Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities:
The claim recites “…a container configured to store the reagent disk in an inside of the container…”, however, it should recite “…a container configured to store the reagent disk inside of the container…”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitations are: "drive device" in claim 1 and “heat removing device” in claim 8.
The ”drive device” is defined in the specification as a motor (specification, para 0031 and para 0052). Under the 3-prong analysis, the limitation should be interpreted under 112(f) for the following reasons:
The claim limitation uses the term ‘device’ which is a generic place holder for the
term ‘means’.
The generic placeholder is modified by functional language. The functional language
is ‘to rotate the reagent disk in a horizonal direction’.
The generic placeholder is not modified by sufficient structure, material, or acts for
performing the claimed function. See MPEP §2181(I). The term "device" is not
modified by sufficient structure.
The ‘heat removing device’ is defined as a pipe that causes a refrigerant to flow through or a thermoelectric element (Specification, para 0029). Under the 3-prong analysis, the limitation should be interpreted under 112(f) for the following reasons:
The claim limitation uses the term ‘device’ which is a generic place holder for the
term ‘means’.
The generic placeholder is modified by functional language. The functional language
is ‘heat removing’.
The generic placeholder is not modified by sufficient structure, material, or acts for
performing the claimed function. See MPEP §2181(I). The term "device" is not
modified by sufficient structure.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Claim 4 recites the limitation "a plurality of the fans". The limitation “the fans” is not mentioned in claim 1 which claim 4 in dependent upon. The limitation could be amended to read as “a plurality of fans”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2, and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Hirami et al (JP 6416673 B2). The examiner has obtained a machine translation of the JP document above. The rejection below is based off the machine translation.
Regarding claim 1, Hirami teaches a reagent cooling box comprising: a reagent disk ('reagent disk', para 0028) configured to hold a plurality of reagent vessels ('reagent bottles', para 0028) that holds reagents; a container configured to store the reagent disk in an inside of the container ('reagent cold storage cabinet', para 0028); a drive device configured to rotate the reagent disk in a horizontal direction ('drive unit', para 0028, Figure 3); and a fan provided to the reagent disk in a direction in which air can be blown in a rotation direction of the reagent disk ('circulation device', 0031).
Regarding claim 2, Hirami teaches the invention of claim 1. Hirami further teaches in the fan, an aspiration direction and a discharge direction are on a straight line, and an area on an aspiration side is equal to an area on a discharge side (para 0031, Figure 3, [20]).
Regarding claim 10, Hirami teaches the reagent cooling box invention of claim 1. Hirami further teaches an automatic analysis device comprising the reagent cooling box ('automatic analyzer', para 0022).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3 and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hirami et al (JP 6416673 B2) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Wang et al (US 20070104614 A1).
Regarding claim 3, Hirami teaches the reagent cooling box invention of claim 1.
Hirami does not teach the fan is any one of an axial fan, a mixed fan, or a sirocco fan.
However, Wang teaches an automatic chemistry analyzer comprising a reagent disk assembly (Abstract). Wang further teaches a temperature-controlled cavity inside the reagent disk assembly (para 0029) which includes an axial fan (para 0019) for the benefit of maintaining the reagent at an appropriate reaction temperature (para 0038). Thus, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify Hirami with an axial fan as taught by Wang for the benefit of maintaining the reagent at an appropriate reaction temperature (para 0038).
Regarding claim 6, Hirami teaches the reagent cooling box invention of claim 1. Hirami further teaches the reagent disk supports the fan such that the bottom of the fan is positioned below the reagent disk (Figure 3).
Hirami does not teach the reagent disk supports the reagent vessel such that the bottom of the reaction vessel is positioned below the reagent disk.
However, Wang teaches the reagent disk supports the reagent vessel such that a bottom of the reaction vessel is positioned below the reagent disk (Figure 3a) for the benefit of improving light absorbance measurements (para 0061). Thus, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify Hirami with the reagent disk supporting the reagent vessel such that the bottom of the reaction vessel is positioned below the reagent disk as taught by Wang for the benefit of improving absorbance measurements (para 0061).
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hirami et al (JP 6416673 B2) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Xu et al (CN 207550945 U). The examiner has obtained a machine translation of the CN document above from OrbitExpress. The rejection below is based off the machine translation.
Regarding claim 4, Hirami teaches the reagent cooling box invention of claim 1.
Hirami does not teach a plurality of the fans are provided to the reagent disk at equal intervals so as to have the same air blowing direction.
However, Xu teaches a reagent disk with circulating fan ('reagent tray', para 0009). Xu further teaches that at least two fans are provided to the reagent disk at equal intervals so as to have the same air blowing direction (para 0020), for the benefit of uniform and constant temperature of the reagent disk (para 0020). Thus, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify Hirami with a plurality of fans so that they are provided to the reagent disk at equal intervals so as to have the same air blowing direction as taught by Xu for the benefit of uniform and constant temperature of the reagent disk (para 0020).
Claims 5, 7, 8, and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hirami et al (JP 6416673 B2) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Niiyama et al. (US 20180164336 A1).
Regarding claim 5, Hirami teaches the reagent cooling box invention of claim 1. Hirami further teaches the fan is installed below the reagent disk (Figure 3).
Hirami does not teach the reagent cooling box further comprises a spacer provided between an upper surface of the reagent disk above the fan and the container.
However, Niiyama teaches an automatic analyzer that equalizes the temperature in a reagent container storage apparatus (Abstract). Niiyama teaches a structure interposed between the reagent storage chamber and the inner wall (para 0029) for the benefit of transferring heat efficiently (para 0029). This structure is interpreted as a spacer. Thus, it would be obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify Hirami with a spacer between an upper surface of the reagent disk above the fan and the container as taught by Niiyama for the benefit of transferring heat efficiently (para 0029).
Regarding claim 7, Hirami teaches the reagent cooling box invention of claim 1. Hirami further teaches a container ('reagent cold storage cabinet', para 0028) with a lid provided above the opening (para 0024).
Hirami does not teach the container including a thermally conductive heat absorbing container and stores the reagent disk and a heat insulating container that stores the heat absorbing container.
However, Niiyama teaches the container including a thermally conductive heat absorbing container and stores the reagent disk and a heat insulating container that stores the heat absorbing container (para 0026, Figure 2) for the benefit of improving cooling efficiency (para 0026). Thus, it would be obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify Hirami with the container including a thermally conductive heat absorbing container and stores the reagent disk and a heat insulating container that stores the heat absorbing container as taught by Niiyama for the benefit of improving cooling efficiency (para 0026).
Regarding claim 8, Hirami in view of Niiyama teaches the reagent cooling box invention of claim 7.
Hirami does not teach the container including a heat removing device provided on a side surface or bottom surface of the heat absorbing container.
However, Niiyama teaches the container including a heat removing device provided on a side surface or bottom surface of the heat absorbing container ('heat sink', para 0040) for the benefit of cooling the reagent storage apparatus more efficiently (para 0040). A heat sink is interpreted as a thermoelectric element. Thus, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify Hirami and Niiyama with the container including a heat removing device provided on a side surface or bottom surface of the heat absorbing container as taught by Niiyama for the benefit of cooling the reagent storage apparatus more efficiently (para 0040).
Regarding claim 9, Hirami teaches the reagent cooling box invention of claim 1. Hirami further teaches a controller configured to control each mechanism including fan (para 0019). Hirami further teaches the container includes a lid (para 0024).
However, Hirami does not teach the controller being configured to stop the fan when the lid is opened in a cooled state of the container, and operate the fan after the lid is closed.
However, Niiyama teaches the lid opening/closing mechanism (para 0019) for the benefit of efficiently switching out samples. Thus, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify Hirami with a lid opening/closing mechanism as taught by Niiyam for the benefit of efficiently switching out samples.
Conclusion
/H.R.B./Examiner, Art Unit 1798
/CHARLES CAPOZZI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1798