DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
Claims 1-11 are pending, claims 10-11 have been added and claims 1-11 are currently under consideration for patentability under 37 CFR 1.104.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-9 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Objections
Claims 9-11 are objected to because of the following informalities:
In claim 9, on line 16, change “the bending motion” to “a bending motion” (i.e., not previously recited).
In claim 10, on lines 4-5, change “a first end and a second end” to “the first end and the second end” (i.e., not previously recited).
In claim 11, on lines 5-6, change “a first end and a second end” to “the first end and the second end” (i.e., not previously recited).
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 and 3-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Phoolchund (US 2019/0269471).
Regarding claim 1, Phoolchund discloses an endoscope (instrument 105, figure 1 | camera [0049]) having a connector (400, figure 4) connected to an external device (300, figure 3 | see 500, figure 5) having a power source to receive power therefrom (502-505, figure 5), the endoscope comprising: a power receiving part (403-405, figure 4 | also see in figure 15) configured to move by receiving power from the power source; and a bendable section (articulation of the instrument [0049]) configured such that a bending motion thereof in an upward-downward direction or a left-right direction (cables…[0049] | see axes in figure 3) is controlled by a movement of the power receiving part (secured…to the interface elements…[0049]) so that the bendable section bends inside a body to move along an interior of a curved tubular organ (move relative to the shaft of the instrument [0049]), wherein the power receiving part has a protrusion (see 403-405, figure 4 | see figure 15) exposed externally through a slot provided in a front cover of the connector (best seen in figures 4 and 15), the protrusion is connected to the external device to receive the power (transfers drive to the end effector…[0049]), and the power receiving part slides between a first end and a second end on a rail (slidable along a rail…[0053] | see figures 4 and 15) provided on the connector to control the bending motion of the bendable section in the upward-downward or left-right direction (transfers drive…[0049]).
Regarding claim 3, Phoolchund further discloses a controller (surgeon command interface 312, figure 3 | motion of the end effector [0050]) configured to generate a control signal (input devices…request motion of the end effector [0050]), wherein the control signal generated by the controller controls rotational force of the power source (displacement is driven by a motor and lead screw arrangement…[0058]).
Regarding claim 4, Phoolchund further discloses a controller (surgeon command interface 312, figure 3 | motion of the end effector [0050]) configured to generate a control signal (input devices…request motion of the end effector [0050]), wherein the control signal generated by the controller controls a travel distance of the power receiving part (see 403-405, figure 4 | see figure 15 | displacement is driven by a motor and lead screw arrangement…[0058]).
Regarding claim 5, Phoolchund further discloses the power receiving part comprises a first slider and a second slider (see 403-405, figure 4; Phoolchund | see figure 15), and the control signal comprises a first control signal to control a travel distance of the first slider and a second control signal to control a travel distance of the second slider (input devices…request motion of the end effector [0050] | motor and lead screw arrangement…[0058]).
Regarding claim 6, Phoolchund further discloses the power receiving part comprises a pair of power receiving parts (403-405, figure 4; Phoolchund | see figure 15), wherein one of the pair of power receiving parts controls upward and downward bending of the bendable section and the other of the pair of power receiving parts controls left and right bending of the bendable section (pairs of driving elements…[0051] | interpreted the driving elements to provide L/R and U/D bending).
Regarding claim 7, Phoolchund further discloses power generated due to the movement of the power receiving part is transmitted to the bendable section (input device…end effector [0050]; Phoolchund) through the controller (surgeon command interface 312, figure 3 | interpreted “through the controller” to mean the controller is causing the power to be generated).
Regarding claim 8, Phoolchund further discloses the power receiving part receives power directly from the external device comprising the power source therein (see figure 6 | drive assembly interface elements 502-504, figure 6; [0056]).
Regarding claim 9, Phoolchund discloses an endoscope (see figure 3 | camera [0049]) comprising: an insertion tube (105, figure 1) comprising a bendable section (articulation of the instrument [0049]) configured to be inserted into a subject's body to collect image information (camera [0049]); a controller (surgeon command interface 312, figure 3 | motion of the end effector [0050]) configured to generate a control signal for controlling a bending angle of the bendable section so that the bendable section bends inside a body to move along an interior of a curved tubular organ (input devices…request motion of the end effector [0050]); and a connector (400, figure 4 | see 400 connect to 500, figures 5-6) comprising an output part configured to output the control signal (motor…electrical cables [0050] | motor…[0058]) and a power receiving part (403-405, figure 4 | see figure 15) configured to receive external power corresponding to the control signal (motor…articulation of the end effector [0058]), wherein the control signal controls a travel distance of the power receiving part (displacement is driven by a motor and lead screw arrangement…[0058]), wherein the power receiving part has a protrusion (see 403-405, figure 4 | see figure 15) exposed externally through a slot provided in a front cover of the connector (best seen in figures 4 and 15), the protrusion receives the power (see figure 6), and the power receiving part slides between a first end and a second end on a rail (slidable along a rail…[0053] | see figures 4 and 15) provided on the connector to control the bending motion of the bendable section in the upward-downward or left-right direction (transfers drive…[0049]).
Regarding claim 10, Phoolchund further discloses the protrusion is engaged with a recess (see recess 505, figure 5) formed at a power providing part (502-505, figure 5) of the external device to receive the power, wherein the power receiving part is coupled to the rail to reciprocally slide between a first end and a second end of the rail (see figures 6-7) such that the protrusion is configured to move in a direction perpendicular to the direction in which the protrusion protrudes externally through the slot (see movement of protrusion(s) in figures 6-7) to control the bending motion of the bendable section in the upward-downward or left-right direction (cables…[0049] | see axes in figure 3), wherein a control signal (input devices…request motion of the end effector [0050]) generated by the endoscope is transmitted to the external device to control a rotational force of the power source (displacement is driven by a motor and lead screw arrangement…[0058]), and the power generated by the power source is transmitted from the external device, such that a travel distance of the power receiving part coupled with the power providing part is controlled (see 403-405, figure 4 | see figure 15 | displacement is driven by a motor and lead screw arrangement…[0058]).
Regarding claim 11, Phoolchund further discloses the connector is connected to an external device (300, figure 3 | see 500, figure 5) having a power source (502-505, figure 5), wherein the protrusion is engaged with a recess (see recess 505, figure 5) formed at a power providing part (see 502-505, figure 5) of the external device to receive the power, wherein the power receiving part is coupled to the rail to reciprocally slide between a first end and a second end of the rail (slidable along a rail…[0053] | see figures 4 and 15) such that the protrusion is configured to move in a direction perpendicular to the direction in which the protrusion protrudes externally through the slot (see movement of protrusion(s) in figures 6-7) to control the bending motion of the bendable section in the upward-downward or left-right direction (cables…[0049] | see axes in figure 3), wherein the control signal generated by the endoscope is transmitted to the external device to control a rotational force of the power source (displacement is driven by a motor and lead screw arrangement…[0058]), and the power generated by the power source is transmitted from the external device, such that a travel distance of the power receiving part coupled with the power providing part is controlled (see 403-405, figure 4 | see figure 15 | displacement is driven by a motor and lead screw arrangement…[0058]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Phoolchund (US 2019/0269471) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Hwang (US 2021/0369366).
Regarding claim 2, Phoolchund further discloses the bendable section comprises an imaging means (interpreted under 35 USC 112f as a component in the endoscope to collect image information [0041] | camera [0049]) configured to be inserted into a subject's body to collect image information. Phoolchund is silent regarding an illumination means configured to illuminate an interior of the subject's body.
Hwang teaches an endoscope can have optical fibers ([0044]) for conducting light from one end to another end ([0033]).
It would have been obvious to modify the endoscope of Phoolchund to have optical fibers ([0044]) as further taught by Hwang. Doing so would provide light that is conducted from one end to another end ([0033]). The modified endoscope would have an illumination means (this element is interpreted under 35 USC 112f as a light source in the external device | optical fiber [0033] and [0044] of Hwang; interpreted there to be a light source to provide light that is conducted through the optical fiber; light from one end…[0033]) configured to illuminate an interior of the subject's body.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
PAMELA F. WU
Examiner
Art Unit 3795
April 29, 2026
/RYAN N HENDERSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3795