaching of Li. The motivation for doing so would have been to improve the performance of the optoelectronic device by improving the thermal stability of the organic compound, as taught by Li, by using the maximum number of deuterium atoms.
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ikenaga et al. (WO 2022255243 A1—machine translation relied upon) (hereafter "Ikenaga") in view of Lamansky et al. (US 20020182441 A1) (hereafter “Lamansky”). The machine translation of WO 2022255243 A1 is used as the cited primary reference.
Regarding claim 12: Ikenaga teaches a display device comprising the organic optoelectronic device of claim 10, where the organic optoelectronic device comprises of an anode and cathode facing each other, and at least one organic layer between the anode and the cathode, wherein the at least one organic layer includes the composition for the organic optoelectronic device of claim 1 {Example 1, paragraph [0111], pg. 28}.
However, Ikenaga does not exemplify a display device.
Lamansky teaches the use of organic optoelectronic devices in display devices {paragraph [0139]}. Lamansky teaches that flat panel displays utilizing organic light emitting devices (which are organic optoelectronic devices) would have bright colors, wide viewing angle, low power requirements, broad temperature ranges, and thin form factor {paragraph [0010]}.
Therefore, at the time the invention was effectively filed, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have further modified the organic optoelectronic device of Ikenaga to be part of a display device, based on the teachings of Lamansky. The motivation for doing so would have been to provide a display with bright colors, wide viewing angle, low power requirements, broad temperature ranges, and thin form factor, as taught by Lamansky.
Conclusion
/DYLAN C KERSHNER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1786