DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Claims 1-36 withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected groups, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 7/8/2026.
Applicant’s election without traverse of claims 37-50 in the reply filed on 7/8/2026 is acknowledged.
Information Disclosure Statement
The IDS is objected to because the cited document entitled “Space-time-coding Digital Metasurfaces” by Zhang, et al. has to apparent relevance to the disclosure and is not cited in the specification as relevant prior art.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities: the paragraph numbers of the specification contain inconsistent amounts of digits. For example, instant specification paragraphs [0001]-[0099] contain 4 digits, but after this, there are 5 digits from paragraphs [00100]-[00152].
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 49 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 49, the phrase "such as" renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitations following the phrase are part of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2173.05(d).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 37-39, 41-44, 46, and 49-50. are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Gan (Plant-inspired adhesive and tough hydrogel based on Ag-Lignin nanoparticles-triggered dynamic redox catechol chemistry).
Regarding claims 37- 41, Gan discloses a method for preparing hydrogels containing silver-lignin nanoparticles (Ag-NPs) comprising: Forming a hydrogel precursor by combining
Silver-lignin nanoparticles (AG-NPs) as the nanoparticle component;
Acrylic acid (AA) as the organic acid and acrylic acid component;
Ammonium persulfate (APS) as an oxidizing agent, the examiner notes that this is the exemplified oxidizing agent used by the applicant;
Poly(ethylene glycol) dimethacrylate (PEGDA) as a polymerized copolymer containing AA. The examiner notes that this is considered as an acceptable copolymer according to instant specification paragraph [00113]; and
Deionized water to form an aqueous solution.
The mixture is then incubated for 20 minutes at room temperature to form a hydrogel (Methods: Preparation of hydrogel).
Regarding claim 42, Gan further teaches the use of P(AA-co-AM) as a polymerized copolymer containing AA in a hydrogel precursor, saying, “and gels with carboxyl groups were prepared from poly(acrylic acid-co-acrylamide) P(AA-co-AM), Pectin and Ag-Lignin NPs (Supplementary Table 9)” (in Supplementary Notes 21).
Regarding claim 43, Gan applies as described above regarding the addition of a polymerized copolymer containing AA to an aqueous solution comprising the claimed components and further teaches several hydrogels formed from the addition of PEGDA to solutions containing AA and nanoparticles (Supplemental Information: Table 5). Regarding the “one or more solutions comprising…”, by “solutions” it is taken to mean the combination of precursor components in an aqueous solution without respect to the order of addition of the components.
Regarding claim 46, Gan also teaches a method for preparing the Ag-NPs prior to combining with the components of the hydrogel precursor (Page 9, Methods: Preparation of Ag-Lignin NPs).
Regarding claim 49 and 50, Gan says that the hydrogel precursor us stirred, which is mechanical agitation (Methods: Preparation of hydrogel), and further states with respect to the incubation step, “First, the gelation of the hydrogel was triggered by radically enriched Ag-Lignin NPs without the need for UV and thermal treatment” (page 8, Discussion), so the hydrogel of Gan is formed without UV or heating in the incubation step.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 40 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gan in view of Ghorpade (Citric acid crosslinked carboxymethylcellulose-poly(ethylene glycol) hydrogel films for delivery of poorly soluble drugs).
Regarding claim 40, Gan applies as described above with respect to the method for preparing a hydrogel but does not disclose citric acid.
Ghorpade discloses biomedical hydrogel films crosslinked using citric acid, further teaches citric-acid used as a non-toxic crosslinking agent for hydrogel wound dressing applications (abstract, introduction). Ghorpade is analogous to the instant application because it pertains to hydrogels intended for biomedical applications.
A person having ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to see the usefulness of citric acid as a non-toxic crosslinking agent for biomedical hydrogels and , using methods known in the art, would have added it as a precursor component in the hydrogel of Gan and the results would have been predictable.
Claim 46 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gan in view of Afewerki (Combined Catalysis for Engineering Bioinspired, Lignin-Based, Long-Lasting, Adhesive, Self-Mending, Antimicrobial Hydrogels).
Regarding claim 46, Gan applies as described above with respect to the method for preparing a hydrogel but does not disclose an incubation period of between about 8 hours to about 48 hours.
Afewerki discloses an antimicrobial hydrogel containing silver-lignin nanoparticles teaches a room-temperature hydrogel precursor incubation period of 1-16 hours (Fig.2 description). The range as taught by Afewerki regarding the hydrogel precursor solution incubation period has substantial and significant overlap with the claimed range and is disclosed with sufficient specificity so as to anticipate the claimed range. See MPEP 2131.03. Afewerki is analogous to the instant disclosure because it pertains to biocompatible hydrogels containing silver-lignin nanoparticles. Further, Afewerki cites Gan in the article’s introduction.
A person having ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to combine Gan’s precursor with the teaching from Afewerki about an appropriate incubation period for hydrogel precursors comprising silver-lignin nanoparticles and the results would have been predictable.
Claims 47 and 48 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gan in view of Shuai (Stretchable, self-healing, conductive hydrogel fibers for strain sensing and triboelectric energy-harvesting smart textiles).
Regarding claims 47 and 48, Gan applies as described above with respect to the method for preparing a hydrogel and further teaches that the hydrogel of Gan is useful for skin and applied to wounds for wound repair (page 6, Antibacterial activity; Discussion). However, Gan does not disclose stretching the formed hydrogel into a fiber, nor stretching the formed hydrogel comprising a spinning process.
Shuai discloses a method of producing hydrogel fibers by extruding a pre-cured hydrogel (a formed hydrogel) into a fiber that is then spooled around a spindle (a spinning process) (Sections 2.1 and 4.2; Fig. 1(a)). The hydrogel fiber synthesis process is described as the following:
“The solution was placed in a transparent spinning storage tank and polymerized in an ultraviolet light source box (ZF-20D) for 40 min under UV light at 365 nm to form a hydrogel. Use a heating mantle to heat the storage tank to 90 °C to soften the PNA hydrogel. The softened hydrogel was extruded from the spinning head into ethyl acetate as a coagulation bath to obtain stable PNA hydrogel fibers.” (Section 4.2, Synthesis of PNA hydrogel fibers and PNA/PMA fibers)
Below is a schematic of the spinning process from Figure 1(a):
The method of extrusion would mechanically “stretch” the bulk hydrogel as it is formed into a small fiber. The examiner notes that this method of fiber formation is similar to the method described in instant application paragraph [00148] where the applicant extrudes the hydrogel through a syringe. Shuai further teaches the weaving of these hydrogel fibers into a fabric.
Shuai is analogous to the instant application because it pertains to methods of producing hydrogel fibers from formed hydrogels.
A person having ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to apply the method of producing hydrogel fibers to the hydrogel of Gan and the results would have been predictable. Further, the person of ordinary skill would be motivated to incorporate the method of hydrogel fiber formation of Shuai in the pursuit to produce a hydrogel fabric that could be adhered to wounds for treatment, as described in Gan.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Simões (Citric acid as crosslinking agent in starch/xanthan gum hydrogels produced by extrusion and thermopressing) Studies the effect of citric acid as a crosslinking agent in hydrogels. Discloses that citric acid decreases hydrogel swelling (abstract, section 3.3) and increased elongation at break (section 3.4).
Khutoryanskiy (US 20130018110 A1) teaches hydrogels produced using P(AA-co-AM) as a polymerized copolymer containing AA in the precursor (Example 6).
/KOLTON JONES/Examiner, Art Unit 1763 /JOSEPH S DEL SOLE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1763