DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
Claims 1-9 are pending and are currently under consideration for patentability under 37 CFR 1.104.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-9 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Interpretation
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Phoolchund (US 2019/0269471), in view of Hwang (US 2021/0369366)
Regarding claim 1, Phoolchund discloses an endoscope (instrument 105, figure 1 | camera [0049]), comprising: a connector (400, figure 4) connected to an external device (300, figure 3 | see 500, figure 5) having a power source to receive power therefrom (502 and 505, figure 5); a power receiving part (403-405, figure 4) configured to move by receiving power from the power source; and a bendable section (articulation of the instrument [0049]) configured such that a bending motion thereof in an upward- downward direction or a left-right direction (cables…[0049] | see axes in figure 3) is controlled by a movement of the power receiving part (secured…to the interface elements…[0049]) so that the bendable section bends inside a body to move along an interior of a curved tubular organ (move relative to the shaft of the instrument [0049]), wherein the power receiving part has a protrusion (see 403-405, figure 4) exposed externally through a slot provided in a front cover of the connector (best seen in figure 4), the protrusion is connected to the external device to receive the power (transfers drive to the end effector…[0049]), wherein the connector includes a rail (rails…[0053]), and the power receiving part is coupled to the rail to reciprocally slide between a first end and a second end of the rail (slideable along a rail…[0053]) such that the protrusion is configured to move in a direction perpendicular to the direction in which the protrusion protrudes (see figure 4; [0053]) to control the bending motion of the bendable section in the upward-downward or left-right direction (transfers drive…[0049]), and the power generated by the power source is transmitted from the external device, such that a travel distance of the power receiving part is controlled (transfers drive…[0049]; rails…[0053]). Phoolchund is silent regarding a control signal generated by the endoscope is transmitted to the external device to control a rotational force of the power source.
Hwang teaches a handheld portable display controller (500, figure 3c) with a control section (502, figure 3c) and an endoscope handle (200, figure 3c) mounted on a robot support platform (600, figure 3c). The portable controller (500, figure 3c) can be connected to the endoscope handle (200, figure 3c) when it is mounted onto the robot support platform (600, figure 3c; [0058]). The portable display controller allows the user to operate the endoscope ([0037]), such as controlling the bending of the endoscope probe tip and other functional control/image capture ([0068]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time of filing to modify the endoscope of Phoolchund to have a portable display controller (500, figure 3c) attachable to the endoscope as taught by Hwang. Doing so would provide a portable display controller that can connect directly to the handle and/or to the robotic arm of a system’s support platform ([0010]). The modified endoscope would have a control signal (controlling…[0068]; Hwang) generated by the endoscope is transmitted to the external device to control a rotational force of the power source (502 and 505, figure 5; Phoolchund | displacement is driven by a motor and lead screw arrangement…[0058]).
Regarding claim 2, Phoolchund further discloses the bendable section comprises an imaging means (interpreted under 35 USC 112f as a component in the endoscope to collect image information [0041] | camera [0049] of Phoolchund) configured to be inserted into a subject's body to collect image information. Phoolchund and Hwang are silent regarding an illumination means configured to illuminate an interior of the subject's body.
Hwang further teaches the endoscope can have optical fibers ([0044]) for conducting light from one end to another end ([0033]).
It would have been obvious to modify the endoscope of Phoolchund and Hwang to have optical fibers ([0044]) as further taught by Hwang. Doing so would provide light that is conducted from one end to another end ([0033]). The modified endoscope would have an illumination means (this element is interpreted under 35 USC 112f as a light source in the external device | optical fiber [0033] and [0044] of Hwang; interpreted there to be a light source to provide light that is conducted through the optical fiber; light from one end…[0033]) configured to illuminate an interior of the subject's body.
Regarding claim 3, Phoolchund and Hwang further disclose a controller (500, figure 3c; Hwang) configured to generate [[a]] the control signal (controlling…[0068]; Hwang), wherein the control signal generated by the controller controls the rotational force of the power source (502 and 505, figure 5; Phoolchund | displacement is driven by a motor and lead screw arrangement…[0058]).
Regarding claim 4, Phoolchund and Hwang further disclose a controller (500, figure 3c; Hwang) configured to generate [[a]] the control signal (controlling…[0068]; Hwang), wherein the control signal generated by the controller controls the travel distance of the power receiving part (502 and 505, figure 5; Phoolchund | displacement is driven by a motor and lead screw arrangement…[0058]).
Regarding claim 5, Phoolchund further discloses the power receiving part comprises a first slider and a second slider (403-405, figure 4; Phoolchund), and the control signal comprises a first control signal to control a travel distance of the first slider and a second control signal to control a travel distance of the second slider (input devices…request motion of the end effector [0050] | motor and lead screw arrangement…[0058]).
Regarding claim 6, Phoolchund further discloses the power receiving part comprises a pair of power receiving parts (403-405, figure 4; Phoolchund), wherein one of the pair of power receiving parts controls upward and downward bending of the bendable section and the other of the pair of power receiving parts controls left and right bending of the bendable section (pairs of driving elements…[0051] | interpreted the driving elements to provide L/R and U/D bending).
Regarding claim 7, Phoolchund and Hwang further disclose power generated due to the movement of the power receiving part is transmitted to the bendable section (input device…end effector [0050]; Phoolchund) through the controller (500, figure 3c; Hwang | interpreted “through the controller” to mean the controller is causing the power to be generated).
Regarding claim 8, Phoolchund further discloses the power receiving part receives power directly from the external device comprising the power source therein (see figure 6; Phoolchund | drive assembly interface elements 502-504, figure 6; [0056]).
Regarding claim 9, Phoolchund discloses an endoscope (see figure 3 | camera [0049]) comprising: an insertion tube (105, figure 1) comprising a bendable section (articulation of the instrument [0049]) configured to be inserted into a subject's body to collect image information (camera [0049]); a controller (surgeon command interface 312, figure 3) configured to generate a control signal for controlling a bending angle of the bendable section so that the bendable section bends inside a body to move along an interior of a curved tubular organ (input devices…request motion of the end effector [0050]); and a connector (400, figure 4 | 400 and 500, figures 5-6) comprising an output part configured to output the control signal (motor…electrical cables [0050] | motor…[0058]) and a power receiving part (403-405, figure 4) configured to receive external power corresponding to the control signal (motor…articulation of the end effector [0058]), wherein the power receiving part has a protrusion (see 403-405, figure 4) exposed externally through a slot provided in a front cover of the connector (best seen in figure 4), the protrusion receives the power, wherein the connector includes a rail (rails…[0053]), and the power receiving part is coupled to the rail to reciprocally slide between a first end and a second end of the rail (slideable along a rail…[0053]) such that the protrusion is configured to move in a direction perpendicular to the direction in which the protrusion protrudes (see figure 4; [0053]) to control the bending motion of the bendable section in the upward-downward or left-right direction (transfers drive…[0049]), and the power generated by the power source is transmitted from the external device, such that a travel distance of the power receiving part is controlled (transfers drive…[0049]; rails…[0053]). Phoolchund is silent regarding the control signal generated by the endoscope is transmitted to the external device to control a rotational force of the power source.
Hwang teaches a handheld portable display controller (500, figure 3c) with a control section (502, figure 3c) and an endoscope handle (200, figure 3c) mounted on a robot support platform (600, figure 3c). The portable controller (500, figure 3c) can be connected to the endoscope handle (200, figure 3c) when it is mounted onto the robot support platform (600, figure 3c; [0058]). The portable display controller allows the user to operate the endoscope ([0037]), such as controlling the bending of the endoscope probe tip and other functional control/image capture ([0068]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time of filing to modify the endoscope, specifically the controller, of Phoolchund to have a portable display controller (500, figure 3c) attachable to the endoscope as taught by Hwang. Doing so would provide a portable display controller that can connect directly to the handle and/or to the robotic arm of a system’s support platform ([0010]). The modified endoscope would have the control signal generated by the endoscope is transmitted to the external device to control a rotational force of the power source (502 and 505, figure 5; Phoolchund | displacement is driven by a motor and lead screw arrangement…[0058]).
Conclusion
PAMELA F. WU
Examiner
Art Unit 3795
August 8, 2025
/RYAN N HENDERSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3795