DETAILED ACTION
Status of claims
Claims 1-11, 13 and 19 are amended.
New Claims 21-24 are added.
Claims 1-24 is pending.
Response to arguments
Applicant’s amendments and new claims are entered. Applicant’s remarks are also entered into the record. A new search was made necessitated by the applicant’s amendments and remarks. A new rejection is made herein. Applicant’s arguments are now moot in view of the new rejection of the claims.
The amendment does not overcome 35. U.S.C 101 rejection. Examiner maintains the 35.U.S.C 101 rejection below:
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
Analysis for claim 1:
In January, 2019 (updated October 2019), the USPTO released new examination guidelines setting forth a two-step inquiry for determining whether a claim is directed to non-statutory subject matter. According to the guidelines, a claim is directed to non-statutory subject matter if:
STEP 1: the claim does not fall within one of the four statutory categories of invention (process, machine, manufacture or composition of matter), or
STEP 2: the claim recites a judicial exception, e.g. an abstract idea, without reciting additional elements that amount to significantly more than the judicial exception, as determined using the following analysis:
STEP 2A (PRONG 1): Does the claim recite an abstract idea, law of nature, or natural phenomenon?
STEP 2A (PRONG 2): Does the claim recite additional elements that integrate the judicial exception into a practical application?
STEP 2B: Does the claim recite additional elements that amount to significantly more than the judicial exception?
Using the two-step inquiry, it is clear that claim 1 is directed toward non-statutory subject matter, as shown below:
STEP 1: Does claim 1 fall within one of the statutory categories? Yes.
Claim 1 is directed to an apparatus and Claim 11 is directed toward a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium. Therefore, claims 1and 11 are within at least one of the four statutory
categories.
STEP 2A (PRONG 1): Is the claim directed to a law of nature, a natural phenomenon or an abstract idea? Yes, the claim is directed to an abstract idea.
With regard to STEP 2A (PRONG 1), the guidelines provide three groupings of subject matter that are considered abstract ideas:
Mathematical concepts – mathematical relationships, mathematical formulas or equations, mathematical calculations;
Certain methods of organizing human activity – fundamental economic principles or practices (including hedging, insurance, mitigating risk); commercial or legal interactions (including agreements in the form of contracts; legal obligations; advertising, marketing or sales activities or behaviors; business relations); managing personal behavior or relationships or interactions between people (including social activities, teaching, and following rules or instructions); and
Mental processes – concepts that are practicably performed in the human mind (including an observation, evaluation, judgment, opinion).
Claim 1
A radar setting apparatus comprising:
a first result display portion configured to display a first traffic volume detected by an infrastructure sensor configured to detect vehicles in a measurement area by transmitting a radio wave to the measurement area, receiving a reflected wave reflected by a vehicle, and detecting a distance to the vehicle, an angle with respect to the vehicle, and a speed of the vehicle based on the reflected wave; and
a second result display portion configured to display reference information indicating a second traffic volume obtained by a means different from the infrastructure sensor during a same period as a period during which the infrastructure sensor detects the first traffic volume
and a collation circuitry configured to collate the first traffic volume with the second traffic volume to determine a detection accuracy of the infrastructure sensor, wherein the detection accuracy is calculated based on a ratio between the first traffic volume and the second traffic volume, and the display apparatus is configured to display the detection accuracy together with time information indicating the period. (
Claim 11:
A non-transitory computer-readable storage medium storing a computer program for causing a computer to execute:
a process of displaying, on a display apparatus, a first traffic volume of vehicles detected by an infrastructure sensor configured to detect the vehicles in a measurement area by transmitting a radio wave to the measurement area, receiving a reflected wave reflected by a vehicle, and detecting a distance to the vehicle, an angle with respect to the vehicle, and a speed of the vehicle based on the reflected wave; [[and]]
a process of displaying, on the display apparatus, reference information indicating a second traffic volume obtained by a means different from the infrastructure sensor during a same period as a period during which the infrastructure sensor detects the first traffic volume; and
a process of collating the first traffic volume with the second traffic volume to determine a detection accuracy of the infrastructure sensor wherein the detection accuracy acquired based on a ratio between the first traffic volume and the second traffic volume, and displaying the detection accuracy together with time information indicating the period on a setting screen including an image display portion configured to display a moving image obtained by a camera con-figured photograph the measurement area.
The method in claim 1 is a mental process that can be practicably configuring first and second traffic volume using sensor and collating the first and second traffic volume to find the accuracy by taking the ratio and, therefore, an abstract idea. Specifically, the limitations of claim 1 highlighted above merely collating traffic volumes detected by an infrastructure sensor and calculate the accuracy by taking ratio of the first and second traffic volume. These steps are merely an observation of sensor data to determine presence of the traffic volume, collating the traffic volumes by taking ratio of the first and second traffic volumes. Thus, the claims recite a mental process.
STEP 2A (PRONG 2): Does the claim recite additional elements that integrate the judicial exception into a practical application? No, the claim does not recite additional elements that integrate the judicial exception into a practical application.
While the guidelines further state that the exemplary considerations are not an exhaustive list and that there may be other examples of integrating the exception into a practical application, the guidelines also list examples in which a judicial exception has not been integrated into a practical application:
an additional element merely recites the words “apply it” (or an equivalent) with the judicial exception, or merely includes instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer, or merely uses a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea;
an additional element adds insignificant extra-solution activity to the judicial exception; and
an additional element does no more than generally link the use of a judicial exception to a particular technological environment or field of use.
Claim 1 does not recite any of the exemplary considerations that are indicative of an abstract idea having been integrated into a practical application. The first display results detected by the infrastructure sensor and the sensors can operate in their ordinary capacity such that they do not use the judicial exception in a manner that imposes a meaningful limit on the judicial exception, such that the claim is more is more than displaying traffic volume results .The storage and processor, are merely include instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer, or merely use a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea is indicative that the judicial exception has not been integrated into a practical application.
STEP 2B: Does the claim recite additional elements that amount to significantly more than the judicial exception? No, the claim does not recite additional elements that amount to significantly more than the judicial exception.
The limitation underlined claims 1 and 8 portion represent the additional elements:
Claim 1
A radar setting apparatus comprising:
a first result display portion configured to display a first traffic volume detected by an infrastructure sensor configured to detect vehicles in a measurement area by transmitting a radio wave to the measurement area, receiving a reflected wave reflected by a vehicle, and detecting a distance to the vehicle, an angle with respect to the vehicle, and a speed of the vehicle based on the reflected wave; and
a second result display portion configured to display reference information indicating a second traffic volume obtained by a means different from the infrastructure sensor during a same period as a period during which the infrastructure sensor detects the first traffic volume
and a collation circuitry configured to collate the first traffic volume with the second traffic volume to determine a detection accuracy of the infrastructure sensor, wherein the detection accuracy is calculated based on a ratio between the first traffic volume and the second traffic volume, and the display apparatus is configured to display the detection accuracy together with time information indicating the period.
Claim 11:
A non-transitory computer-readable storage medium storing a computer program for causing a computer to execute:
a process of displaying, on a display apparatus, a first traffic volume of vehicles detected by an infrastructure sensor configured to detect the vehicles in a measurement area by transmitting a radio wave to the measurement area, receiving a reflected wave reflected by a vehicle, and detecting a distance to the vehicle, an angle with respect to the vehicle, and a speed of the vehicle based on the reflected wave; [[and]]
a process of displaying, on the display apparatus, reference information indicating a second traffic volume obtained by a means different from the infrastructure sensor during a same period as a period during which the infrastructure sensor detects the first traffic volume; and
a process of collating the first traffic volume with the second traffic volume to determine a detection accuracy of the infrastructure sensor wherein the detection accuracy acquired based on a ratio between the first traffic volume and the second traffic volume, and displaying the detection accuracy together with time information indicating the period on a setting screen including an image display portion configured to display a moving image obtained by a camera con-figured photograph the measurement area.
Thus, since claim 1 is: (a) directed toward an abstract idea, (b) does not recite additional elements that integrate the judicial exception into a practical application, and (c) does not recite additional elements that amount to significantly more than the judicial exception, it is clear that claim 1 is directed towards non-statutory subject matter. For example, the limitations of
claims 2-4 are further limitations that, under their broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitation in the mind using a similar analysis to claim 1 above. Dependent claims 2-10,21-22 further limit the abstract idea without integrating the abstract idea into practical application or adding significantly more.
With respect to claim 11, please see the rejection above with respect to claim 1 which is commensurate in scope to claim 11, with claim 1 being drawn to a device and claim 11 being drawn to a system (non-transitory computer readable storage medium). Dependent claims 12-20, 23-24 further limit the abstract idea without integrating the abstract idea into practical application or adding significantly more. For example, the limitations of claims 12-14 are further limitations that, under their broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitation in the mind using a similar analysis to claim 11 above.
As such, claims 1-24 are rejected under 35 USC 101 as being drawn to an abstract idea without significantly more, and thus are ineligible.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatented over KR 102228395B1 to Lee et al. (herein after “Lee”) in view of JP2021039080A to Okino et al. (herein after “Okino”) and KR20180042714A to Choi (herein after “Choi”).
Regarding claim 1, Lee discloses A radar setting apparatus comprising: a first result display portion configured to display (see Lee at least para[0091] In addition, the operating device 3 may receive information on the detected and recognized object from the object tracking unit 23 to generate and display traffic information,) a first traffic volume detected by an infrastructure sensor configured to detect vehicles in a measurement area (see Lee at least para [0086] In addition, the object tracking unit 23 may operate in conjunction with an object detection device including a radar sensor, and may detect and recognize an object, for example)
by transmitting a radio wave to the measurement(See Lee at least para [0015] Additionally or alternatively, the image analysis device may operate in conjunction with an object detection device including a radar sensor; Radar sensor is an example of radio wave), receiving a reflected wave reflected by a vehicle area (See Lee radar sensor, which detect area using radio waves, which reflect off objects (vehicle) and return to the sensor), and detecting a distance to the vehicle, an angle with respect to the vehicle, and a speed of the vehicle based on the reflected wave ; (see Lee para[0016] Additionally or alternatively, the operating device may receive information on an object from the image analysis device and generate and display at least one of traffic information, illegal parking information, speed violation information, and life crime prevention information; para [0090] In addition, the control unit 24 generates vehicle traffic information for each lane from information on the object detected and recognized by the object tracking unit 23 and stores it in the storage unit 26, or through the communication unit 25, the operating device ( 3) can be provided. Here, the vehicle traffic information may include a vehicle type, speed, and traffic volume;para[0086] In addition, the object tracking unit 23 may operate in conjunction with an object detection device including a radar sensor, and may detect and recognize an object, for example.) [[and]] a collation circuitry (See Lee para[0087] Specifically, the object tracking unit 23 is a traffic information collection system)
However, Lee does not expressly disclose or otherwise teach a second traffic volume obtained by a means different from the infrastructure sensor during a same period as a period during which the infrastructure sensor detects the first traffic volume. Nevertheless, in a related field of invention, Okino teaches a second result display portion configured to display reference information indicating a second traffic volume obtained by a means different from the infrastructure sensor during a same period as a period during which the infrastructure sensor detects the first traffic volume (see Okino at least para[0058] The processing unit 41 counts the number of vehicles that have passed the distance range A1 within the detectable range based on the image data generated by the signal processing unit 35 according to a predetermined program stored in the memory.).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention with a reasonable expectation of success to combine the operating device to detect and display traffic information in Lee with the second traffic volume obtained different from the sensor as taught in Okino in order to allow for to process the huge amount of signals quickly (see Okino para[0004]).
However, Lee does not expressly disclose or otherwise teach a process of collating the first traffic volume with the second traffic volume to determine a detection accuracy of the infrastructure sensor wherein the detection accuracy is calculated based on a ratio between the first traffic volume and the second traffic volume, and displaying the detection accuracy together with time information indicating the period on a setting screen including an image display portion configured to display a moving image obtained by a camera con-figured photograph the measurement area. Nevertheless, in a related field of invention, Choi teaches a process of collating the first traffic volume with the second traffic volume (see Choi para[0014] estimating a ratio of the first traffic volume and the second traffic volume to estimate an annual average daily traffic volume of the first location.)
to determine a detection accuracy of the infrastructure sensor wherein the detection accuracy is calculated based on a ratio between the first traffic volume and the second traffic volume, and displaying the detection accuracy together with time information indicating the period (see Choi abstract estimating ratios of the first traffic volume and the second traffic volume to estimate an annual average daily traffic volume at the first position; see Choi at least para [0067] For example, as shown in Fig. 4, estimated traffic volume information can be provided through a homepage. Additionally, it is possible to provide a service that searches for total traffic volume and hourly traffic volume for a certain period of time or a specific date.).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention with a reasonable expectation of success to combine the operating device to detect and display traffic information in Lee with to collate the first traffic volume with the second traffic volume recognized by subjecting the image to an image recognition process in Choi in order to allow for to estimate the annual average daily traffic volume (see Choi para[0014]).
Regarding claim 2, Lee, Okino and Choi remain applied as claim 1. Lee discloses wherein an image obtained by a camera configured to photograph the measurement area during the period is displayed (see Lee at least para[0025] The image analysis system includes a photographing device 1 such as a camera for photographing a traffic situation and generating an image).
Regarding claim 3, Lee, Okino and Choi remain applied as claim 1. However, Lee does not expressly disclose or otherwise teach wherein the collation circuitry is configured to collate the first traffic volume with the second traffic volume recognized by subjecting the image to an image recognition process to determine the detection accuracy. Nevertheless, in a related field of invention, Choi teaches wherein the collation circuitry is configured to collate the first traffic volume with the second traffic volume recognized by subjecting the image to an image recognition process to determine the detection accuracy (see Choi at least para[0036] Next, the traffic volume calculation unit (120) compares the first traffic volume calculated at the first location during the first time or an arbitrary time t with the first traffic volume and the second traffic volume at the second location where fixed traffic volume collection equipment is installed near the first location.).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention with a reasonable expectation of success to combine the operating device to detect and display traffic information in Lee with to collate the first traffic volume with the second traffic volume recognized by subjecting the image to an image recognition process in Choi in order to allow for to estimate the annual average daily traffic volume (see Choi para[0014]).
Regarding claim 4, Lee, Okino and Choi remain applied as claim 1. However, Lee does not expressly disclose or otherwise teach the second traffic volume is a number of the vehicles having passed a specific spot in the measurement area during the period. Nevertheless, in a related field of invention, Okino teaches wherein the second traffic volume is a number of the vehicles having passed a specific spot in the measurement area during the period, (see Okino at least para[0058] The processing unit 41 counts the number of vehicles that have passed the distance range A1 within the detectable range based on the image data generated by the signal processing unit 35 according to a predetermined program stored in the memory) the number being input by a user (See Okino para[0024] The distance range may be input by a device other than the object information generation device 1., para0076] The position information of the distance range may be input to, for example, the object information generation device 1 ; Okino does not expressly teach or disclose the user input regarding number of the vehicle passing a specific spot).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention with a reasonable expectation of success to combine the operating device to detect and display traffic information in Lee with second traffic volume in Okino in order to allow for to process the huge amount of signals quickly (see Okino para[0004]).
Regarding claim 5, Lee, Okino and Choi remain applied as claim 1. However, Lee does not expressly disclose or otherwise teach wherein the second result display portion, comprises: a count portion configured to receive an operation by the user for counting the number of the vehicles having passed the specific spot. Nevertheless, in a related field of invention, Okino teaches wherein the second result display portion (see Okino at least para[0028] For example, if the object information generation device 1 includes a display unit, the object information generation device 1 may detect the presence or absence of an object and display the detection result on the display unit.) comprises: a count portion configured to receive an operation by the user for counting the number of the vehicles having passed the specific spot;( see Okino at least para[0070] the number of vehicles passing through each lane can be counted by image analysis.); see Okino at least para[0066] As described above, according to the first embodiment, the processing unit 41 can count the number of vehicles that have passed within a predetermined distance range, based on information (image data) relating to the presence or absence of an object. In addition, the distance range can be set by the user via the reception unit 31. This allows the user to grasp the volume of vehicles passing within the set distance range via a display unit or the like of the external device.)
a counted value display portion configured to display the number of the vehicles having passed the specific spot, based on the operation by the user on the count portion(See Okino paras [0058], [0024] The distance range may be input by a device other than the object information generation device 1., para0076] The position information of the distance range may be input to, for example, the object information generation device 1 ; Okino does not expressly teach or disclose the user input regarding number of the vehicle passing a specific spot).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention with a reasonable expectation of success to combine the operating device to detect and display traffic information in Lee with second traffic volume in Okino in order to allow for to process the huge amount of signals quickly (see Okino para[0004]).
Regarding claim 6, Lee, Okino and Choi remain applied as claim 1. Lee teaches wherein the first result display portion is configured to, if the measurement area ( see Lee a lane recognition area ) includes a plurality of lanes, display, for each of the lanes the first traffic volume detected (see Lee at least para[0086] In addition, the object tracking unit 23 may operate in conjunction with an object detection device including a radar sensor, and may detect and recognize an object, for example(see Lee at least para[0090] In addition, the control unit 24 generates vehicle traffic information for each lane from information on the object detected and recognized by the object tracking unit 23 and stores it in the storage unit 26, or through the communication unit 25, the operating device (3) can be provided. Here, the vehicle traffic information may include a vehicle type, speed, and traffic volume) by the infrastructure sensor (see Lee at least para[0025] In addition, the image analysis system may further include various object detection devices (eg, at least one of an electromagnetic sensor, a radar sensor, and an image sensor).
However, Lee does not expressly disclose or otherwise teach during the period, and the second result display portion is configured to display, for each of the lanes, the count portion and the counted value display portion in correspondence with each other. Nevertheless, in a related field of invention, Okino teaches during the period, and the second result display portion is configured to display, for each of the lanes, the count portion and the counted value display portion in correspondence with each other (see Okino at least para[0070] the number of vehicles passing through each lane can be counted by image analysis.).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention with a reasonable expectation of success to combine the operating device to detect and display traffic information in Lee with the second traffic volume obtained different from the sensor as taught in Okino in order to allow for to process the huge amount of signals quickly (see Okino para[0004]).
Regarding claim 7, Lee, Okino and Choi remain applied as claim 1. However, Lee does not expressly disclose or otherwise teach a collation result display portion configured to display a collation result between the first traffic volume and the second traffic volume. Nevertheless, in a related field of invention, Choi teaches a collation result display portion configured to display a collation result between the first traffic volume and the second traffic volume. (see Choi at least para[0036] Next, the traffic volume calculation unit (120) compares the first traffic volume calculated at the first location during the first time or an arbitrary time t with the first traffic volume and the second traffic volume at the second location where fixed traffic volume collection equipment is installed near the first location.).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention with a reasonable expectation of success to combine the operating device to detect and display traffic information in Lee with to collate the first traffic volume with the second traffic volume recognized by subjecting the image to an image recognition process in Choi in order to allow for to estimate the annual average daily traffic volume (see Choi para[0014]).
Regarding claim 8, Lee, Okino and Choi remain applied as claim 1. However, Lee does not expressly disclose or otherwise teach record [[unit]] circuitry configured to record a screen, on which a collation result between the first traffic volume and the second traffic volume. Nevertheless, in a related field of invention, Choi teaches record [[unit]] circuitry configured to record a screen (see Choi figure 2, para[0031] the traffic volume calculation unit can identify vehicles on the collected video screen and calculate the traffic volume by direction and lane.)on which a collation result between the first traffic volume and the second traffic volume (see Choi at least para [0036]Next, the traffic volume calculation unit (120) compares the first traffic volume calculated at the first location during the first time or an arbitrary time t with the first traffic volume and the second traffic volume at the second location where fixed traffic volume collection equipment is installed near the first location.) and a moving image obtained by a camera configured to photograph the measurement area during the period are displayed (see Choi at least para[0036] Therefore, the traffic volume ratio and the average annual daily traffic volume for each time and space can be estimated. In other words, in one embodiment of the present invention, the first traffic volume collects image data from a vehicle moving at an arbitrary location. Refers to traffic volume calculated from collected image data. Additionally, secondary traffic volume refers to traffic volume calculated through installed fixed traffic volume collection equipment.).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention with a reasonable expectation of success to combine the operating device to detect and display traffic information in Lee with to collate the first traffic volume with the second traffic volume recognized by subjecting the image to an image recognition process in Choi in order to allow for to estimate the annual average daily traffic volume (see Choi para[0014]).
Regarding claim 9, Lee, Okino and Choi remain applied as claim 1. However, Lee does not expressly disclose or otherwise teach wherein the detection accuracy and the time information are displayed on a setting screen including an image display portion configured to display a moving image obtained by a camera configured to the measurement area. Nevertheless, in a related field of invention, Choi teaches wherein the detection accuracy and the time information are displayed on a setting screen including an image display portion configured to display a moving image obtained by a camera configured to the measurement area (see Choi abstract estimating ratios of the first traffic volume and the second traffic volume to estimate an annual average daily traffic volume at the first position; see Choi at least para [0067] For example, as shown in Fig. 4, estimated traffic volume information can be provided through a homepage. Additionally, it is possible to provide a service that searches for total traffic volume and hourly traffic volume for a certain period of time or a specific date.).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention with a reasonable expectation of success to combine the operating device to detect and display traffic information in Lee with to collate the first traffic volume with the second traffic volume recognized by subjecting the image to an image recognition process in Choi in order to allow for to estimate the annual average daily traffic volume (see Choi para[0014]).
Regarding claim 10, Okino and Choi remain applied as claim 1. However, Lee does not expressly disclose or otherwise teach the time information includes a date and a time on and at which the period ends. Nevertheless, in a related field of invention, Choi teaches wherein the time information includes a date and a time on and at which the period ends (see Choi at least para[0067]For example, as shown in Fig. 4, estimated traffic volume information can be provided through a homepage. Additionally, it is possible to provide a service that searches for total traffic volume and hourly traffic volume for a certain period of time or a specific date.).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention with a reasonable expectation of success to combine the operating device to detect and display traffic information in Lee with to collate the first traffic volume with the second traffic volume recognized by subjecting the image to an image recognition process in Choi in order to allow for to estimate the annual average daily traffic volume (see Choi para[0014]).
Regarding claim 11, Lee discloses A non-transitory computer-readable storage medium storing a computer program for causing a computer to execute (see Lee para [0094] In addition, as another aspect of the present invention, the above-described proposal or operation of the invention is by means of a "computer" (a comprehensive concept including a system on chip (SoC) or a (micro) processor)) : a process of displaying, on a display apparatus (see Lee at least para[0016] Additionally or alternatively, the operating device may receive information on an object from the image analysis device and generate and display at least one of traffic information), a first traffic volume of vehicles detected by an infrastructure sensor configured to detect the vehicles in a measurement area by transmitting a radio wave to the measurement area, receiving a reflected wave reflected by a vehicle(See Lee radar sensor, which detect area using radio waves, which reflect off objects (vehicle) and return to the sensor), and detecting a distance to the vehicle, an angle with respect to the vehicle, and a speed of the vehicle based on the reflected wave(See Lee at least para [0003] When using a high-resolution image for image processing, relatively high-spec hardware is required, and the size of the recognized object varies because the angle of view or the width of the distance is large in the high-resolution image, ; para[0026] The photographing apparatus 1 for photographing the movement flow in the road may include a fixed camera or a rotating camera such as a speed dom camera.);
; and a process of displaying, on the display apparatus, (see Lee at least para [0086] In addition, the object tracking unit 23 may operate in conjunction with an object detection device including a radar sensor, and may detect and recognize an object, for example)
And a process of collating the first traffic volume with the second traffic volume to determine (See Lee para[0087] Specifically, the object tracking unit 23 is a traffic information collection system)
However, Lee does not expressly disclose or otherwise teach reference information indicating a second traffic volume obtained by a means different from the infrastructure sensor during a same period as a period during which the infrastructure sensor detects the first traffic volume. Nevertheless, in a related field of invention, Okino teaches reference information indicating a second traffic volume obtained by a means different from the infrastructure sensor during a same period as a period during which the infrastructure sensor detects the first traffic volume (see Okino at least para[0058] The processing unit 41 counts the number of vehicles that have passed the distance range A1 within the detectable range based on the image data generated by the signal processing unit 35 according to a predetermined program stored in the memory).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention with a reasonable expectation of success to combine the operating device to detect and display traffic information in Lee with the second traffic volume obtained different from the sensor as taught in Okino in order to allow for to process the huge amount of signals quickly (see Okino para[0004]).
However, Lee does not expressly disclose or otherwise teach a process of collating the first traffic volume with the second traffic volume to determine a detection accuracy of the infrastructure sensor wherein the detection accuracy is calculated based on a ratio between the first traffic volume and the second traffic volume, and displaying the detection accuracy together with time information indicating the period on a setting screen including an image display portion configured to display a moving image obtained by a camera con-figured photograph the measurement area. Nevertheless, in a related field of invention, Choi teaches a process of collating the first traffic volume with the second traffic volume (see Choi para[0014] estimating a ratio of the first traffic volume and the second traffic volume to estimate an annual average daily traffic volume of the first location.)
on a setting screen including an image display portion configured to display a moving image obtained by a camera con-figured photograph the measurement area (see Choi abstract estimating ratios of the first traffic volume and the second traffic volume to estimate an annual average daily traffic volume at the first position; see Choi at least para [0067] For example, as shown in Fig. 4, estimated traffic volume information can be provided through a homepage. Additionally, it is possible to provide a service that searches for total traffic volume and hourly traffic volume for a certain period of time or a specific date.).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention with a reasonable expectation of success to combine the operating device to detect and display traffic information in Lee with to collate the first traffic volume with the second traffic volume recognized by subjecting the image to an image recognition process in Choi in order to allow for to estimate the annual average daily traffic volume (see Choi para[0014]).
Regarding claim 12, Lee, Okino and Choi remain applied as claim 11. Lee teaches The non-transitory computer-readable storage medium storing a computer program (see Lee para [0094] In addition, as another aspect of the present invention, the above-described proposal or operation of the invention is by means of a "computer" (a comprehensive concept including a system on chip (SoC) or a (micro) processor), for causing the computer to execute a process of displaying, on the display apparatus, an image obtained by a camera configured to photograph the measurement area during the period.(see Lee at least para[0025] The image analysis system includes a photographing device 1 such as a camera for photographing a traffic situation and generating an image).
Regarding claim 13, Lee, Okino and Choi remain applied as claim 11. Lee teaches The non-transitory computer-readable storage medium storing a computer program (see Lee para [0094] In addition, as another aspect of the present invention, the above-described proposal or operation of the invention is by means of a "computer" (a comprehensive concept including a system on chip (SoC) or a (micro) processor)), for causing the computer to execute a process (see Lee at least para[0094] In addition, as another aspect of the present invention, the above-described proposal or operation of the invention is by means of a "computer" (a comprehensive concept including a system on chip (SoC) or a (micro) processor). Code that can be implemented, executed or executed,).
However, Lee does not expressly disclose or otherwise teach collating the first traffic volume with the second traffic volume. Nevertheless, in a related field of invention, Choi teaches of collating the first traffic volume with the second traffic volume recognized by subjecting the image to an image recognition process to determine the detection accuracy(see Choi at least para[0036] Next, the traffic volume calculation unit (120) compares the first traffic volume calculated at the first location during the first time or an arbitrary time t with the first traffic volume and the second traffic volume at the second location where fixed traffic volume collection equipment is installed near the first location.).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention with a reasonable expectation of success to combine the operating device to detect and display traffic information in Lee with to collate the first traffic volume with the second traffic volume recognized by subjecting the image to an image recognition process in Choi in order to allow for to estimate the annual average daily traffic volume (see Choi para[0014]).
Regarding claim 14, Lee, Okino and Choi remain applied as claim 11. Lee teaches the non-transitory computer-readable storage medium storing a computer program according to claim 11 (see Lee para [0094] In addition, as another aspect of the present invention, the above-described proposal or operation of the invention is by means of a "computer" (a comprehensive concept including a system on chip (SoC) or a (micro) processor))) . However, Lee does not expressly disclose or otherwise teach the number being input by a user. Nevertheless, in a related field of invention, Okino teaches wherein the second traffic volume is a number of the vehicles having passed a specific spot in the measurement area during the period, (see Okino at least para[0058] The processing unit 41 counts the number of vehicles that have passed the distance range A1 within the detectable range based on the image data generated by the signal processing unit 35 according to a predetermined program stored in the memory) the number being input by a user (See Okino para[0024] The distance range may be input by a device other than the object information generation device 1., para0076] The position information of the distance range may be input to, for example, the object information generation device 1 ; Okino does not expressly teach or disclose the user input regarding number of the vehicle passing a specific spot).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention with a reasonable expectation of success to combine the operating device to detect and display traffic information in Lee with second traffic volume in Okino in order to allow for to process the huge amount of signals quickly (see Okino para[0004]).
Regarding claim 15, Lee, Okino and Choi remain applied as claim 11. Lee teaches The non-transitory computer-readable storage medium storing a computer program according to claim 14 (see Lee para [0094] In addition, as another aspect of the present invention, the above-described proposal or operation of the invention is by means of a "computer" (a comprehensive concept including a system on chip (SoC) or a (micro) processor)) ), for causing the computer to execute: a process of displaying, on the display apparatus(see Lee at least para[0016] Additionally or alternatively, the operating device may receive information on an object from the image analysis device and generate and display at least one of traffic information). However, Lee does not expressly disclose or otherwise teach wherein the second result display portion, comprises: a count portion configured to receive an operation by the user for counting the number of the vehicles having passed the specific spot. Nevertheless, in a related field of invention, Okino teaches teach wherein the second result display portion(see Okino at least para[0028] For example, if the object information generation device 1 includes a display unit, the object information generation device 1 may detect the presence or absence of an object and display the detection result on the display unit.), comprises: a count portion configured to receive an operation by the user for counting the number of the vehicles having passed the specific spot ( see Okino at least para[0070] the number of vehicles passing through each lane can be counted by image analysis.)
a process of displaying, on the display apparatus, the number of the vehicles having passed the specific spot, based on the operation by the user on the count portion (See Okino paras [0058], [0024] The distance range may be input by a device other than the object information generation device 1., para0076] The position information of the distance range may be input to, for example, the object information generation device 1 ; Okino does not expressly teach or disclose the user input regarding number of the vehicle passing a specific spot).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention with a reasonable expectation of success to combine the operating device to detect and display traffic information in Lee with the second traffic volume obtained different from the sensor as taught in Okino in order to allow for to process the huge amount of signals quickly (see Okino para[0004]).
Regarding claim 16, Lee, Okino and Choi remain applied as claim 11. Lee teaches The non-transitory computer-readable storage medium storing a computer program (see Lee para [0094] In addition, as another aspect of the present invention, the above-described proposal or operation of the invention is by means of a "computer" (a comprehensive concept including a system on chip (SoC) or a (micro) processor) , for causing the computer to execute if the measurement area includes a plurality of lanes (see Lee at least para[0086] In addition, the object tracking unit 23 may operate in conjunction with an object detection device including a radar sensor, and may detect and recognize an object, for example; see Lee at least para[0090] In addition, the control unit 24 generates vehicle traffic information for each lane from information on the object detected and recognized by the object tracking unit 23 and stores it in the storage unit 26, or through the communication unit 25, the operating device (3) can be provided. Here, the vehicle traffic information may include a vehicle type, speed, and traffic volume), a process of displaying, on the display apparatus, for each of the lanes (see Lee figure 2 and para[0016]), the first traffic volume detected by the infrastructure sensor during the period, and displaying, on the display apparatus, for each of the lanes, the count portion and the counted value display portion in correspondence with each other. (see Lee at least para [0086] In addition, the object tracking unit 23 may operate in conjunction with an object detection device including a radar sensor, and may detect and recognize an object, for example).
Regarding claim 17, Lee, Okino and Choi remain applied as claim 11. Lee teaches The non-transitory computer-readable storage medium storing a computer program (see Lee para [0094] In addition, as another aspect of the present invention, the above-described proposal or operation of the invention is by means of a "computer" (a comprehensive concept including a system on chip (SoC) or a (micro) processor)),for causing the computer to execute a process of displaying, on the display apparatus(see Lee figure 2 and para[0016]).
However, Lee does not expressly disclose or otherwise teach a collation result between the first traffic volume and the second traffic volume. Nevertheless, in a related field of invention, Choi teaches a collation result between the first traffic volume and the second traffic volume. (see Choi at least para[0036] Next, the traffic volume calculation unit (120) compares the first traffic volume calculated at the first location during the first time or an arbitrary time t with the first traffic volume and the second traffic volume at the second location where fixed traffic volume collection equipment is installed near the first location.).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention with a reasonable expectation of success to combine the operating device to detect and display traffic information in Lee with to collate the first traffic volume with the second traffic volume recognized by subjecting the image to an image recognition process in Choi in order to allow for to estimate the annual average daily traffic volume (see Choi para[0014]).
Regarding claim 18, Lee, Okino and Choi remain applied as claim 11. Lee teaches The non-transitory computer-readable storage medium storing a computer program (see Lee para [0094] In addition, as another aspect of the present invention, the above-described proposal or operation of the invention is by means of a "computer" (a comprehensive concept including a system on chip (SoC) or a (micro) processor)) , wherein the reference information is a moving image obtained by a camera configured to photograph the measurement area.(see Lee at least para[0025] The image analysis system includes a photographing device 1 such as a camera for photographing a traffic situation and generating an image,).
However, Lee does not expressly disclose or otherwise teach the computer program causing the computer to further execute a process of recording a screen on which the collation result and the moving image are displayed. Nevertheless, in a related field of invention, Choi teaches the computer program causing the computer to further execute a process of recording a screen on which the collation result and the moving image are displayed (see Choi at least para[0036] Next, the traffic volume calculation unit (120) compares the first traffic volume calculated at the first location during the first time or an arbitrary time t with the first traffic volume and the second traffic volume at the second location where fixed traffic volume collection equipment is installed near the first location.).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention with a reasonable expectation of success to combine the operating device to detect and display traffic information in Lee with to collate the first traffic volume with the second traffic volume recognized by subjecting the image to an image recognition process in Choi in order to allow for to estimate the annual average daily traffic volume (see Choi para[0014]).
Regarding claim 19, Lee, Okino and Choi remain applied as claim 11. Lee teaches The non-transitory computer-readable storage medium storing a computer program (see Lee para [0094] In addition, as another aspect of the present invention, the above-described proposal or operation of the invention is by means of a "computer" (a comprehensive concept including a system on chip (SoC) or a (micro) processor)) ,for causing the computer to execute a process of displaying, on the display apparatus (see Lee para[0091] Meanwhile, the operating device 3 may receive and store or display a road image or a segmented image, and may receive and display a result of object tracking.).
However, Lee does not expressly disclose or otherwise teach accuracy of detection by the infrastructure sensor, the accuracy being calculated based on a ratio between the first traffic volume and the second traffic volume, and time information indicating the period. Nevertheless, in a related field of invention, Choi teaches accuracy of detection by the infrastructure sensor, the accuracy being calculated based on a ratio between the first traffic volume and the second traffic volume, and time information indicating the period. (see Choi abstract estimating ratios of the first traffic volume and the second traffic volume to estimate an annual average daily traffic volume at the first position; see Choi at least para [0067] For example, as shown in Fig. 4, estimated traffic volume information can be provided through a homepage. Additionally, it is possible to provide a service that searches for total traffic volume and hourly traffic volume for a certain period of time or a specific date.).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention with a reasonable expectation of success to combine the operating device to detect and display traffic information in Lee with to collate the first traffic volume with the second traffic volume recognized by subjecting the image to an image recognition process in Choi in order to allow for to estimate the annual average daily traffic volume (see Choi para[0014]).
Regarding claim 20, Lee, Okino and Choi remain applied as claim 11. Lee teaches the non-transitory computer-readable storage medium storing a computer program (see Lee para [0094] In addition, as another aspect of the present invention, the above-described proposal or operation of the invention is by means of a "computer" (a comprehensive concept including a system on chip (SoC) or a (micro) processor)). However, Lee does not expressly disclose or otherwise teach wherein the time information includes a date and a time on and at which the period ends. Nevertheless, in a related field of invention, Choi teaches wherein the time information includes a date and a time on and at which the period ends. (see Choi at least para[0067]For example, as shown in Fig. 4, estimated traffic volume information can be provided through a homepage. Additionally, it is possible to provide a service that searches for total traffic volume and hourly traffic volume for a certain period of time or a specific date.).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention with a reasonable expectation of success to combine the operating device to detect and display traffic information in Lee with to collate the first traffic volume with the second traffic volume recognized by subjecting the image to an image recognition process in Choi in order to allow for to estimate the annual average daily traffic volume (see Choi para[0014]).
Regarding claim 21, Lee, Okino and Choi remain applied as claim 1. However, Lee does not expressly disclose or otherwise teach a trajectory data receiving circuitry configured to receive trajectory data indicating a running trajectory of a vehicle detected by the infrastructure sensor; and a setting screen display portion configured to display the running trajectory superimposed on a camera image of the measurement area. Nevertheless, in a related field of invention, Okino teaches a trajectory data receiving circuitry configured to receive trajectory data indicating a running trajectory of a vehicle detected by the infrastructure sensor; and a setting screen display portion configured to display the running trajectory superimposed on a camera image of the measurement area(See Okino para[0076] The position information of the distance range may be input to, for example, the object information generation device 1 or the processing device 2. Alternatively, when the object information generator 1 includes a GPS and a directional sensor,para[0082] Generate traffic information as shown in (b). The traffic information is, for example, numerical information superimposed on map information, image data as shown in FIG. 10B)
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention with a reasonable expectation of success to combine the operating device to detect and display traffic information in Lee with the second traffic volume obtained different from the sensor as taught in Okino in order to allow for to process the huge amount of signals quickly (see Okino para[0004]).
Regarding claim 22, Lee, Okino and Choi remain applied as claim 1. Lee teaches further comprising: a coordinate adjustment circuitry configured to receive a user input for adjusting a position or an angle of the running trajectory to fit within a lane in the camera image, the user input including selection of at least one adjustment button corresponding to an adjustment direction and an adjustment amount(see Lee para[0062] Meanwhile, in S620 described above, a lane recognition region may be set for each of the plurality of adjusted divided images by using the ratio coordinates of the lane recognition regions obtained from each divided image in the previous step. If the lane recognition area is set according to the ratio coordinates, as shown in Fig. 4, even if the image size is reduced by reducing the resolution of the image, since the coordinates of the lane recognition area are normalized at a ratio according to the resolution size, even the reduced image is before reduction. A lane recognition area may be displayed at a location corresponding to the image. Accordingly, the lane recognition area to which the lane identification information in each divided image is assigned may also be displayed in a position and shape corresponding to the image before reduction even in the reduced image; para[0063] In the following description, the "adjusted" split image is simply referred to as "split image", and the size of the "split image" may be reduced from the original image or may be the original size.)
; and a setting information transmitting circuitry configured to generate and transmit correction data based on the adjustment direction and the adjustment amount to the infrastructure sensor to adjust a lane region in a coordinate space of the infrastructure sensor (See Lee para[0088] The communication unit 25 may transmit the analyzed result to an external system (eg, the operating device 3). In addition, the storage unit 26 may store an original road image, divided images, a reduction ratio applied to each of the divided images, information on a detected/tracked object,).
Regarding claim 23, Lee, Okino and Choi remain applied as claim 11. However, Lee does not expressly disclose or otherwise teach for causing the computer to execute: a process of receiving trajectory data indicating a running trajectory of a vehicle detected by the infrastructure sensor; and a process of displaying the running trajectory superimposed on the camera image. Nevertheless, in a related field of invention, Okino teaches for causing the computer to execute: a process of receiving trajectory data indicating a running trajectory of a vehicle detected by the infrastructure sensor; and a process of displaying the running trajectory superimposed on the camera image(See Okino para[0076] The position information of the distance range may be input to, for example, the object information generation device 1 or the processing device 2. Alternatively, when the object information generator 1 includes a GPS and a directional sensor,para[0082] Generate traffic information as shown in (b). The traffic information is, for example, numerical information superimposed on map information, image data as shown in FIG. 10B).
Regarding claim 22, Lee, Okino and Choi remain applied as claim 1. Lee teaches for causing the computer to execute: a process of receiving a user input for adjusting a position or an angle of the running trajectory to fit within a lane in the camera image, the user input including selection of at least one adjustment button corresponding to an adjustment direction and an adjustment amount(see Lee para[0062] Meanwhile, in S620 described above, a lane recognition region may be set for each of the plurality of adjusted divided images by using the ratio coordinates of the lane recognition regions obtained from each divided image in the previous step. If the lane recognition area is set according to the ratio coordinates, as shown in Fig. 4, even if the image size is reduced by reducing the resolution of the image, since the coordinates of the lane recognition area are normalized at a ratio according to the resolution size, even the reduced image is before reduction. A lane recognition area may be displayed at a location corresponding to the image. Accordingly, the lane recognition area to which the lane identification information in each divided image is assigned may also be displayed in a position and shape corresponding to the image before reduction even in the reduced image; para[0063] In the following description, the "adjusted" split image is simply referred to as "split image", and the size of the "split image" may be reduced from the original image or may be the original size.)
; and a process of generating and transmitting correction data based on the adjustment direction and the adjustment amount to the infrastructure sensor to adjust a lane region in a coordinate space of the infrastructure sensor
(See Lee para[0088] The communication unit 25 may transmit the analyzed result to an external system (eg, the operating device 3). In addition, the storage unit 26 may store an original road image, divided images, a reduction ratio applied to each of the divided images, information on a detected/tracked object,).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/NAZIA AFRIN/Examiner, Art Unit 3666
/SCOTT A BROWNE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3666