DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Applicant's amendments filed on 09/09/2026 have been entered. Claims 1-6 are currently under examination on the merits.
Any rejections and/or objections made in the previous Office action and not repeated below are hereby withdrawn.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Stoeppelmann et al (US 2008/0167415, ‘415 hereafter) as evidenced by Suzuki et al (JP 2014040555, of record, ‘555 hereafter).
Regarding claims 1-6, ‘415 discloses a glass fiber-reinforced molded article ([0001]) comprising a glass reinforcing material being a flat cross-section fiber having a ratio of major axis to mimer axis in a range of 2 to 5, satisfying the presently claimed ratio ranges of claims 1 and 3 ([0028]), and a thermoplastic resin being a polyamide ([0023]-[0026]) satisfying present claims 4-6; wherein the content of the flat cross-section glass fiber is in a range of 40 to 80% by mass ([0027]-[0028], [0052]), specifically 49.3% or 64.6% by mass as in the example (Examples 1-3. Table 1), and the major axis of the flat cross-section glass fiber is in a range of 6 to 40 microns, satisfying the presently claimed major axis ranges as in claims 1 and 2 ([0061]). ‘415 does not expressly disclose that the flat cross-section glass fiber has a proportion having a length of 50 to 100 microns with respect to total number of the flat cross-section glass fiber having a length of 50 micron or more in the glass fiber-reinforced molded article in the article, where the content, the major axis and the proportion satisfy the formula (1) and formula (2) as recited in the claims 1 and 2. However, ‘415 teaches that the a glass fiber-reinforced molded article is formed from a glass fiber-reinforced composition by using chopped strands of glass fiber having a length of about 2 to 50 mm, specifically 3 mm as in examples ([0052], [0122]) by melt-kneading the glass fiber and thermoplastic resin in a twin-screw extruder at a screw rotation speed of 150 to 200 rpm ([0124]-[0125]), which renders the glass reinforcing resin composition being significantly similar to the glass reinforcing resin composition being processed in the present application (see Examples of the present application, Table 1, screw rotation speed is in 100 to 200 rpm, the length of glass fiber in the composition depends on screw rotation speed (kneading speed), as evidenced by ‘555, see [0058] of ‘555); therefore, it is reasonable to expect that the proportion of the length of 50 to 100 microns of the glass fiber satisfying presently claimed range and the formula (1) and formula (2) with respect to content, major axis and proportion of the fiber glass in the glass fiber-reinforced molded article of ‘415. In addition, ‘555 also teaches that the length of glass fiber can be readily adjusted by the kneading speed during compounding the glass fiber reinforcing composition before forming the glass fiber reinforcing article ([0058]), thus a person having ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to optimize the relative portion of fiber lengths as presently claimed and would have been motivated to do so in order to minimize dimensional anisotropy of the glass fiber-reinforced molded article as taught by ‘555 ([0008] and Table 2, shrinkage ratio of MD to TD as high as 0.6, close but better than the Examples of present application).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed on 12/12/2023 have been fully considered and they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that Stoepplemann’415 teaches away from the claimed invention for the distribution of fiber lengths of 50 micron or greater in the glass fibers because ‘415 mention that “Gentler processing of the inventive molding materials results in reinforced molded parts, wherein the fiber length distribution is significantly shifted to higher fiber length”, which is higher than glass fiber with a round cross-section. However, the examiner’s position is that this “higher fiber length”, which has the distribution of fiber lengths of 50 micron or greater in the glass fibers as expected (glass fiber being processed by the same screw rotation speed by extruder), is what the presently claimed molded article needed; and renders the article having desired low dimensional anisotropy shrinkage.
For the reasons set forth above and of record, the claims stand properly rejected.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/RUIYUN ZHANG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1782