DETAILED ACTION
For this Office action, Claims 1-11 are pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-9 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Claim 1, upon which the remaining respective claims are dependent, recites “the flush system”, which lacks established antecedent basis. Applicant is urged to address this issue in the response to this Office action. For purposes of this examination, the examiner will not give patentable weight to “the flush system”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-7, 10 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pansera et al. (herein referred to as “Pansera”, US Pat Pub. 2017/0043854; US patent publication of reference found in IDS filed 10/25/2023) in view of Derenoncourt (US Pat Pub. 2015/0345121).
Regarding instant Claim 1, Pansera discloses an installation for treating wastewater from a WC (Abstract; treatment of waste water including black water), comprising:
a solid/liquid separation filter intended for being mounted at the outlet of a toilet bowl of a WC (Figure 1; Paragraphs [0018]-[0021]; band filter 13 and micro-filtration filter 14);
a liquid recirculation circuit arranged for conveying a liquid from said solid/liquid separation filter to a main tank of said WC (Paragraph [0021]; conduit 12 leading downstream at least from filters 13 and 14 to technical water tank);
the solid/liquid separation filter including at least:
an inlet intended for being connected to the outlet of the bowl of said WC (Figure 1; Paragraph [0018]; pipe 10);
a solid/liquid separation module, configured to separate the solid matter from the liquid matter (Figure 1; Paragraphs [0018]-[0021]; band filter 13);
a first outlet intended to be connected to the inlet of a discharge pipe (Figure 1; Paragraphs [0019]-[0020]; outlet 15);
a second outlet connected to said liquid recirculation circuit (Figure 1; Figure 2; conduit; Paragraph [0021]; conduit 12);
said solid/liquid separation filter being configured for conveying solid matter from said soldi/liquid separation module to said first outlet and for conveying liquid matter from said solid/liquid separation module to said second outlet (Figure 1; Figure 2; Paragraphs [0018]-[0021]; see connection of filters to outlets 15 and 12);
the liquid recirculation circuit comprising a filtration unit configured for making said liquid reusable for the flush system upon said liquid flowing through said filtration unit, the filtration unit of the liquid recirculation circuit including a prefiltration system and an ultrafiltration system (Paragraph [0018]; Paragraph [0019]; Paragraph [0023]; micro-filtration system 14; reverse osmosis filtration system 21).
However, Pansera is silent on a backwash system.
Derenoncourt discloses a recycling flush toilet system in the same field of endeavor as the instant application, as it solves the mutual problem of treating water comprising human waste (Abstract). Derenoncourt further discloses a backwash system for a prefiltration system having a supply inlet intended for being connected to a water inlet and a discharge outlet intended for being connected to a discharge pipe, the backwash pipe system being configured for circulating water in counter-flow through the prefiltration system in order to periodically clean the prefiltration system (Paragraph [0061]; Paragraph [0073]; see backwash cycle flowing through filter in reverse direction).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the prefiltration system of Pansera to further comprise the backwash system of Derenoncourt because Derenoncourt discloses such a backwash system periodically cleans the prefiltration system (Derenoncourt, Paragraph [0061]; Paragraph [0073]).
Regarding instant Claim 2, Claim 1, upon which Claim 2 is dependent, has been rejected above. The combined references further disclose wherein the solid/liquid separation filter has a housing which the solid/liquid separation module is mounted, and wherein the solid/liquid separation module is a rotary screen driven by an electric motor (Pansera, Paragraph [0019]; Paragraph [0031]; Paragraph [0032]; see filter band 13 and specific structure).
Regarding instant Claim 3, Claim 2, upon which Claim 3 is dependent, has been rejected above. The combined references further disclose wherein the solid/liquid separation filter includes a cleaning nozzle for the rotary screen, and wherein said installation also includes a cleaning pipe connected at one of the ends thereof to said cleaning nozzle (Pansera, Paragraph [0032]; see blowing device and corresponding inherent pipe for air to be blown).
Regarding instant Claim 4, Claim 1, upon which Claim 4 is dependent, has been rejected above. The combined references further disclose including:
a storage tank for liquid matter, fed by the second outlet of the solid/liquid separation filter (Pansera, Figure 1; Figure 2; Paragraph [0021]; conduit 12 and technical water tank);
a hydraulic pump arranged for extracting the liquid matter contained in said storage tank for liquid matter (Pansera, Paragraph [0018]; pump inherent from discharge/delivery out of conduit 12/technical tank).
Regarding instant Claim 5, Claim 4, upon which Claim 5 is dependent, has been rejected above. The combined references further disclose wherein the installation includes a system for draining liquid matter from the storage tank, including:
a prefiltration pipe connecting the storage tank for liquid matter to the prefiltration system (Pansera, Paragraph [0012]; Paragraph [0013]; Paragraph [0018]; Claim 10; water is recycled from technical water tank back through system including back to prefiltration system);
a drain pipe connected to said prefiltration pipe and intended for being connected to discharge pipe (Derenoncourt, Paragraph [0061]; Paragraph [0073]; see backwash cycle would have drain pipe to discharge);
a unit for controlling the direction of flow of the liquid matter, arranged in the installation for conveying the liquid matter from the storage tank for liquid matter to the discharge pipe (Derenoncourt, Paragraph [0061]; Paragraph [0073]; unit for reversing flow through the filter in backwash system).
Regarding instant Claim 6, Claim 1, upon which Claim 6 is dependent, has been rejected above. The combined references further disclose including a connector for temporarily connecting the outlet of the discharge pipe to the separation filter (Pansera, Paragraph [0013]; Paragraph [0019]; see recycle means including solids back to filter 13).
Regarding instant Claim 7, Claim 1, upon which Claim 7 is dependent, has been rejected above. The combined references further disclose wherein the backwash system of the prefiltration system further comprises:
a prefiltration pipe to which the prefiltration system is connected (Pansera, Paragraph [0012]; Paragraph [0013]; Paragraph [0018]; Claim 10; water is recycled from technical water tank back through system including back to prefiltration system),
a wash pipe, connected to said prefiltration system and intended for being connected to a water inlet (Derenoncourt, Paragraph [0061]; Paragraph [0073]; backwash pipe for introducing backwash water for cleaning in reverse direction);
a drain pipe connected to said prefiltration pipe and intended for being connected to the discharge pipe (Paragraph [0061]; Paragraph [0073]; see backwash cycle would have drain pipe to discharge);
a unit for controlling the direction of water circulation, arranged in the installation for conveying water from a water inlet to the prefiltration system then from the prefiltration system to the discharge pipe (Derenoncourt, Paragraph [0061]; Paragraph [0073]; unit for reversing flow through the filter in backwash system).
Regarding instant Claim 10, Pansera discloses a sanitary unit (Abstract; treatment of waste water on board vessels) comprising:
a WC comprising a bowl and a flush system, said flush system comprising a main tank, said main tank being connected to a water inlet and to said bowl (Figure 1; Paragraph [0018]; cruise ship with bathrooms, collection tank 1 is main tank connected to bowls/water inlet through inherent cruise ship bathroom toilets), and
an installation for treating wastewater from said WC (Abstract; treatment of waste water including black water), said installation comprising:
a solid/liquid separation filter intended for being mounted at the outlet of a toilet bowl of a WC (Figure 1; Paragraphs [0018]-[0021]; band filter 13 and micro-filtration filter 14), and
a liquid recirculation circuit arranged for conveying a liquid from said solid/liquid separation filter to a main tank of said WC (Paragraph [0021]; conduit 12 leading downstream at least from filters 13 and 14 to technical water tank);
the solid/liquid separation filter including at least:
an inlet intended for being connected to the outlet of the bowl of said WC (Figure 1; Paragraph [0018]; pipe 10);
a solid/liquid separation module, configured to separate the solid matter from liquid matter (Figure 1; Paragraphs [0018]-[0021]; band filter 13);
a first outlet intended to be connected to the inlet of a discharge pipe (Figure 1; Paragraphs [0019]-[0020]; outlet 15);
a second outlet connected to said liquid recirculation circuit (Figure 1; Figure 2; conduit; Paragraph [0021]; conduit 12);
said solid/liquid separation filter being configured for conveying solid matter from said soldi/liquid separation module to said first outlet and for conveying liquid matter from said solid/liquid separation module to said second outlet (Figure 1; Figure 2; Paragraphs [0018]-[0021]; see connection of filters to outlets 15 and 12);
the liquid recirculation circuit comprising a filtration unit configured for making said liquid reusable for the flush system upon said liquid flowing through said filtration unit, the filtration unit of the liquid recirculation circuit including a prefiltration system and an ultrafiltration system connected in series (Paragraph [0018]; Paragraph [0019]; Paragraph [0023]; micro-filtration system 14; reverse osmosis filtration system 21).
However, Pansera is silent on a backwash system.
Derenoncourt discloses a recycling flush toilet system in the same field of endeavor as the instant application, as it solves the mutual problem of treating water comprising human waste (Abstract). Derenoncourt further discloses a backwash system for a prefiltration system having a supply inlet intended for being connected to a water inlet and a discharge outlet intended for being connected to a discharge pipe, the backwash pipe system being configured for circulating water in counter-flow through the prefiltration system in order to periodically clean the prefiltration system (Paragraph [0061]; Paragraph [0073]; see backwash cycle flowing through filter in reverse direction).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the prefiltration system of Pansera to further comprise the backwash system of Derenoncourt because Derenoncourt discloses such a backwash system periodically cleans the prefiltration system (Derenoncourt, Paragraph [0061]; Paragraph [0073]).
Regarding instant Claim 11, Claim 1, upon which Claim 11 is dependent, has been rejected above. The combined references further disclose wherein the liquid/separation filter includes two arms for attaching the prefiltration system and the ultrafiltration system (Figure 1; Figure 2; Paragraph [0019]; Paragraph [0031]; Paragraph [0032]; Paragraph [0035]; structure of band filter 13 and modular structure of ultrafiltration module would require attachment arms or some similar form of connection).
Claims 8 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pansera et al. (herein referred to as “Pansera”, US Pat Pub. 2017/0043854; US patent publication of reference found in IDS filed 10/25/2023) in view of Derenoncourt (US Pat Pub. 2015/0345121) as applied to claims 4 and 5 respectively above, and further in view of Tapley (US 11111683).
Regarding instant Claim 8, Claim 4, upon Claim 8 is dependent, has been rejected above. However, the combined references are silent on the storage tank comprising an upper cover having an opening.
Tapley discloses a water filtration/recycling apparatus and method in the same field of endeavor as the instant application, as it solves the mutual problem of treating water via filtration and backwashing filters used in such filtration (Abstract). Tapley further discloses a storage/holding tank 16 with an upper cover and an opening for receiving an outlet of a separation filter in order to store permeate from the filtration (Figure 1; Figure 2; Col. 4, Line 36-Col. 5, Line 6; holding tank 16 with inlet 18 at upper end of tank 16, downstream of filter 14).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the storage tank of Pansera to include an upper cover having an opening receiving the second outlet of the solid/liquid separation filter as taught by Tapley because Tapley discloses such an opening allows for the storing of permeate from the filtration (Tapley, Figure 1; Figure 2; Col. 4, Line 36-Col. 5, Line 6).
Regarding instant Claim 9, Claim 5, upon which Claim 9 is dependent, has been rejected above. However, the combined references are silent on the storage tank comprising an upper cover having an opening.
Tapley discloses a water filtration/recycling apparatus and method in the same field of endeavor as the instant application, as it solves the mutual problem of treating water via filtration and backwashing filters used in such filtration (Abstract). Tapley further discloses a storage/holding tank 16 with an upper cover and an opening for receiving an outlet of a separation filter in order to store permeate from the filtration (Figure 1; Figure 2; Col. 4, Line 36-Col. 5, Line 6; holding tank 16 with inlet 18 at upper end of tank 16, downstream of filter 14).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the storage tank of Pansera to include an upper cover having an opening receiving the second outlet of the solid/liquid separation filter as taught by Tapley because Tapley discloses such an opening allows for the storing of permeate from the filtration (Tapley, Figure 1; Figure 2; Col. 4, Line 36-Col. 5, Line 6).
Conclusion
/RICHARD C GURTOWSKI/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1773 12/22/2025