DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 2-3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the enablement requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to enable one skilled in the art to which it pertains, or with which it is most nearly connected, to make and/or use the invention.
Regarding claim 2, the amended limitation “wherein the at least one first component further comprises a metal oxide that is one selected from the group consisting of ZrO2, MgO, Y2O3, In2O3, and Ga2O3” in combination with “wherein the middle layer contains at least one first component comprising a metal fluoride” would fail to comply with the enablement requirement for reasons as follow:
The specification of the instant application discloses that the middle layer 4 contains at least one first component selected from SiO2, SiO, a metal oxide, and a metal fluoride, preferably SiO2 (paragraph 19) and a second component preferably ZnS such that the preferable combination of the first component and the second component of the middle layer 4 is ZnS-SiO2 (paragraph 20). Then, the specification discloses material properties such as an amorphous condition, a bandgap, a surface free energy, and a thickness for the middle layer 4 (paragraphs 22-25). However, the specification does not further describe any enabling disclosure clearly and fully as to 1) how the middle layer including the combination of the metal oxide and the metal fluoride, and the second component are formed, 2) what ratios the metal oxide, the metal fluoride, and the second component are contained for the middle layer, and 3) how the amorphous state, the bandgap, the surface free energy, and the thickness as claimed would be affected by the middle layer including the combination of the metal oxide, the metal fluoride, and the second component [underlying for clarity]. As such, undue experimentation would be required for determining the undisclosed conditions 1) and 2) and 3) as discussed above.
Accordingly, after considering all of the evidence of record related to the pertinent Wands factors and reasons discussed above, one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time the application was filed, would not have been able to make and/or use the full scope of the claimed invention without undue experimentation.
Claim 3 reciting “wherein the at least one first component further comprises SiO2” in combination with “wherein the middle layer contains at least one first component comprising a metal fluoride” would also fail to comply with the enablement requirement for the similar reasons as discussed above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 4, 15, 18-20, and 23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kang (US 2018/0026084 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Kang teaches a light-emitting element comprising: a first electrode (a first electrode EL1); a second electrode (a second electrode EL2) facing the first electrode; a light-emitting layer (a second emission layer EML2) provided between the first electrode and the second electrode; a first charge transport layer (a first hole transport layer HTL1) provided between the first electrode and the light-emitting layer; and a middle layer (a first electron injection layer EIL1) provided between the first charge transport layer and the light-emitting layer, wherein the middle layer contains at least one first component comprising a metal fluoride (EIL1 formed of a metal fluoride such as LiF or CsF), and the middle layer has a thickness of 2 to 10 nm, inclusive (EIL1 having a thickness of about 90 Å, which is equivalent to 9 nm) (Fig. 5A and paragraphs 52-83).
Regarding claim 4, Kang teaches wherein the metal fluoride is at least one selected from LiF, LiAl3Fl4, Li3AlF6, CsF, Na5Al3F14, Na3AlF6, MgF2, CaF2, BaF2, YF3, LaF3, CeF3, and NdF3 (paragraphs 67-70).
Regarding claim 15, Kang teaches wherein the middle layer further has a surface free energy of 50 mN/m or greater (EIL1 formed of LiF would have a surface free energy greater than 50 mN/m as a material property) (paragraphs 67-70).
Regarding claim 18, Kang teaches wherein the first charge transport layer is a hole transport layer (paragraph 82).
Regarding claim 19, Kang teaches wherein the first charge transport layer has a surface free energy of 0 to 50 mN/m exclusive (paragraph 63. Since Kang teaches the identical organic material choice for the first charge transport layer compared to that of the invention described in paragraph 36, its surface free energy as a material property would be the same).
Regarding claim 20, Kang teaches wherein the first charge transport layer is composed of an organic material (paragraph 63).
Regarding claim 23, Kang teaches a display device comprising the light-emitting element according to claim 1 (Fig. 1 and paragraph 36).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kang.
Regarding claim 11, While Kang does not explicitly teach that the middle layer further has a bandgap of 3 to 4 eV inclusive, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to utilize a metal fluoride material for the middle layer having a bandgap between 3eV and 4 eV such as nickel fluoride as a readily available material choice for obtaining the similar metal fluoride characteristics.
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kang as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Kim et al. (US 2021/0126218 A1; hereinafter “Kim”).
Regarding claim 13, Kang does not explicitly teach that the light-emitting layer contains a quantum dot coordinated with an inorganic ligand. Kim teaches a light-emitting element, comprising a light-emitting layer (a light emitting layer 140), wherein the light-emitting layer contains a quantum dot (a quantum dot 141) coordinated with an inorganic ligand (ligands attached to 141 and formed of metal halide) (Fig. 1 and paragraphs 3-5, 56, 78-80, and 99). Therefore, it would have obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teaching of Kang with that of Kim in order to improve luminous efficiency for the light emitting layer.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5-7 and 9-10 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to amended claims have been considered but are moot in view of new grounds of rejections as set forth above in this Office Action.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/DANIEL WHALEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2893