Election/Restrictions
Claims 15-25 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected group, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 07/03/2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
The recitation “a surface” is indefinite as it is unclear if this is separate from “the first” or “the second” surface. Further, it is unclear if the limitation “a plurality of arms having no curvature being in a siemens star configuration” is applied to modify the “first surface” or the “surface.”
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 2, 5, 7, 8, 10, 11 and 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by WO 2015194315 to Okuda.
Okuda teaches: Regarding claim 1
An optical beam shaping element comprising a plate having a first surface (surface into which facets and arms are formed) with a circular pattern sector shaped facets (Figs. 1 and 6); the sector shaped facets, in a circumferential direction from a centre point (Figs. 1 and 6, see spiral shape), being alternately inclined with respect to a plane of the plate (Fig. 1); a plurality of arms (32) radiating from the centre point, each arm defining an edge between neighbouring sector shaped facets (Figs. 1 and 6); characterised in that: the edges are curved with the plurality of arms being curved as they radiate outwardly in a spiral star configuration (Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 2
Wherein the optical shaping element is a refractive optic (Fig. 7)
Regarding claim 5
Wherein each edge has a radial z scaling (it changes over the course of a z-axis which can be considered a “z-scaling”; see fig. 1)
Regarding claim 7
wherein each facet has a curvature (Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 8
wherein the optical beam shaping element comprises the first surface nested in a second surface (one can call the top or perimeter surface of Fig. 1 the second surface which “nests” the first surface).
Regarding claim 9
Wherein the direction of the spiral is reversed between the first and second surface (Fig. the spiral contains a bend which reverses the direction).
Regarding claim 10
wherein the optical beam shaping element comprises the first surface nested in a surface (perimeter surface) with a plurality of arms having no curvature being in a Siemens star configuration (if this pertains to the first surface – see 112b rejection – then the configuration is substantially a siemens star as shown).
Regarding claim 11
wherein the optical beam shaping element includes a focusing lens (8a), the optical beam shaping element and the focusing lens are separate elements and spaced apart to provide an optical system (see exploded view of Fig. 3).
Regarding claim 12
wherein a laser is included in the optical system with a beam of the laser being directed through the optical system to create a ring intensity profile of the laser beam focused at the focal length of the focusing lens (Fig. 7).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3, 4, 6, 13 and 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Okuda.
Regarding claims 3, 4 and 6
Okuda teaches All of the limitations as discussed above, but fails to teach a specific radiating angle divided by the number of arms, a specific arm radiating angle or a specific z scaling as claimed.
However, it is noted that these specific values are not alleged to have any particular significance, synergy or unexpected results, above and beyond the spiral shape already embodied by the prior art. As such it would have been nothing more than an obvious change in shape to arrive at the claimed inventions (see MPEP 2144.04).
Regarding claim 13
Okuda teaches all of the limitations as discussed above, but fails to teach wherein the laser is directed through a fiber. The Examiner takes official notice that directing lasers through fiber is old and well-known It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to direct the laser through a fiber, as this is a well-known way of doing laser routing that results in minimal loss of laser energy.
Regarding claim 14
Okuda teaches all of the limitations as discussed above, but fails to teach a second optical beam shaping element with a first surface being a mirror image of the first surface of the optical beam shaping element.
The second optical beam shape has the same shape and the same function as the first optical beam shaping element and the inclusion is not alleged to produce any synergistic or unexpected result. As such, it would have been an obvious matter of duplication of parts to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify Okuda to arrive at the claimed invention (see MPEP §2144.04).
Conclusion
/WOODY A LEE JR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3761