REMARKS
1. On pages 10-11 of the remark Applicant argued prior art does not describe collecting roaming communication quality information in accordance with a communication mode in the second network and using the roaming communication quality information to determine whether or not the UE can continue to receive, from the second network, a service that the first network is providing to the communication device after switching a connection of the communication device from the first network to the second network as recited in the independent claims.
In response:
The examiner respectfully disagrees. First examiner notes here that he must give each limitation of its broadest reasonable interpretation. In the claim Applicant does not further clarify the claim term “roaming communication quality information”. Prior art Kumar at Fig.8 shows PLMN A1 (=first network) receive/collect handover communication information and optional information from PLMN A2 (=second network) and then the PLMN A1 send it to the UE 100 that indicates if PLMN A2 supports disaster inbound roaming service or not corresponding to roaming communication quality information in accordance with a communication mode in the second network. Prior art Kumar at Fig.8 also shows first the UE is registered to PLMN A1 (=first network) for disaster inbound roaming service. When the UE receives /collect handover communication information and optional information, the UE can determine whether the PLMN A2 can provide disaster inbound roaming service and when the PLMN A2 CAN support or provide disaster inbound roaming service, the UE can continue to receive disaster inbound roaming service from PLMN A2 (=second network). Sending handover communication information and optional information from PLMN A2 to PLMN A1 corresponding to the roaming communication quality information shared between the first network and the second network.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
3. Claims 1-7 and 9-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Publication No, US 2023/0119045 to Abdelmalek et al. (hereinafter Abdelmalek) in view of U.S. Publication No, US 2022/0256493 to Kumar et al. (hereinafter Kumar)
As to claims 1, 18 and 19, Abdelmalek discloses a communication control apparatus comprising at least one processor that performs:
by a switching candidate detection unit, detecting a second network that is a roaming network as a switching candidate for a communication device connected to a first network (Abdelmalek; Fig.5B; [0056]; [0058] Fig.8; [0078]-[0080] shows and discloses inter-LMN handover wherein the source PLMN detecting a target PLMN for handover (=switching) and sends a request to the target PLMN) ;
Abdelmalek discloses inter-PLMN handover wherein the UE is handed over or switched from the 1st PLMN to 2nd PLMN. Abdelmalek fails to explicitly disclose of determining whether or not the second network can continue to provide the service that the first network is providing to the communication device. However, Kumar discloses
by a service quality information collection unit, collecting roaming communication quality information in accordance with a communication mode in the second network (Kumar; Fig.8; [0119]-[0125] shows and discloses PLMN A1 (=first network) receive/collect handover communication information and optional information from PLMN A2 and then send it to the UE 100 that indicates if PLMN A2 supports disaster inbound roaming service or not corresponding to roaming communication quality information in accordance with a communication mode in the second network); and
by a service availability determination unit, determining whether or not the communication device can continue to receive, from the second network, a service that the first network is providing to the communication device after switching a connection of the communication device from the first network to the second network, based on the roaming communication quality information shared between the first network and the second network (Kumar; Fig.8; [0119]-[0125] shows and discloses PLMN A1 (=first network) receive/collect handover communication information and optional information from PLMN A2 and then send it to the UE 100 that indicates if PLMN A2 supports disaster inbound roaming service or not corresponding to roaming communication quality information. Prior art Fig.8 also shows first the UE is registered to PLMN A1 (=first network) for disaster inbound roaming service. When the UE receives /collect handover communication information and optional information, the UE can determine whether the PLMN A2 can provide disaster inbound roaming service and when the PLMN A2 support disaster inbound roaming service, the UE can continue to receive disaster inbound roaming service from PLMN A2 (=second network). Sending handover communication information and optional information from PLMN A2 to PLMN A1 corresponding to the roaming communication quality information shared between the first network and the second network).
by a connection control unit, switching the connection of the communication device from the first network to the second network, if it is determined that the communication device can continue to receive the service (Kumar; Fig.8; [0119]-[0125] shows and discloses of deciding whether to initiate handover procedure to target PLMN based on determination that target PLMN also can provide disaster inbound roaming service. If the UE (100) determines that the target PLMN A2 supports disaster inbound roaming, the UE (100) can trigger registration on PLMN A2 for disaster inbound roaming).
It is obvious for a person of ordinary skilled in the art to combine the teachings before the effective filing date of the invention. One would be motivated to combine the teachings in order to use the limited resources in an effective way and continue to get the same service from the second PLMN when the first PLMN is not available.
As to claims 2, the rejection of claim 1 as listed above is incorporated herein. In addition, Abdelmalek-Kumar discloses wherein
the at least one processor further performs, by the service quality information collection unit, collecting service quality information in the second network (Abdelmalek; [0056]-[0059], discloses MSO AMF 550 may perform a handover procedure 575 in collaboration with MNO AMF 555. According to an exemplary embodiment, the handover procedure may result in provisioning a network slice according to an exemplary embodiment of the inter-operator mobility service, as described herein. For example, an MNO network slice may be established based on information associated with an MSO network slice) and
the service availability determination unit determines whether or not the second network can continue to provide the service to the communication device, based on the service quality information shared between the first network and the second network (Abdelmalek; [0056]-[0059] discloses when MSO UE 205 may be out of a coverage area associated with a radio frequency/band of the MSO, MSO UE 205 may attach to an MNO gNB, for example, and also be provisioned a network slice, which may include a shared AMF or a dedicated AMF, as well as other core devices of an MNO core network, as previously described herein. In this regard, the inter-operator mobility service may support an inter-PLMN handover between the MSO and the MNO. For example, the inter-PLMN handover may relate to a 5G SA MSO network to a 5G SA network slice of the MNO network).
As to claims 3, the rejection of claim 2 as listed above is incorporated herein. In addition, Abdelmalek-Kumar discloses wherein
the service quality information collection unit is provided in the second network (Abdelmalek; [0056]-[0059], discloses MSO gNB 505 may generate and transmit 565 a request to an MSO AMF 550. As further illustrated, an exemplary environment may include an MNO AMF 555 and an MNO gNB 560 that may support the handover between the MSO and MNO networks. Request 570 may include a request for a handover. Request 570 may include various types of data to enable the handover, such as an MNO PLMN identifier, a globally unique AMF identifier (GUATI) (e.g., of MSO AMF 550), and source container information (e.g., a target gNB identifier, etc.). Request 570 may include an identifier of MNO gNB 560. In response to receiving request 570, MSO AMF 550 may determine whether to perform a handover procedure based on request 570, for example), and
the service availability determination unit determines whether or not the second network can continue to provide the service to the communication device, based on the service quality information shared from the second network in a switching procedure of the communication device from the first network by the connection control unit (Abdelmalek; [0056]-[0059] discloses when MSO UE 205 may be out of a coverage area associated with a radio frequency/band of the MSO, MSO UE 205 may attach to an MNO gNB, for example, and also be provisioned a network slice, which may include a shared AMF or a dedicated AMF, as well as other core devices of an MNO core network, as previously described herein. In this regard, the inter-operator mobility service may support an inter-PLMN handover between the MSO and the MNO. For example, the inter-PLMN handover may relate to a 5G SA MSO network to a 5G SA network slice of the MNO network).
As to claims 4, the rejection of claim 2 as listed above is incorporated herein. In addition, Abdelmalek-Kumar discloses wherein
the service quality information collection unit is provided in the second network (Abdelmalek; [0056]-[0059] discloses MSO gNB 505 may generate and transmit 565 a request to an MSO AMF 550. As further illustrated, an exemplary environment may include an MNO AMF 555 and an MNO gNB 560 that may support the handover between the MSO and MNO networks. Request 570 may include a request for a handover. Request 570 may include various types of data to enable the handover, such as an MNO PLMN identifier, a globally unique AMF identifier (GUATI) (e.g., of MSO AMF 550), and source container information (e.g., a target gNB identifier, etc.). Request 570 may include an identifier of MNO gNB 560. In response to receiving request 570, MSO AMF 550 may determine whether to perform a handover procedure based on request 570, for example), and
the service availability determination unit determines whether or not the second network can continue to provide the service to the communication device, based on the service quality information shared from the second network in response to a query from the first network (Abdelmalek; [0056]-[0059] discloses when MSO UE 205 may be out of a coverage area associated with a radio frequency/band of the MSO, MSO UE 205 may attach to an MNO gNB, for example, and also be provisioned a network slice, which may include a shared AMF or a dedicated AMF, as well as other core devices of an MNO core network, as previously described herein. In this regard, the inter-operator mobility service may support an inter-PLMN handover between the MSO and the MNO. For example, the inter-PLMN handover may relate to a 5G SA MSO network to a 5G SA network slice of the MNO network).
As to claims 5, the rejection of claim 4 as listed above is incorporated herein. In addition, Abdelmalek-Kumar discloses wherein the query is made via a Network Exposure Function(NEF) (Abdelmalek; [0030] discloses Core devices may also include a network device that provides a multi-RAT functionality such as a service capability exposure function (SCEF) with a NEF)
As to claims 6, the rejection of claim 2 as listed above is incorporated herein. In addition, Abdelmalek-Kumar discloses wherein the service quality information in the second network includes information concerning at least one of the following: service quality, coverage, service provision method, and switching method from the first network to the second network (Abdelmalek; [0056]-[0059] discloses MSO gNB 505 may generate and transmit 565 a request to an MSO AMF 550. As further illustrated, an exemplary environment may include an MNO AMF 555 and an MNO gNB 560 that may support the handover between the MSO and MNO networks. Request 570 may include a request for a handover. Request 570 may include various types of data to enable the handover, such as an MNO PLMN identifier, a globally unique AMF identifier (GUATI) (e.g., of MSO AMF 550), and source container information (e.g., a target gNB identifier, etc.). Request 570 may include an identifier of MNO gNB 560. In response to receiving request 570, MSO AMF 550 may determine whether to perform a handover procedure based on request 570, for example)
As to claims 7, the rejection of claim 2 as listed above is incorporated herein. In addition, Abdelmalek-Kumar discloses wherein the service quality information collection unit collects the service quality information in accordance with the communication mode in the second network (Abdelmalek; [0056]-[0059] discloses MSO gNB 505 may generate and transmit 565 a request to an MSO AMF 550. As further illustrated, an exemplary environment may include an MNO AMF 555 and an MNO gNB 560 that may support the handover between the MSO and MNO networks. Request 570 may include a request for a handover. Request 570 may include various types of data to enable the handover, such as an MNO PLMN identifier, a globally unique AMF identifier (GUATI) (e.g., of MSO AMF 550), and source container information (e.g., a target gNB identifier, etc.). Request 570 may include an identifier of MNO gNB 560. In response to receiving request 570, MSO AMF 550 may determine whether to perform a handover procedure based on request 570, for example).
As to claims 9, the rejection of claim 7 as listed above is incorporated herein. In addition, Abdelmalek-Kumar discloses wherein
the service quality information collection unit collects network sharing communication quality information in communication by sharing a part of a network facility of the first network and the second network, as the service quality information in accordance with the communication mode in the second network (Abdelmalek; [0056]-[0059] discloses MSO AMF 550 may perform a handover procedure 575 in collaboration with MNO AMF 555. According to an exemplary embodiment, the handover procedure may result in provisioning a network slice according to an exemplary embodiment of the inter-operator mobility service, as described herein. For example, an MNO network slice may be established based on information associated with an MSO network slice. Alternatively, for example, when there was not a pre-existing MSO network slice (e.g., via MSO gNB 505), MNO AMF 555 may or may not establish an MNO network slice. As an example, a default MNO network slice may be established). and
the service availability determination unit determines whether or not the second network can continue to provide the service to the communication device, based on the network sharing communication quality information shared between the first network and the second network (Abdelmalek; [0056]-[0059] discloses MSO AMF 550 may perform a handover procedure 575 in collaboration with MNO AMF 555. According to an exemplary embodiment, the handover procedure may result in provisioning a network slice according to an exemplary embodiment of the inter-operator mobility service, as described herein. For example, an MNO network slice may be established based on information associated with an MSO network slice. Alternatively, for example, when there was not a pre-existing MSO network slice (e.g., via MSO gNB 505), MNO AMF 555 may or may not establish an MNO network slice. As an example, a default MNO network slice may be established).
As to claims 10, the rejection of claim 2 as listed above is incorporated herein. In addition, Abdelmalek-Kumar discloses wherein the service quality information collection unit collects the service quality information in the second network in advance before the connection control unit initiates a switching procedure of the communication device from the first network (Kumar; Fig.8; [0119]-[0125] discloses the source PLMN decides whether to initiate handover procedure to target PLMN based on determination that target PLMN also can provide disaster inbound roaming service. The source PLMN determines whether to initiate a handover procedure to target PLMN based on the list of the PLMN IDs stored in the PLMN-A, this list of the PLMN IDs can be provided by the UE (100) to the AMF or the PLMN-D or the list can be configured in the PLMN-A by PLMN-D or by the HPLMN of the UE (100) based on O&M mechanism or any other procedure).
As to claims 11, the rejection of claim 10 as listed above is incorporated herein. In addition, Abdelmalek-Kumar discloses wherein the service quality information is shared between the first network and the second network in advance before the connection control unit initiates the switching procedure of the communication device from the first network (Kumar; Fig.8; [0119]-[0125] discloses the source PLMN decides whether to initiate handover procedure to target PLMN based on determination that target PLMN also can provide disaster inbound roaming service. The source PLMN determines whether to initiate a handover procedure to target PLMN based on the list of the PLMN IDs stored in the PLMN-A, this list of the PLMN IDs can be provided by the UE (100) to the AMF or the PLMN-D or the list can be configured in the PLMN-A by PLMN-D or by the HPLMN of the UE (100) based on O&M mechanism or any other procedure).
As to claims 12, the rejection of claim 1 as listed above is incorporated herein. In addition, Abdelmalek-Kumar discloses wherein
the at least one processor further performs, by a movement information acquisition unit, acquiring movement information concerning the movement of the communication device (Abdelmalek; [0053]-[0057] in response to receiving request 515, MSO UE 205 may perform a procedure based on the request 515. For example, MSO UE 205 may scan and measure frequencies/bands of the MNO based on the data (e.g., a measurement object, an AVP, etc.) included in request 515. In this way, MSO UE 205 may scan and measure for cells/channels, which may be served by an MNO gNB or another access device 107 of an MNO access network 105. MSO UE 205 may generate and transmit 525 a response. For example, response 525 may include measurements of the cells or channels measured. Although not illustrated, MSO gNB 505 may evaluate response 530 and select a radio frequency/band to which MSO UE 205 may use to attach to the MNO gNB or another RAN device of access network 105 (e.g., MNO access network 105) in relation to a handover procedure), and
the switching candidate detection unit detects the second network to which the communication device is moving (Abdelmalek; [0053]-[0057] in response to receiving request 515, MSO UE 205 may perform a procedure based on the request 515. For example, MSO UE 205 may scan and measure frequencies/bands of the MNO based on the data (e.g., a measurement object, an AVP, etc.) included in request 515. In this way, MSO UE 205 may scan and measure for cells/channels, which may be served by an MNO gNB or another access device 107 of an MNO access network 105. MSO UE 205 may generate and transmit 525 a response. For example, response 525 may include measurements of the cells or channels measured. Although not illustrated, MSO gNB 505 may evaluate response 530 and select a radio frequency/band to which MSO UE 205 may use to attach to the MNO gNB or another RAN device of access network 105 (e.g., MNO access network 105) in relation to a handover procedure)
As to claims 13, the rejection of claim 1 as listed above is incorporated herein. In addition, Abdelmalek-Kumar discloses wherein a first network operator operating the first network and a second network operator operating the second network are different from each other (Abdelmalek; [0056] discloses the inter-operator mobility service may support an inter-PLMN handover between the MSO and the MNO. For example, the inter-PLMN handover may relate to a 5G SA MSO network to a 5G SA network slice of the MNO network)
As to claims 14, the rejection of claim 1 as listed above is incorporated herein. In addition, Abdelmalek-Kumar discloses wherein
one of the first network and the second network is a home network to which a user of the communication device subscribes for communication service (Abdelmalek; [0056] discloses the inter-operator mobility service may support an inter-PLMN handover between the MSO and the MNO. For example, the inter-PLMN handover may relate to a 5G SA MSO network to a 5G SA network slice of the MNO network. Here MSO network corresponding to home network), and
the other of the first network and the second network is the roaming network to which the communication device can roam (Abdelmalek; [0056] discloses the inter-operator mobility service may support an inter-PLMN handover between the MSO and the MNO. For example, the inter-PLMN handover may relate to a 5G SA MSO network to a 5G SA network slice of the MNO network. Here MNO network corresponding to roaming network).
As to claims 15, the rejection of claim 1 as listed above is incorporated herein. In addition, Abdelmalek-Kumar discloses wherein the first network and the second network are roaming networks to which the communication device can roam (Abdelmalek; [0056]-[0059] discloses inter-PLMN handover means the UE can switch from 1st PLMN to 2nd PLMN or from 2nd PLMN to 1st PLMN means 1st PLMN and 2nd PLMN are roaming networks).
As to claims 16, the rejection of claim 1 as listed above is incorporated herein. In addition, Abdelmalek-Kumar discloses wherein the first network and the second network share a part of a network facility (Abdelmalek; Abstract; [0012] discloses the various 5G SA architectures may include shared core devices between an MNO and an MSO and dedicated core devices of an MSO, only shared core devices between the MNO and the MSO)
As to claims 17, the rejection of claim 1 as listed above is incorporated herein. In addition, Abdelmalek-Kumar discloses wherein
the switching candidate detection unit detects a plurality of the second networks (Abdelmalek; [0053]-[0056] discloses MSO UE 205 may scan and measure frequencies/bands of the MSO based on the data (e.g., a measurement object, an AVP, etc.) included in request 415. In this way, MSO UE 205 may scan and measure for cells/channels, which may be served by MNO gNB 210, and associated with the MSO. MSO UE 205 may generate and transmit 425 a response. For example, response 430 may include measurements of the cells or channels measured. Although not illustrated, MNO gNB 210 may evaluate response 430 and select a radio frequency/band to which MSO UE 205 may use to attach to MNO gNB 210 or another RAN device of access network 105 (e.g., MNO RAN),
the service availability determination unit determines whether or not the plurality of the second networks can continue to provide the service to the communication device (Abdelmalek; [0053]-[0056] discloses MSO UE 205 may scan and measure frequencies/bands of the MSO based on the data (e.g., a measurement object, an AVP, etc.) included in request 415. In this way, MSO UE 205 may scan and measure for cells/channels, which may be served by MNO gNB 210, and associated with the MSO. MSO UE 205 may generate and transmit 425 a response. For example, response 430 may include measurements of the cells or channels measured. Although not illustrated, MNO gNB 210 may evaluate response 430 and select a radio frequency/band to which MSO UE 205 may use to attach to MNO gNB 210 or another RAN device of access network 105 (e.g., MNO RAN), and
the connection control unit switches the connection of the communication device to one of the second networks determined to be capable of continuously providing the service to the communication device (Abdelmalek; [0053]-[0056] discloses MSO UE 205 may scan and measure frequencies/bands of the MSO based on the data (e.g., a measurement object, an AVP, etc.) included in request 415. In this way, MSO UE 205 may scan and measure for cells/channels, which may be served by MNO gNB 210, and associated with the MSO. MSO UE 205 may generate and transmit 425 a response. For example, response 430 may include measurements of the cells or channels measured. Although not illustrated, MNO gNB 210 may evaluate response 430 and select a radio frequency/band to which MSO UE 205 may use to attach to MNO gNB 210 or another RAN device of access network 105 (e.g., MNO RAN).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/FAISAL CHOUDHURY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2478