DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
This action is responsive to the amendments filed 09/03/2026. Claims 1-2, 4-5, 7-11 are pending in this application. As directed, claim 1 has been amended; claims 3 and 6 cancelled; claims 7-11 have been newly added.
With respect to Drawings Objections: Applicant’s amendments to the Drawings filed on 09/03/2026 have overcome the Drawings Objections set forth in the Non-Final Office Action dated 06/05/2026.
With respect to Claim Objections: Applicant’s amendments to the Claims filed on 09/03/2026 have overcome the Claim Objections set forth in the Non-Final Office Action dated 06/05/2026.
Response to Arguments
With respect to 35 U.S.C. 102 & 103 Claim Rejections: Applicant(s)’ arguments filed on 09/03/2026 have been fully considered but are moot based on new ground(s) of rejection necessitated by amendments. Specifically, the previously cited prior art Chiba et al. (WO 2020209372 A1) is no longer relied upon in any rejections in this office action.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Takase et al. (U.S. Patent No. 5,448,037 A, newly cited) in view of Okazaki (U.S. Pub. No. 2015/0126682 A1, newly cited).
Regarding claim 1, Takase discloses a film heater (film heater includes transparent conductive film 3, metallic thin layer 4, first transparent protective layer 6, second transparent protective layer 7; Takase Figs.2A-2C) comprising:
a transparent substrate (first transparent protective layer 6, Takase Fig.2B) (Takase Col.6 lines 20-21 discloses: “the first transparent protective layer 6”); and
a transparent heating element (transparent conductive film 3, Takase Fig.2B) (Takase Col.2 lines 28-33 discloses: “The above-mentioned object of the present invention can be achieved by a transparent panel heater having, as a heating surface, a transparent conductive film formed on a transparent substrate and provided thereon a pair of electrodes for electrifying the transparent conductive film”),
wherein a surface (top surface of the second transparent protective layer 7, Takase Fig.2B) of the transparent substrate (first transparent protective layer 6, Takase Fig.2B) (It is noted that the prior art Takase discloses the second transparent protective layer 7 [i.e., the uppermost layer that has an exposed surface with water contact angle] is the coating on the first transparent protective layer 6 [Takase Fig.2B]; and the Instant Application describes the layer 11 [i.e., the uppermost layer that has an exposed surface with water contact angle] is the coating on the transparent substrate 10 [see Fig.1 of the Instant Application]. Therefore, the Instant Application surface of transparent substrate and the prior art Takase Application surface of transparent substrate are equivalent.) opposite to the transparent heating element (transparent conductive film 3, Takase Fig.2B),
the transparent heating element (transparent conductive film 3, Takase Fig.2B) is layered (Takase discloses the transparent conductive film 3 is layered because Takase Col.7 lines 55-59 discloses: “A laminated transparent conductive film comprising 55 titanium oxide (TiO2) (30 nm)/silver (13 nm)/titanium oxide (30 nm) was formed on a PET film having a visible light transmission of 88% and a thickness of 100 um by high-frequency ion plating.”) and comprises a first dielectric layer (“titanium oxide”, because Takase Col.7 lines 55-59 discloses: “A laminated transparent conductive film comprising 55 titanium oxide (TiO2) (30 nm)/silver (13 nm)/titanium oxide (30 nm) was formed on a PET film having a visible light transmission of 88% and a thickness of 100 um by high-frequency ion plating.”), a metal layer (“silver”, Takase Col.7 line 56 because Takase Col.7 lines 55-59 discloses: “A laminated transparent conductive film comprising 55 titanium oxide (TiO2) (30 nm)/silver (13 nm)/titanium oxide (30 nm) was formed on a PET film having a visible light transmission of 88% and a thickness of 100 um by high-frequency ion plating.”) containing one or both of silver and silver alloy (It is noted that the limitation “one or both of silver and silver alloy” is in alternative form; therefore, only one of these was required during examination. In this case, Takase discloses silver, as indicated by Takase Col.7 line 56.), and a second dielectric layer (“titanium oxide”, because Takase Col.7 lines 55-59 discloses: “A laminated transparent conductive film comprising 55 titanium oxide (TiO2) (30 nm)/silver (13 nm)/titanium oxide (30 nm) was formed on a PET film having a visible light transmission of 88% and a thickness of 100 um by high-frequency ion plating.”) in an order presented along a stacking direction of the transparent substrate (first transparent protective layer 6, Takase Fig.2B) and the transparent heating element (transparent conductive film 3, Takase Fig.2B), and
a thickness of the metal layer (“silver”, Takase Col.7 line 56 because Takase Col.7 lines 55-59 discloses: “A laminated transparent conductive film comprising 55 titanium oxide (TiO2) (30 nm)/silver (13 nm)/titanium oxide (30 nm) was formed on a PET film having a visible light transmission of 88% and a thickness of 100 um by high-frequency ion plating.”) is 3 to 20 nm (Takase Col.7 line 56 discloses: “silver (13 nm)”, which is inside of the claimed range).
Takase does not explicitly disclose:
wherein the surface has a water contact angle of 55° or less or 90° or more
Okazaki teaches:
wherein the surface has a water contact angle of 55° or less or 90° or more (It is noted that the limitation “55° or less or 90° or more” is in alternative form; therefore, only one of these was required during examination. It is noted that the primary reference Takase already discloses the surface of the transparent substrate opposite to the transparent heating element, which is the top surface of the second transparent protective 7, as cited and explained above; furthermore, Takase discloses the second transparent protective 7 can be formed of acrylic resin, as indicated by Takase Col.9 lines 51-55. And in this case, Okazaki Par.0106 teaches: “The surface of the modified acrylic resin film treated with the compound (A) usually has a water contact angle of not more than 10°, preferably not more than 5°, and more preferably not more than 4°.”. Therefore, Okazaki teaches the surface has a water contact angle of less than 55°, as required by the claim; and in combination, Takase in view of Okazaki teaches the surface of the transparent substrate opposite to the transparent heating element has a water contact angle of less than 55°, as required by the claim.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Takase, by making the surface of the transparent substrate opposite to the transparent heating element has a water contact angle of less than 55°, as taught by Okazaki, in order to suppress fogging on the exposed surface and preserve visibility during heater warm up. The modification would make condensed water to spread into a film, thereby reducing light scattering from discrete droplets, and also preserving visibility through the heater.
Regarding claim 2, Takase in view of Okazaki teaches the apparatus set forth in claim 1, Takase also discloses further comprising:
on a side (top side of the first transparent protective layer 6, Takase Fig.2B) of the transparent substrate (first transparent protective layer 6, Takase Fig.2B) opposite to the transparent heating element (transparent conductive film 3, Takase Fig.2B), a first hard coat layer (second transparent protective layer 7, Takase Fig.2B) containing a first resin component (“resin”, Takase Col.6 line 43) (Takase Col.6 lines 40-45 discloses: “The second trans parent protective layer 7, which is disposed for the mechanical and chemical protection of the electrodes 5 and the transparent conductive film3, is made of a resin or a film having a visible light transmission of 70% or more”), the first hard coat layer (second transparent protective layer 7, Takase Fig.2B) having the surface (top surface of the second transparent protective layer 7, Takase Fig.2B).
Regarding claim 7, Takase in view of Okazaki teaches the apparatus set forth in claim 1, and also teaches:
wherein the water contact angle is 55o or less (Takase in view of Okazaki teaches the water contact angle is less than 55o; as cited, explained, and incorporated in the rejection of claim 1 above).
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Takase et al. (U.S. Patent No. 5,448,037 A, newly cited) in view of Okazaki (U.S. Pub. No. 2015/0126682 A1, newly cited), and further in view of Nakatani et al. (JP 2014186985 A, newly cited, Translation is attached).
Regarding claim 4, Takase in view of Okazaki teaches the apparatus set forth in claim 1, but does not explicitly teach further comprising:
a second hard coat layer containing a second resin component and a filler between the transparent substrate and the transparent heating element.
Nakatani teaches a film heater (Nakatani Translated Abstract):
a second hard coat layer (“hard coat layer (B)”, Nakatani Translated Document on page 5 – paragraph 5) containing a second resin component (“resins”, Nakatani Translated Document on page 5 – paragraph 5) (Nakatani Translated Document on page 5 – paragraph 5 teaches: “The hard coat layer (B) is not particularly limited as long as the effects of the present invention are exhibited, but may further contain other components in addition to polyurethane. The other components are not particularly limited as long as the effects of the present invention are exhibited, and examples thereof include acrylic resins, silicone resins, epoxy resins, styrene resins, melamine resins, and alkyd resins.”) and a filler (“silica particles or zirconia particles”, Nakatani Translated Document on page 5 – paragraph 5) (Nakatani Translated Document on page 5 – paragraph 5 teaches: “The hard coat layer (B) preferably contains silica particles or zirconia particles in addition to polyurethane.”) between the transparent substrate (“light transmissive support layer (A)”, Nakatani Translated Document on page 12 – paragraphs 1, 4) (Nakatani Translated Document on page 2 – last paragraph teaches: ““Light transmissivity” includes transparency.”) and the transparent heating element (“light transmissive conductive layer (D)”, Nakatani Translated Document on page 12 – paragraphs 3, 6) (Nakatani teaches the hard coat layer (B) is between the light transmissive support layer (A) and the light transmissive conductive layer (D) because Nakatani Translated Document on page 12 – paragraphs 4-6 teaches: “The hard coat layer (B) is disposed on at least one surface of the light transmissive support layer (A) directly or via one or more other layers, The underlayer (C) is disposed adjacent to the surface of at least one of the hard coat layers (B) opposite to the light transmissive support layer (A), The light transmissive conductive layer (D) is disposed adjacent to the base layer (C)”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Takase in view of Okazaki, by adding second hard coat layer containing second resin component and filler between the transparent substrate and the transparent heating element, as taught by Nakatani, in order to reduce longitudinal wrinkling and to permit adjustment of the refractive index of the coating within the transparent laminate, as recognized by Nakatani [Nakatani Translated Document from the last paragraph on page 4 to the first paragraph on page 5]. The modification would reduce reflection at the interface while preserving visibility through the film heater.
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Takase et al. (U.S. Patent No. 5,448,037 A, newly cited) in view of Okazaki (U.S. Pub. No. 2015/0126682 A1, newly cited), and further in view of Sauer (U.S. Patent No. 4,443,691 A, previously cited).
Regarding claim 5, Takase in view of Okazaki teaches the apparatus set forth in claim 1, Takase also discloses a heater-equipped glass (transparent panel heater 1, Takase Figs.2A-2C) comprising:
the film heater (film heater includes transparent conductive film 3, metallic thin layer 4, first transparent protective layer 6, second transparent protective layer 7; Takase Figs.2A-2C) according to claim 1;
a glass plate (transparent substrate 2, Takase Fig.2B) (Takase teaches the transparent substrate 2 is glass plate because Takase Col.3 lines 16-20 teaches: “As the transparent substrate which can be used in the present invention, there can be used a glass or a transparent plastic film having a light transmission of 70% or more, preferably 80% or more in a visible light range having a wavelength of from 400 nm to 800 nm.”) opposite to the surface (top surface of the second transparent protective layer 7, Takase Fig.2B); and
an electrode (electrodes 5, Takase Fig.2B) in contact with the transparent heating element (transparent conductive film 3, Takase Fig.2B) (Takase Col.2 lines 28-33 discloses: “The above-mentioned object of the present invention can be achieved by a transparent panel heater having, as a heating surface, a transparent conductive film formed on a transparent substrate and provided thereon a pair of electrodes for electrifying the transparent conductive film”) of the film heater (film heater includes transparent conductive film 3, metallic thin layer 4, first transparent protective layer 6, second transparent protective layer 7; Takase Figs.2A-2C)
Takase in view of Okazaki does not explicitly teach:
the electrode being disposed between the film heater and the glass plate.
Sauer teaches a heater-equipped glass (Sauer Fig.6):
the electrode (electrode 31, Sauer Fig.6) being disposed between the film heater (film heater includes conductive layer 28 and two optical coupling layers 29 & 30; Sauer Fig.6) and the glass plate (glass plate 26, Sauer Fig.6).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Takase in view of Okazaki, by adding the teachings of the electrode being disposed between the film heater and the glass plate, as taught by Sauer, in order to improve current transfer, reduce localized current concentrations, improve electrical contact reliability and prevent failure at the electrode/heater interface, as recognized by Sauer [Sauer, Abstract & Col.1 lines 59-64].
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Takase et al. (U.S. Patent No. 5,448,037 A, newly cited) in view of Okazaki (U.S. Pub. No. 2015/0126682 A1, newly cited), and further in view of Morin et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 2019/0337843 A1, newly cited).
Regarding claim 8, Takase in view of Okazaki teaches the apparatus set forth in claim 1, but does not explicitly teach:
wherein the transparent heating element further comprises an ITO layer on the second dielectric layer.
Morin teaches a heater (Morin Abstract):
wherein the transparent heating element further comprises an ITO layer on the second dielectric layer (It is noted that the primary reference Takase already discloses the transparent heating element comprises the second dielectric layer of titanium oxide, as cited and explained in the rejection of claim 1 above. In this case, Morin Par.0075 teaches an ITO layer is deposited on the dielectric layer, and Morin Par.0078 teaches: “Preferably, the or each intermediate dielectric layer is based on (or essentially consists of) silicon oxide, silicon nitride, titanium oxide, or zinc tin oxide”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Takase in view of Okazaki, by adding the teachings of the transparent heating element further comprises ITO layer on the second dielectric layer, as taught by Morin, in order to control infrared transmission through the transparent heater while maintaining visible light transmission. The modification provides an additional way to control amount of radiant heat passes through the laminate while preserving visible through it.
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Takase et al. (U.S. Patent No. 5,448,037 A, newly cited) in view of Okazaki (U.S. Pub. No. 2015/0126682 A1, newly cited), and further in view of Tada et al. (WO 2015194320 A1, newly cited, Translation is attached).
Regarding claim 9, Takase in view of Okazaki teaches the apparatus set forth in claim 1, but does not explicitly teach further comprising
a high refractive index layer between the transparent substrate and the transparent heating element, wherein the high refractive index layer has a higher index of refraction than the transparent substrate.
Tada teaches a transparent conductor (Tada Abstract):
a high refractive index layer (high refractive index layer 3B, Tada Fig.4B) between the protective substrate (film 7, Tada Fig.4B) and the transparent heating element (transparent metal layer 4, Tada Fig.4B)
In combination, by adding the Tada high refractive index layer between the Takase protective substrate and the Takase transparent heating element, Takase in view of Okazaki and Tada teaches:
a high refractive index layer (high refractive index layer 3B, Tada Fig.4B) between the transparent substrate (first transparent protective layer 6, Takase Fig.2B) and the transparent heating element (transparent conductive film 3, Takase Fig.2B), wherein the high refractive index layer (high refractive index layer 3B, Tada Fig.4B) has a higher index of refraction than the transparent substrate (first transparent protective layer 6, Takase Fig.2B) (It is noted that the primary reference Takase Col.8 lines 31-33 discloses the first transparent protective layer is formed of acrylic resin, the index of refraction of acrylic resin is approximately 1.490 to 1.499, as evidenced by Shimadzu [https://www.shimadzu.com/opt/products/ref/ref-app03.html]; the reference Tada teaches the high refractive index layer 3B has index of refraction of preferably 1.7 to 2.5, and more preferably, it is 1.8 to 2.5, which is higher than index of refraction of acrylic resin; specifically, Tada Translated Document on page 7 – paragraph 3 teaches: “the refractive index of the dielectric material or the oxide semiconductor material included in the first high refractive index layer with respect to light having a wavelength of 570 nm is preferably higher than 1.5, more preferably 1.7 to 2.5. More preferably, it is 1.8 to 2.5.”. Therefore, in combination, Takase in view of Okazaki and Tada teaches the high refractive index layer has a higher index of refraction than the transparent substrate.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Takase in view of Okazaki, by adding high refractive index layer between the protective substrate and the transparent heating element, as taught by Tada, such that Takase in view of Okazaki and Tada teaches the high refractive index layer between the transparent substrate and the transparent heating element, wherein the high refractive index layer has a higher index of refraction than the transparent substrate, in order to reduce visible light reflection from the silver containing heating film as viewed through protective cover of the film heater, thereby reducing glare and improving visibility through the film heater.
Claims 10-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Takase et al. (U.S. Patent No. 5,448,037 A, newly cited) in view of Okazaki (U.S. Pub. No. 2015/0126682 A1, newly cited), and further in view of Shingai et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 2018/0024388 A1, newly cited).
Regarding claim 10, Takase in view of Okazaki teaches the apparatus set forth in claim 1, but does not explicitly teach:
wherein the second dielectric layer contains zinc oxide, indium oxide, titanium oxide, and tin oxide.
Shingai teaches a film heater (transparent conductor 100, Shingai Fig.1):
wherein the second dielectric layer (first metal oxide layer 12, Shingai Fig.1) contains zinc oxide, indium oxide, titanium oxide, and tin oxide (Shingai Par.0093 teaches: “The first metal oxide layer and the second metal oxide layer were formed by using a ZnO—In2O3—TiO2—SnO2 target having a composition listed in Table 1”, and see Table 1 on page 8 of Shingai. Therefore, Shingai teaches the first metal oxide layer 12 contains zinc oxide, indium oxide, titanium oxide, and tin oxide.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Takase in view of Okazaki, by adding the teachings of the second dielectric layer contains zinc oxide, indium oxide, titanium oxide, and tin oxide, as taught by Shingai, in order to provide a low absorbance oxide layer that resists alkaline processing and remains amenable to acid etching when the transparent conductive stack is patterned. The modification would provide a transparent conductive heater stack having low sheet resistance without thermal annealing.
Regarding claim 11, Takase in view of Okazaki teaches the apparatus set forth in claim 1, but does not explicitly teach:
wherein the first dielectric layer contains zinc oxide, indium oxide, and titanium oxide.
Shingai teaches a film heater (transparent conductor 100, Shingai Fig.1):
wherein the first dielectric layer (second metal oxide layer 14, Shingai Fig.1) contains zinc oxide, indium oxide, and titanium oxide (Shingai Par.0032 teaches: “The second metal oxide layer 14 is a transparent layer containing an oxide, and contains four components of zinc oxide, indium oxide, titanium oxide, and tin oxide, as primary components.”. Therefore, Shingai teaches the second metal oxide layer 14 contains zinc oxide, indium oxide, and titanium oxide.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Takase in view of Okazaki, by adding the teachings of the first dielectric layer contains zinc oxide, indium oxide, and titanium oxide, as taught by Shingai, in order to provide a low absorbance oxide layer that resists alkaline processing and remains amenable to acid etching when the transparent conductive stack is patterned. The modification would provide a transparent conductive heater stack having low sheet resistance without thermal annealing.
Conclusion
The following prior art(s) made of record and not relied upon is/are considered pertinent to Applicant’s disclosure.
Nakajima et al. (U.S. Patent No. 9,513,747 B2) discloses a transparent conductive film. The transparent conductive film has a first dielectric layer, a second dielectric layer, and a transparent conductive layer in this order on a transparent film substrate.
Fujii (U.S. Pub. No. 2018/0203354 A1) discloses an antireflective-film attached transparent substrate, which contains a transparent substrate having two principal surfaces and an antireflective film formed on one of the principal surfaces of the transparent substrate.
Applicant’s amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/THAO UYEN TRAN-LE/Examiner, Art Unit 3761 11/07/2026