DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2, 4-6 and 9-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Yamasaki et al. (US 2020/0324356).
Regarding Claim 1, Yamasaki discloses a method for welding a weld surface of an article (abstract), the method comprising: welding a first base weld bead to the weld surface (para. [0051]: a first weld-bead layer 55 on a base plate 51; Figs. 5-7, bead 53B); moving a weld filler material source and/or the weld surface relative to each other (para. [0030]: The welding robot 19 is an articulated. robot, and the filler metal M is supported by the torch 17 attached to the end shaft of the robot arm such that the filler metal M can be continuously fed. The position and posture of the torch 17 can be arbitrarily set three-dimensionally within the range over which the robot arm is movable; Figs. 5-7: torch 17 deposits welding bead material onto surface 51 to form bead 53A, then is moved to form bead 53B and so on): welding a first stacking bead to the first base weld bead but not to the weld surface, thereby forming a first weld bead stack (para. [0051]: a second-layer weld bead 54 on a first weld-bead layer 55 on a base plate 51; Figs. 5-7); moving the weld filler material source and/or the weld surface relative to each other; welding a second base weld bead to the weld surface and to the first base weld bead; moving the weld filler material source and/or the weld surface relative to each other (para. [0030]: The welding robot 19 is an articulated. robot, and the filler metal M is supported by the torch 17 attached to the end shaft of the robot arm such that the filler metal M can be continuously fed. The position and posture of the torch 17 can be arbitrarily set three-dimensionally within the range over which the robot arm is movable; Figs. 5-7: torch 17 deposits welding bead material onto surface 51 to form bead 53A, then is moved to form bead 538 and so on, bead 53C is welded to base plate 51 and bead 538); and welding a second stacking bead to the second base weld bead and the first stacking bead but not to the weld surface, thereby forming a second weld bead stack parallel to and adjacent to the first weld bead stack (para. [0029]: The apparatus 100 for producing an additively manufactured object of this configuration includes an additively manufacturing device 11, a deposition controller 13 to control the whole additively manufacturing device 11, and a power source device 15. The additively manufacturing device 11 includes a welding robot 19 having a torch 17 provided to an end shaft thereof, and a filler-metal feed part 21 to feed a filler metal (welding wire) M to the torch 17; para. [0056]: The bead size of the weld bead to be newly deposited and the posture of the torch 17 are changed as necessary such that the recess 66 is filled up (S17). Subsequently, the new weld bead 54A (see FIG. 7) is formed while the bead size setting and the posture of the torch 17 are suitably changed (S18) [second stack]; para. [0070]: With the apparatus 100 [of Figs. 1, 5-7] for producing an additively manufactured object having the configuration described above, no narrow recess having an especially high degree of tapering (narrow recess 67 shown in FIG. 8A) is formed as in the example shown in FIG. 9; Figs. 1, 5-7, 9 use device 100 to perform welding with beads with a movable torch and filler element 17, Figs. 5-7 go over how each row of each stack is performed, and Fig. 9 shows that the stacks formed can be parallel and adjacent to each other).
Regarding Claim 2, Yamasaki discloses the method of claim 1 wherein a direction of each bead stack is not parallel to a deposition direction of weld material from the weld filler material source (para. [0029]: The apparatus 100 for producing an additively manufactured object of this configuration includes an additively manufacturing device 11, a deposition controller 13 to control the whole additively manufacturing device 11, and a power source device 15. The additively manufacturing device 11 includes a welding robot 19 having a torch 17 provided to an end shaft thereof, and a filler-metal feed part 21 to feed a filler metal (welding wire) M to the torch 17; para. [0056]: The bead size of the weld bead to be newly deposited and the posture of the torch 17 are changed as necessary such that the recess 66 is filled up (S 17). Subsequently, the new weld bead 54A (see FIG. 7) is formed while the bead size setting and the posture of the torch 17 are suitably changed (S18) (second stack]; para. [0070]: With the apparatus 100 [of Figs. 1, 5-7] for producing an additively manufactured object having the configuration described above, no narrow recess having an especially high degree of tapering (narrow recess 67 shown in FIG. 8A) is formed as in the example shown in FIG. 9; Figs. 1, 5-7, 9 use device 100 to perform welding with beads with a movable torch and filler element 17, Figs. 5-7 go over how each row of each stack is performed, and Fig. 9 shows that the stacks formed can be parallel and adjacent to each other; Figs. 5-7, 9 also show that the direction the welding device moves is oblique to the stack formation, i.e. the device moves horizontally depositing filler material while the stacks are stacked in a vertical direction).
Regarding Claim 4, Yamasaki discloses the method of claim 1 wherein the weld surface is not perpendicular to a deposition direction of weld filler material from the weld filler material source (para. [0030]: The welding robot 19 is an articulated. robot, and the filler metal M is supported by the torch 17 attached to the end shaft of the robot arm such that the filler metal M can be continuously fed. The position and posture of the torch 17 can be arbitrarily set three-dimensionally within the range over which the robot arm is movable; Figs. 5-7: torch 17 deposits welding bead material onto surface 51 to form bead 53A, then is moved to form bead 538 and so on; the weld surface 51 is horizontal and the welding filler is deposited in a horizontal direction).
Regarding Claim 5, Yamasaki discloses the method of claim 1 wherein all of the weld beads comprise a weld filler material (para. [0009]: A method for producing an additively manufactured object, including melting and solidifying a filler metal to form weld beads).
Regarding Claim 6, Yamasaki discloses the method of claim 5 wherein the weld filler material is selected from the group consisting of superalloy, nickel-based superalloy, gamma prime strengthened superalloy, hard-facing material, titanium aluminide. nickel aluminide, and steel (para. [0039]: As the filler metal M, any of all the commercial welding wires can be used. For example, wires provided for as
MAG-welding or MIG-welding solid wires (JIS Z 3312) for mild steels, high tensile strength steels, and steels for low-temperature applications, and arc-welding flux-cored wires (JIS Z 3313) for mild steels, high tensile strength steels, and steels for low-temperature applications can be used).
Regarding Claim 9, Yamasaki discloses the method of claim 1 performed without prior heating of the weld surface (para. [0032]: For example, in the case of a consumable-electrode method, a contact lip is disposed inside the shield nozzle, and a filler metal M to which a melting current is supplied is held by the contact tip. The torch 17, while holding the filler metal M, generates an arc from the end of the filler metal M in a shielding gas atmosphere. The filler metal M is fed from the filler-metal feed part 21 to the torch 17 by a feeding mechanism (not shown) attached to the robot arm or the like. The continuously fed filler metal M is melted and solidified while the torch 17 is moved, thereby forming a linear weld bead 53 which is a solid formed by melting and solidifying the filler metal M, on a base plate 51; Surface 51 is fed filler and heated simultaneously).
Regarding Claim 10, Yamasaki discloses the method of claim 1 wherein the welding steps are performed using a laser, electron beam, or electric arc (para. [0033]: Heat sources for melting the filler metal M are not limited to the arc. For example, a method employing other heat source{s), such as a heating method in which an arc and a laser are used in combination ... a heating method in which an electron beam or a laser is used, may be employed, in the case of heating with an electron beam or a laser, the quantity of applied heat can be more finely controlled to more properly maintain the state of the weld bead, thereby contributing to a further improvement in the quality of the additively manufactured object).
Regarding Claim 11, Yamasaki discloses the method of claim I performed using a computer numerical control {CNC) machine (para. [0028]: The apparatus 100 for producing an additively manufactured object of this configuration includes an additively manufacturing device 11, a deposition controller 13 to control the whole additively manufacturing device 11, and a power source device 15; para. [0034]: The deposition controller 13 includes a CAD/CAM unit 31; para. [0036]: The CAD/CAM unit 31 inputs or produces profile data (CAD data, etc.) on the additively manufactured object to be produced and produces, in cooperation with the track computing unit 33, a weld-bead deposition model, which indicates a deposition procedure for producing the additively manufactured object).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yamasaki et al. (US 2020/0324356).
Regarding Claim 3, Yamasaki fails to explicitly disclose the method of claim 1 wherein a direction of each bead stack is perpendicular to the weld surface. However, Yamasaki does teach a direction of each bead stack is oblique to the weld surface (para. [0070]: With the apparatus 100 [of Figs. 1, 5-7) for producing an additively manufactured object having the configuration described above, no narrow recess having an especially high degree of tapering (narrow recess 67 shown in FIG. 8A) is formed as in the example shown in FIG. 9; Fig. 9: the bead stacks are oblique to the weld surface).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to teach a direction of each bead stack is perpendicular to the weld surface, since discovering the optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art. The motivation for doing so would have been for additively manufactured objects that minimize space between weld bead stacks (Yamasaki, para. [0070]).
Claims 7 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yamasaki et al. (US 2020/0324356) in view of Wilkins et al. (US 6,532,656).
Regarding Claim 7, Yamasaki fails to explicitly disclose the method of claim 1 wherein the weld surface comprises a surface of a turbine blade or airfoil. Wilkins teaches the weld surface comprises a surface of a turbine blade or airfoil (col. 2 lines 23 - 34: The method includes machining away airfoil material along leading and trailing edges and a radially outer tip of the airfoil to form leading edge, trailing edge, and tip cut-backs having cut-back depths of the leading and trailing edges and radially outer tip. Then beads of welding material are welded onto the leading edge, trailing edge, and tip cut-backs).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the method of Yamasaki to include an airfoil as taught by Wilkins for the purpose of repairing a worn or damaged compressor blade having leading and trailing edge and blade tip wear and/or damage (Wilkins, col. 2 lines 12 - 34).
Regarding Claim 8, modified Yamasaki fails to explicitly disclose the method of claim 7 wherein the first base weld bead is welded to the weld surface at a trailing edge of the turbine blade or airfoil, and one or more subsequent base weld beads are welded to the weld surface in a direction toward a leading edge of the turbine blade or airfoil. However, Wilkins teaches the first base weld bead is welded to the weld surface at a leading edge of the turbine blade or airfoil, and one or more subsequent base weld beads are welded to the weld surface in a direction toward a trailing edge of the turbine blade or airfoil (col. 4 lines 1 - 51: after the airfoil material 50 has been machined away, beads 70 of welding material 72 are welded onto the leading edge, trailing edge, and tip cutbacks 62, 63, 64 ... The weld bead is manufactured with an automated plasma arc weld process along the cut-back leading and trailing edges and radially outer tip).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to teach the first base weld bead is welded to the weld surface at a trailing edge of the turbine blade or airfoil, and one or more subsequent base weld beads are welded to the weld surface in a direction toward a leading edge of the turbine blade or airfoil, since a mere reversal of essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art. The motivation for doing so would have been to repair a worn or damaged compressor blade having leading and trailing edge and blade tip wear and/or damage (Wilkins, col. 2 lines 12 - 34).
Conclusion
/JOSEPH W ISKRA/Examiner, Art Unit 3761
/IBRAHIME A ABRAHAM/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3761